Reviewer: sirius_rox
Date: 09/14/06 19:54
Chapter: Skeleton Hands

she seems a little young to be anorexic.. or to think like that in general.. also no one, no matter how mad, even subconsiously, would b able to do that to their mother

Author's Response: Thanks for leaving me your thoughts on the chapter. I value all opinions.

In regard to your first comment, there are girls (and boys, too, though the condition is prevalent in females) as young as 9, who have been diagnosed with anorexia nervosa. This is, of course, due to the impact and influence of the media in today's society. Therefore, it is entirely plausible that Riana has anorexia. Though the entire matter is heartbreakingly sad. It's such a shame that children, who should only be running and playing, think of their weight. And this is coming from a recovering anorexic/bulimic, so, believe me, I know. :-)

As for your second comment, I agree with you. Most people wouldn't be able to do that to their mother. However, Leanne isn't Riana's real mother. And, when you discover who Riana's parents are ... you understand why she is the way she is.

However, I absolutely respect your comments and thoughts. Thank you for sharing them with me.

~Julia~

Reviewer: Adrastos
Date: 09/14/06 17:46
Chapter: Crystal and Glass

Me? Joining SPEW? Nah. If thereís anything I dislike its rules and regulations. Iím too much of a free spirit for that ;) Besides, Iím only a nice reviewer when Iím really exited about a story.

What I like about this story is its pace. Youíre not rushing anything, every day you described in detail and it never gets dull. Riana is making the same journey Harry did, but itís still different with some wonderful new characters.

Fabian seems quite a decent bloke, despite his parents. RianaÖ I kind of dislike but love her all the same. Sheís really not a pleasant person, but thereís something about her that makes me very curious. I suppose this is because of her potential as a witch and of course her heritage.

And the plot thickens! Blond wizard, cold grey eyes, black robes and with a contempt towards mirthÖ now who could that be? Itís all starting to get more and more interesting and it ended with a nice cliffhanger.


Author's Response: Hee! Well, even if you don't want to join SPEW, you're very good at leaving reviews for stories. =) Thanks so very, very much.

I'm so glad the chapters don't seem tedious to you. I've always wanted to explore the different shops in Diagon Alley, and with Riana, I can! Hooray! And you're right. Riana's Diagon Alley experience is similar to Harry's, but there are distinct differences as I'm sure you've noticed.

It means so much to me that you love Riana. I do, too, and though she's FAR from perfect, she also possesses that nature that just ... well, thank you. :-)

Your theories are very well-founded and I'm sure you already have an inkling about her lineage. Thanks again for R&R-ing!

~Julia~

Reviewer: crazyhpgirl
Date: 09/14/06 17:26
Chapter: Crystal and Glass

Yay! I hope Riana finds out who her parents are soon! I absolutely love Fabian!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review; I love Fabian, too. =)

As for Riana finding out about her parents, well... she is still a little young to discover some of the things I have in store for her, so... But stick with her! =P There will definitely be exciting "stuff" in her future.

~Julia~

Reviewer: hollandk
Date: 09/14/06 11:52
Chapter: Crystal and Glass

I loved this latest update!!! I can't wait to find out what happens next. Will we (the readers) know the truth of Riana's parents, or at least father, before Riana does, or will we have to wait? Anyway, I can't wait for the next update. Thanks for such a great story.

Author's Response: Thank you so very much. Your reviews are treasured ... It truly amazes me that you are enjoying the story so much, :).

As for finding out about Riana's lineage before she does, well... I'm not too sure yet. :) But, I don't know if I want the readers to know, hee, suspense is just so fun! :P

Thank's very much for R&R-ing. I really appreciate it.

~Julia~

Reviewer: crazyhpgirl
Date: 09/13/06 15:52
Chapter: What is a Pureblood?

Taht Fabian kid is weird, but in a good way. Maybe he'll turn Riana's opinions about herself around.

Author's Response: Thank you for R&R-ing. Your review truly encourages me. :)

You are right, though, Fabian is weird, hee! But I love his nature ... he's fun to write. And I certainly agree with you: Let's hope he succeeds in helping poor Riana!

~Julia~

Reviewer: lily_writes
Date: 09/13/06 12:51
Chapter: What is a Pureblood?

Very cool chapter. Riana got some questions answered and one of my shaky theories has been squashed. Hooray for the process of elimination! What'll if she joins the Urquharts for dinner and they start talking about Mudbloods, half bloods, and blood traitors. *memory spark* Now I'm remembering something Ron said after Hermione told him and Harry that the Death Eaters would love to have them. He said something like: "There's never been a family of more blood traitors than the Weasleys." Can't remember exactly, but I think you get the point of my spammy quote. Or maybe not... then again, I don't think I get it....

Author's Response: Oh, oh! Which theory was it? ... Um... I don't quite the point of the quote, but... that's okay, :). I don't have to get everything. In fact, I hardly get anything, hmm... Oh, wait! I just reread it (for the fifth time, hee, I'm so thick right now) and I kinda get it... a little bit, :).

No, but, Thank you, yet again, for your glowing review. I'm so glad that you are enjoying the story enough to leave reviews. You truly encourage me. :)

~Julia~

Reviewer: lily_writes
Date: 09/13/06 12:40
Chapter: Alvean and the Werecat

She seems to have befriended one of the oddest people on the planet. But how on earth did you come up with a were-cat? Your description sounded a lot like my cat (except mine's got greenish-yellow eyes). Another fascinating chapter

Author's Response: Hahaha, now that made me laugh. Yeah, Fabian's quite a character. :)

The werecat idea was simply something I threw in to make Riana's introduction to the wizarding world as interesting and mind-boggling as possible. Poor girl, I really take her through some gymnastics in this story. *snickers, then sobers ... trying to look penitent*

Thanks so very much for your review and say, "Hi," to your kitty for me! :)

~Julia~

Reviewer: lily_writes
Date: 09/13/06 12:32
Chapter: Meeting Fabian

Fabian? Geez, and I forgot to mention in the last chapter my latest semi hair-brained theory that Hermione was there and the cat was Crookshanks. Wonder what he wants with her? Is he going to be a first year too, and possibly become one of her best friends?

Author's Response: Yes, Fabian. *grins hugely* He's my little Irish darlin'. Hee! And the Hermione theory ... well, at least you're theorizing! :P Hehe, just kidding...

And yes, although I think you already know, Fabian is going to be one of Riana's best friends ... perhaps her only best friend, perhaps not. :)

Thank you for your review--Always a pleasure to receive them!

~Julia~

Reviewer: lily_writes
Date: 09/13/06 12:27
Chapter: Sycamore and Heartstring of Dragon

Now, I'm starting to think Malfoy blood, because of the grey eyes, but that wouldn't explain why she'd a Parcelmouth.... What a challenging puzzle... I like that, a story to make me think. Those are always intriguing.

Author's Response: *keeps mouth shut tight* Hehe, I like your theories, :P, I'm so glad that you are thinking about the story, it really makes me *squee!*

Thanks again for your review; You are a fantastic reviewer and I always enjoy getting your reviews. (How many times can I say 'review' in one sentence? :P) *huggles fellow Turnip*

~Julia~

Reviewer: lily_writes
Date: 09/13/06 12:18
Chapter: Professor Padma Patil

Very nice chapter. Your chapters get passed so fast there's at least five new ones if I don't come check this story for a day. ;) I know i've said this before but it really is a shame that she can't see herself as others do. Alas, a dreadful human flaw. One last thing I want to say is that I never expected Padma to become a potions professor. Then again, I don't think most people (if any) really know Padma in depth as she isn't described much as a character. That feels kind of shameful to admit since she's a Claw too... (my mind --> :P )

Author's Response: Thank you! The chapters, well... I don't know what to say except that Jan is extremely conscientious about the storry. *huggles Jan* :)

I really appreciate your thoughts about Riana. You're quite right--it's sad that Riana feels she has to bring such misery upon herself. I feel sorry for writing her as such a miserable character, but I love her so much, too! Hee! :)

I don't really remember how I got the idea for Padma to become the Potions mistress, but... there you have it. :) (my mind, too --> :-S) Hehehe... ~Julia~

Reviewer: hollandk
Date: 09/13/06 10:01
Chapter: What is a Pureblood?

I really liked this latest update. I fall more in love with her character with each update. Keep 'em comin'. I can't wait to find out what happens next!

Author's Response: Oh, that is one of the most beautiful things I've ever had in a review. I'm so very glad that you love Riana. I do, she's my little darling, hee! But it's always lovely when others feel empathy with her as well. :)

Thank you ever so much for the review and your continued reading. I'm very grateful. :) *huggles*

~Julia~

Reviewer: Adrastos
Date: 09/13/06 9:43
Chapter: What is a Pureblood?

Why, two chapters in a single day! What a treat! It usually takes my moderators at least a week to validate a chapter. Youíre very lucky to have our wonderful HoH as your moderator.

Anyway, about your story. I think Fabian is yet another wonderful addition. The concept of a werecat was completely alien to me, but after some Google-ing, I thought, why not? It fit's the story perfectly. A pureblood-werecat and the daughter of -no, I won't mention my suspicions yet. But together together they make a fine pair and should make for some interesting chapters when they arrive Hogwarts.
I also really liked the way you put the Irish pronunciation in the story. I love accents!

I do have one question, though, with regard to Riana's parents. Are we to see more of them, or did they just accepted that their little girl disappeared? I would imagine they might try to contact the magical world to get their daughter back.

Iím really looking forward for more; I hope your next chapter gets validated with equal swiftness.


Author's Response: Thank you so very much. :) I love getting your reviews, they are so encouraging.

Hee! I like your thinking about Riana and Fabian, but there ... might be a few surprises in that. Just wait and see... Hogwarts will present a whole new set of challenges.

Thank you for your compliments about the Irish accent--I had a great deal of trouble with that one. It was surprisingly difficult and a Cockney accent (Stan) was much easier. Oh, well, you never know, do you?

I don't feel that it's spoiling anything to let you know that Riana's parents have certainly NOT forgotten her. It would be completely irresponsible and out of character for them to simply let Riana go. So, I guess what I'm trying to say is, 'No,' they have not deserted her. But that's all I'm going to say. *giggles*

Thank you again for your review. Have you ever considered joining SPEW? :P

~Julia~

Reviewer: dragonwings
Date: 09/12/06 20:20
Chapter: Alvean and the Werecat

omg, love the story! its the perfect almost-horror story. the part i liked the most was her own internal battle, the anorexia. many authors are afraid to face some of the more deadly issues. it's not all about defeating voldy you know... anyways i'm rambling. love the story, keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you so very much. :) I'm thrilled that you are enjoying Riana's tale. Her conflict with anorexia is one of the qualities that I truly love about her and it seems that most readers love that, too. :)
Again, thank you, thank you, thank you. Your reviews truly encourage me. *huggles*
~Julia~

Reviewer: Adrastos
Date: 09/12/06 17:44
Chapter: Meeting Fabian

I'm not that much of a reviewer, but I just have to express my complete awe at what I just read. Your characterization of Riana Carrington is utterly brilliant. Her feelings and thoughts are expressed in such a detailed, emotional and overall impressive way that I often forgot I was reading fan fiction at all.
Sometimes Riana seemed to act a little too mature, but you always managed to keep it believable by explaining why she feels in a particular way. Thereís even more to this girl then meets the eye.
The anorexia is another extra touch that gives this story an even greater depth. And then the mystery of Riana; the eyes, parseltongue, the curious arrogance and cunning... and Fabian. Itís all very Impressive, to say the least.
This story has its own feeling, but because of the way you brushed the known Potterverse with the mentions of Tom, Padma Patil, Slughorn and of course the familiar locations it never feels alien.

I could keep going on like this for some time, but I don't really think there is any point in doing that. This really is a piece of magnificent writing. I'm awaiting more with bathed breath.


Author's Response:
*gasp*

If you arenít much of a reviewer, then I am a monkey! Ö And Iím not a monkey, hee! Wow. Your review was just glowing. Thank you so, so much. I believe youíve given me the highest compliment you could have possibly given me. *huggles fellow Turnip* :)

When I first began writing Riana, she did seem a little old for her age. However, when you discover who her parents areóand you might have already done so, hee!óthen you will understand her more. Although you already have assured me that Rianaís depth does come across to the reader. Iím so glad you picked up on her deeper nature and didnít take her at face-value. I love Riana, she is my baby, hee! And Iím thrilled that other authors like her, too.

Her anorexia just endears her to my heart even more because I have suffered with a like disease. I was bulimic, actually, and writing Rianaís emotions really gives me a release. She is by no means a Mary-Sue character, she and I are VERY different, hee! But, nonetheless, the mindset of bulimics and anorexic people are very similar and I tapped into that.

Your compliments are truly gracious and kind. They were eloquently written and I thank you, again. Iím so glad youíre enjoying the story. More is coming right up. :)

~Julia~

Reviewer: hollandk
Date: 09/12/06 12:23
Chapter: Meeting Fabian

That was a very interesting chapter. Did you mean to make the shop owner nervous about the snake comment? Any way, I can't wait till the next update. I love this story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing. I'm so glad you like the story. :)
On to your question! Actually, I had the shop owner reacting to Riana's thoughtless comment about the messy nature of owls:

ďYes, but I donít want an owl. Rather messy, donít you think?Ē Here she gestured disdainfully towards the wall-length of birdcages and did not notice the affronted look on the witchís sharp face.

The witch could care less about Riana's preference for snakes; she is familiar with, and accustomed to, all animals. However, the owner's blunt nature after Riana's comment, the use of adverb "stiffly" when she walked away, all contribute to her indignant reaction to Riana's comment. So, no, I didn't mean to make her nervous, although I can see where you might think that. She's just affronted at Riana's tactlessness.

I'm so glad you gave me your thoughts on the chapter. I'm so encouraged when that happens and I love to answer questions. Thanks so very much!
~Julia~

Reviewer: hollandk
Date: 09/11/06 10:21
Chapter: Sycamore and Heartstring of Dragon

i just finished reading your latest updates, and they are absolutely wonderful!!! I'm curious about the Olivander scene. Are you hinting that he knows who Riana's parents are, or at least one of them? Is he going to tell Dumbledore, like he did with Harry? Sorry, I know I'm nosy. Keep up the good writing.

Author's Response: No, don't apoligize at all ... you're not being nosy in the least. I love questions. Gives me something to do with my nonexistent free time, hee! :) But you're right about Ollivander, he does know who Riana's parents (or at least one of them) are, but that's all I'm going to say. *giggle* Unfortunately, though, Ollivander can't tell Dumbledore anything because ... well, just wait and see. :) Thanks so much for your encouraging review! I love getting them. Cheers! ~Julia~

Reviewer: lily_writes
Date: 09/10/06 15:31
Chapter: Black Robes and Flying Books

She sounds a little like me. Every time I enter a bookstore, I instantly want to find something to read and stay until I finish it (I've actually done that once). Another fabulous chapter. I really like how you give Jan some cred for being such a fantastic mod HoH for us turnips, cause she is! :)

Author's Response: Oh, I know what you mean about the bookstore. :) I do the same thing. There was this one time... at Barnes and Nobles where... Okay, I'll stop. :) Thank you very much for your lovely compliments and, yes, Jan is the best. *huggles Jan for being such a great HoH and moderator* Thanks again! ~Julia~

Reviewer: lily_writes
Date: 09/10/06 15:10
Chapter: Gringotts' Goblins

I could imagine that seeing Diagon Alley for the first time would be quite overwhelming, because of all the fantastic-looking shops. By any chance, is the ice cream shop (formerly Mr. Fortescue's, goodness knows what happened to him) belong to Dean Thomas? If it does, wouldn't it be called Thomas' Ice Cream Parlor?

Now I'm starting to get the impression that Riana is related to Harry (a long lost daughter or something?). I mean, it is possible. Black hair, Parcelmouth (only because Harry got that power was from Voldemort), a bit of a rebellious streak (okay, that's a bit of a stretch). They are similar in aspects that aren't their choosing (grew up in Little Whinging, raised primarily by Muggles, very lean and skinny for their age [for different reasons, of course]). She was born a year before Voldie was defeated (if I'm right) so it's possible. In any case, it still wouldn't explain how she got to China.... My imagination's running away again... I'll go catch it before I review for the next chapter....

Author's Response: *already responded*

Reviewer: lily_writes
Date: 09/10/06 15:08
Chapter: Gringotts' Goblins

I could imagine that seeing Diagon Alley for the first time would be quite overwhelming, because of all the fantastic-looking shops. By any chance, is the ice cream shop (formerly Mr. Fortescue's, goodness knows what happened to him) belong to Dean Thomas? If it does, wouldn't it be called Thomas' Ice Cream Parlor?

Now I'm starting to get the impression that Riana is related to Harry (a long lost daughter or something?). I mean, it is possible. Black hair, Parcelmouth (only because Harry got that power was from Voldemort), a bit of a rebellious streak (okay, that's a bit of a stretch). They are similar in aspects that aren't their choosing (grew up in Little Whinging, raised primarily by Muggles, very lean and skinny for their age [for different reasons, of course]). She was born a year before Voldie was defeated (if I'm right) so it's possible. In any case, it still wouldn't explain how she got to China.... My imagination's running away again... I'll go catch it before I review for the next chapter....

Author's Response: Thank you so very much for you lovely review. It was wonderful, as always. :) About Dean Thomas: Yes, the ice cream parlor does belong to him. However, Dean has always seemed like such a light-hearted boy, and I couldn't quite bring myself to call him Mr. Thomas. He will always be the young Gryffindor to me, and I have a feeling that, even now, he would want his customers calling him 'Dean.' He isn't very old, you know. In his late 20s, actually. :) As for your imagination, hehe, you made me laugh. I wish you luck in catching it. And, too, your suspicions are plausible, but I'm not going to say anything. *covers mouth with both hands* Just wait... just wait. :) Thank you, though, for your lovely comments. You truly encourage me. :) *huggles fellow Turnip* ~Julia~

Reviewer: MaraudersAffair
Date: 09/10/06 15:05
Chapter: Skeleton Hands

Wow, when I read the summary for this fic I was immediately interested. A character with anorexia - I have never seen that before in a fan fic. It's very nice - I loved the descriptions of her bony fingers and her mother in the shadows - very film noir. :D Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so very much. :) I hope you enjoy the rest of the story as much as you did the first chapter. I like the subject of anorexia in a fic. not only because I have had to deal with it personally, but because it is seldom touched by other authors. Tsk, tsk, striving for originality ... yet again. *sigh* Hee! Anyway, your review truly encouarges me. Thank you again! :) ~Julia~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Unexploded Bombs by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Dudley Dursley has just experienced the death of his elderly father Vernon from...
Ginny's Big Decision by dg04 1st-2nd Years
After Dumbledore's Funeral, Harry tells Ginny that they can't be together anymore...
Little Lions by SexY_LydZ 6th-7th Years
On a stormy October evening, a letter, a late night trip to the library and...
FEATURED
Going Against Salazar's Grain by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
"Sometimes," said Dumbledore, "we sort too soon." Originally writtten for...
Whispers in the Night by lucca4 6th-7th Years
"Swear to me, Cissy. Swear you won't tell." It's a secret, and it haunts...
Fear and Loathing in Florida (Mostly Loathing) by minnabird 3rd-5th Years
Scabior and Greyback had to escape the Aurors somehow - they just hadn't expected...
Just Before Healing by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
With Hannah, things always go to yellow.
In Bloom by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
It figures that he ignores the other side of roses. Thorns fit to draw blood...
Magical by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ginny and her brothers sneak down the stairs to look at presents, but instead...
CATEGORIES