Reviews For A Black Destiny
Reviewer: Bella Got Bite
Date: 06/07/09 20:28
Chapter: Chapter 1

wow heavy stuff

Author's Response: Thanks.

Reviewer: Shortone
Date: 12/17/07 21:39
Chapter: Chapter 1

I love Bella as a character, and this was a great story!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: tatjanablack
Date: 07/13/07 15:03
Chapter: Chapter 1

All I can say : Excellent. Trury just love it. You are a wonderful writer, and I love your protrait of Bella.

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: love_is_torture
Date: 07/04/07 3:37
Chapter: Chapter 1

*hugs*
That is so sad. :( Your are an exellent writter though! Although I did find some grammatical mistakes and you missed some words out, it still sounded as if it was real. I canreally feel Bellas emotions/feelings. I feel so sorry for her *sigh* Well done on this though!

*tackle hugs*
~!ClAiRe!~

Author's Response: Hehe, thanks for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: amzing
Date: 06/18/07 8:35
Chapter: Chapter 1

i love all of ur stories....this one was soooo sad and pretty...wow itz just amzing....

Author's Response: Thanks so much.

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 04/20/07 15:08
Chapter: Chapter 1

I liked Voldemort's test question. It is either love or Voldemort. I guess that is always the choice a Death Eater has to make. She could not choose to love her sister, she had to choose to follow Voldemort's orders. Nice succinct story that shows her corruption.

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I'm glad you enjoyed it. :D

Reviewer: guiding ray of sunlight
Date: 04/19/07 16:19
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wow! What to say? Well, I'll start by saying this is a really powerful piece. Bella's charcterisation as a helpless child at the beggining, her hesitation, Rodolphus's treatment of her. All those things come together in a perfect picture of a little child that is in distress. I especially liked how she could still sense the softness in Rodolphus's voice when he's pretending to be stern with her. That really emphasised for me how she's like a kid. And then in the end she's canon Bella, pushing away those who treat her as a child. But I believe deep inside she's still that kid - like when she whines to Voldy inm OotP.

To them, she was just the next link in a chain of pureblood. it's amazing how you can put years upon years of abuse behind such a short sentance. But it fits so well, I'm stupified. It's really amazing.

Great Job!
~Sunray

PS: I had a whole long review typed up, but the computer deleted it :( so I'm sorry if this one's lame...

Author's Response: Lame? No way. I loved it.

Thank you so much for all of your comments. I like what you said about Bella as a child. In a way, I agree that she still has childlike tendencies. I think it's because she would have never had a chance to be a child when she actually was one. She was the oldest child, and therefore would most likely receive the least coddling. And I doubt the Blacks would have been affectionate towards any of their children. I always thought she would have been forced to grow up really quickly, which left a lasting impact on her.

Thank you so much for the review, it really made my day. :D

Reviewer: DailyProphetEditor
Date: 02/24/07 10:19
Chapter: Chapter 1

A beautiful portrait...

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: Shalashaska
Date: 02/19/07 22:35
Chapter: Chapter 1

I think it's very good but I think you should add more

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: VeniaTaint
Date: 12/21/06 10:05
Chapter: Chapter 1

Intriguing take on Bella (and, suprisingly, Rodulfous, please expand on this character, you could do alot with him and giving him a past would open up a whole new level of fic ideas for Bella) and it was beautiffully written *curtsies and smirks* as always. You did a realistic and rather creative redition of the initiation ceremony, consider sparking a set of one-shots devoted to how different characters dealt with this (speciffically the question, this was probably the element that fascinated and intrigued readers the most). Yet you still leave Voldemort one dimensional. An attribute to a great author is thier ability to give even the most menial characters life, with a past, a future, and emotions to relay on, not just a a blank face. Keep up the good work!
~The Tainted One

P.S.
Sorry for blasting you with reviews today, I've been meaning to put up some reviews for my Favorites FOREVER...stupid doctors, need to quit arguing and make a decision! (speaking of, please stop by http://www.ednf.org to support the cause!)...so today is my catch up day as they have atleast agreed on the fact that I'm stable. Anyhow, if you get annoyed with the adolescent babble of a 15 year old, feel free to tell me to shut my trap...I swear I won't be offended, I get that alot actually...

Author's Response: Are you kidding? I love reviews. I was thrilled when I logged on and saw all the new ones. Please feel free to blast away. And I hope you're feeling better soon. :D

For the story, the theme wasn't my idea. This was a Gauntlet entry. Meaning it was written in different sections, I received a prompt for each section and had to work my story around it. I don't like the end because it goes against what I believe about Bella, but it fit the prompt so that was what I did. Also, thanks for your feedback on Rodolphus. I write him different ways and I'm currently trying to figure out which way is best.

Thanks for another lovely review. :D

Reviewer: Kantaka
Date: 12/15/06 20:15
Chapter: Chapter 1

It was an excellent way to end the story... something like Bella gettinh cold feet at the last minuteand Rodolfus saving her neck would have been way too easy (sweeter, nicer, bot too easy)
Loved your fic!
Now, if you excuse me I'll keep reading your stuff!

Author's Response: Honestly, something along the lines of what you described is what I was most likely to do. I don't see Bella as an evil monster. In my mind, she could never intentionally hurt either of her sisters. Because of my strong feelings about Bella and her character the end of this story was very hard for me to write.

Anyway, I'm glad you liked it. Thanks so much for leaving a review. And thanks for checking out my other fics, as well. :D

Reviewer: NikkiSue
Date: 12/10/06 22:45
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wow... thats all I can say is WOW. I got pulled into this fic quickly and for me that is saying a lot. I too was surprised at how you had Andromeda get killed by Bella but I agree that it just worked best with the direction the story was heading. I'm impressed.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, Nicole. I'm glad you liked it.

Having Bella purposly kill Andromeda was really hard on me. I hated to do it. I cannot imagine Bella being able to kill her own sister. I felt bad for days after I did it. Poor Bella. It's not that I don't have other fics that result in Bella murdering one of her sister's but she has never meant to do it, and to me that is far more believable. But as you said, having Bella kill Andromeda in cold blood, just fit the story (and the prompt) so I went with it. *sniffles* I still feel guilty when I think about it.

Thanks again, for the review. :D

Reviewer: ForbiddenLove
Date: 11/22/06 14:59
Chapter: Chapter 1

Oh, I am sooo sorry I've been MIA for a while, and I really don't have much time now, but I simply NEED to review this!!! It was soo powerful, possibly the bestest piece you've written so far... you keep improving! I loved this Rodolphus, as you probably guessed I would. And Bella was lovely. Cheers to our favorite Death Eater! Keep writing like this, and you'll be one of the best authors the world has ever known!!!! And please, continue writing Rodolphus like that, it makes me so warm inside :-).

Author's Response: You're alive! I was wondering about you. :D

Hehe, I'm glad you liked my story and my softer version of Rodolphus. I'm doing a chaptered Bella fic right now but he's not in that one much.

Anyway, thanks so much for the review and it's great to see you back! :D

Reviewer: MorganRay
Date: 11/20/06 21:24
Chapter: Chapter 1

Your story seemed to have a darker air to it than mine with Narcissa, and you also put Bella through more tests. I applaud how you developed her character from being certain she wanted to be a Death Eater, to being uncertain, to finally killing her sister. You made Bella a sympathetic character, which is not an easy task considering what we see of her in canon. Also, you showed the beginnings of her insanity in OotP when she was in the cage. One thing I would say is that she was overly sappy at several points, and maybe I little more numbness of emotion on her part would have been better than tears. However, it was still a nicely done fic.

Author's Response: Hmmm...it's probably darker because overall Bella is a darker character than Narcissa. And of course, I generally write dark stories anyway, so yeah.

I personally love Bella and enjoy trying to make other readers sympathize with her the way I do. I always write her as a sympathetic character.

I guess my Bella is often overly sappy compared to canon Bella. I just don't see her being that cold and emotionless. In the books we only see her when she is feeling threatened. I think there's a lot more to her then we have seen there.

Anyway, thanks so much for leaving a review. I still find it amusing that we both chose to kill poor Andromeda. I guess she was just the perfect test for her sisters.

Reviewer: Hermione_Rocks
Date: 11/16/06 22:49
Chapter: Chapter 1

I really didn't think Bellatrix was going to kill Andromeda, especially when she noticed that she had a daughter.... :( Well, I still really enjoyed your story. Although I do think Bellatrix is evil (sorry :), I liked the take on her you presented. Nice job!

Author's Response: I really didn't want to have Bella kill Andromeda but it fit the prompt the best. It's really not the way I see Bella, I don't think she could do it, especially with Tonks in the mix, but most people see Bella differently then me. You're very much not alone in thinking she's evil, but somehow I can't see her that way. I think there's more to her than that.

Anyway, I'm really glad you enjoyed my story and thanks so much for the review. :D

Reviewer: Cheshlin
Date: 11/16/06 22:23
Chapter: Chapter 1

I think that you did a wonderful job with this story. I love how Rodolphus was around to help when it was needed. The end was hard though. I would like to think that Andromeda at least raised Tonks a little bit! Oh well. I totally understand your choice to pick her! Well done!! Cyns

Author's Response: Thanks so much. When I started I didn't plan to have Rodolphus as a running character through the whole story but he kept fitting in. It's weird when you're writting a story and you have no idea where you're going with it.

Ah the end! It was hard for me too. I don't think Bella would really kill her sister, but it fit so well. I had to do it, but I still love Bella. *huggles Bella*

Right, moving on from my Bella thing. As far as real canon goes, I don't think Andromeda is dead now. I never have. It was comment that someone made to Molly Weasley in the sixth book that made me really sure though. Someone told her that Tonks had her own family to go home to at Christmas or something along those lines. I always thought that meant her parents. I could be wrong, but I don't want to think of Andromeda being dead. For a character who has had their name mentioned once in canon, I am very attached to her. Not like Bella, of course, but I rather love all the Blacks. :D

Anyway, thanks for the review. I'm really noticing that my responses go on and on these days. Sorry about that, but I really really do appreciate reviews. :D

Reviewer: Schmerg_The_Impaler
Date: 11/16/06 17:11
Chapter: Chapter 1

WOW. That is very dark and very powerful... and very well-written. It made me stare at the screen in shock. I never thought I could read a story that made the reader sympathise with Bellatrix, or one that made Rodolphus a likeable character, but somehow, you managed it! (And very well, I might add.)

I'm hoping for a sequel where we see exactly what Bellatrix does for Nymphadora?

Oh, and by the way-- this sounds insane, but was the woman that Bellatrix killed her future self, or just a random lady?

Author's Response: :D I love to hear that I have made someone sympathise with Bella. I dedicate a lot of time and effort to trying to make people do just that. :D As for Rodolphus, I usually write him about as evil as Voldie, sometimes he might even be worse in my stories. But lately, I have been experimenting with a gentler Rodolphus.

Hmmmm...I never thought of writing a sequl to this. Although it might be an interesting idea. I like writing Bella and Tonks. They're fun because there are so many horrible things between them, but in the end they share the same blood, they are family. I really enjoying working with them.

And the woman. That's actually an interesting story. She was supposed to be a banshee, I just misunderstood the prompt. *is embarassed* But when I read the prompt I interpreted the person as Bellatrix after she had escaped from Azkaban. At no point did I actually think of the woman as future Bella, but more like someone who was foreshadowing what her future would become. If that makes any sense.

Anyway, thanks so much for the review. They really do mean a lot. :D

Reviewer: TheMadMugggle
Date: 11/11/06 23:42
Chapter: Chapter 1

I think it is kind of interesting that Bella had to kill her sister to obey the Dark Lord and that you had to mirror the task in your story. You had to "kill" your vision of Bella for your prompt. I bet it helped out with the story to a degree. Although I know that you will probobly disagree with me on this, but I think it very possible that Bella would kill her sister. Although we don't have much on her from canon, she still came across as ruthless. On to a different point. This story is one of the reasons that you are one of two authors in my favorites list. I never thought that I would like Bella, but I do now. Nobody really thinks about what the choices we make can do to us. I just hope that people read the other stories so they see all this clearly.

Author's Response: :D That is an interesting way to look at it. I never really thought of myself as mirroring Bella's actions. Very cool observation.

And yes, of course, I disagree that Bella would kill her sister. I don't buy it for a second, but I know that most HP fans would. The prompt said to keep the final task true to the characters personality. And I'll be honset, I considered keeping my version of Bella. I considered having her refuse to kill Andromeda, but in the end I knew that this ending would be more plausable for most readers and I gathered that was what the prompt wanted so I did it. But I still feel bad about it now. I can't believe I wrote Bella doing that. :'(

:D Thank you again, for adding me to your favorite authors list. And it is wonderful to hear that I have made you like Bella. It's hard to make people warm up to her and I love to hear that I have managed to accomplish it. I used to hate her too, actually. :O When I finished book five I would have tortured her to insanity and back. Oddly enough it was my own fan fic that changed my view of her. It was Beneath the Shell to be more exact. I don't even know what happened. I don't know where that story even came from. I wrote it in one sitting, I had never thought about it before, it just came out. And after that, I just loved Bella. She became my favorite character. And as you, and everyone else who talks HP with me at all, already know I would now defend her to the death. It was all very strange.

That seemed like a lot of typing...I wonder how long this is. Anyway, thanks so much for the review and I'm really glad that you enjoy my stories and my Bella. :D

Reviewer: Mind_Over_Matter
Date: 11/11/06 22:25
Chapter: Chapter 1

^^ Alright, first I have to congratulate you for:

a) Finishing the Gauntlet

b) Not smashing the suggested word limit into tiny pieces and

c) Actually sticking to the prompts. *Personally bent most of them like Superman bends steel*


Your characterisation of Bella is really different to the one in my head. Also Rodolphus. But I love the softness you added to their characters. I'm not usually a nit-picker, but I saw this:

Panic ceased her. early on. I think you mean 'seized'.


Anyway, yeah. It's so interesting to see how people have taken their characters through the prompts - and this story is very nicely done. And I have to mention that you handled the characterisation of Voldemort really well too *almost forgot to mention that*.



Author's Response: Awww...thanks so much. I tried to follow the prompts as best as I could but I bent them in a few places too.

My characterisation of Bella is actually a bit harsher in this then in some of my other stories. I just can't see her as evil as the rest of you. She was way off to what I usually do with her when she killed Andromeda. I hated to do that but it seemed to fit. I still feel guilty about it though.

As for Rodolphus, I have been experimenting with a softer Rodolphus lately, but it isn't my real vision of him. I think of him as cold and cruel, which is how he is portrayed in most of my fics, so far. Although, I believe I am slowly starting to get used to the softer version of him, very slowly.

Glad you liked my Voldie, by the way. I'm getting more comfortable with him now but he was a stuggle when I starrted out. :D

And, I did indeed mean seized. That's an interesting typo. I'll go search for it. Thanks for pointing it out! :D

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES