Reviewer: Callisto Anaxandra
Date: 01/17/08 23:45
Chapter: Epilogue

Wow again. Such a touching story. There really is something good to be said about tragedies. :)

Author's Response: Thanks, Lindsey. As you can guess, I'm a fan of tragedies too. ~Ken

Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 11/12/07 20:08
Chapter: Epilogue

that was a really sad letter and yet the most perfect goodbye. It seems so wrong and yet so right that Linda burned the portrit. you write beautifuly really you do. this was a fantastic story

Author's Response: And thanks again.

Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 11/12/07 19:28
Chapter: Prologue

wow that was powerful.

Author's Response: Thank you, Florencia. ~Ken

Reviewer: GreenMan1966
Date: 12/30/06 20:19
Chapter: Prologue

Brilliant, just brilliant! Now I have to read your "Five Thousand Words" - thanks for gifting us with this!

Author's Response: Thank you, Keith. I'm honored. ~Ken

Reviewer: JusticeForMedea
Date: 12/28/06 18:56
Chapter: Prologue

Oh my Gosh, I'm crying. I love this and COunting to Five Thousand. You're an amazing writer, don't stop. "Comparative beginner" *rolls eyes*

Thumbs Up!
-Ananya

Author's Response: Many thanks, Ananya. I'm gratified whenever anyone is moved by something I write; it's what I strive for most. I'm delighted that both stories were meaningful to you. "Comparative beginner" is as accurate a statement I can make; my first fanfic was only four months ago. I love your handle, by the way -- what would "justice for Medea" look like, I wonder? Have you written about it? ~Ken

Reviewer: solemnly_swear73
Date: 12/27/06 21:47
Chapter: Epilogue

Hi Ken, I checked out this story after you mentioned it in your response to my review of "Counting to Five Thousand". After reading this extraordinary fic, I am now convinced you are absolutely brilliant:-)

I can't even begin to describe the emotions this story drew out of me. It was at once unimaginably heartbreaking and immensely uplifting if that makes sense at all.

Oh the letter.....it was SO Harry!! You were spot on with your characterization of Hermione as well. Yes we see the bossy, intelligent, disciplined Hermione we all know and love in that portrait, but you also let us take a peak at how deep her love runs for her friends and family. As Hermione cried in anguish for Harry and Ginny, I found myself crying right along.

Leaving the letter to the very end was a stroke of genius; armed with the knowledge of what happened the day Voldemort was finally destroyed and the price that was paid made the letter nearly unbearable to read.

However, the fact that so many generations were thriving because of Harry and Ginny's enormous sacrifice was immensely uplifting; it shows the reader that they did not die in vain.

I am enthralled with your style of writing and hope to read more of your work in the near future!!


Author's Response: Sandy, I'm honored and humbled that you think so well of my writing and of this story. You saw in it exactly what I was hoping readers would see. ~Ken

Reviewer: shortcj630
Date: 12/26/06 23:13
Chapter: Main Story: On the Headmaster's Wall

That was good. I really liked the way you described hermione. I think that that would be how she acted. Great job.
~CJ

Author's Response: Thanks, CJ; I'm glad you liked it.

Reviewer: Puss_in_Boots
Date: 11/10/06 0:24
Chapter: Epilogue

Sob!!! That letter was very well written!!That is one of the best fan fictions I have ever read! I particularly enjoy how the story is futuristic but still has everyone in character. I hope you will write another story soon!

Author's Response: Thank you, Chrissy. I know I shouldn't, but I do find it gratifying when people tell me my story made them cry. I got very emotional writing it.

Reviewer: Dumbledore Prince
Date: 11/02/06 4:45
Chapter: Epilogue

This little Darkfic is sad, heartbreaking and amazing - all at the same time.

Your way of surprising the reader is simply astounding. When I read the summary, I assumed that the portrait is question was Dumbledore himself. Obviously, I was wrong - Hermione's portrait was a complete surprise!

You've got her characterisation perfectly. The bossy, stern woman simply comes alive in your writing. Even though your OC Linda is not the main focus of the story, I would have loved to know more about her. That is the only qualm I have.

The final battle scene was very touching. I was hooked and nearly moved to tears at the same time. It was nice to see Hermione finally getting a long-deserved rest in the epilogue. As for the letter: it was very realistic and heart-wrenching.

Overall, it was a beautiful and entertaining story!

~Mini.


Author's Response: Thank you, Mini, for those very kind words. The story evolved the way it did because it originally was to be posted on SIYE, which has a rule against killing off either Harry or Ginny in a one-shot story. The different styles and surprises came about as a result of that, as well. Thanks again. --Ken

Reviewer: lost_in_fantasy
Date: 11/01/06 15:24
Chapter: Epilogue

wow, your story is great! your an amazing writer and you wrote this story from such a unique point of view i just couldnt stop reading it! i just read your whole story and during the second chapter i got tears in my eyes. you really know how to make things seem depressing and happy at the same time. anyways...great!!!

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind words. I'm happy that the story moved you.

Reviewer: occlumens
Date: 10/31/06 19:43
Chapter: Epilogue

This is a beautiful, bittersweet story. I love your OC and the perspective she brings to our beloved H/G. Hermione's portrait was a wonderful touch.

Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks, Tea. I'm very fond of Linda too -- although I became fonder of her after Chapter Three.

Reviewer: BuffyXO
Date: 10/31/06 19:19
Chapter: Epilogue

Wow. That is really all I can say, wow. I love, love, love your story and now that your three chapter exercise is complete, I can really appreciate your plan. Thank you for creating such a dynamic way of looking at the end of the HP universe and writing in a style that showcases your intelligence and imagination of how JKR will use love to undo the evil that is Lord Voldermort. Congratulations on a very well written moving piece of fan fiction. I hope that this is not your last contribution to this site.

Author's Response: Thanks again, Heather. Your praise makes me feel great. I hope I'll put something else on the site eventually. I do have another one I might post...

Reviewer: BuffyXO
Date: 10/27/06 18:18
Chapter: Main Story: On the Headmaster's Wall

What a unique way of telling the battle that we all know is to come! I loved your choice in framing the story and how you used the portrait as the form of information without having them stray from the cannon. I can only imagine that JKR's 7th book to echo many of the same scenes your story dipicted. Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks, Heather. I hope that JKR won't follow *too* much of this plot, as I find it rather depressing.

Reviewer: happyhooligan2001
Date: 10/25/06 19:38
Chapter: Prologue

You are a very good writer. I like the way you gradually reveal Ginny's identity and her charging into battle driven by fear and love.

Author's Response: Thanks, Don. I hope you like the next chapter as well; its tone is very different.

Reviewer: HPLoverForever
Date: 10/24/06 18:35
Chapter: Prologue

I really liked this. It was a very good and easy to follow read.

The first point I'd like to bring up was your imagery here. You've got a really great talent with descriptive words to the extent where I can see everything that Ginny does precisely in my mind. Good work!

Another thing I liked was how you slowly revealed the identity of 'her'. We first see that she is, infact, a witch, then we see she attends Hogwarts, then that she plays Quidditch, then finally that it's Ginny. This was a very creative idea!

Lastly is the perspective you told your story in.It's definitely unique, to say the least, as most the stories out today are told in third person omniscient. Also, a good portion of the stories told in this perspective are difficult to read and hard to understand. Yours, on the other hand, is neither.

I can't wait to read the next part of your work. Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for all the praise you've lavished on me. The second chapter (the "Main Story") is in the validation queue and I'm assuming will be available momentarily. ... But it's in a very different writing style; it is in third person omniscient (well, not quite omnicient; we're in the POV of one particular characters) and the pace is radically different. It's supposed to be a bit of a shock when you transition from one to the other. Hope you like it. Ken

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 10/22/06 9:25
Chapter: Prologue

What an intriguing start! This was not at all what I expected from the summary, yet I quite enjoyed it. It was extremelly well written: very dark, and dramatic, and you stayed consistent with the present tense throughout which only heightened the suspense. I loved this line:
The feeling is familiar, like a strain of music one almost remembers but cannot not quite place. This music might be a march, or paean, or a call to arms, or a dirge; it is insistent, it is frightened, it is sad, it is hopeful.
Wonderful image, great description!
Is this the final battle, taking place at Hogwarts? Who is the witch on the wall? I look forward to seeing where this goes - good luck, and good job! ~Gina :)

Author's Response: Thanks, Gina. Be prepared for a real jump-shift when you read the next chapter -- it will be much more closely related to the summary.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES