Reviewer: Jadecadence
Date: 10/26/14 0:10
Chapter: Slight of Hand

I came here from Petulant Poetess and signed up here because I was hoping that this FF is completed but it isn't... :(

Reviewer: num
Date: 09/11/08 1:25
Chapter: Slight of Hand

Can't wait to see what happens next!

Reviewer: RavenclawDiamond
Date: 03/11/08 16:13
Chapter: Slight of Hand

Wow, the way you've written Riana is really good, despite her sneakiness and disregard for her step parents she doesn't seem like a villain.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you like her. I wanted readers to identify with her, not detest her and it seems like that's working. Thanks, again! =)

Reviewer: Sev and Lily
Date: 01/30/08 0:18
Chapter: Alvean and the Werecat

hmm Eragon de ja vu here i seem to recall a chapter called angela and the werecat in that book.... well i love the character of Fabian he is exactly what Rhiana needs. awesome work!

Author's Response: Wow, was there really? I admit, I did get the idea of a werecat from Eragon, but I had completely forgotten about Angela. Christopher Paolini's admirable for publishing a book at such a young age, but I neither enjoy his writing style nor love his subject matter that much. *shrugs* It does have good points, though.

Alvean, though, was just such a great name. I spend ... hours going through name databases to find the perfect name for my characters, but Alvean's was just ... fun. =P

I'm so glad you like Fabian, though. He's one of my personal favourites. I'd love to know him in RL.

Thanks again!

~Julia

Reviewer: Sev and Lily
Date: 01/30/08 0:15
Chapter: Slight of Hand

I love this story! It is really interesting seeing the aritocratic slytherin side of life rather then the warm and fuzzy gryfindor side. My far-fethched guess on who rhiana is the child of....voldemort and bellatrix? nah jk i mean i would beleive it if that was the case but i don't actually think it is. i honestly have no idea who the true parents are. I really hope you update soon i understand that you are busy but don't leave us hanging here! keep up the good work this story is amazing

Author's Response: Thank you for the review and compliments, Chloe. =) I'm thrilled that you're enjoying the story so far.

I must confess that I, too, am glad to have a chance to look at the Slytherin angle of things. Gryffindor is so ... glass half-full to me, and while that's nice ... it's not very interesting.

*grins* Bella and Voldie is a good guess, and as they're my OTP, it could be a plausible one, but... I'm not going to say yay or nay definitively yet. *winks*

I will do my best to update, but as you say, life is busy.

Thank you once again. All the best.

~Julia

Reviewer: jessip
Date: 12/08/07 16:42
Chapter: Slight of Hand

Just wondering, are you going to update this story soon?

Author's Response: Eep! I hope so. *bites lip* I'm very busy with college applications at the moment, so I'm not too sure. I hope, though... really.

~Julia

Reviewer: ladiibug
Date: 10/16/07 23:52
Chapter: Slight of Hand

Wow, you're an amazing author.

I really like your story idea too, well so far. I've been killing myself trying to figure out who's child Riana is. And I love that you paired Dean and Luna.

Keep up the amazing work :)
I can't wait for the next chapter!!

Author's Response: Hurrah! Thank you, Courtney, for your lovely review. It makes me very happy. =)

Ah, yes, the Riana-conflict ... that shall all be resolved in good time. =) And cheers for Dean and Luna; I totally saw that coming in DH ... and it didn't materialize. *grumbles*

So, thanks once again. *hugs* And I'll try to update soon.

Cheers!

~Julia

Reviewer: jessip
Date: 10/10/07 18:44
Chapter: Slight of Hand

This is a great story.
I can't wait for you to update!!!!!

Author's Response: Oh, I'm so glad you like it. =) *huggles* Thank you for the review and I'll try to update soon.

~Julia

Reviewer: Lily of the US
Date: 09/05/07 17:22
Chapter: Unrest

*gasp* *squee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!* *die*

Julia, that was beautiful! You've done it again! I'm in shock, even though I shouldn't be- you'd think I'd be used to the talent by now. But it was just- gah, too wonderful for words!

Your descriptions were, as usual, fabulous! I want to go to Dean's Ice Cream Parlor now. I could picture it, and I just... *is once again lost for words* And the "chicken fat-" I was so surprised! I thought it was going to be butterscotch or something. (Though I did have a sneaking thought that the "golden yellow" might turn out to be... never mind.) And by the way, what flavour was Fabian's? Or are we supposed to use our imaginations?

Julia, I love it! I'm so glad you updated. My only, impatient request is...

more? ~megan~

Author's Response: *giggles* *huggles Megan* Thank you. =) I'm so glad you liked it.

As for Dean's Ice Cream Parlor, I do too! I wouldn't want to eat their ice cream, though, unless I knew what it had in it. =/ Or what flavor I was getting! (And, hey! I want to know what you thought the "golden yellow" ice cream was going to be. *grins mischievously* Anything's better than "chicken fat.") As for Fabian's flavor, you're just supposed to use your imagination. However, I'll be nice and tell you that it was a wonderful blend of strawberries and ripe, red plums. *grins* So, Riana did eat some ice cream. But not much.

*salutes request* As soon as my other new story gets through the queue, I will be posting the newest chapter of "Serpent."

~Julia

Reviewer: cocomaloco
Date: 09/04/07 15:20
Chapter: Unrest

I just read this story the whole way through till now and i love it! at the first chapter, i had to stop a few times because it made me feel slightly ill but i perseveered and im glad i did.
i love the way Fabian is just as proud and aggressive as Riana, and he's a were-cat!!!
its simply fabulous dahling and i cant wait for the next update!

Author's Response: *huggles* Thank you so much for persevering through the story even though you wanted to stop. I can't tell you how much that means to me.

I'm so thrilled that Fabian and Riana connected with you. Or, rather, that you connected to them. =)

I am writing the next chapter as we speak and it should be ready to go in, oh, perhaps a week.

But, thank you again for this wonderful review. *squishes again*

~Julia

Reviewer: KneazleWeazl
Date: 09/04/07 14:31
Chapter: Skeleton Hands

wide eyes

Author's Response: *grins* Um... I hope that means you liked it. Thank you for the review.

~Julia

Reviewer: num
Date: 09/04/07 5:40
Chapter: Unrest

OH MY GOD YOU UPDATED!!!!!!!!! This is my favourite FAVOURITE story! I'm glad you're over your writer's block!

This was an excellent, EXCELLENT chapter, and I'm so excited about them FINALLY GOING TO HOGWARTS!!!

Yay Yay Yay 50-Zillion/10! Make that 60-Zillion/10... my excitement over your update deserves another 10!

Author's Response: *giggles* Thank you for this lovely review. I really appreciate it. =) It makes me feel all ... happy and fluffy. *chuckles*

And, I'm writing as we speak, so, yes, Riana and Fabian are going to get to Hogwarts in the next chapter. Finally! =)

*hugs* Thank you once again. Okay... and *SQUEES!!!* Hee! I'm just thrilled that the writer's block is over, too.

~Julia

Reviewer: Lunas_Labyrinth
Date: 08/09/07 14:08
Chapter: Skeleton Hands

Wow! This story is amazing. My friend Megan (Lily of the US) recommended it to me, and I'm glad she did! Please upate, I want to read the rest!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Megan is a doll. =) And, I'm trying to update; actually, I've submitted a chapter, but the modlies are a bit busy at the mo. So.

But thank you once again for this review! *hugs*

~Julia

Reviewer: JillieUA
Date: 07/13/07 14:15
Chapter: Fight Between Friends

riana is a brat..ugh!

Author's Response: *smiles* Yeah, she is, but hopefully she'll be redeemed, eh? =) Thank you for the review.

~Julia~

Reviewer: radcliffe4eva
Date: 04/03/07 21:50
Chapter: Skeleton Hands

I hope you come off your hiatus soon. This story is wonderfully written - and very interesting. :-)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing. =) I'm actually in the process of editing past chapters right now in order to refresh my mind on the whole story. But as soon as that's done, there should be another chapter.

Thanks again for your review! =)

~Julia~

Reviewer: num
Date: 03/01/07 4:59
Chapter: Fight Between Friends

I love this story - but you havn't updated for AGES! Please don't abandon it!

Author's Response: Thanks very much for your review, num, =)

I'm sorry that I haven't updated in quite a while. I've been very busy, but I hope to post a new chapter soon. Please don't give up on the story. I'll do all in my power to update soon; I certainly don't want to abandon it. =)

Thanks again for the review, dear!

~Julia~

Reviewer: Lily of the US
Date: 01/01/07 13:36
Chapter: Fight Between Friends

Ok- first off, this is an amazing story! It is well-written, there are few or no grammatical or spelling errors, and the characters are very real. I love it!
I feel horrible for Riana. I have never suffered from anorexia, but I was close to it last year and I know exactly how it feels.
"the idea of a werecat came from Eragon by Christopher Paulini" that is exactly what I thought of when Fabian first came into the story. I love his character, by the way.
Well, you have and awesome story going. Keep up the good work and don't stop writing.

Author's Response: Wow, thanks, Lily, =)

I'm thrilled that you're enjoying the story. It was begun at a time when I was getting over my own bout with anorexia and bulimia; thus, it has special significance to me and I really like it when readers can tap into that feeling. *hugs* I'm glad you never had to fall completely down that rabbit hole, though. But I love you for understanding. =)

Eh, what can I say? Fabian is just ... amazing. *giggles* He's quite the little devil, though, isn't he? And Paolini's character was indeed my inspiration; he was adorable ... in a creepy, bratty kind of way. Hee!

Thanks very much, again, for your compliments and I'll try to post again soon. But inspiration comes so seldom, sadly... =( Just made myself depressed. *sigh* Anyway, I'll do my best to update soon.

~Julia~

Reviewer: some_kinda_superstar
Date: 11/03/06 6:14
Chapter: Fight Between Friends

Wow. This is such a brilliant story! It has to be one of the best I've ever read! Your portrayal of Riana is just amazing, there's no other word for it. I love Fabian as well; he's a character. I love the idea of were-cats. Where did you get it from?

The story is moving at a really great pace. I like that it's moving fairly slowly, the detail you have used is fantastic. Actually, it is rather similar to the way the actual Harry Potter books progress.

I feel so awful for Riana. She is only eleven, she should be running around and enjoying her childhood like other children. Instead, she is completely consumed by her eating disorder and her cold personality. It is just so sad. I can't think of a word for how well you've portrayed her! She just seems so real, I feel almost as if I know her.

Your grammar and spelling is pretty much perfect. The descriptive language you have been using works really well, I can easily visualise most of the scenes.

I'm so sorry if I'm getting a little repetitive, I just can't say how much I love this story!! Absolutely beautiful. Please update soon, I am desperate to read more! You are an incredibly talented writer!

Author's Response: ........... *gasp* *SQUEEEEEEEEE!!!* Thank you so much. What a lovely review! =) You don't know how happy you've made me. I really can't believe this review. Every so often, once in a blue moon, all that rot, I get a review that just makes my jaw drop to the floor, and this one did that for me.

I love that you love Riana, I adore her, too. She's my baby and it makes me so happy when other authors and readers like her. Fabian, now, hee! I adore my Fabian, too, and the idea of a werecat came from Eragon by Christopher Paolini.

You know, I believe you're the first person to comment uber-positively on the pace of the story. Most feel it moves too slowly, and sometimes I'm tempted to agree with them, but I write what Riana feels, and she feels things in list-form. Hee! Metaphorically speaking...

The fact, too, that you feel empathy with Riana is amazing to me. So many people do, and that's odd because she's such a bratty, horrid little girl ... who is under the influence of this awful disorder. So, suffice to say that I'm thrilled at your grasp of her character.

*blushes cherry red and sprouts roses for ears* Thank you, thank you, thank you for the lovely comments on my writing. Imagery is a big thing with me, and I seek to implement it in all my writing, and I'm shutting up now because I sound big-headed...

You're not getting repetitive at all! (I'm blushing, but not repetitive at all...) Again, I can't begin to tell you how much your comments have meant to me. Such a huge boost to my ego ... and from a writer I truly admire! =)

I will try to update soon, but another bunny has grabbed my attention for the moment, and I must get Lady Godiva's story on paper, but I will try to help Riana along in the very near future.

Thanks again, so very much, and I'm sorry it took me so long to reply. I don't, well, I didn't know exactly what to say. *giggle*

~Julia~

Reviewer: lily_writes
Date: 11/02/06 11:27
Chapter: Fight Between Friends

Oh, what a fantastic chapter. I just wish Fabian would tell her that she's way too skinny and be able to show her as others see her.

If you aren't dropping any hints as to who the mother is until Riana's fourth or fifth year, I'm not sure how long that will be (in chaptes). Can't you start the hints at least some time in her first year? Please?

*hears silence to pleading and grumbles*

Fine... I'll wait... impatiently....

*kicks back and reads more stories*

Author's Response: Ack! I feel so bad about letting this lovely review sit and simmer. I was just so happy (and busy) that I didn't sit down and write a reply. Oh, and I couldn't think of anything to say. *gigglesnort*

I'm so glad you liked the chapter. Now, if Fabian could tell Riana that, and if she'd listen, well, the story would be over and then nobody would find anything out about Riana's mum. I'll try to drop hints, but if it doesn't work out, please don't be upset. =) The waiting makes it fun! Hee! ... Well, okay, maybe it doesn't, but I've got to try and keep your spirits up, right?

Regardless, thank you again for your lovely review. I can't tell you how much it means to me that you leave a review each time a chapter is posted. I love you for it. =) Thanks very, very much.

~Julia~

P.S. I hope you enjoy your "more stories." Might I suggest, "The Upside of Being Down?" It's a fantastic story. =)

Reviewer: some_kinda_superstar
Date: 11/01/06 4:06
Chapter: Rescued by the Knight Bus

Beautiful story so far!

I love the way you have portrayed Riana. Her character is shining through so well, and she seems so real. The way you have handled her anorexia is very tactful as well...the way it is always there in the background, and interspersed with other things, and just treated as though it is completely normal for her. It works really well.

I sort of struggled with anorexia for a while. I never got it properly, as my mum noticed after a week that I wasn't eating and did basically all she could to stop it. If it weren't for her interference, though, and it had been allowed to take hold, I would still be starving myself today. Even as it is, I still have days when it starts coming back. I've just learned to handle it.

This is only the second story I've ever come across that deals with eating disorders. I really love it. I am pressed for time now, but I will come back and read the rest as soon as I can. It is a beautiful story so far!!

Author's Response: Ah! A lovely review from one of my favorite authors! *hugs* I can't begin to tell you how happy I am that you like the story; I admire your work so much. =)

I can empathize with you about the anorexia. It's never easy, is it? But Riana... Well, she'll go further with this than most people. I apologize in advance for how slow the story moves, but I like to have background and Riana is completely new to the wizarding world--she needs that background.

Anyway, enough rambling on my part. Suffice to say that I loved your review! *squees quietly* And I'm thrilled that you're enjoying the story. I hope you find time to finish reading what I've written. Rest assured, there are many more chapters to come.

Unfortunately, though, there won't be any for a while because I'm dealing with a bunny that won't go away, and it's not Riana's bunny. *sigh* Don't you just hate/love when that happens? Hee! =)

Thanks, again.

~Julia~

P.S. If I had been a judge, you would have Definitely won a Quicksilver Quill, =).

Author's Response: Ah! A lovely review from one of my favorite authors! *hugs* I can't begin to tell you how happy I am that you like the story; I admire your work so much. =)

I can empathize with you about the anorexia. It's never easy, is it? But Riana... Well, she'll go further with this than most people. I apologize in advance for how slow the story moves, but I like to have background and Riana is completely new to the wizarding world--she needs that background.

Anyway, enough rambling on my part. Suffice to say that I loved your review! *squees quietly* And I'm thrilled that you're enjoying the story. I hope you find time to finish reading what I've written. Rest assured, there are many more chapters to come.

Unfortunately, though, there won't be any for a while because I'm dealing with a bunny that won't go away, and it's not Riana's bunny. *sigh* Don't you just hate/love when that happens? Hee! =)

Thanks, again.

~Julia~

P.S. If I had been a judge, you would have Definitely won a Quicksilver Quill, =).

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Skeletons' Tale by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
"A rose by any other name would smell as sweet," wrote Shakespeare. This story...
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES