Reviews For Egypt
Reviewer: kumydabookworm
Date: 11/08/06 18:21
Chapter: OWL Level

I like the list of gods/goddesses - really easy resource for me; thank you. I found it interesting that Sekhmet is a god of creation, fertility and birth, because it's also the screenname of one of my favorite Gryffindors, and an amazing MNFF author! :P

I think my favorite goddess would be Seshet, because as "Lady of the Books," who wouldn't love her?

Nice chapter! I'm here, Professor! Mark me down!

Kumy

Reviewer: kumydabookworm
Date: 11/08/06 18:20
Chapter: Newt Level

I'm reviewing the NEWT level and the OWL level because we were supposed to read both. And I'm late, but I joined late, so I hope it's an "excused absence."

Anyway, I absolutely loved the part about the Nile being central to the Egyptian's way of life, simply because that's one of the biggest parts of their culture, and thereby their mythology.

It was interesting to learn about their beliefs regarding conquering other villages. They remind me of Hinduism with their tolerance/acceptance of other beliefs.

I found it interesting that not all Egyptian gods originated in Egypt i.e. Ra came from the Meditteranean.

Finally, large section of your lesson is in bolded text. Made it a bit hard to read. ;)

I have so many ideas for this lesson's one-shot; I have no idea how to pick or incorporate them all!!! :D

Love,
Kumy

Reviewer: DarkLordsApprentice
Date: 11/03/06 18:34
Chapter: OWL Level

Eep, I'm so sorry I forgot to do this. Is it better late than never?

Anyway, in school a while ago, I learned some about Egyptian gods and stuff, but apparently I either
a) forgot it all or
b) I was barely taught anything
I suspect the latter.

Reviewer: Celestial Melody
Date: 10/29/06 20:04
Chapter: Newt Level

This is a very indepth look into the background of Egypt's culture/mythology. There really was a greater emphasis on mythology and actual ... nomenclature (?) of the gods and godesses in the OWL level, however, it was really great to have all this background in the NEWT chapter.

It really surprised me, however, that Isis was not mentioned more often. She has always seemed like the mother of Egypt to me, but, apparently, wasn't as ground-shaking as I thought.

I didn't know, offhand, that females were allowed to be priests--or, in this case, 'priestesses'--although I did know that in the Syrian (? I'm not sure... It existed along with the Hebrew culture) that females did indeed participate in temple functions. Though, of course, I really should have realized that the Egyptians allowed females to perform priestly duties because 1.) They allowed women to become pharoahs (AKA Hatshepsut) and 2.) Even the Greek culture with a greater emphasis on male virtues allowed women to become priestesses.

All in all, I really enjoyed the look at the background of Egyptian mythology almost as much as I enjoy the obvious freedom we're going to have with the story. Professor Martreb, you've certainly left the arena wide open for us to explore. There is a great deal of self-study in this class and I like that.

As for the OWL chapter, I liked it although, as I said before, the emphasis seemed to be on lesser deities instead of those like Isis who made up a great part of the daily Egyptian worship. Isis seemed to me to be the mother of all Egypt (I reiterate what I said earlier) and as such would have had influence on the Nile, crops, etc. She was the mother, a very Fertile mother.

However, this was indeed a comprehensive look into the basics of ancient Egyptian mythology.

~Julia~

Author's Response:
I think that with this lesson, and with most lessons, what I'm trying to do is expose you to some of the lesser known aspects of a given culture. You already know about Isis, why do I need to repeat it? Also (generally speaking) there's so MUCH about her (or any of the other major deities I mentioned in passing) that it would have been nearly impossible to get it all in. So I didn't try. Apologies. I do feel that those who care will seek out the knowledge themselves and those who don't....Well, let's be honest. I'm not straining myself for those.

Reviewer: mgle_teacher
Date: 10/29/06 1:34
Chapter: OWL Level

I noticed that there was a lot of deities/gods that I've never heard of before and it made me wonder why...
I did recognize some of the most "major" ones.

mugglemathdork

Reviewer: mgle_teacher
Date: 10/29/06 1:31
Chapter: Newt Level

Sorry for being so late - I read it last week and forgot to post/review *hangs head in shame*
I was never really interested in Egyptian mythology in school but I like how you keep mentioned that they were overly obsessed with death (or preoccupied)and I was also particularly interested in the fact that you mentioned there was no unified religion - it was very cult like and flowed according to the pharaoh of the times.
It made me think about what I know and don't know about Egyptian mythology.

mugglemathdork

Reviewer: mgle_teacher
Date: 10/29/06 1:30
Chapter: Newt Level

Sorry for being so late - I read it last week and forgot to post/review *hangs head in shame*
I was never really interested in Egyptian mythology in school but I like how you keep mentioned that they were overly obsessed with death (or preoccupied)and I was also particularly interested in the fact that you mentioned there was no unified religion - it was very cult like and flowed according to the pharaoh of the times.
It made me think about what I know and don't know about Egyptian mythology.

Reviewer: Ms Sirius Black
Date: 10/28/06 20:24
Chapter: OWL Level

I found this very informative. I thought that i knew a little bit about the gods and goddesses of Eygpt but really I was clueless. I only knew about Ra and some other things. This taught me more about Eygypt then what I learned about in my world history class in school!
Also I just wanted to say that my name on the forums is siriusly luv sirius, so I just get cerdit for reviewing the story.

Reviewer: StaceyLC
Date: 10/22/06 20:38
Chapter: OWL Level

Very interesting.... I hadn't really much looked into Egyptian mythology before. I really only knew about Bast, Isis, Osiris, Anubis, Ra, and Horus.

Reviewer: Madame Marauder
Date: 10/22/06 14:54
Chapter: Newt Level

Very interesting lesson, Professor! I never really knew about the different cults in Ancient Egypt-- those were things I thought were more associated with later civilizations. Nor did I know that much about the priests and priestesses of Egypt.

I'm looking forward to the next lesson!

-MadMar

Reviewer: evadestruction
Date: 10/21/06 16:24
Chapter: OWL Level

I've never even heard of half of these gods. I've heard of Bast and Anubis, but the others were totally new to me. This was informative without being too detailed and tedious. Yay!

Reviewer: hogwartsduchess
Date: 10/20/06 9:42
Chapter: OWL Level

Quite a bit of this was already familiar to me, as I've done some studies in Egyptian Mythology, but I loved reading the Isis/Osiris bits again. An excellent lesson, though you forgot to unbold a large section of text in the first chapter.

Reviewer: elliotsays
Date: 10/18/06 21:09
Chapter: OWL Level

That was a very informative overview! I'm actually very surprised at how little I knew - Egyptian mythology is so different from Greek and Roman (which are clearly very simmilar), but its very interesting how many parallels can still be drawn (as you did with the birth of Shu and Geb, like the birth of Athena).

Reviewer: Gonz
Date: 10/18/06 18:21
Chapter: Newt Level

This was a very infomative and interesting reading. I really liked how linked the gods were to Egypt politictics. The sun god not important until he became assioated with the rulers, then all the other major gods hade be assiocated, too.

Out of the lists of gods Nun struck me as interesting, because of frog and water link. It made me think of the story of Moses and one of plagues was frogs/toads came out of the Nile and did something, I forget, but it almost like that plague is mocking one of the Egyptian gods.

Reviewer: LadyAlesha
Date: 10/18/06 11:48
Chapter: OWL Level

I wasnít sure which chapter I was meant to review, or if I had to review both, because as a NEWT level student I have to read both, so I decided to review chapter 2, because itís the last one I read.

So basically Iím here to say that I did indeed read the whole lesson and enjoyed it immensely. Ancient Egypt has always had a special part in my heart, itís my ultimate love in history, so I knew quite a bit before I started reading the lesson. I myself own various non-fiction books on Ancient Egypt and borrowed a variety of others from several libraries, but there were little bits and pieces of information I didnít know before. For example, the fact that there were two gods called Horus, the actual Horus and his grandson, who were fused together later on, was completely new to me. I also didnít know that Osirius was associated with the sun in later decades/centuries of the Ancient Egyptian civilisation, I only knew him as the god of the underworld.

As for the list of gods in chapter 2, there were a few I knew about, others whose names I had heard and some whom I had never heard of before. I always get confused because there are just so many different gods in Ancient Egyptian mythology, so itís nice to have a list that includes at least the most important gods and goddesses and names of some other related gods and goddesses.

I hope this review is kind of what you had in mind, Slian, and that it proves I read the lesson.


Author's Response: *marks your attendance*

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
‚ÄúNo one‚Äôs ever kissed me before‚Ķ. What is one to do now?‚ÄĚ An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES