Reviewer: hannahabbot2007
Date: 03/29/07 16:23
Chapter: How I Found My Best Friend was a Witch

I LOVE UR STORY!! ADD MORE PLEASE!!! :)

Author's Response: Thank you for your review! I am trying to get the next chapter up, but somehow my formatting is off all of a sudden. It will be up as soon as I can get it validated!

Reviewer: James Jameson
Date: 03/12/07 20:15
Chapter: How I Found My Best Friend was a Witch

cool! i liked it!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I am glad you found it.

Reviewer: Visceral Love
Date: 03/11/07 22:38
Chapter: How I Found My Best Friend was a Witch

{This is a little thank you review. Thanks again Buckbeak22 for reading my story and leaving such a delightful little review}
How I Found of My Best Friend is a Witch is the best kind of sad. Mostly because it doesnít mean to be. A story about a Muggle losing her friend to a world she canít help to enter is probably the most poignant and under-explored story in the Wizarding universe. And Buckbeak executes it with an innocent, likable grace. Lauren the Muggle isnít flamboyant, doesnít have a wicked sense of humor, she is sensitive musician that claims to be good at the cello and little else. (She isnít however by the same turn dramtically inept to the point of humor) And this sets the perfect tone. Following a small string of lovely insignificant details

I think Bryan and Rob felt truly sorry for me, as they knew what I was feeling although they did get fed up of hearing about the ďHermione SoapĒ as they called my conversation.

We donít learn anymore of these characters but there simple line of Hermione soap brings Laurenís background to life. One of my favorite parts was easily the simple descriptions of how Lauren felt. Lauren really has a great voice, one easily relatable and mentally transposable. The best stories let the reader assume the place of the main character and Lauren is a perfect vehicle for our consciences.
There are of course problems, namely when Lauren meets Harry Potter and Ron Weasley. Because the reader is focusing so much attention on this, this more than the fight with Lucuis is the climax of the story. Ron and Harry are a little to at ease with Lauren and friendly. While not nessarily out of character, this takes away some of the edge and gives the reader relief from the poignancy. What, in my opinion, would have been really brilliant would have been if you increased the hope with the poignancy, if Lauren decided to become a little tag-along.
The line where Lauren admired Harry Potter seemed a little forced and the implication of him having a girlfriend and her respecting that veered slightly towards the dark and cheery path of mary-sue-dom. Watch out for that. Other than that I hope for a sequel and would just like to say good job.


Author's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review. Actually more worth reading than the fiction itself. I have come to the conclusion that there are story tellers, and writers. I am one of the former, and you are one of the latter, being by far the more literate and insightful. I wish you hadn't noticed that the ending was weak. I loathe writing endings, and always find them anticlimactic. And I am afraid I can't do sad endings. It makes me too depressed for my characters, and I wake up at night wanting to go and extricate them from their predicaments. I am the same when I read sad books. (When I read Fall on Your Knees by Ann Marie MacDonald, I was depressed for a week. My husband threatened to censor my reading for me since he said he couldn't stand it!) All the same, Harry and Ron may be alright with Lauren, but I hope I am conveying in my next fiction that she doesn't feel quite so comfortable with them. It will come to a head in Chapter 3. (At least, I think it is Chapter 3.) Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was very much appreciated.

Reviewer: hannahabbot2007
Date: 03/01/07 22:09
Chapter: How I Found My Best Friend was a Witch

plz write more!

Author's Response: Actually, I finished the first chapter of a new piece about Lauren today! Thank you for your review. I do feel very gratified when anyone enjoys my work enough to request an encore.

Reviewer: Eclipse
Date: 01/23/07 16:53
Chapter: How I Found My Best Friend was a Witch

Wonderful story. Very original and creative at that. I loved some of your character descriptions (like Lauren meeting Ron and Harry).

Also, adding the horcruxes in the end just screams for a sequel. A muggle finding part of Voldemort's soul is rather ironic in my eyes.

Author's Response: Sequel coming... Just working on the ending, and I will be posting it. Thank you very much for your encouraging review. I am glad you thought my story creative. My favourite part was when she beans Lucius on the head with the doorstop! Up the Muggles!

Reviewer: GinnyPotter808
Date: 01/18/07 15:45
Chapter: How I Found My Best Friend was a Witch

COOL! Very awesome. Sheesh, I don't think words can describe how awesome this fanfic is.
-Susan

Author's Response: Thank you very much. It is my favourite of those I have written so far, so I am glad you liked it. Thank you for your review!

Reviewer: phoe_gurl
Date: 08/20/06 12:49
Chapter: How I Found My Best Friend was a Witch

i loved it. so different than other fanfictions. well done!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! In the books they make a lot about Muggles being as good as wizards, and I know they are supposed to be better at logic. Hermione is very nice, and it was a bit odd that she never seemed to have a best friend at Hogwarts, aside from Harry and Ron and it was fun to give her a best friend who was a Muggle.

Reviewer: halfbloodprincess22
Date: 08/14/06 11:15
Chapter: How I Found My Best Friend was a Witch

you should write a sequel.

Author's Response: A sequel! I never thought about it. Perhaps I shall - you have just started the ghost of a plot bunny. Thank you very much for reviewing.

Reviewer: halfbloodprincess22
Date: 08/14/06 11:15
Chapter: How I Found My Best Friend was a Witch

this was a really good story. i like the idea of a muggle helping harry with the horcruxes. poor lauren though, i felt sorry for her when hermione became more and more distant. oh, and i really liked the robe incident! very nice!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I am glad you liked the robe incident, I was trying to fit it in with the books. It is very hurtful when a friend becomes distant, but I tried to make it seem that it had hurt both of them, and not just Lauren, although it was worse for her, as she did not know the reason. Thank you very much for reviewing, reviewers always make my day.

Reviewer: Linda_Carrig
Date: 08/09/06 7:13
Chapter: How I Found My Best Friend was a Witch

I really enjoyed you story! It's nice to have a story with a muggle in it. Well done.

Author's Response: Thank you! I am so glad you enjoyed it. I thought Hermione would have at least one Muggle friend, and the story grew from there.

Reviewer: DoxyClaw
Date: 08/08/06 23:21
Chapter: How I Found My Best Friend was a Witch

I really enjoyed this story. It reminded me of when my friends and i parted ways for college. I also think it was a great idea at the end to involve her in the horcrux hunt. A muggle could look through books wizards wouldnt think of or have access to (wich would be an ingenius way for Voldemort to hide one).

Author's Response: Thanks! I was thinking of the first book, when Hermione is solving the logic puzzle, and she says not many wizards are good at logic. I thought they may need some Muggle help - after all, there is only so much Hermione can do on her own! I know Voldemort hates Muggles, but he is so full of contradictions it could be that he would hide a Horcrux in a Muggle place.

Reviewer: muggleclaw
Date: 08/08/06 22:50
Chapter: How I Found My Best Friend was a Witch

I always wondered if Hermione had a best friend at her Muggle primary school, and you have a wonderful take on what their relationship might be like! I also loved this bit:
...the way Hermione carried on about him, I had the impression he was something between a Greek god and a film star. He was just ordinary looking, nice looking, but ordinary. Harry was just plain messy. Rather gorgeous, but looking like he needed shaking out and ironing.
Fabulous job. :)

Author's Response: In my experience people never describe their crush very accurately - those sentences parodied my feeling when I finally met my sister's boyfriend! I am so glad you enjoyed my story, thank you very much for reviewing.

Reviewer: krumflies11392
Date: 08/08/06 21:56
Chapter: How I Found My Best Friend was a Witch

I loved your story- I'm adding it to my favorites list! I loved the topic, it was very unique, different, and interesting. I loved how you made it in Hermione's BFF's POV. It was great!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! My daughter was talking about going to Hogwarts (she is six, and still thinks it is possible) and I was idly wondering how I would cope with telling friends if she did go, and wondering what could possibly not make everyone suspicious and so the story was born. I am glad you liked it.

Reviewer: Secret Demelza
Date: 08/08/06 20:19
Chapter: How I Found My Best Friend was a Witch

Wow, that's really good! I love it! Keep Writing!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I really enjoyed writing it.

Reviewer: lilylucyevans
Date: 08/08/06 20:10
Chapter: How I Found My Best Friend was a Witch

wonderful!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am glad you enjoyed it.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
MIT: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
Through the Mines by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Tom Riddle remarks on the power he held while at the orphanage and at school.Written...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES