Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/23/09 13:22
Chapter: Celebration and Shadow

I really chuckled at the "Hey, You! I Don't Like Your Girlfriend" reference. I guess I could see Andromeda,and Tonks for that matter, doing just that--saying that to the one they loved. Andie was so understanding, even though someone else offered her services as a reception giver. I was wondering why Bubbles gave Tonks just one jelly bean but by the sounds of it, it was one outstanding jelly bean. Was Tonks having a flash forward to her own wedding? Great chapter.

Author's Response:

I wrote this chapter and then had to write the one shot. :D Bubbles had her reasons. Some jellybeans must be so good, you only need one...hmmm...there's a correlation there to men. ;)

Yes, absolutely, that's Tonks' fantasy wedding!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/23/09 12:40
Chapter: Light in Shadow

Yay--Snuffles will get to eat Indian food again. I enjoy reading about Snuffles. I think I mentioned before that he reminds me of Sampson, the Newfie. Sampson was so smart that he sometimes seemed like a person. He used to sit beside me on the couch--with his butt on the couch and his paws on the floor--it looked hilarious. And then, it seemed like he was visiting--he'd make all sorts of odd noises--grumbling and laughing, sighing and snoring. It's good that Remus has come to an acceptance of the blood bond. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Aw, Sampson sounds like he would've been a wonderful guy if he'd been an Animagus. :)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/23/09 11:32
Chapter: Shadow and Claw

Interesting that Remus should ask "What have we dont?" Is he taking responsibility for Tonks' decision to use blood magic? Is he afraid that they are bound together more than they had planned to be? I thought it was kind of a low blow for Tonks to bring up Sirius' drinking the way she did. I'm not sure that's the best way. It seems to make the "accused" more defensive. I'm dying to know--what do you think of Nooks? I saw them advertised on the Barnes and Noble website and I'm thinking of getting one, but I'm not sure. Would it be another toy I think I have to have but wouldn't play with? I could see where it would be good in saving space. I have so many books stacked up all over. Maybe I should ask if I can read fan fiction on it--then it would be well worth it:) Great chapter.

Author's Response:

I think Remus does blame himself when he shouldn't. He second guesses and thinks if he'd spoken up, things would be different. Sirius and Tonks both have a Black streak and say things they shouldn't when they're upset.

LOL about reading fan fiction. I don't think so, but there is one intriguing benefit:

"Nook owners will also be able to lend books to other users of the Barnes & Noble Bookstore, whether they own a Nook, iPhone, Blackberry, or are just reading books on their PC."

Sounds good for the friends of Nook owners, heh. 

I'm going out of town to a log cabin on a NC mountaintop with no internet for an ENTIRE weekend, O_o, so I won't get to reply to any reviews until Monday night. I hope I can survive the wilderness. Wish me luck! :D

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/22/09 19:51
Chapter: Shadow Dreams

Poor Tonks. I can see Remus interrupting her showers, but Sirius is another story. The conversations between Kreacher and Tonks are always interesting and pretty funny. It was interesting that Kreacher seemed to have some strange respect for Tonks when he talks about her doing blood magic. It sounds like Remus and Tonks have such a busy and fun life, in between their guard duty. So, Molly is worried about Harry. We're getting close to the dream when Arthur gets attacked aren't we? Great chapter.

Author's Response:

Sirius has no modesty, heh.

I think Kreacher has flashbacks to his old Mistress, Walburga, when Tonks is around. It's her Black streak. :D

So many times it's like characters have no life outside the scenes they play secondary roles in, but that's selling them short. Harry's great, but he's not the center of their lives, lol. 

 

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/22/09 17:41
Chapter: Shadow Magic

I thought I'd get at least one chapter in today. I stayed home from work on a "sickie" and I was too tired to even read, if you can believe that. I'm such a hypochondriac--someone at work had strep for a week before realizing and so I was sure that's what I'd catch:) I'm feeling better this evening. The elevator ride was funny. It's funny how creative people can be when they're bored. I loved Emmeline's invitation. Most of the time I'm happy being a muggle but sometimes I wish I could do fun magical stuff. I was happy that Tonks could spend the full moon with Remus even though they weren't real close together. I love your descriptions of their full moons together. Great chapter.

Author's Response:

Yay for you getting out of your sickbed to read . . . unless you're reading in bed, and in that case yay, you dragged your laptop into your sickbed to read. :D

You're not a hypochondriac, you're a realist!

Thank you for liking how they spend their full moons together. :)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/21/09 14:53
Chapter: Dark Shadow

I've always liked that Clash song and if you listen closely you might be able to hear me sing it:D I think that was the first album my son bought when he was around 8. Poor Jerry--I'm beginning to think he can't keep a girlfriend, whether Tonks is a jinx or not. It's really too bad none of that group is any good at potions. It sounds like they could use a good potions maker--someone to make wolfsbane and polyjuice. It was cute when Sirius wanted Indian food like when the Patils would feed Snuffles. Great chapter.

Author's Response:

Do you sing slightly off key? No? That must have been me. :D I was a nightmare in chorus. I have a "susceptible ear" and sing like whoever I'm standing by. In the next story it's finally revealed why Jerry has no luck with girlfriends...and no, he isn't gay...LOL.

Sirius misses the Patils more than their food, I'm sure. Sniff. 

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/21/09 12:49
Chapter: Shadow Men

I think Sirius is trying to pick a fight with anyone who would fight back. I also think alcohol doesn't help the situation any. It's sad when people continue to wallow in self-pity. A little bit of wallowing is allowed sometimes but there comes a time when you gotta pick yourself up and move on. (Often easier said than done, I admit.) Tonks was brilliant as usual. That was so sweet of Jerry to speak highly of her Auror skills right to her face. So, does she really have a heightened sense of smell now since she did the blood magic? You know, a lot of times I do like to just read my cookbooks. It's like a research project. I study different recipes for the same thing and make comparisons--how are they made; how do the ingredients differ; which one's easier and will that affect taste; etc. I used to do more cooking for people but now it depends on how much pain I'm in and then how exhausted that makes me. When I was a librarian I also used to take special requests from students. They'd be sure to let me know when their birthdays were and what they liked. One of the favorites was plain old banana bread, believe it or not. Ahh, the good old days:D I'm smiling remembering. Great chapter, by the way.

Author's Response:

The more I thought about it (and didn't want to make Tonks SuperWolfGirl) I decided her heightened sense of smell was a temporary thing, sort of new-bond-bonus, that would fade to normal as the relationship with the wolf became a thing of normality. Is that odd? I haven't mentioned it outside this story, and no one's noticed. :D

I like reading cookbooks where the author talks about the recipe, the inspiration, or the ingredients, people they've known, memories of families, or a season.  Stories, lol. If you've never heard of Ken Haedrich, he's great, (Julia Child award-winning :) and his cookbooks are filled with drabbles and short stories along with recipes. His Country Breakfasts make me nostalgic for New England.

Banana Bread is wonderful when it's homemade. It makes pre-pakaged muffins seem like abominations unto baking! 

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/21/09 9:37
Chapter: Moon Shadow

Poor Percy--why is it that members of the Weasley family keep bumping into Tonks when she's in a compromising position? Maybe because there are so many Weasleys combined with Tonks' "eventful" life. I think that was a good idea for Rufus' limp and also partially explains his apparent attitude towards werewolves. It's always interesting when Remus sniffs Tonks when she comes home. She can't hide anything from him. Usually, it's more often my cats than my dogs that sniff me when I get home. Aren't there some dogs that have different layers of fur too, to protect them from water? My big dogs always seemed rejuvenated by the snow. With regard to the clafouti, I live by myself so I don't usually make big desserts. And, sometimes I forget. I collect cookbooks and recipes to the point of insanity and I've got so many that I just forget what I have unless something jogs my memory. But now that you have jogged my memory, I'll have to look up my clafouti recipes:D So, thanks. Great chapter.

Author's Response:

There you have it--there's so many Weasleys one's bound to show up at embarrassing moments! :D Prejudice isn't excusable because there's a basis (however twisted) for it, but it is more understandable, and I have to understand characters to enjoy writing them (yes, I'm admitting I'm fond of Scrimmy, and hope Bill Nighy doesn't play him like Davy Jones from PotC minus the octopus tentacles).

I have a collection of cookbooks but sometimes they "read" better than the recipes turn out. :D

I thought you working for a school you'd be cooking for staff lunches, etc. 

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/20/09 15:32
Chapter: Truth in Shadow

First, I want to say that I love cherry clafouti. I used to make it for my family all the time. Blueberry is good also. And, I'll bet the blackberry souffle was delicious also. One thing I refuse to eat is liver in any shape or form. It just tastes nasty to me. I think I was one of those who said, "Oh no, not him again." Mainly because Evan always seems to figure out it's Tonks under the morphing. I can't get over that he won't forget her. I love the little gadgets "Q" comes up with. It makes everything seem so special agent. I guess I didn't expect to see Percy there. But that was a nice surprise. Now why is Rufus always finding Tonks in odd places? Maybe he doesn't really but it seems like he does. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Why did you stop making clafouti? Or do you just make it on special occasions now? I used to hide liver under mashed potatoes. Very icky. No amount of onions can disguise that distinctive taste--no wonder I'm semi-vegetarian! :D

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/20/09 13:01
Chapter: Shadow of a Doubt

Leave it to Tonks to give Sirius fleas:) I just knew that's what she did when she stared at him and when he started scratching. Tonks was such a sweetheart in this chapter. She usually is but seemed even more so this time. Feeling such sympathy for Hestia, when she formerly thought of her as a rival, and going to Scrimgeour was thoughtful. I had to smile when she gave biscuits to Kreacher. I think there's a secret mutual admiration society going on there. This time you stumped me with ATC. I don't remember ever hearing them. Great chapter. By the way, I thought "Twilight" was kind of a weak movie--not even close to Harry Potter--but I enjoyed it anyway. The soundtracks (for Twilight and New Moon) are fairly good. I enjoy listening to them, although my very favorites are anything by Tool or Smashing Pumpkins. But I will be one of the first to go to "New Moon"--hopefully we'll be able to take some students--and I'll see it twice and then I'll buy the dvd, just because that's a fun thing to do:D

Author's Response:

Tonks probably protested being Sorted into Hufflepuff, but she is the epitome of loyal, and she has a huge heart, sympathizing with people she's disliked.

I would've had a better time watching Twilight if I hadn't been surrounded by Edward worshippers who hissed when I accidentally laughed out loud. I thought for a moment I'd have to fight my way out of the theater. :D 

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/20/09 11:10
Chapter: Out of Shadow

That's why the name Warwick Davis is so familiar. I am so horrible with names--even when they're written down. I like Soundgarden. Didn't some of them team up with Rage Against the Machine--and become Audioslave? I used to really like Rage. Tonks having to keep watch with Snape again was too much. They are absolutely hysterical together. I'll have to read your Snape and Tonks series at some point. I'm still giggling about their interaction. He knows so many things and Tonks seems to like to taunt him and pretend she knows more than she does. And then for him to give her romantic advice--that actually worked. I also loved the Lotus of Lakshmi. That was very creative. Of course, I'd probably giggle because it would tickle as it "grew." How can Remus resist? I'm not going to make any wand jokes for your amusement:) Excellent chapter.

Author's Response:

No wand jokes? Fine. Lets do all the things that YOU want to do! (One of the few Ace Ventura 2 quips that made me laugh).

Snape's the snarky guy that, even though he's mean to everyone, you can't help wanting him to like you...or at least not consider you a dunderhead. :D I think you'd like my SSNT, they have great chemistry, although in this series it's strictly platonic, no boy/girl stuff to mess up the kinda/sorta, never admitted, odd, reluctant friendship that develops further in the next story. 

Remus can't resist. In his journal fic he muses that while Nymphadora is an irresistible force, he is far from an immovable object!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/20/09 9:39
Chapter: Cast in Shadow

That was outstanding on several points. I figured Remus was going to be angry and it would take him a while to think things over, so that was a given. The argument between Tonks and Sirius was certainly interesting and unexpected. I didn't even think (and I feel so insensitive) that Sirius needed his contribution to the cause and spending time with Remus was it. Tonks, selfishly, took that away from him. The comment that Tonks was Kreacher's new crush was kind of funny. Tonks' questioning of the abusive suspect was priceless and very creative. I have no doubt she was frightening in the mood she was in. Her visit with her mother was comforting. Very telling that they shared chocolate and wine. I was cheered when Remus came back through the mirror and told her he loved her. Excellent chapter.

Author's Response: Ta, thanks! I remember thinking it was such a low blow for Snape to tell Sirius Dumbledore wouldn't listen to a man who had been hiding in his mother's house for six months. As if Sirius wanted to be under house arrest instead of taking action against Voldemort. Tonks wanted to be with Remus so much she didn't consider that Sirius viewed keeping the wolf company his contribution, that she'd taken even that small action away from him. Oh, the guilt! Much chocolate and wine was needed. And love. :)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/19/09 14:42
Chapter: Shadow of the Wolf

That was a pretty cool chapter. I wonder who was trying to poison Rufus. That ring came in handy. The best part was the "ceremony" or spell. This seems like the perfect solution, in the absence of wolfsbane. I wonder what Remus is going to think. I was caught wondering if I would ever love someone that much again that I would take those sorts of risks for them. For children, of course but for anyone else, I don't know. There's another author on another site that's made much of ancient, blood magic. This was just an amazing chapter.

Author's Response: I'm with Remus about blood magic, not too fond of it (I think Necromancy and get the willies, heh) but Tonks' was a very benign sort, more about love than trying to force a bond against his will. Thank you . . . and you would if the right person came into your life. It's like a litmus test. :)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/19/09 12:50
Chapter: Facing the Shadow

I feel bad for Sirius for some reason. I'll bet he's an ornery drunk. Although, I'll also bet he's good at poker:) Escorting Scrimgeour to social functions should be interesting. It could lead to lots of speculation. There aren't too many women werewolves are there? That's just abominable that someone would divorce their partner because they had a chronic illness. Although, I shouldn't talk. When I found out I had a chronic illness, I filed for divorce. I couldn't see my husband dealing with it and wanted to be the one to make the first move. I need to go in and read some of your one-shots. As I recall, didn't Harry feel a little bit bad about not being a prefect? Tonks may have moved a bit closer to being his friend. Great chapter.

Author's Response:

I think Sirius was as moody drunk as he was sober. Sometimes, he'd laugh and charm, others, he'd start a fight--verbal if not physical.

Aw, I feel so bad you felt you had to file for divorce! For better or for worse shouldn't be "as long as the 'for worse' deals with my health, because I won't be able to deal with it if you get ill!" (My mum was bi-polar, and eventually divorced for it, so while I'm able to empathize with a partner who can't deal, it's hard for me to sympathize, if that makes sense!)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/19/09 10:52
Chapter: Family of Shadow

This chapter was brilliant. I really do need a cane like Lucius'. Although, I don't think I would use it to be mean to people. On the other hand, more people would play with it. What is it about a cane that makes people want to play with it when they see it? I loved seeing "Lucius" spend time with his family. At the same time, I felt sad for his family. It looked like the typical situation when a parent thinks his or her job is so much more important than family. I also loved the bathtub scene and Sirius cover-up story. And I'm starting to feel kind of worried. I have a feeling that something bad is going to happen--but maybe that's because I know what happens this year in the books. Excellent chapter.

Author's Response:

I see Lucius as deceiving himself that everything he does, he does "for his family" to advance them and secure their future.

Bad things do happen, but they make it through. 

Thank you!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/19/09 10:08
Chapter: Shadow Spinner

I cannot believe that "Lucius" is going out in public, shopping with "his" family. This does not seem like a good idea. Although, if it were me, I'd be really tempted to do it just to see if I could pull it off. Once again, my competitive streak that I try to hide would come into play--could I be a better father than Lucius. Now you know the part I liked best--the part when Tonks mistook Severus for Remus and started to kiss him. That was totally hilarious. Loved this chapter. Can't wait to see what happens on the shopping trip.

Author's Response:

Competitiveness isn't viewed as "feminine" is it? Silly, really.

Thank you for liking the part with Severus? I have a few SSNT fics (set in an alternate universe), so at the time this first posted, I worried readers I would sneak in a triangle, heehee.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/19/09 9:35
Chapter: Shadow Rising

Wow--and all she has to do is become Lucius. Gee, can she look that pretty? I really enjoyed this chapter. The dress up part was great. I was a little worried when Tonks took those pills, that she would become too hyper. When magical folk are concerned, pills just don't seem right. I was pleased when Remus saw Tonks in the wedding dress. Maybe he'll get some ideas. Her act as Narcissa seemed spot on. Great job describing that there. Excellent chapter.

Author's Response:

Jason Isaacs in that blond wig is mighty pretty, I agree. :D

Potions do seem the "right" thing for wizards, don't they? 

Remus gets ideas, he just doesn't think he deserves them, poor love!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/18/09 20:52
Chapter: Shadow Hearts

Well, that was interesting. So "call me Rufus" set her up. I can't believe I know all of these old songs. Fudge's behavior was interesting also, chatting up "Lola" and Lucius in the same evening. I was really touched by Tonks' visit with Ginny. Of course Ginny was worried about Harry. And I'm sure she's not comfortable going to Molly about it. Her conversation with Remus outside the Department of Mysteries was pretty funny too. To answer your question from yesterday, I had to go with what I had for supper--so I had a plain bagel with shaved honey ham, dijon mustard and swiss cheese, heated in the oven and all warm and melty. It was pretty yummy, although your bagel sounded good also. Hey, I bought the "New Moon" soundtrack today. It's pretty good. Great chapter.

Author's Response:

You have eclectic taste in music! That's a wonderful quality. It's so sad when people don't know classic songs...or even songs from the eighties! Haven't people seen the Wedding Singer, even? :D

New Moon? Hmm...I'll be interested to see if this film's as cheesy as the last one (yes, I went to see it although I haven't read the books. I went on a weeknight, WEEKS after it came out, and oh my heck the theater was STILL packed with fans who giggled in a "isn't he so adorable" fashion when I was giggling in a "this is such awful dialogue" way.)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/17/09 21:57
Chapter: Half Shadow

Something told me that Rufus was going to recognize Tonks. Damn, and I probably can't read anymore until tomorrow evening or Monday. Quite frankly, I was wondering about Uncle Morty too. How sweet--Lisa's pregnant. That is very cool. And it sounds like she has Uncle Morty wrapped around her wand. Well, that's it for the night. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Fatherhood will be good for Morty. Help him learn to spend a little, heh. I won't make any wand jokes...but I will be thinking them, :D.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/17/09 21:26
Chapter: Shadow Puppets

This just illustrated how stupid the Ministry is. Eliminating the wolfsbane program has got to be the stupidest decision ever. Let's just give wizards brooms and send them down the Dark Path. Molly's patronus is a hoot. I can just see it slapping its tail, giving orders. The meeting with Scrimgeour was interesting. If someone asked me about my family background, I would've said "it is what it is." Not much anyone can do about it, is there. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Writing Scrimgeour in this story made me sad when he got killed off in the series. The soft spot I have for supposedly "bad" men who have good qualities works for "good" men who do bad things in the name of what they think is right. Sigh. :D

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES