Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 02/24/10 14:44
Chapter: Chapter 6: Cooties

I agree the balance between the two parts of this story has been, well, not even, at least. But I think that comes from not only publishing this one chapter at a time, but writing it the same way. You might have the over-plot figured out, but it's these small details that arise in writing that tend to make it take longer, but also make it so much more interesting.

By the way, which one-shot are you referring to in the A/N here?

Author's Response: I'm glad you like the small details! I think it all starts to come together eventually. And, honestly, I have no idea which one-shot I meant at the time, I have a handful of Lily/James ones I've written over the years, some better than others (in my opinion). Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 02/24/10 13:02
Chapter: Chapter 5: What Makes Life Worth Living

I suspected at the heels, but I didn't know until James changed into his pajamas without moving. It was a fun dream though.
Not my favorite chapter, but I like your characterization of Emmeline. It's kind of strange that we know so little about her from the books, despite the fact that she's in both incarnations of the Order. I think it's great that she seems like she could be a female James (albeit with a little more self-awareness, perhaps).

And if you want help reviewing these, at least as far as picking through them for punctuation, grammar, spelling, and the like, I'd be happy to look through them.

Author's Response: The heels are a bit of a give-away, I think! This isn't one of the better chapters, I don't think, but I'm glad you like Emmeline! She definitely becomes a big character. And yes, if you'd like to point out any typos, I'd greatly appreciate it! I could fix the grammar and spelling myself, if I took the time to do it, but I'd rather be writing new things :)

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 02/24/10 7:35
Chapter: Chapter 3: Soap Suds and Back Rubs

Of course I checked (right away, in fact). Well done. And, I'd like to say that, despite your claim at the end of the prologue, you've published here an entire chapter in Lily's POV. That's alright though, because I think it was a wonderful chapter. Fun, but revealing, and well written (despite the few jarring typos). But I have to let out a big "What?!" to Andy. Oh well...moving forward.
Also, Lily's Muggle-isms to counter his Wizard sayings: great!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it -- and I apologise for the typos. Some day I need to go back and fix all of those!

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 02/23/10 23:25
Chapter: Chapter 1: A World Turned Upside Down

First off, I'll admit that Lily and Ginny are the only two fictional characters on whom I've ever had crushes. But did you really have to make Lily that much more attractive by being able to speak German? The things that does to a guy.
Sorry, just felt the need to rant a little. Anyways...
Of course she wasn't dead. Not much of a James/Lily fic if she's dead in one chapter. And I'd have to guess Bones or McKinnon for the other girl.

Author's Response: Haha, what can I say -- Lily is an enticing girl ;) And, yes, that would be just a wee bit too AU to have Lily die in the first chapter! Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 02/23/10 22:48
Chapter: Prologue

I liked that you addressed that Molly was present at some point during Lily's Hogwarts career. I always wondered if they had known each other. And I really liked the idea of putting the prologue in Lily's POV.
I know that I've read your stories kind of out of order in which you published them (not that it really has much significance), but I can already tell this one was written a fair while earlier than, say, "I'll Pick You Up." There are a few obvious spelling/grammar errors, and it's not as clean as some of your other work. But seeing as this was written nearly four years ago or whatever, I won't really nitpick like that.
I also have to ask...Is this story really written with much disregard to the 7th book? I mean, there really wasn't that much in there to disregard as far as James and Lily go, not without going AU. Or is that warning on here simply because you started writing/publishing the story before DH was released?

Author's Response: I always like to imagine that Lily and Molly knew one another in some capacity! Yes, this story was written much, MUCH earlier -- it was the first fanfiction for any genre I ever tried writing! I began before DH was released, so that's why it seems to disregard it. DH came out when I was about three/fourths of the way through. Truth be told, I sometimes cringe a little when I re-read it and some of my other older fanfictions because there is so much I would change and do differently and better. I hope you like it, anyway, though! I think that both in this and in my fic "When Darkness Did Surround Us" the writing gets better as the story progresses because I wrote both of them over about two and a half years. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: hlrf
Date: 02/11/10 19:48
Chapter: The Epilogue

I absolutely loved this story. It was a wonderful and captivating read. You are a very talented writer and should be commended for your hard work. This is one of the best fanfiction stories I have ever read. Congratulations on making an amazing piece of art.

Author's Response: Thanks very much! That's high praise, and I'm glad you enjoyed it so much :)

Reviewer: thatgirllucy
Date: 01/15/10 20:59
Chapter: The Epilogue

I've read and re-read this story so many times! I even tried and failed to persuade my very anti-harry potter friend to read it! Good Job; it's truly amazing!
xx

Author's Response: Thanks! :) I'm glad you like it so much!

Reviewer: lilyputt
Date: 01/02/10 2:41
Chapter: Chapter 1: A World Turned Upside Down

AAAAARRRRRRGGGGGGG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!That was intense!!!

Author's Response: It was, wasn't it? Hopefully you liked it :)

Reviewer: heirofgryffindoorcasey103
Date: 12/28/09 2:00
Chapter: The Epilogue

WONDERFULLL
:)

Author's Response: Thanks!

Reviewer: heirofgryffindoorcasey103
Date: 12/28/09 2:00
Chapter: The Epilogue

WONDERFULLL
:)

Reviewer: Nymphea
Date: 12/22/09 23:48
Chapter: The Epilogue

okay, one final review.

This was one of the first stories I read on MNFF, and the first that I loved. I think it's part of the reason I started writing my own: this story was such a good example of what a fanfiction can be.

The beginning is what I remember most vividly, because it's tied up with all those memories of finding the James/Lily category and discovering there were stories in my head, too. From the very beginning, the way you described Lily and James so fit with both what JKR has written and with the characters as I imagined them that I couldn't stop reading. There's just a deliciousness, a tenderness, to the way you write their relationship--and even though the whole story is set in the made-up world of Harry Potter, the emotions are absolutely, gut-wrenchingly real, especially Lily's post-trauma development as a character.

My favorite plot twist was the discovery of Ted's duplicity. But the whole story line of the captured people was so creative and intriguing; it really gave a sense of urgency to all the events of the story. There's a war happening at the same time.

Thank you for finishing this. And yes, the epilogue is a little depressing, but I love the last line. And the epilogue isn't depressing in a bad way, just a real way. "What if?" is always the question that plagues us, isn't it, and Sirius and Emmeline feel the weight of that question here.

I can't wait to read more of your work!

Author's Response: Thank you so very much! It makes me smile to think that this story helped give you the push to write your own fanfiction :) And I'm so glad that you thought the emotions real, as that's always something for which I strive. I do think that a lot of Lily/James fics simply skip over the "there's a war going on" aspect, which clearly would have affected them in some way, so its good to know that you thought the plot captured plot line put the war into the story, and also that you liked Ted's duplicity -- I had been waiting to do that since the beginning and it was so exciting to have it all finally come out. Thanks again!

Reviewer: EE_Battery
Date: 12/05/09 18:02
Chapter: The Epilogue

I love this story. It was beautifully written and the plot and characters are all amazing. Keep it up!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

Reviewer: Madame Lestrange
Date: 12/02/09 21:07
Chapter: Chapter 4: Itty Bitty Potters Gone Wild

W-O-W This is the best story I have read on this website. I am very impressed!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! That's high praise!

Reviewer: in love with harry
Date: 12/01/09 22:16
Chapter: The Epilogue

wow um wow thats all i can really say it made me laugh it made me cry it was a really amazing story

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

Reviewer: way_too_HP_obsessed4011
Date: 11/27/09 20:53
Chapter: The Epilogue

oh. my. god! i have been reading this nonstop all day and i finally finished it... and i cried so many times, and laughed, and fell in love with james and lily and emmeline and sirius and i hate ted with a burning passion!! and i loooove you for writing this!!! not in a creeper fashion) *favorited* wonderful wonderful story!!! thank you so much for writing this, and congratulations for your award!! you deserve it!!!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I always love to see the word favorited in a review ;) I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: LuNaLoVeGoOdLoVer
Date: 11/27/09 19:38
Chapter: Chapter 29: This Is Really Happening

in your chapter notes you say Ted is with them going to see Ted-but I think you meant Sirius, as you didn't mention him. Or did you mean Ted??? *confused*
And a typo, if you are interested. But Ted wasn’t talk to them it should be Ted wasn't talkING to them.
And uuuh, I have to read the next chapter!!!!

Reviewer: LuNaLoVeGoOdLoVer
Date: 11/27/09 18:56
Chapter: Chapter 28: What Happens Next

oh, wow. the wound sounds scary.
here is a typo (i hope I am not annoying you with typos... lol.)
>i

Reviewer: LuNaLoVeGoOdLoVer
Date: 11/26/09 23:17
Chapter: Prologue

hey, I was just wondering if I could make a banner for this story for the Beta Boards Dean's Corner November challenge? It doesn't do this story justice, and if you don't want me to submit it, just give me a shout :D Sorry that this isn't really a review...

Author's Response: You're welcome to if you want! I had one ages ago that I made myself, back in the days when Banners were allowed in profiles. But I'm sure you'd make a better one! :)

Reviewer: LuNaLoVeGoOdLoVer
Date: 11/25/09 14:14
Chapter: Chapter 22: Smile and Nod

I've been wondering for a while now-why does lily want to talk to Beverly's parents but not to Teds?

Author's Response: I don't remember what details I've given to you at this point, but everything that happened with Ted is a lot less straightforward than with Beverly, and not as easy to face, if that makes any sense. You'll see. :)

Reviewer: LuNaLoVeGoOdLoVer
Date: 11/24/09 20:16
Chapter: Chapter 19: Mr. Masselli

I can't commet on the chapter-0I have to go read the next (emma!!!!) but here are a few typos(if you care to know): why did her like her again? I think it should be why did HE... and then here: he more pulled herself up shoudln't it be he pulled HIMslef up?

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES