Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: some_kinda_superstar (Signed) · Date: 11/01/06 4:06 · For: Rescued by the Knight Bus
Beautiful story so far!

I love the way you have portrayed Riana. Her character is shining through so well, and she seems so real. The way you have handled her anorexia is very tactful as well...the way it is always there in the background, and interspersed with other things, and just treated as though it is completely normal for her. It works really well.

I sort of struggled with anorexia for a while. I never got it properly, as my mum noticed after a week that I wasn't eating and did basically all she could to stop it. If it weren't for her interference, though, and it had been allowed to take hold, I would still be starving myself today. Even as it is, I still have days when it starts coming back. I've just learned to handle it.

This is only the second story I've ever come across that deals with eating disorders. I really love it. I am pressed for time now, but I will come back and read the rest as soon as I can. It is a beautiful story so far!!

Author's Response: Ah! A lovely review from one of my favorite authors! *hugs* I can't begin to tell you how happy I am that you like the story; I admire your work so much. =)

I can empathize with you about the anorexia. It's never easy, is it? But Riana... Well, she'll go further with this than most people. I apologize in advance for how slow the story moves, but I like to have background and Riana is completely new to the wizarding world--she needs that background.

Anyway, enough rambling on my part. Suffice to say that I loved your review! *squees quietly* And I'm thrilled that you're enjoying the story. I hope you find time to finish reading what I've written. Rest assured, there are many more chapters to come.

Unfortunately, though, there won't be any for a while because I'm dealing with a bunny that won't go away, and it's not Riana's bunny. *sigh* Don't you just hate/love when that happens? Hee! =)

Thanks, again.

~Julia~

P.S. If I had been a judge, you would have Definitely won a Quicksilver Quill, =).

Author's Response: Ah! A lovely review from one of my favorite authors! *hugs* I can't begin to tell you how happy I am that you like the story; I admire your work so much. =)

I can empathize with you about the anorexia. It's never easy, is it? But Riana... Well, she'll go further with this than most people. I apologize in advance for how slow the story moves, but I like to have background and Riana is completely new to the wizarding world--she needs that background.

Anyway, enough rambling on my part. Suffice to say that I loved your review! *squees quietly* And I'm thrilled that you're enjoying the story. I hope you find time to finish reading what I've written. Rest assured, there are many more chapters to come.

Unfortunately, though, there won't be any for a while because I'm dealing with a bunny that won't go away, and it's not Riana's bunny. *sigh* Don't you just hate/love when that happens? Hee! =)

Thanks, again.

~Julia~

P.S. If I had been a judge, you would have Definitely won a Quicksilver Quill, =).



Name: hollandk (Signed) · Date: 10/22/06 23:47 · For: Fight Between Friends
This chapter was interesting, but I think I was hoping for a little more progression in the story. You're doing a really good job creating well rounded characters in Riana and Fabian, but I'm really anxious to get to the heart of the story. Maybe I'm just to impatient. HaHa. Anyway, keep up the good work.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review, it's always a pleasure to get them.

Oh, dear, though... I'm sorry about the slow progression of the story. There's just so little we know about Diagon Alley and I wanted to explore that before we got to Hogwarts, although, yes... You're right, Riana needs to get to Hogwarts soon. Ack!

I'm glad you like Fabian and Riana's characters; I don't suppose there's any chance of them becoming flat now, eh?

And of course you're not too impatient! I don't blame you at all. I can't wait until they get to Hogwarts either and I'm really looking forward to writing those chapters, but, unfortunately, RL is getting in the way and--like it was with this chapter--it might be a while 'til the next chapter.

However, thanks again for the review. =)

~Julia~



Name: anAnachronism (Signed) · Date: 10/22/06 23:43 · For: Fight Between Friends
I've been enjoying this fic so much that I realized it's been nineteen chapters and still not a toe inside Hogwarts! This was a good chapter, I want to find out more about that dream. And of course, all about Riana's parentage!

Author's Response: Eek! I know... It's progressing rather slowly and I'm sorry for that. I'm as anxious for Riana to get to Hogwarts as you, but she's taking her time, naughty thing. Hee!

Anyway, thank you so very much for your review. You don't know how much it means to me to know that you are still enjoying the story.

More will be revealed about the dream and, of course, *gigglesnort* Riana's parentage. I'm being rather cruel about that, am I not? =) Maybe I should just tell the readers and leave Riana to figure everything out for herself, eh? Well... anyway.

Thanks, again, for your review. It's so good to know you enjoy reading Riana's story.

~Julia~



Name: crazyhpgirl (Signed) · Date: 10/22/06 12:29 · For: Fight Between Friends
Yay! I liked the new chapter. It took forever! Hope you keep sending in more!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much. Your reviews truly encourage me.

I'm sorry for the long wait. *sniffs sadly* RL has gotten in the way of my writing and it's been very difficult to find time to write Riana's story. However, I'm glad that I haven't lost the touch. Hee! And I will definitely send in more. This story isn't finished by any means.

Thanks, again! =)

~Julia~



Name: MrsViktorKrum (Signed) · Date: 10/22/06 9:33 · For: Fight Between Friends
I LOVED IT! That was one awesome chapter written there. Keep up the real good work, I can't wait for the next chapter to come through! ~Sarah~

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much, Sarah. I always love your reviews. (Such ego-boosters *giggles)

I'm very sorry for the long wait and I'll try to get another chapter written and validated soon, but the inspiration must come first.

Again, thank you very much for the wonderful comments. It's great to know that there are readers out there who still love Riana.

~Julia~



Name: dancergirl117 (Signed) · Date: 10/22/06 9:28 · For: Fight Between Friends
that was an excellent chapter. I'm glad that Riana and Fabian were able to make it past that little argument and stay friends. 10*10 =]

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm thrilled that you liked it. The 10/10 stars makes me very, very happy. *grins happily*

I'm really sorry for the long wait, though. I'll try to update sooner in the future, but, well, you know how it goes. RL gets in the way and inspiration sometimes chooses not to descend. Ah, well...

Anyway, I'm so glad you enjoyed the chapter and I really enjoyed getting this review. Thanks, again!

~Julia~



Name: MrsViktorKrum (Signed) · Date: 10/18/06 20:16 · For: Fight Between Friends
Oh WOW! Another chapter that I can't wait to read! Awesome! (Runs around the house jumping, knowing me).

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much. Your *gigglesnort* enthusiasm really makes me happy ... and it makes me laugh. ;-)

Your reviews always encourage me and, not only am I sorry for the long wait, I also hope this chapter meets with your approval. :-)

Thanks again!

~Julia~



Name: anAnachronism (Signed) · Date: 09/19/06 22:17 · For: A Vision through the Dirty Window
Exciting indeed. Riana can astro-project!

Oh, and since I forgot to say this last chapter, i'm glad Fabian is making Riana eat.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! :-) I love getting yours ... they're always so insightful and tell me what's wrong and what's right with the chapter.

It was interesting ... writing that vision. Not my favorite chapter, but we needed to hear from Leanne and so...

Ah, yes. Fabian is having success, isn't he? ... At the moment. Hee!

Thanks again!

~Julia~



Name: anAnachronism (Signed) · Date: 09/19/06 22:11 · For: Crystal and Glass
Wait...Malfoy? What?

But no! Malfoy's supposed to be off copulating with Hermione. *Mumbles indistinctly under her breath* And Riana...grr.

Okay, fine, it's an excellent plot twist. And well laid up...the grey eyes, pointed face. In fact, Malfoy IS related to the Blacks...

And why, oh why, can't Riana learn some decent manners?

Author's Response: Ha! *laughing out loud* THAT was hilarious. So we have a Dramione shipper here, eh?

Thanks for the lovely compliment about the plot. It made me very happy.

Furthermore, you are one of the first people to notice the link between the Malfoys and Riana and comment on it... I am not saying anything more. Thanks again!

~Julia~

P.S. She can't learn decent manners because she is an arrogant, hateful, little girl ... and I love her for it! ;-)



Name: anAnachronism (Signed) · Date: 09/19/06 21:56 · For: Alvean and the Werecat
Hooray, Riana's found a friend! Of sorts...

A werecat? Didn't even know they were possible. He sounds a bit like an arrogant pureblood fanatic, but that could just be him acting the 'bad-boy' part. Still, a were-cat isn't as bad as a werewolf, I guess, as he has control over his transformed self.

Author's Response: I love how the cheering starts when Riana finds Fa--when Fabian finds Riana. Hee!

You are correct in your characterization of him. He is arrogant. He's not a fanatic, but he is proud of his family. Mildly proud. He doesn't view Muggles as equals, but he doesn't harp on and on about his bloodlines either.

He's definitely NOT as bad as a werewolf. Cats have a more ... mild temperment than dogs, wolves, canines in general. I used that to create lazy Fabian and I hope you will enjoy his character. :-)

~Julia~



Name: anAnachronism (Signed) · Date: 09/19/06 21:46 · For: Meeting Fabian
A young animagus? How interesting.

One curiousity regarding Riana's disease/disorder, whichever you choose to call it. Won't it be noticeable at Hogwarts? I guess the billowing robes are a blessing. But one normally gets quite cold without proper nutrients, so why is she parading around in thin shirts? j

I wonder how magic adds to anorexia. Will she try to enchant water to taste like chicken, only with no calories? And maybe heating charms to keep her warm?

Author's Response: Ah... since you have already read the next chapter, no ... not an Animagus. :-)

Yes, people will notice Riana's disorder at Hogwarts. The billowing robes will help ... some.

Also true that one gets cold w/out nutrient. It is a mild form of hypothermia and results in blue extremities. You cannot even imagine how your fingers ache when one is anorexic... I hope you never have to. It's like being perpetually outside on a freezing cold day.

I remember very well sitting outside in the dead of summer, wearing long sleeves and shivering. Not fun at all.

Riana, though, you must remember, is very young--she wears what she has brought with her and only if it's black or grey. Very monochromatic individual. Regardless, she DOES often grab a cardigan to wear over her clothing. However, if she likes a shirt (be it a spaghetti strap ... anything like that) she will wear it, simply because of her childish preferences for "I want what I want, when I want it."

The heating charms would be beneficial. However, Riana is the type of person who likes to suffer. I'm sure you know some individuals like that. :-) She has to invent some problem because she feels uncomfortable and unremarkable without it. Of course, she feels unremarkable with her anorexiat, too. Poor, little girl. I feel sorry for all that she has to go through.

Thank you very much, though, for your review! I truly enjoy hearing your thoughts on the matters of my story.

~Julia~



Name: anAnachronism (Signed) · Date: 09/19/06 21:38 · For: Sycamore and Heartstring of Dragon
Okay... now some theories.

Riana's parents: I can't exactly focus on a couple and somehow I am coming up with more paternal possibilities.

To me, the obvious choice, since your opening sentence about skeletal hands, is Tom Riddle. Sound ridiculous? Well I agree, the idea of Voldemort copulating is both horrifying in inconceivable (excuse the ill pun). I imagine that a regenerated Lord Voldemort would be completely sterile. But what if Tom, before becoming Voldy, had a couple of trysts whilst searching for the possible Horcruxes. It's entirely plausible that he harassed some poor, Chinese peasant woman and left her to give birth to Riana. He would never know of her existence, but it would explain her Parseltongue abilities as well as her inclination towards sub-human-ness.

Now while her silky black hair could come from Riddle, the grey eyes are a rather important indicator. Coupled with her hair, it seems to point towards a Black. Sirius, perhaps? Only problem is her age. Unless, after escaping the dementors with Harry he had some fun in his tropical climate...

For that part, Riddle falls out of the picture as well due to time.

Unless Voldy wasn't sterile when resurrected. But the mother? Well, Bella is loony over him, I could see her jumping him...haha, okay. A will stop speculating and just wait for the plot to unfold.

Author's Response: Ha! Thank you so much for your review. It made me laugh. Your theories are hilarious ... Some are fairly accuate, too. :-P

Hee, "...I could see her jumping him..." Me, too. :-)

Thanks very much, again, for your lovely review. I love getting them, they truly encourage me. And, rest assured, the pairing of Riana's parents is ... shocking. *winks rougishly*

~Julia~



Name: anAnachronism (Signed) · Date: 09/19/06 21:12 · For: Professor Padma Patil
Padma teaching Potions? This is getting to be a lot of fun, finding which characters are turning up where. Like a complex "Where's Waldo?" puzzle.

I felt quite torn at Tom's sympathy, giving Riana two croissants rather than one. He really is a tough toffee. I also felt for Riana, forced to eat double the amount she'd intended, and absolutely slathered in butter, no less. Your imagery there was excellent.

Now a nit-picky question; wouldn't Riana's body, after so many months(weeks, years?) of starvation react rather negatively to all that fat?I don't think it would remember how to digest anything other than 'negative-calorie' fruit.

Author's Response: Hee! You're quite correct in your description of the story ... it is like a puzzle.

Thank you for you compliments on the imagery. I felt it was necessary for Tom to show some sort of compassion for Riana ... if only to emphasize her bad manners. :-)

About the fat intake: Yes, you are correct. Riana's body would react negatively to the fat ... it would process it very slowly. She would feel ill and VERY full for quite a while. She'd probably also ... throw up. (Not really any delicate way to say that.) I don't believe I did a very good job at explaining that in the chapter and I'll probably need to go back and change that. Thanks very much!

~Julia~



Name: anAnachronism (Signed) · Date: 09/19/06 17:51 · For: Black Robes and Flying Books
Wow, I neglect my favorites for a couple weeks and you're up to seventeen chapters! This fic just keeps getting better and better though. I love your book titles. I have to run now, but I hope to read the rest of your updates soon!

Author's Response: Hee! I know how that goes. Life is quite busy at the moment. No time to read, no time to write, no time to review and reply. *sigh* So it goes.

Thank you, though, for your lovely review. I'm so glad you're enjoying the story. I hope to hear your thoughts on the subsequent chapters. It's always lovely to hear from you. :)

~Julia~



Name: Shia (Signed) · Date: 09/17/06 18:14 · For: A Vision through the Dirty Window
Keep writing im love ur story so far i really like how you casualy put new characters into the story!
+Shia

Author's Response: Why, thank you so much! I love that you are enjoying the story.

Fabian, Riana, and the other characters to come have been in my head for many months. I'm glad you like them, and I sincerely hope you like the chapters to come.

~Julia~



Name: lily_writes (Signed) · Date: 09/17/06 14:37 · For: A Vision through the Dirty Window
That was quite a vivid dream... or did she somehow release her spirit form her body as she slept and visited her mom who happened to be crying over Riana in her old room? I really could see Leanne doing something like that. You know, going into Riana's room in the dead of night and crying over her, but not allowing her husband to see the tears she sheds. I think he would've told Leanne to not cry over her. Partly because she's a witch and partly because she ran off to go to Hogwarts. Can't wait for chapter 18!

Author's Response: Yes, Leanne--poor thing--is the type who would cry over her "lost daughter." Of course, this is what Riana is to her father and mother now. Although, never fear, this isn't the last of Leanne and John. That would never do. :-)

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Your ideas are so thorough, so introspective. I love reading them. Thanks again!

~Julia~



Name: lily_writes (Signed) · Date: 09/17/06 14:22 · For: Crystal and Glass
Nice chapter. I'm at least happy that someone's not afraid to tell Riana that she's all skin and bones. I'm starting to wonder what Riana will think or say when she sees the feast for the start of term? Can't wait to see more.

PS: My theory that was squashed was that she was a Malfoy.

Author's Response: Ah, yes... the start-of-term feast. That will be an ordeal, indeed. Although, with Fabian by her side, things ought to turn out all right.

The one thing I can say about your squashed theory is... Oh, don't drop it yet! Hee... I'm am so not saying anymore. :-D

~Julia~



Name: Adrastos (Signed) · Date: 09/16/06 6:00 · For: A Vision through the Dirty Window
Another day, another update! And, of course, an update of a quality I’ve come to expect.

‘Using her pent-up energy to will sleep to come’- Such a wonderful description. I know exactly how that feels.

This chapter raises some very interesting questions. What Riana experienced… It seemed like a very powerful dream or a vision of sorts. Or could it have been the future? Or shares Riana some kind of link with Leanne? I’ve been given the whole Muggleparents – Riana relation some thought, and I believe they knew what Riana was. They still accepted and loved her, even though the father works for the church. There must have been some reason for this, so some kind of special relation seems plausible. But then again, with whom I suspect to be Riana’s father… that does not add up. Maybe I’m just entirely wrong, but I can’t wait to find out!


Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely comments. Your reviews are always appreciated. I love them. :-)

You actually have expressed the most plausible set of theories about this chapter than other reviewers of this particular chapter.

I'll try to answer some of your suspicions without giving anything away.

1.) This was a vision; you were correct about that. It was also in the present. It was night at the Leaky Cauldron and also night when Leanne was in her daughter's bedroom back in Surrey.

And, oh, dear, that's all I can answer. It might give too much away to say anything else. But, again, I do thank you very, very much.

~Julia~



Name: hollandk (Signed) · Date: 09/15/06 10:48 · For: A Vision through the Dirty Window
This was an interesting update. I liked it, but it was a little bit hard to follow. Are we just supposed to see how her parents are coping, or is the blue book important? Well, I sill can't wait til the next update. Thanks.

Author's Response: Well, it was supposed to be vague and dreamlike. In one aspect, yes, you are supposed to see the reaction of Riana's mother, but in another, yes, the blue book is VERY important. It plays a huge role later on in the story.

I think you'll enjoy the next chapter more. =) It deals more in the 'present' than in the dreamworld.

Thanks, though, for your review. It's always a pleasure to hear your thoughts on the chapters.

~Julia~



Name: PixieQueen (Signed) · Date: 09/15/06 4:37 · For: A Vision through the Dirty Window
i must say im am LOVING this fic, its really amazing! i cant stop reading it! hope you update soon!

happy thoughts, PixieQueen

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! I'm absolutely thrilled that you are enjoying the story; your review truly encourages me. I will definitely try to update soon, but you know how it goes...

Again, thanks so much. Your praise is so generous. =)

~Julia~



You must login (register) to review.