Reviews For I Dreamed a Dream
Reviewer: Nagini Riddle
Date: 07/07/12 18:59
Chapter: I Dreamed a Dream

Again, poor Merope... I wonder what Tom was thinking when he left... He was always a pompous brat to me- what did Merope see in him? I'm sure it was just his riches and good looks...
Great story! I really enjoyed it!

Reviewer: inspirations
Date: 08/06/09 11:30
Chapter: I Dreamed a Dream

Hello, Hailey. :)

I think you picked a very good song for this one-shot. It weaves in seamlessly, and really fits the pairing.

I like how you bring Merope’s mother into this – I’ve never thought about her before; I suppose I always assumed she died in childbirth like her daughter, or something. However, it very much fits this family that the women were lesser and were beaten. It characterises what we see of Marvolo quite well, that not much matters to him but his name and that he can pass it on... which would be why Morfin was the favourite maybe, as traditionally sons are heirs.

but they had a good time comforting each other.

That line is in regards to Merope and her mother being beaten, but I can’t help but find it a little odd. How could they have a ‘good time comforting each other’ after what they’d been through? :/ I think I know what you’re getting at, but... maybe something more along the lines of ‘they offered each other comfort and that made them feel better’ – it would work just as well, I think, but make more sense in the circumstances.

The one thing I would’ve liked to see more of in this fic is emotion. I like the quickness of the story, how you don’t go into too much detail, you just skim over the main parts of their relationship – after all, Merope and Tom were together for a short time -- but when it comes to the birth, I would’ve liked a bit more:

She came to an orphanage, and decided that this was an appropriate place, as there was nowhere else.

I know why she’s entering the orphanage, but it would’ve been good to tell us a little about how Merope was reacting at this point, tell us a little about what she was thinking about. She’s deeply in love with Tom, maybe she would be wishing for him to be by her side, pretending he’s there even? Skimming over the main points after Tom left her is okay, like selling the necklace – we can pretty much imagine how she’d handle it -- but I would’ve liked to see how scared she was when she felt the first contraction, how she might try to be brave like her mother... you know?

You included small details like how she didn’t really know the value of money, which I thought was effective in showing why she’d let such a valuable item out of her grasp for so little. In addition, I loved this line: he followed, not unlike a puppy. because it reminds that this isn’t true love, that Tom’s bewitched, as such. Lol.

Good story. xx

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review :) You really helped me out. This is one of those stories that I wrote a long time ago and tend to ignore, so I'm glad you reminded me that it was still on here. Thanks!

Reviewer: MJ_Padfoot
Date: 10/07/06 16:54
Chapter: I Dreamed a Dream

I LOVE this! Good job! Can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Same as before, e-mail me for more. Thanks.

Reviewer: padfootprongs4ever
Date: 10/06/06 21:48
Chapter: I Dreamed a Dream

Loved them both! I'm a big (and recent) Les Miserables fan, all because my chior teacher indroduced me to it. You totally gave both songs justice. Are you writing them for every song in the play???? I don't mean to intrude on a work of genius, but doesn't the "Look Down " (is that the title, I am a new fan) at the start of the play remind you of Sirius Black?
With lots of praise, a loyal reader,
Carol
P.S. Write more ASAP

Author's Response: I'm really sorry, but I'll not finish writing on this site, but e-mail me, and I'll e-mail the stories to you.

Reviewer: Celebwen
Date: 09/22/06 23:11
Chapter: I Dreamed a Dream

I LOVE Les Mes! A very nice and fitting interpretation... I can't wait to read your other one, especially since "On My Own" is my favorite song from the musical.

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: JC_Cainstone
Date: 08/27/06 6:22
Chapter: I Dreamed a Dream

That was good, if a little hurried! I can't believe, being a massive Les Mis fan, that I never saw the connection between Merope and Tom and Fantine and her life!

Author's Response: Thank you!! I know, it went a little fast, but I'm really impatient when it comes to stories. *hehe* I never noticed the amazing connection, either, until I was thinking up a plot for the song. Then I was like, "Oh, wow, why not do Merope?" Then for On My Own, it was like, "Well, maybe Ginny?" I loved the song so much I couldn't think of an appropriate plot, so I just settled for Ginny. Thanks again!!

Reviewer: Hip_Hop_Muggle
Date: 08/19/06 14:09
Chapter: I Dreamed a Dream

I thought that was facinating!!! it's such an unused ship, it's refreshing from all those Draco/Hermione stuff they have out there. Very well done! 10/10
~ HHMuggle

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! As much as I love HG/DM, it does get a bit too old. I'm so glad that you appreciate it!!

Reviewer: rache
Date: 08/09/06 17:21
Chapter: I Dreamed a Dream

wow...that was really really good. I loved it. just wow

Author's Response: :O I am so honored!! One of my favorite authors liking my story....THANK YOU!!!! Just...I don't believe it. Just...just wow. I really appreciate it!!

Reviewer: hermy_loves_ron
Date: 08/07/06 20:25
Chapter: I Dreamed a Dream

Kill me now=good. :P
Btw, you inspired me with your fic to unbury the soundtrack to L.M. from my disaster of a room and listen to it while at the computer. So for the next four days I went around humming, and my Mom decided to go around singing and watch the DVD for the bazillionth time, and my Dad sung in his totally AWFUL voice, and marvelous chaos ensued. ;D

Author's Response: Well, at least it sounds as though you have music in the family!! lol, I wish I had a DVD of Les Mis. I'm almost done w/ my next songfic, e-mail me on Yahoo or MSN for the plot. It's to my favorite song!!

Reviewer: smiley10792
Date: 08/07/06 8:45
Chapter: I Dreamed a Dream

I love Les Mis, and this is a PERFECT use of that song! great job.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm writing a Les Mis series, if you don't know. Right now I'm working on my personal favorite song, On My Own. *loves the song*

Reviewer: hermy_loves_ron
Date: 08/04/06 16:29
Chapter: I Dreamed a Dream

A whole series??! Kill me now! Lol, keep me posted about that series. ;)

Author's Response: Lol. When you say 'kill me' is that good or bad?

Reviewer: hermy_loves_ron
Date: 08/03/06 16:47
Chapter: I Dreamed a Dream

Ugh! I'm soo sorry for the triple post, I really don't know how it happened---sorry!

Author's Response: lol, It's fine. It happens all the time!!

Reviewer: hermy_loves_ron
Date: 08/03/06 16:39
Chapter: I Dreamed a Dream

Wow. That story was ah-mazing, and by the way--I love that song! I've watched Les Miserables sooooo many times since I was little, since my parents (especially my mom) absolutely adore that movie/play. Anywho, congrats on having such a wonderful fan fiction!

Author's Response: :D

Reviewer: hermy_loves_ron
Date: 08/03/06 16:35
Chapter: I Dreamed a Dream

Wow. That story was ah-mazing, and by the way--I love that song! I've watched Les Miserables sooooo many times since I was little, since my parents (especially my mom) absolutely adore that movie/play. Anywho, congrats on having such a wonderful fan fiction!

Author's Response: :D

Reviewer: hermy_loves_ron
Date: 08/03/06 16:32
Chapter: I Dreamed a Dream

Wow. That story was ah-mazing, and by the way--I love that song! I've watched Les Miserables sooooo many times since I was little, since my parents (especially my mom) absolutely adore that movie/play. Anywho, congrats on having such a wonderful fan fiction!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I LOVE LES MISERALBES!!! That's why I'm writing a songfic series based on it!! Thank you again!!

Reviewer: mugglegurl
Date: 07/31/06 14:42
Chapter: I Dreamed a Dream

I finally got around to reading this. I must say, Hailey, it was written wonderfully. The song went perfectly with the story, and the last paragraph gave me goosebumps. Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! I really appreciate it, Jordan. It's great to get great reviews from my FAVORITE author!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! I really appreciate it, Jordan. It's great to get great reviews from my FAVORITE author!!

Author's Response: OOPS!! It's** and sorry for posting the same thing twice!

Reviewer: sinbad
Date: 07/30/06 23:40
Chapter: I Dreamed a Dream

what a sad story, I wish the poor girl had a fighting chance at life and love. However, this rendition is true to the hypothasis give in HBP.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I really appreciate it.

Reviewer: Writer Alike
Date: 07/29/06 15:05
Chapter: I Dreamed a Dream

To love another person is to see the face of god

i loved it

Author's Response: That's a beautiful quote. Thank you very much for the short, but uplifting review.

Reviewer: Dumbledore Prince
Date: 07/29/06 0:26
Chapter: I Dreamed a Dream

Well done!

I dunno why I'm coming across so many good Tom/Merope fics here ... but I don't mind. I sort of like the pairing, despite the tragic end. It all started when I wrote my Tom/Merope fic.

This one was very good. It showed how shallow their relationship was, and how Merope's unrequited love ended in despair. But I think Merope and Tom's married life was a lot darker than how you've portrayed it. Their travels around the world seemed a little too hunky-dory. But you've done it because you want the story to match with the song you've chosen, so it's acceptable.

~Mini.

Author's Response: Thank you for the great review. I never said that they didn't have there squabbles, for love isn't healthy without a few fights. I probably should have clarified in my story. Thanks again!!

Reviewer: sewgreeen
Date: 07/28/06 21:18
Chapter: I Dreamed a Dream

Merope had Slytherin's LOCKET not medallion.

Author's Response: Um...thanks for the review? I decided that saying 'medallion' would separate it from Tom's locket that he gave to her. It confused the story. So, yes, I did do my research on this story, and all my information was transferred correctly. Thank you for trying to help, though.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES