Reviews For Amanda
Reviewer: Purplemage
Date: 07/03/11 18:59
Chapter: Amanda

I'm going to start this reply the same way I started Amanda's, I'm so sorry it took me such an unbelievably long time to reply. Your review was just wonderful, I'm so happy you felt all the things I wanted people to feel when I wrote it that I don't know how to put it into words. Just thank you. That's all I can say. Thank you. You've made my night a much better one.
*hug*

Reviewer: BobbieJeanLand
Date: 11/24/10 12:48
Chapter: Amanda

love this well done

Author's Response: Thank you.

Reviewer: SlytherinSaint
Date: 08/23/08 14:58
Chapter: Amanda

This was incredible and so emotional, your writing is so passionate, I adored the whole thing. I really can't think of another way to describe it. Remarkable!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. It means a lot to me it touched you.

Reviewer: ringobeatlesfan4
Date: 06/24/08 19:18
Chapter: Amanda

Was the italicized voice at the end the ghost of Amanda talking to him? That would have been great! And this also wasn't much of a slash story. well, kinda, but it wasnt really the main theme to it. This was really good. I try to stay away from suicide stories due to, well, having 2 of my friends almost try it, but I think that this helped me realize that they would have always been there for me if they did kill themselves. Luckily, me and some expertly timed talks saved them from it. Great story!

Author's Response: I'm really sorry to hear about your friends. Suicide is a terrible thing, but it is a subject that fascinates me. You are right the slash is secondary, I wanted to concentrate on other things. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Rhi for HP
Date: 04/07/08 23:16
Chapter: Amanda

Okay I know I just reviewed but I remembered what else I wanted to say. ;) I like how you made this so realistic, especially with how people are viewed after they're dead. It's a strange thing, isn't it?
I love Wolfstar, and this was a very unique way to do it. Very memorable.

Author's Response: I'm glad you found it realistic. It was something I was very worried about. Thank you so much for taking the time to review this.

Reviewer: Rhi for HP
Date: 04/07/08 23:08
Chapter: Amanda

Awww.....*takes deep breaths to prevent from crying* This was so amazing!!! A few months ago a boy at my school who was a teacher's assistant in my Spanish class committed suicide...it was so awful to go to third period and he wasn't there, and he had seemed like one of the thousands that blend into the crowds. :( This was beautiful. Well done.

Author's Response: Thank you.

Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 01/16/08 17:05
Chapter: Amanda

What a unique fic. I wonder if there are people who don't know you consider them a friend. This fic makes me feel as though we should tell others what we're thinking, how we feel and what they mean to us. Maybe we can consider someone a friend because their inate warmth gives us hope even if only for an instant. I've heard it said that a stranger is a friend you haven't met yet. I get very lonely and sometimes walk down the street feeling despair and all it takes is a kind word, a greeting from someone walking the other way and I get a warm feeling. Wonder if that's why Amanda considered Remus a friend? Sorry for the long review, but fics often give me pause for thought. The pen is mightier than the sword after all.

Author's Response: Yes, this pretty much how I imagined Amanda feeling when she met Remus. He was the only one who treated her with kindness, even if it was for short period of times, and it meant the world to her.

Reviewer: naked dumby
Date: 11/14/07 22:25
Chapter: Amanda

this made me cry........i loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you.

Reviewer: liquid_silver
Date: 11/06/07 8:47
Chapter: Amanda

Wow . . .
This was absolutely beautiful. I really, really wish that Remus and Sirius had ended up together in the books!

Author's Response: Maybe they were together at some point. We probably will never know. Thank you for the review.

Reviewer: MandyMuggle
Date: 11/03/07 21:09
Chapter: Amanda

That made me cry. You really deserved the Quicksilver Quill Award!

Author's Response: Thank you that means a lot.

Reviewer: pandafan81
Date: 10/01/07 22:25
Chapter: Amanda

OMG-- Harald,

I'm a complete idiot. I was talking to Jenna, how we both ended up reviewing your story today, and I finally figured out HOW Amanda got Sirius and Remus together-- by forcing Remus to find comfort in Sirius.

So, I'm not completely dense. LOL

Author's Response: No, you're not dense!!! Sorry it took me such a long time to reply. Thank you for the review.

Reviewer: pandafan81
Date: 10/01/07 21:42
Chapter: Amanda

Hello Harald my friend!

As you know, I've been meaning to read this for a long time. Not just because the title bears my own name, but because we've discussed this once upon a time.

I'm going to comment as I go...

Remus nodded lazily.
I don't think lazily is the right adverb here. Lazy says "uncarinng" to me, I think "mournfully" or something that would convey his sadness.

But in its place was nothing but a podium.
You've already stated that there is a podium at the beginning. I would actually fuse this sentence with thefirst, so it read something like:
Dumbledore gracefully stood up from his seat, and approached the podium.

This is a very powerful piece. You've covered two very controversial topics in this one short work. Suicide and homosexuality are hard topics to write about, let alone combining the two. At first, I felt like this story was disjointed. I didn't really see the connection between Remus' relationship with Amanda and the consequences of her death and how that related to his relationship with Sirius. In a way, I liked, and disliked that element in the story.

Obviously Remus is forced to face his own mortality, but the mortality of his loved ones as well. It also forced him to recognize the balance between how an unexpected death makes you realize what you would regret, vs. how hurt he would be to lose the ones he loves. I'm glad that Remus followed the first path, that not using the time we have to experience love is more regrettable than shielding our hearts. My grandmother lost her sister at a young age, and has admitted to the family that she has purposely never allowed herself to love anyone again-- now she's an old, very lonely person, because she didn't share the love she had when she could. She's now 90 and spent most of those years not loving anyone.

Okay, I'm done talking about myself, I'll get back to the main point here.

My point IS that, the ending is a bit unsettled, and I can't decide if I like that or not. I like that Remus is starting to be more comfortable with Sirius and their relationship. AND I especially liked that you didn't have them suddenly in the perfect relationship. There are obviously going to be other issues they will have to work through (what their friends/classmates/families think and so forth). And I especially liked that moment of clarity with Amanda- How Remus got to see what he meant to her. That she was the first to approve of his love for Sirius.

However, I still think there's some seperateness to the two themes in this story. We find out that Amanda wanted Sirius and Remus to be together- which helps to tie them together- but we don't know HOW she brought them together. Did she talk to Remus? Obviously she didn't reach out to Sirius, if he joked about her giving him goosebumps at the beginning.

LOL, has my rambling made any sense at all? Probably not. Anyway, I think you handled two very sensitive topics rather maturely. The writing for the most part was wonderful. my only crit would be to do something to set aside the vision of Amanda's perspective, in italics or something. Otherwise I'm very pleased I finally got around to reading this!

*hug*

Author's Response: Hi Amanda, I really haven't talked to you in a long time and probably you won't read this, probably you don't log into mnff anymore, but I'm still going to write a reply because you wrote such a wonderful review. I don't know if I ever mentioned this to you, but the idea for this fic was born from a dream I had this probably why it feels disjointed at places. I had this strong image of this young gay couple coming together after a girl committed suicide, and from there I started building. I'm really sorry to hear about your grandmother. Death does have some weird effect on us, and some of those effects we're never able to shake them off. Thank you so much for your review and again sorry for replying so ridiculously late. *hug* Harald

Reviewer: GringottsVault711
Date: 10/01/07 1:41
Chapter: Amanda

Harald, this story is incredible. It's not easy to find a story out there that deals with something this powerful, and does it this sensitively and realistically.

You do a good job of dealing with the topic of suicide, and death in general. I noticed how McGonagall informed the class that Amanda had died, editting out the circumstance of her death. That was just so accurate of how McGonagall would give news to her students, and, it was such a profound contrast to the students' whispers that I felt just--- painfully aware of it.

I also like that you don't... chain Remus to his grief. A lot of authors make the mistake of overemphasising mourning. I also saw it a lot with the reactions to HBP!Harry, who a lot of people said wasn't "sad enough" after the death of Sirius. Death is part of our lives, an awful part, but one usually does not become consumed by it. And, where I think some people might scold you for putting a kissing session in the middle of an attempt to write a eulogy, they would be wrong in criticising, because it's so much like real life.

More importantly of course was not the kissing, but the happiness and the love. I could feel the comfort that Sirius gave to Remus. The just... emotional embrace of being loved and having someone close to you. And it is absolutely beautiful that Sirius stayed up, helping him write the rest of his speech. It was just, through and through LOVE, and, that is something else that is so hard to find represented realistically, without proposals or serenades or smut. The love and the connection between Sirius and Remus was incredibly tangible and believable, and it just gave this story so much life. People usually write Remus/Sirius with so much... lust and sexual tension and, just, I didn't even realise how cliched it was until consciously sitting down to review this fic.

Amanda is an interesting third character, hard to understand in a way, but ... you can sympathise with her. It's difficult to connect an audience to a character they don't know, and who they don't really see, but I think you did a good job of making her as important to the story as the two boys.

To end this unstructured gushing I will say what my favourite thing about this story is -- it stands out. It is not a story that was good in itself, but fades against a hundred other fics about the same thing. It was original and emotional and just every bit worth remembering.

Reviewer: totaltwinkie
Date: 08/26/07 0:58
Chapter: Amanda

......that was great. Really makes one think about the things that happen in out lives. Good or bad. Big or small.

Author's Response: I'm glad it made you think. That was the idea. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: dontimamanda
Date: 05/29/07 18:59
Chapter: Amanda

OMG!! u killed me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
lol just kidding. love the story. its awesome!!!


and by the way. u described me perfectly. except for the being dead part.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: dontimamanda
Date: 05/29/07 18:34
Chapter: Amanda

OMG!! u killed me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
lol just kidding. love the story. its awesome!!!


and by the way. u described me perfectly. except for the being dead part.

Author's Response: I always wondered how a girl named Amanda would feel while reading this story. I guess now I know. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: TheTrioLivesOn
Date: 04/30/07 18:27
Chapter: Amanda

awww....


Author's Response: Thanks?

Reviewer: Lurid
Date: 10/11/06 8:41
Chapter: Amanda

Harald, this fic totally blew me away. It wasnít what I was expecting at all, but it was so different and unique it compelled me to review. With a title like ĎAmandaí and a paring like Sirius/Remus, and your reputation for a different flavour of fiction, I knew Iíd enjoy myself when I read it. I certainly wasnít expecting things to move to fast from stage to stage, but somehow, it worked.

I like the letter at the start. It sets the mood, and it leaves so many unanswered questions. Who was Amanda? How did she know Remus? The best thing about your fiction, though, is that you reveal twists and plot points very slowly. The fact that an OC knows Remus enough to mention him in her death note is enough to make Remus seem all the more mysterious Ė how is Remus, the friend of blunt James and Sirius friends with someone whose life is so complicated? It made your OC, and Remus seem so much more interesting and deep. ďAmanda Lior was dead.Ē Itís very sudden that you include that she slit her wrists Ė itís a great technique. The reader is just as startled about Amandaís death as Remus is, strengthening the bond between character and reader. Itís important in fanfiction because the books are seen through the protagonistsí own eyes, and really, the readers own eyes. Therefore, by including this, the reader can feel the abrupt loss of a friend too. Not always a good thing, obviously because loosing someone is really quite sad, but that particular part of the story isnít very happy either. Donít get me wrong, Iím not criticising you; far from it. What I guess Iím trying to say is that you can invoke such a feeling in someone Ė itís great!

ďRemus loved that grin; it seemed as if Sirius could take on the world when he carried that grin. Even though Sirius was oblivious about the situation, Remus felt better just to have him by his side. Ē Iím just congratulating you on your subtlety. I didnít look at the ship when I first started reading; it was only after you said this I backspaced and had a look. I read the rest of the fic with a smile on my face because I knew what was to come. The best thing about your slash, I think, is itís believable. Itís not overly sudden Ė thereís always some background to justify the relationship.
ďSirius eyes widened and he stared at his empty plate for a couple of seconds. ďIím a monster.Ē This line captures perfectly the reactions many people have after a death. This fiction is very realistic. In RL, people whine and moan about people all the time Ė itís only when theyíre gone theyíre polite about the deceasedís memory. Itís only when someone has died to they honour their memory, and itís quite sad. I love the way your fictions make me reflect.
ďOf course, they were a couple of insensitive bastards who didnít care and even made jokes about her death. Ē This, unfortunately, captures the other type of inconsiderate people. Itís great the way you can slide in contrast all the way through your fic. With such a delicate occurrence and theme to the fiction, youíve kept up your tendency to think carefully about your writing and whatís influenced it.

ďVery well, I shall start where we left off last time,Ē she said, and immediately started explaining the difficult process of transfiguring minerals.Ē I like this reminder that there is life after death. Itís a big prompt for Remus; otherwise, I think he would have just stayed in the depressed slump he was in. Youíve drawn so many great things from the world around you Ė it makes me grin every time I notice it, Harald.

ďItís not a funeral, itís a service,Ē Sirius corrected. ďAnd we kissed the other night, so sooner or later youíre going to have to deal with it.Ē This is where Steph grinned the hardest. Not only did Harald manage to include suicide in his fic, something Steph would never dare try in a million years, but also he managed to turn it into Slash without freaking Steph out! Good job! The transition was so sudden (me not noticing the foreshadowing earlier) that it made me go O.o, but it was a good O.o. Not many people can do that and get away with it, Harald. It seemed so believable, and not because of the massive Wolfstar fan base, but because of the ease that Sirius and Remus talked about each other and to each other.

I enjoyed the flashback towards the end. It was private, and I felt so horrible that someone so nice to Remus had to die as a major plot-point! *giggle*The only thing I have to say about this, though, was that is wasnít very distinct. I had to re-read the paragraph to see whether he wasnít asking someone on the stage for a quill so he could change what heíd written. Itís something I could see working quite well in a movie, obviously, but in fanfiction itís a little harder. I understood what you were trying to do, but it was a little difficult to get it at first. In the few lines we got to know Amanda, I liked her, I really did. Thatís why, when at the end you had the italics - ďNo, thank youÖĒ I smiled, because Amanda was finally at rest and sheíd helped her friend.

Well, Harald, Iím at the end. A sad fic turned happy, Amanda was beautiful.


Author's Response: OMG!!!! What a lovely review!! I read the whole thing with a big smile on my face. I loved how you really payed attention to the little details. "and your reputation for a different flavour of fiction," You just made my day with that line, seriously, it was wonderful. "The best thing about your slash, I think, is itís believable." Thank you, this means a lot to me! I try really hard to make it believable and to make the reader care for the characters. The thing you said about the people respecting someone only after their death is true. I've always noticed it and it bothers me. It's almost hypocritical (is that a word?) "he managed to turn it into Slash without freaking Steph out!" LOL I'm happy I didn't freak you out. If that other Sirius/Remus sm....fic didn't freak you out then I don't think something else I can write will ever freak you out. I know the flashback was a bit herd, not many people got it right away, but it was crucial for the fic. It had to be there! I'm so happy you liked the fic. Thank you so much for your fantastic review!

Reviewer: MoonGoddess
Date: 10/08/06 21:32
Chapter: Amanda

oh...i have no idea what to say, but i think i should say something...it was so beautifully staged, it was almost like a movie. i could almost see it. and, the part with the flashback was so touching...and depressing a bit

i actually know what it's like...feeling that someone is your friend when they barely even, to don't, know who you are....the fact that she wrote a suicide note before she killed herself proves it wasnt on a whim, and that she thouraly thought about it. which is sad, knowing that she could have been helped...

ok..im rambling about characters that dont exist...but this is what your stories do to me! *sigh* im addicted now..

Author's Response: Thank you so muc. I love that word, stage. When I write I imagine the stories as a movie, I'm glad someone saw it too. Aww, I hope the addiction is not so bad >.> Thanks for the wonderful review!

Reviewer: rgfawkes
Date: 09/30/06 10:37
Chapter: Amanda


I feel like my review isn't going to be as good now since your last two have been nice and lenghty and I find it impossible to write lenghty reviews. Nevertheless, I shall try.

Sorry I'm not one of your crying fangirls but I did find this story sad in an enjoyable way. You did a wonderful job or portraying the varying reactions of the students to Amanda's death. Very believeable yet saddening that some people just don't seem to care when someone dies.

I loved how you revealed Amanda to the readers in this. You let the actions and words of others tell us about her rather than letting her own actions and words do it.

Everyone was nicely in character in this too. Remus especially. I can easily see the evolution that would have taken place between your young, nervous Remus and Jo's calm, collected Lupin. Everyone was very believeable but the threads seemed to losen just a smidgen around the Sirius/Remus scene. However then again love does make people act very unlike what you come to expect from them and therefore that might be why the characters seemed alittle off to me.

And finally I would like to remark on the wonderful job you've done in interweaving two plots in one. You tied all your threads together wonderfully and add the bonus of managing to reveal a character through it. It's like a triple threat deal. :)

Wonderful job and you deserve the wonderful reviews that it will surely bring you.

P.S. Why do you seem to favor dead girls plotting on getting Remus and Sirius together? ;) *j/k*

Author's Response: What are you talking about? Your review is wooonderful. It is sad, but there are people that will joke about even death. I wanted to show diferent reactions about her death. I'm glad you liked the characterizations, Remus and Sirius are my two favorite characters to write. I really don't know why I like the idea of a dead woman bringing Sirius and Remus together. I really don't know. I need to check on that. Thanks for the review!!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Other Lives and Dimensions and Finally a Love Story by MoRoCcAnAnDpRoUd Professors
The year is 1977, and the Wizarding World is in turmoil, but it doesn't really...
Research and Development by Northumbrian 3rd-5th Years
The Mirrorphone, the latest advance in Wizarding communications. Now, of course...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES