Reviews For A Stolen Past
Reviewer: Sekhmet
Date: 12/14/06 19:19
Chapter: Chapter 17: Harry’s Dream Girl

Awww, this chapter was so sweet! You handled it so delicately. I loved this one.

Author's Response: Thanks very much. I really appreciate your comments. I tried really hard to make it believable, and I'm glad you feel I succeeded.

Reviewer: Sekhmet
Date: 12/14/06 5:22
Chapter: Chapter 15: Confrontation

Finally, some answers! A very good chapter here. I was shocked, yet not so suprised to discover Umbridge behind it all.

Thanks!

Author's Response: Yeah, the Toad strikes again!

Reviewer: Sekhmet
Date: 12/13/06 18:44
Chapter: Chapter 14: Questions and Answers

Ah-ha! I knew it had to be something like that! A Memory Charm! I figured the whole hitting his head thing couldn't be the explaination. How else would Vernon know that they could shove him back into the cupboard under the stairs and he wouldn't remember? He must have known Harry's memory was modified. I kept thinking his memory was Obliviated, but knew that couldn't be correct, as he still had some memory. Excellent!

The plot gets more sinister feeling now!

Author's Response: Thank you! Now you just have to figure out who did it!

Reviewer: Sekhmet
Date: 12/12/06 5:22
Chapter: Chapter 12: “I smell a rat.”

What an intense and breat-taking chapter! I was moved that Hassseth died, savagely happy that Wormtail died, and relieved when Harry finally left. Your battle description work very well for imgaining the scene. Great imagery!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm still sad that Hassseth died, but I take comfort in the fact that she took Wormtail with her.

Reviewer: Peach
Date: 12/12/06 2:20
Chapter: Chapter 8: Practice Makes Perfect

Tyler's some brave kid. I wasn't thinking among the lines of polyjuice-moody (even Harry would notice his friend's drinking problem) but even though he might be just Tyler for now, he might have a job to do later on or be used by DE or something. (you know, kinda like Gollum?)

There's something I forgot to mention before. About Harry using magic without a wand. It's easy to see how he's able to use magic instinctively, like when he's in dangerous sits or using it as a reflex etc, but a spell from each finger and strong effects on the first try - sounds rather advanced to me and since Harry's never been the brightest of fastets to grasp in class, I can't quite believe that bit. sorry. but maybe there'll be an explanation to that soon, so I'll keep reading :-)

Author's Response: Thank you for your comments. There is an explanation about Harry's use of magic without a wand later on. You'll have to let me know if you find it believable.

Reviewer: Queen of Diamonds
Date: 12/11/06 18:21
Chapter: Chapter 18: Back to the Beginning

amazingg! spectacular! fantastic! wow! Omg...this is definetly one of the best fan fics I have read...ever! Just superb! :D (if u havent been able to tell by my adjectives)

Everything about this story was just perfect: Harry's personalities, the subtle dropping in of Harry's memories, the entire scheme that started the whole ordeal (incredibly well written if I do say so myself!) the setting, the plot, the new characters (which usually I hate, but in this story they really seemed to fit and like felt like an actual character that would be found in J.K's writing!!)

I was also incredibly happy with your G/H shipping :D !! I am definetly a hard-core shipper, and (sorry to all you fans out there!) but H/Hr shipping almost makes me like sick! so i was positively thrilled to see a well written, organized and thought through H/G fic!

You certainly have writing powers rivaling J.K Rowling's own!! Bravo! Bravo!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. It's really flattering to be compared to Ms. Rowling, even though I know that realistically this isn't up to her standard. It still feels really nice to read that.

I'm very glad you enjoyed the story. Just so you know, I am also a big H/G shipper. I just can't bring myself to put either of them with anyone else. Even when I read the actual books, I cringe at Harry/Cho, Ginny/Michael, and Ginny/Dean. Thank you very much for reviewing.

Reviewer: Sekhmet
Date: 12/11/06 17:59
Chapter: Chapter 9: Hassseth and Hedwig

Yes! Finally, we get to see everyone else! Not that I'm complaining, it just gives me some hope.

Another excellent chapter. I haven't reviewed the last few because, well, I'd simply sound like a broken record. The writing is impeccable and the plot inriguing! I've GOT to keep reading.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I hope the plot continues to please.

Reviewer: Sekhmet
Date: 12/10/06 19:21
Chapter: Chapter 5: The Severe Beating of a Sixteen-year-old Wizard

What a terrible beating! The only thing that I can hope comes from that is Harry's memory returning (and the boys being expelled!). Your descriptions of the fight scene were excellently graphic. I cringed! Poor Harry.

On to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you. There may be some interesting outcomes from Harry's beating, but they might not be what you'd expect.

Reviewer: Peach
Date: 12/10/06 6:07
Chapter: Chapter 7: Ron

Yes, it did warm me. Finally he found something that could (and hopefeull will) lead him back to where he belongs. Now he only has to realize who Snowy really is. Oh, and I do hope he is clever enough to look up the spells he dreamt about before practicing them on, god forbid, Tyler... too bad Bid Tom isn't around anymore *grins evily*

Author's Response: Well, Harry doesn't have any way to look up any spells, since he has none of his books from Hogwarts. Practicing them on Big Tom is an appealing idea, but Harry will figure out something appropriate.

Reviewer: Peach
Date: 12/10/06 5:21
Chapter: Chapter 5: The Severe Beating of a Sixteen-year-old Wizard

So Tyler lives on I get the feeling that there's a bit more to Tyler, and if not yet, there'll soon will be ;-) Or maybe my screwed up mind is just not able to process the info that someone is nice to someone else, esp one someone being Harry, withtout any dark intentions....
anyways, I like the idea that Harry is able to use his magic instinctively and hasn't lost this part completley.

Snowy soaring up and away from Big Tom, who was sporting a nasty gash on his cheek
Go, Hedwig!



Author's Response: Thank you! Actually, I've been quite amused by the number of people who are suspicious of Tyler. Of course, after fake Moody in GoF I guess you never know who you can trust.

Reviewer: Sekhmet
Date: 12/09/06 14:28
Chapter: Chapter 4: Hassseth

Another of Harry's abilities slowly coming forth. I truly enjoyed his 'discovery' that he is a Parselmouth. I especially loved what the adder had to say about him:

'"A human who can speak in the language of serpents,” the snake explained. “They’re not very common, as I’m sure you know, and to meet one who looks out for his friends as you just did.... It’s practically unheard of.”'

It was a clever reference to most Parselmouths being dark wizards who would not do such things. I appreciated that touch.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the Parselmouth bit; you caught what I was alluding to perfectly.

Reviewer: Sekhmet
Date: 12/09/06 14:18
Chapter: Chapter 3: Magic

It is not unheard of to perform wandless magic, and I'm sure moments of extreme mental duress would help a wizard to focus his energy enough to accomplish such a feat. I did not find the incident unbelievable.

Your story continues to fascinate and enthrall me. I agree that calling Hedwig 'Snowy' is rather disconcerting, however, it would be silly for Harry to figure out her name with only his Muggle memories.

I saw that you were able to post all 18 of your chapters very quickly. I must confess that I'm quite envious. I've been posting mine since March and I still have a few more chapters to go! Are you using beta readers? If you are they must be lightening fast. My story is complete, but it is the beta readers that are really slowing down the posting.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for your comments. I actually haven't used a Beta for this story at all (although I do proofread each chapter several times over the course of a few weeks before submitting). My last Beta experience left sort of a bad taste in my mouth. But anyway, I think the reason my chapters get posted so quickly is a combination of the Mystery category's Mod being extremely fast most of the time, and the fact that I tend to submit a new chapter as soon as the previous one is validated. I try to stay several chapters ahead of what's posted so there's always a new chapter waiting in the wings.

Reviewer: Sekhmet
Date: 12/09/06 13:44
Chapter: Chapter 2: St. Brutus’s Secure Center for Incurably Criminal Boys

You have written another very fascinating chapter. You give little tidbits of the past away, but it's so muddled for poor Harry that he can't make sense of it. I'm still dying of curiosity to know what happened to him (what an excellent way to ensure that people will continue with your story!).

I feel so terribly sad for Harry and his situation, so you've obviously done an excellent job creating the mood. You've also done an excellent job with the imagery, too. Again, I found no mistakes.

An excellent story!

Author's Response: I'm glad you think so. All I can say is, read on and everything will become clear (eventually).

Reviewer: Sekhmet
Date: 12/09/06 13:12
Chapter: Chapter 1: Memory Loss

"A/N: I hope you didn’t find this chapter too boring; it was necessary to set up the rest of the story. If it did bore you, please don’t give up on me yet - it only gets better.:

Boring? How could it be boring? I thought it was wonderful! Full of great information. It was curiousity piquing. I think it's a great start. Fascinating story idea.

I saw no mistakes (though I'm no grammar expert) and I thought it flowed really nicely.

You've captured the Dursley's characters excellently. I felt very sorry for Harry and yet amused at how worry he felt for himself.

I can't wait to find out what is going on.

Excellent chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks very much. I really ought to go back and get rid of that author's note now that the following chapters are up. I'd honestly forgotten all about it.

Reviewer: Peach
Date: 12/08/06 11:02
Chapter: Chapter 2: St. Brutus’s Secure Center for Incurably Criminal Boys

oi I wonder how long it'll be until someone from his past will come looking for him...I was waiting for the door to magically burst open (forced by his anger or something) ... well, on to the next chap!

Author's Response: Read on and see, my friend.

Reviewer: Peach
Date: 12/08/06 10:38
Chapter: Chapter 1: Memory Loss

New Reader! :-)
The summary sounded very intriguing, and so far it didn't disappoint me (meaning no, chap1 is not boring at all).

Woot!

Author's Response: Yay! I hope you keep reading. :)

Reviewer: kati6110
Date: 12/08/06 10:18
Chapter: Chapter 1: Memory Loss

This is a great story. Thank you for writing it. I subscribed to the sequel too.

Author's Response: Thanks!

Reviewer: Pottergirl
Date: 12/06/06 19:25
Chapter: Chapter 15: Confrontation

As he dragged his trunk past the entrance to the sitting room, Harry was startled to hear a girlish voice from inside say, “Incarcerous.” Immediately, he was lying on the floor next to his trunk and the overturned cage, bound fast by magical ropes. Smiling down at him with a malevolent look in her eye was a short woman with a flabby, toad-like face.

“Now see here,” began Uncle Vernon, “I’ll have none of that in my house. We agreed-”

“I’m terribly sorry, Mr. Dursley,” the woman replied in her sickly sweet voice, “but surely you recognize the need to restrain the boy. We wouldn’t want him getting violent, now would we?”

“I’ll kill you,” Harry hissed as he struggled against his bonds. “One day, it’ll be just you and me, and you won’t make it out alive.” Even though he was bound and on the floor, his tone was deadly serious as he worked furiously to get his arms free.

The witch laughed airily. “Oh, Mr. Potter; I thought you would have learned by now not to tell such hurtful lies. Perhaps this will help you hold your tongue.” She flicked her wand at him, conjuring a gag to prevent him from speaking. Harry glared daggers at her and remained silent, although he continued his futile struggle against the magical ropes.

“Enough of this nonsense!” shouted Uncle Vernon, who was beginning to turn a light shade of purple. “I only agreed to meet with you because you said you could help us deal with the boy, but here you are doing- doing that in my house. Tell me what you propose, or get out!”

The witch smiled sweetly at him as she retrieved her clipboard from where it had been resting on the arm of a chair. “You have raised your nephew from the time he was fifteen months old, and - until he turned eleven and was informed of what he truly is - you did your best to-” she consulted her clipboard, “-‘squash the weirdness out of him,’ is that right?”

“Yes,” Uncle Vernon answered, still eyeing her with a look of distrust. Harry had a feeling that the only reason his uncle hadn’t thrown her out immediately was because he simply couldn’t dislike someone who would bind Harry on sight.

“Very well,” she continued in her nauseatingly girlish voice. “I am here to offer you a chance to ‘squash the weirdness out of him,’ as you say. I can make Mr. Potter forget all about the magical world, and he’ll go back to just being your nephew, with no recollection whatsoever of anyone or anything related to magic.”

Harry’s eyes widened in horror and he screamed in rage, forgetting that his mouth was stuffed with a gag, as he fought even more furiously against the ropes that held him bound. Uncle Vernon winced at the sound of the word ‘magic,’ but nodded, inviting his visitor to continue.

“I’ll take care of his trunk and his owl; he won’t be needing them anymore. Now, as far as what you need to do, just treat him like you always have, and don’t mention anything about his school, his friends, and so on. Oh, and I suggest you all go on a nice long holiday this summer, just in case any of his friends do come looking for him. Do you have any questions?”

“Yes,” answered Uncle Vernon. “The last time we tried to escape from those freaks from his school, they were able to track us down no matter where we went. How would we be able to escape this time?”

The witch gave a very false laugh before answering, “Last time, you didn’t have my help,” she answered simply. “All I need is your permission to use magic to keep him hidden, and he will be lost to them forever.”

“What happens in the fall when he’s supposed to go back to school, then?” asked Uncle Vernon.

She smiled her sickly sweet smile, and said, “I’ll be arranging for him to attend St. Brutus’s Secure Center for Incurably Criminal Boys, since that’s where you’ve been telling people he goes, anyway. There are enough boys there that no one will notice the fact that nobody remembers him.”

“Fine,” said Uncle Vernon. “Get on with it then, and I don’t want you doing any more of- of that in my house. Just hide him and make him forget, and then you’re gone.”

“Of course,” said the witch. She waved her wand at Harry’s school trunk and birdcage, and muttered, “Evanesco,” causing both to disappear. “When he wakes up, the last several years will be a blur for him,” she added as an afterthought. “Tell him he was hit over the head during a fight at the end of term, and that’s why he can’t remember anything.” She leveled her wand at Harry and, with an evil little laugh, said very clearly, “Obliviate.”

The memory ended, its figures slowly dissipating and falling back into the stone basin.

Grrrrr..... Evil toad woman....How DARE she do that to Dan, er, I mean, Harry.... I'm gonna... *takes a doll of Umbridge and rips it in half before feeding it to her dog* Good doggie.... Eat up the evil toad woman....10/10

Author's Response: Hmmm... Punishing Umbridge via Voodoo... now that's an interesting idea.

Reviewer: Pottergirl
Date: 12/06/06 19:09
Chapter: Chapter 14: Questions and Answers

Dursley. Evil gits, the lot of them. Jack Sparrow was right when he said, 'Watch your back.' 10/10

Author's Response: Right you are.

Reviewer: Pottergirl
Date: 12/06/06 18:53
Chapter: Chapter 13: The Burrow

It's Ginny, I know it, I can feel it!! 10/10

Author's Response: Can you? ;)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Skeletons' Tale by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
"A rose by any other name would smell as sweet," wrote Shakespeare. This story...
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES