Reviews For Turning the Corner
Reviewer: PadfootnPeeves
Date: 08/10/08 17:48
Chapter: Reverie

What a wonderful story! Hearthlinks ties in nicely to this one. A very nice read- there aren't a lot of stories from Michael's POV. I love how you included the minor Hogwarts students- especially the Gryffindor girls. I really like your writing- at some parts it felt like a real HP book!
~PnP
PS- My favorite part would have to be where the girl (can't remember which, aah!) says the part about robes not clashing with purple. It was hilarious!

Author's Response: Thanks, PnP! I am very flattered that this old story is still attracting some attention. Yes, I had the goal of mentioning each student in Harry's year at least once. I assumed that Michael would know the ones that Harry didn't. Anyway, now you know what Zabini was up to and why he asked Sally-Anne to the ball. Thanks for reviewing, GhV

Reviewer: LunaTheLoony
Date: 07/28/08 18:35
Chapter: Blaise Zabini's Bet

I really like this story!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 05/05/08 17:54
Chapter: Reverie

I quite enjoyed this fic, Michael Corner seems OK really. I can't believe Malfoy! Well actually I can, he's so good at twisting everything to his advantage, a true slytherin if ever i saw one. I love Luna, she's a true tonic! I hope after DH she found happiness too. Anyway, this is the last of your fics, so please write some more.

Author's Response: Dear Binka, Thanks for all your reviews. Did you know that JKR told us about Luna's future? Luna eventually accepted that her father wasn't always factually accurate, but remained interested in fantastic beasts and became a wizarding naturalist. She married later than her friends, to fellow-naturalist Rolf Scamander, the grandson of Newt and Porpentina, and they had twin sons, Lorcan and Lysander. I am so glad you enjoyed "Corner"! That is not quite the end of my writing. As I said, there is Part IV of "Moon-Cursers" at the Sugar Quill, together with a very short one-shot about Dennis Creevey. And I am working on a few others (nothing as long or profound as "Moon-Cursers"), but RL is interfering with my writing quite a lot. Best wishes, GhV

Reviewer: GreyLady
Date: 09/14/07 18:46
Chapter: The River-Lotus

What an interesting story; I don't think I've ever seen another one like it. The writing is very consistently quality, and I like this glimpse of the Ravenclaws. However, sometimes the dialogue and thoughts of the characters don't sound completely in-character as far as phrases and formality of the language go. But great start! =)

Author's Response: Dear GreyLady, Thank you for taking the trouble to review. It is so flattering that people are still paying attention to this story, which I originally wrote nearly four years ago. Yes, I admit that sometimes my characters are too good at grammar - I was a teenaged grammar Nazi and sometimes I forget to switch it off. You also have to allow that Terry Boot quotes from an old-fashioned translation of the Bible (disconcerting if you don't recognise his quotations) and that Morag MacDougal has a turn of phrase that sounds "quaint" south of Dundee (she lives near Loch Ness). Happy reading! GhV

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 06/05/07 11:33
Chapter: Reverie

Wow. I really love how you took such a minor character from canon and really fleshed him out into a believable and likable wizard. Plus, it's great how you answer all of those questions from the beginning! ;D I really enjoyed seeing some other characters being brought to life, and, as always, your writing was marvelous. As for the plot - Zabini's bet was a great touch, and the fact that this fic was really a short time and just sort of gave us a look at Michael's life was so fitting and perfect. I read this whole thing in one sitting and wasn't disappointed by a single thing - it was brilliant! :D
*Still waiting for that third Ariadne/Remus fic though... hehe... :D

Author's Response: Dear Valentinia, Congratulations on reading it all in one sitting - that is a certain compliment to the author. I really came to hate Zabini while I was writing and I had enormous fun making him horrible. Michael didn't turn out exactly as I planned, but I think he worked. Thank you for taking the trouble to review. The third Ariadne/Remus instalment is now beginning to be posted. Regards, GhV

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 01/14/07 7:35
Chapter: Reverie

I too thought this story might go on, I thought I saw the seeds of Michael's soulmate in another Ravenclaw girl. Perhaps later the Muses will inspire you.

Excellant story.

Author's Response: Dear Rambkowalczyk, I feel JKR has lost interest in whether Michael will end up with Cho, or whether she is just another year-long crush. Even 12 months is quite a long romance for a 15-year-old boy! Thank you for liking my story so much despite my cutting it short before True Love was discovered. Regards, GhV

Reviewer: AneleY
Date: 12/13/06 12:58
Chapter: Reverie

I feel stupid, because I didn't see the end coming, I guess I was expecting to read about their relationship... anyway, I really enjoyed this story =)

Author's Response: Dear AneleY, Thanks for reviewing! I think the story of their relationship is told pretty well in canon... basically, they are doomed... Thanks for taking the time to let me know what you thought. GhV

Reviewer: the_wind
Date: 12/12/06 23:37
Chapter: Reverie

A good story, showing a point of view few have even considered. However, I would have liked to see how his relationship with Ginny began, progressed and ended. Any chance of a sequel?

Author's Response: Dear Wind, I'm afraid my inspiration for further Michael-stories is dry at present ... but who knows what might turn up later? Thanks for reading, and for making time to tell me what you thought. GhV

Reviewer: the_wind
Date: 12/03/06 3:15
Chapter: Fire and Ice

How much longer will this be? Not that I want it to end, of course - I just want to know if there'll be any more extremely interesting subplots such as Zabini's bet.

Author's Response: Sorry, but there is only one more chapter to come, just to tie up a few loose ends. Thank you for saying such nice things about my story! GhV

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 11/27/06 18:34
Chapter: Settlement Hour

Malfoy is definately sneaky. I almost felt sorry for Blaise.

Author's Response: Don't worry, they are both far too horrible to deserve much sympathy!

Reviewer: the_wind
Date: 11/22/06 15:07
Chapter: Babel and Table

Good job! You perhaps slightly overdid Michael's crush on Ginny, but, still a great chapter.

Author's Response: Quick to fall in love, and quick to fall out! He doesn't yet recognise that this new infatuation is as doomed as the first. Thanks for keeping up the reviews, GhV

Reviewer: the_wind
Date: 11/17/06 0:41
Chapter: Transformation Scene

Luna?! That is something I didn't expect, though it didn't quite give me a heart attack.

Author's Response: You weren't supposed to guess in advance. I'm so glad I surprised you successfully! GhV

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 11/16/06 21:37
Chapter: Transformation Scene

I like how Michael doesn't realize that he is always doing nice things for other people. also like the reference to Umbridge. Surprised he did find a date after all.

Author's Response: Self-awareness is not his strong point, is it? He was as surprised as you were when a girl finally agreed to go with him. Thanks for reviewing, GhV

Reviewer: the_wind
Date: 11/08/06 1:34
Chapter: Fizzing Whizbees

Keps getting better and better! Oh, by the way, about your response to my last review - Ron? Intelligent? *faints*

Author's Response: Dear The Wind, Yes, I've always thought of Ron as intelligent. He comes from a clever family, his school work is as good as Harry's (despite the fact that both boys are lazy about academica), he can beat Harry at chess, and sometimes his strokes of intuition are pure genius. However, he is chronically hopeless about girls, and there is no excuse for the way he treated Padma at the Yule Ball. Thanks for keeping up the reviews, GhV

Reviewer: mugglegurl
Date: 11/07/06 22:00
Chapter: Fizzing Whizbees

You know, I've been following this story for quite some time, and I really like the plot. It's... different, but in a good way. Can't wait until the next chapter!

Author's Response: Dear Mugglegurl, I'm glad you liked something different - many people only like the familiar type of story. The story is finished, so I think chapters will move quickly through the queue. Thanks for taking the time to review, GhV

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 10/28/06 22:50
Chapter: End of Term

Moody's Christmas greeting is such a hoot. Padma's assessment of Ron was funny as well.
good chapter.

Author's Response: It's a sad fact of life that girls do assess boys, and often on very superficial grounds. Thanks for reading and reviewing. GhV

Reviewer: the_wind
Date: 10/28/06 21:24
Chapter: End of Term

Things are really slipping into place. It's interesting to hear Padma's reaction to finding out that Ron's going with her. And I suspect that the "surprise" might be who Michael goes with? I already know that he hooks up with Ginny, so that's just about the only vacancy.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing. Yes, I always felt that Padma wasn't too thrilled about going with Ron, but why not? He's tall, not ugly, intelligent and heaps of fun; and Padma couldn't have known in advance how badly he was going to behave at the ball. As for the surprise, let's just say that there will be plenty of fall-out from the Malfoy/Zabini bet, and several students will arrive at the Entrance Hall on Christmas night with a wrong idea about the person with whom they will be entering the Great Hall. Keep reading! GhV

Reviewer: the_wind
Date: 10/26/06 17:13
Chapter: You'll Bawl for Me

Thing are heating up! I think that what really happens in canon is looking in sight.

Author's Response: Yes, you already know who will take whom to the ball. But I might just spring a surprise on you anyway. Thanks for reviewing, GhV

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 10/26/06 16:34
Chapter: You'll Bawl for Me

If only Parvati had listened to the cards. I like where this is going.

My husband is Polish; his father came from Poland. I believe Clueless is based on Emma. I'm not sure. I remember reading that it was based on a classic novel that I never read. Your comments on the dialects/manner of speaking that your characters use reminds me of what Mark Twain said in his prologue of Huckleberry Finn. He went into this lengthy explanation of how certain characters were speaking in a particular dialect and that each region had it's own way of talking. THis was so you didn't get the impression that they were all trying to talk alike and were not succeeding.

Author's Response: Interesting background - I wasn't really trying to copy Twain or Austen! (If only I could write like Jane Austen!) Parvati/Goyle ... now THAT's a wreck-worthy ship! But Parvati will be made happy in due course. Thanks for reviewing, GhV

Reviewer: the_wind
Date: 10/21/06 1:21
Chapter: Crisis in the Greenhouse

O... very good! Can't wait till the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks! It's on its way! GhV

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
M.I.T.: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES