Reviewer: PadfootnPeeves
Date: 06/24/10 9:30
Chapter: Chapter 1: Uncle Ron Never Laughs

I dunno if you’re heard, but Daniel Radcliffe is going to star in All’s Quiet on the Western Front. I thought that was awesome, seeing how it’s Harry’s favorite book in this fic :]

Oh, and out of curiosity- what type of music do you listen to? You always have such great lyrics in your stories.

--Em

Author's Response: Ha, no, I hadn't heard that. That's fun! I wonder how he'll do starring in a role outside of Harry Potter, if he'll become like Harrison Ford of Star Wars, known by his actual name because he made himself famous from other movies, too, or like the actor who played Luke and everybody just remembers as Luke. Er, sorry for the ramble. Anyway, music -- I don't know. I'm not as huge a music fanatic as it would seem, I just like listening to something. I suppose you could categorize my interests broadly as "light rock," which would make both of my brothers, who attempted my entire childhood to invest me in classic rock, cringe. I suppose my favourite artists would be . . . Our Lady Peace, Guns 'n Roses, The Killers, Wakey!Wakey!, and Rob Thomas. But there are many, many songs I love that come from artists that I don't really love despite the fact that I love a particular song by them. :)

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 03/04/10 15:45
Chapter: Chapter 13: Lily's Perfect Ending

You did fool me into thinking Lily was dead for a second. Then I read the first two sentences of the next paragraph. But it was good, nonetheless. I liked how this ended, and I liked that Lily was the central character (and the eldest Potter child), which is such a refreshing change from them having a male first-born (be it Sirius or James).
It was a really funny story, despite being sad at times, and I thought you had a really creative interpretation of the events of life in the Potter family. I liked that you didn't go quite as cliche on the names as so many writers (including Rowling) did, and that you even created a back story to choosing some of the names. I also got the feeling that you had/have at least an overview (and a pretty clear and thorough one) of what happened in their seventh year if we disregard DH. I'd like to read that play out eventually, though I understand that "Puddles" and "I'll Pick You Up" are both time-consuming on their own right now.
Congrats on another good story!

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I'm glad you found it funny and creative and liked it overall :) I did actually have my own version of the seventh book -- one that actually had a handful of chapters posted -- but I just didn't have the heart to finish it after DH came out. I'm constantly coming up with new ideas, most of which I end up writing in one or two shots, but yes, right now, I'm trying to focus on those two.

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 03/04/10 1:40
Chapter: Chapter 12: Dad Would Have Loved Her Forever

Another good chapter. I liked Harry's move with the Pensieve. Classy, and effective.

As much as I love these kids, I kinda feel like their ages don't match very well to their personalities. An 11-year-old trying to punch a grown man?

Author's Response: Thanks! They do sometimes act older than they should, don't they? In my mind that makes sense because they way in which they've grown up makes them older than they ought to be, if that makes any sense.

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 03/04/10 1:10
Chapter: Chapter 11: Mum Forgot To Remember

Haha, quite a few questions you've got there, huh?

I don't know what will lead up to it, but I have a feeling Ginny's going to rip those divorce papers in half a dozen times over.

Author's Response: I like trying to encourage reviews! :)

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 03/04/10 0:42
Chapter: Chapter 10: Grandpa's Brilliant Idea

I really liked this chapter. I thought it showed Annie and Lily's relationship really well, and I liked seeing them work on something in a way only thirteen-year-old girls would.

And I was referencing Daisy with the diluted love potion. Though I still got that it was a potion. Seeing as its a Ministry-banned potion of questionable origin that's actually being used, I'm trying not to feel too bad about not being able to pinpoint exactly what it is/what it does.

Author's Response: Thanks! I liked writing this chapter a lot, so I'm glad you liked it :) No, I don't think many people could have guessed it!

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 03/03/10 18:20
Chapter: Chapter 9: Grandma Says Talking is the Trick

Diluted love potion? Enough to keep her attached, but not enough to be obvious? Or maybe I'm thinking of another story...

I really liked this chapter, and I thought it was another great example of how Lily's POV skews some of what we see, though for a teenager she gives a remarkably thorough description of these events.

Author's Response: That's an interesting guess . . . you'll see soon enough! Lily does seem to have more insight than she should, but I'm glad you like her POV overall. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 03/03/10 17:23
Chapter: Chapter 8: Aunt Hannah is One Smart Muggle

My brother and I used to swing our little cousin like that. I miss that age sometimes (most often when I'm stuck behind a mountain of homework).
I like the irony that they both seem to want each other back, yet both possess the slight hesitance that prevents either of them from doing anything. And I can't wait to see Lily confront Dick. What a jerk.

Author's Response: That age is definitely appealing at times! Thanks for the review :)

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 03/03/10 2:48
Chapter: Chapter 7: Aunt Angie Said He Was Handsome

Much lighter cliffhanger than some of the previous ones, for sure. I don't know that I'm really getting the explanation yet, past that she was lost in despair (which we already knew).
I do want to say though (and I meant to say it in my last review, in light of that comment about drowning in mustard) that I'm really impressed with your ability to get inside the mind of this 13-year-old little girl. In the midst of a somewhat heavier tale, Lily's commentary on the situation brings a spark of humor to it. It's great.

Author's Response: Thanks so much -- I'm glad you like how I've written Lily. I kind of got overly attached to her as I was writing her, so I always like knowing that people think she's well portrayed for her age :) And, trust me, clearer explanations will come on the Ginny front.

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 03/03/10 2:28
Chapter: Chapter 6: Uncle Charlie Realizes Everything

Well, my prediction hasn't come true...Yet. It might still; we'll see. Though I have to say I did not expect at all that Harry's explanation would be so blunt. But it sounded right, nonetheless.
I guess all I can say is that I'm glad we're on the same page as far as the Harry/Ginny ship.

Author's Response: I rewrote that explanation a few times -- I wasn't sure the best way to do. I'm glad you think it sounded right! Thanks for the review :)

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 03/03/10 2:06
Chapter: Chapter 5: Uncle George's Surprise

An update is a long way off? After THAT cliffhanger? Wow, that takes guts...or just a really busy schedule. I can't blame you. It's not like it doesn't take many times over the amount of time to write these chapters as it does to read them.
I thought this chapter was great, although I was caught off-guard by Luna. I know that 3 years with Death Eaters must have an effect (or, at least, I know it as well as we Muggles can know something like that), but I didn't expect her to be quite so cold and callous. But I can understand it, I suppose.
And I have to say...I imagine Ginny is going to be pissed! I mean, Harry's there, as a stag, but doesn't talk to them? After the initial shock, I think I'd be a little ticked off.

Author's Response: I think some readers probably went crazy waiting for updates for this, but I think back then they usually came quicker than they do now, so there's that, at least! Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 03/03/10 1:45
Chapter: Chapter 4: Uncle Fred is Going Crazy

One thing is for sure, I'm pretty glad I don't have to wait for these updates. Rest assured I'll continue to wait for the updates to follow "I'll Pick You Up" and "Don't Mind the Puddles"...but I like being able to continue on with a story at my own pace. It helps ease the tension from stuff like Sirius yelling at his mom.
I can't pretend to know exactly how things will go from here, but I have a feeling that Ginny Potter will remain such to the end of the story (though please don't tell me right or wrong on that count). I'd like to imagine so at least. I guess I'll have to keep reading. For a non-canon interpretation of life after Voldemort, I really like the choices you've made with the characters.

Author's Response: Thanks -- I'm glad you're enjoying it despite that it's non-canon. And I definitely always prefer reading stories that are already entirely written.

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 03/03/10 1:27
Chapter: Chapter 3: Aunt Katie's Favorite Advice

Harry is also an Animagus? Interesting take on it. It would explain how he saw their party without being seen, and it would explain the behavior of such a strange stag. It'd also be fairly similar to "Someone to Watch Over Me" and the scene where Lily runs to the forest where a stag (James) listens and comforts her.
I actually WAS interested in this chapter. I think it's important that the kids inherited their father's and their mother's (former) brashness. And I think it's important that Lily and Ginny each cry it out a little bit.

Author's Response: It always made sense to me that Harry would end up becoming an animagus, although I'm not sure why. I'm glad you liked this chapter!

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 03/03/10 1:09
Chapter: Chapter 2: Aunt Hermione Knows It All

At least you've given us an explanation why the Ginny we know and love has disappeared to be replaced by this walking shell. But yeah, this was really sad. Being a (rather intense) fan of canon, this is saddening. But I'm sure that I shouldn't abandon this here, since I know it's only just starting. I can't wait to see where this takes us.

Author's Response: There is certainly more to explain Ginny's explanations, if you stick around to see ;) I'm glad you like it so far, despite how it deviates from canon. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 03/03/10 0:54
Chapter: Chapter 1: Uncle Ron Never Laughs

Hmm...slightly more AU than "Someone to Watch Over Me," but I'm still intrigued. If I remember right, this is another one that was written a fair while back, so I won't really comment on the typos and small grammar errors much, since I know that (whatever you did to do it) those have gotten a lot better over the years. I really like the way you've set up this story, and I think that the characterization of all these people is wonderful.

Author's Response: This is definitely a but more AU, as it was entirely written before DH. And thank you for overlooking the typos and grammatical issues! One day I'll go back and try and fix everything. :)

Reviewer: Dumbledores_Fave
Date: 02/13/10 16:19
Chapter: Chapter 13: Lily's Perfect Ending

You should definatly write a sequel. I love your characters. This stroy was great and I think a sequel would be awesome, of course, I have no clue what it would be about?

Author's Response: I actually started one a while back but it was never finished, simply because I think this story is best if it stands alone :) But I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: Dumbledores_Fave
Date: 02/13/10 15:11
Chapter: Chapter 7: Aunt Angie Said He Was Handsome

I love your story. It's so awesome. I'm going to keep reading and finish it right now!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you're enjoying it.

Reviewer: Crazycow89
Date: 02/11/10 3:27
Chapter: Chapter 13: Lily's Perfect Ending

Wow! that is actually a really great story. You know what the best part was (apart from the epilogue)? The fact that Dick wasn't the mastermind-Malfoy was. I knew Malfoy was linked somewhere into this. Oh, and by the way, I also thought that at the last Avada Kedavra, Harry had been killed...only when I read the next section I found out that Malfoy had killed himself. What a shock that was!

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I'm glad you liked the Malfoy twist and that I was able to shock you :)

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 12/02/09 5:51
Chapter: Chapter 13: Lily's Perfect Ending

Ahhhh, I was soooooo right about Malfoy being the 'mastermind'! Sure, I had to mainline the whole story in three hours, but it was totally worth it.

There were more twists and turns than a plate of spaghetti in this story, much to my neverending delight. The more convoluted and dark the plot, the heavier the appeal to my literary sensibilities.

It was heartwarming, dark, frustrating, and fan-bloody-tastic all in one, and I thank you for that!

~Jess

Author's Response: Thank you so much! And congrats on guessing that Mafloy was the mastermind ;) I'm glad you liked the story and all its twists and turns -- I personally always think that stories are more interesting when they have lots of twists and turns!

Reviewer: HPLuver7
Date: 11/25/09 16:37
Chapter: Chapter 12: Dad Would Have Loved Her Forever

wow. i luv this chapter. They're finally back together! THEre are two things i;d like to mention, however, First of all. The first time Harry kisses her again, theres one part thats driving me crazy, because its so repetetive. "Memories were nothing to the real thing" that part bugs me because u say 'thing' twice in it. Instead, say something like Memories were nothing compared to reality. or w.e u want. It was just driving me nuts, and im not a fan of sitting on the sidelines doing nothing....haha. Secondly, (is that even a word?) the line about Ron being a clam, i luved. THe analogy was fantastic. congrats. Another awesome chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked the chapter, and I appreciate you pointing out what to fix -- that's always helpful!

Reviewer: HPLuver7
Date: 11/25/09 16:25
Chapter: Chapter 11: Mum Forgot To Remember

wow. my favorite part of maybe this entire story is the end of this chapter. Its so perfect, and so dramatic, but not in that bad, cornby kinda way. its just absolutely perfect! and it totally makes me vixualize wats happening, as if it were litterally a movie. In fact, I can imagine that as a movie, and it would be awesome. After that line the screen would fade to black, and then start up at the next one, or int he morning or soemthing. Either way, showing wat everyone (ginny, harry, lily, ect) was doing and then saying "I guarantee, Lily, no one else in this house is sleeping,” Annie assured her. “Maybe if we’re lucky, someone is even doing something to fix everything.”", it was so amazing that it sent chills down my spine!

Author's Response: Haha, thanks very much! I'm glad you can envision it so well! This was one of my favourite chapters to write, so its good to know you loved reading it :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES