Reviews For Percy's Revenge
Reviewer: Bee AKA Ted
Date: 09/04/08 4:44
Chapter: Percy's Revenge

percy = bad

we thank Jo for never letting him become the minisiter
as was feared

well written =]=]

xx

Reviewer: Bee AKA Ted
Date: 09/04/08 4:43
Chapter: Percy's Revenge

percy = bad

we thank Jo for never letting him become the minisiter
as was feared

well written =]=]

xx

Reviewer: Mind Games
Date: 04/21/07 10:58
Chapter: Percy's Revenge

This is a great look at how Percy would act as Minister. The formality and hostility he had at the beginning seemed just like him. I wouldn’t expect him to be any less formal, not even when speaking with his father. His thoughts and dialogue really remind me of the canon Percy. Arthur’s reaction to Percy was also accurate. I like how he manages to stand up to Percy while still remaining mostly patient with him.

I think one thing that really makes Percy a Gryffindor is his stubbornness, a trait a lot of Gryffindors have. You really display this well in this story. Percy thinks that what he’s doing is right, no matter what anyone else says. He isn’t evil or malicious, only just stubborn and foolish.

I liked your idea of having Percy looking at an old photo and remembering his family. It was interesting to see what happened to them all and what Percy thought about it. He remains stubborn and has sort of a know-it-all attitude about it, but I can see that he does somewhat care. You were a bit mysterious with some of the characters. I kept wondering why Ginny committed suicide and what happened between Luna and Ron. Another thing I really liked was how he used the death of his mother as an excuse for why the wizarding world needed his new decree. This would be just the thing he would do to convince himself that he was making the right decision.

A couple of typos I caught…

He sighed heavily and leaned forward, keeping his sharp eyes on the two figures before him

You missed a period at the end of this sentence.

“Percy,” Arthur shook his head sadly.

I would change the comma to a period here.

Umbridge held up a roll of parchment, not only the decree but provisions as well, all signed and approved by the Minister of Magic.”

You added an unnecessary quotation mark at the end of this sentence.


Your characterization of Percy was very accurate. I thought the decisions he made and the reasons for why he made them were very much the way I would imagine the canon Percy’s. I also liked how you showed that Percy really does have a heart, but truly believes that he is making the right decision. This was an interesting look at what the wizarding world might become with Percy as Minister, and I could definitely see something like this happening in canon. I’ll be looking forward to seeing what happens in your other one-shots related to this story. Great work!

Katty – Knight of the Turnip Table


Author's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review! I'm glad you approved of the characterisation of Percy. It was difficult capturing the essence of Percy, but I'm glad I did well =) Thank you also for catching my technical mistakes!

Reviewer: Cwiddy
Date: 03/24/07 13:12
Chapter: Percy's Revenge

This is very well written and I can very well imagine Percy acting in this manner if he were to become the Minister of Magic. Great job!

Reviewer: Siriuslyinluvwithharry
Date: 11/10/06 11:21
Chapter: Percy's Revenge

i thought this was really good. i thought it captured percy really well because he thinks hes doing what is right, but in actuality hes doing something totallyy wrong which has become his personality in the latst books. very good. 10/10

Reviewer: pandafan81
Date: 10/23/06 0:55
Chapter: Percy's Revenge

So this wasn't intended to be my SPEW review for you. I was going to read (and still plan to) A Weasel Can't Cry, because it's what you recommended to me, but since the author's note said this should be read first, I thought I better start with the beginning.

I haven't read Hidden either (although now I'm intrigued... so I may need to delve even deeper into your fics. Anyway, some of my reactions will probably be rather funny to you, but here I go anyway...

Take care, Mr. Weasley, to remember who you are speaking to.”
Oh Percy. For someone who wants to honor his mother, he really is going the wrong about way getting there. He really sees himself as the ultamate authority, rather than acknowledging his father's. I can see how Aruthur can be so wounded by his son.

1996
When you decide to come back

Molly never did give up on him did she. I really see her sending him a picture of everyone, just waiting for him to return. The love and sentiment are really touching. Too bad Percy's warped that love to serve his own ambitions.

I loved the detailed listing of Percy's assessment of the picture. So organized, so regimented. So much like Percy. Too take in each individual element and assess them one-by-one, and to look at them like elements, instead of humans. Instead of his family, his detachment is obvious, and makes me sad for Percy.

Ginny Weasley – committed suicide. Did I miss the funeral?
*GASP* (lol, again, I have know knowledge of back story here...) I adore Ginny, and it makes me wonder just what Ginny went through to make her come to that desperate of a conclusion. And the fact that Percy isn't sure wether or not he attended her funeral infuriates me. She is his only sister, one of his siblings, one of his family, and he's not even sure he paid his last respects.

Ron Weasley – estranged from wife Luna Lovegood. Good. A match with the Bones girl will tie two vengeful families together.
Never been a big Ron/Luna fan, but I WANT to be simply by Percy's evaluation here. He's playing his siblings like they were a game of chess (rather ironic since Ron's the chess champion).

Harry Potter – married happily to Hermione. Killer of the Dark Lord. I still owe a statement to Daily Prophet about that, don’t I?
He's not even happy Harry is alive, safe and happy. He's not even thankful for what Harry has done for him and the wizarding community... He's more worried about how his reaction in the press looks.

Hermione Potter – married to Harry. Wrong choice, Hermione. A waste of your intellect.
Again, never been a huge Harry/Hermione fan, but again, I want to defend them simply on this assessment. Hermione is a kind, loving, and yes- intelligent woman, and Harry and Hermione would be lucky to have each other. Who would Percy have picked for her? Himself? Now that would have been a waste of intellect.

Are you amused by my scathing rant yet? I love that you've made me so infuriated. I love that I'm venting at Percy and sending him scathing and sarcastic messages through a review! That really shows a mark of excellent writing in my book, when an author can make me react so much!

Moving on....

Fred and George Weasley – killed in the Diagon Alley massacre. Weasley’s Wizarding Wheezes – now run by Ron.
:( poor Fred and George. And Percy again seems to feel no remourse. He assesses the situation by who took over the successful business.

Charlie Weasley – killed in a dragon accident. Ah, I remember. The first death in our family.
It sounds like his reminicing has become happy and familiar. Like death happens all the time and is meaningless. Granted, Percy has lost a lot of family members, but their deaths should not be meaningless or run-of-the-mill.

Bill Weasley – killed in bombing of Gringotts. Why didn’t you heed my warning?
"I told you so"? Now there's a mature response to losing a brother. Again, Percy sees himself as the ultimate authority- who sees all and knows all... Trelawney must have love him in Divination!

Arthur Weasley – tormented by loss. Poor, deranged Father. A trip to St. Mungo’s will do.
Because Arthur needs to be "fixed" *growls and sends threatening thoughts to Percy and where he's going to end up*

Molly Weasley – killed by Severus Snape, a Death Eater who escaped capture. Until recently. Yet this is the prime example as to why the scum belongs in a graveyard.
Even his mother's death- which seems to be the only one he mourns- fuels his ego.

Any with the Mark forfeit their rights to a trial and will be transferred directly to the prison of Azkaban for life.
*Shudder* Blanket laws like this do more harm than good. Sure, it sounds nice on the surface: Send the Deather Eaters to jail. But that didn't work well the first time (ie Sirius), and doesn't take into considerations special cases. What if people were forced to take the mark (like children, or people under the imperius curse). Everyone deserves a fair trial.

Ministry employees are permitted to exercise his or her own wisdom and knowledge of the Dark Arts in capturing followers of Voldemort.
Rather hypocritical, like a parent hitting a child for hitting a classmate...

You know what the decree reminded me of? The laws passed to capture and enslave the Jews durring WWII. He's creating a police force that can do anything they want in the name of "fighting dark magic". *Shudders at coincidences*. Okay, so maybe I haven't really drawn out the parallels I see... but that's just the connection I made.

Anyway. I'm going to go read A Weasel Can't Cry, and expect something as long winded and convoluted as this!

*HUGS SPEW Buddy*

Reviewer: king_fish
Date: 08/11/06 1:01
Chapter: Percy's Revenge

Striking, dark and heartbreaking...perfect. Well, I'd like to see Harry destroyed over Ginny and UNhappily married to Hermione as a substitute...but, still. I'm happy to read something other than a redemptive version of Percy's future.

Reviewer: LOTRandHPnut
Date: 07/25/06 1:17
Chapter: Percy's Revenge

Whooo.....huanting. I loved how allegorical this story was and how you sort of alluded to even rulers with the best intentions can become corrupted by power and even their own desire to do good. Your story sort of reminded me of Peru's former priminister (Fujimori, or something like that) who let his police force capture communist terrorist by any means and who even suspended the country's legistlative and judicial system. Enough of the slightly geeky world history stuff; in short I thought your story was very intriging and I can't wait to see what developes next.

Reviewer: the nutty imp
Date: 07/23/06 4:08
Chapter: Percy's Revenge

Chilling how twisted it could get when one tries to do what's right; especially if you can see the logic behind those decree.

In a way I would think Percy is more like Scimeour than Fudge... he's decisive, but overdoes things ... And the bad part is I can't hate him ...I sympathize with him. That part about Molly almost brought tears to my eyes ... how he remembered his mother's unconditional love and how he failed to make amends with the family and especially to Molly in the end, yet she continued to have faith in him.

What's alarming was the fact that he's not doing this for ambition or need to hold on to power ... but because he thought it was right ... so people won't suffer the way he did ... people won't lost family and their mums to death eaters.

Author's Response: Ah yes. That's what I was trying to show - the consequences of good deeds gone wrong.

Wow, you're the first person to sympathize with Percy! I tried to make him human, but even I couldn't do that very well without hating him myself. But yes, in a way, I feel sorry for him for his losses.

Thanks so much!

Reviewer: WeaslyPunkPrincess
Date: 07/21/06 23:46
Chapter: Percy's Revenge

Ouch, that one stung. Percy is such a moron, and you did a good job showing it. Thats sad how most of the weaslys died, especially the Twins, but very good story.

Author's Response: Yes, I love the twins as well. But, it made it a bit more dramatic, don't you think? ;) Thanks so much!

Reviewer: Madame Marauder
Date: 07/21/06 22:44
Chapter: Percy's Revenge

Beth,

Awesome story. I was so sad to hear of all the deaths in the Weasley family, although I anticipate at least one.

Your portrayal of Percy is dead on. It's scary how chilling that is. Gives me goosebumps. His decree was so... Ministry-like; I can see a decree like that popping up in Wizarding future (potentially book seven). And, although Percy Weasley is not my favorite character, this story was amazing.

MadMar

Author's Response: Eep Percy really is a scary character, isn't he? Thanks for the (two) reviews! Hopefully, my story won't come true. I don't think I can stand all those deaths or decrees...Thanks so much!

Reviewer: Madame Marauder
Date: 07/21/06 22:43
Chapter: Percy's Revenge

Beth,

Awesome story. I was so sad to hear of all the deaths in the Weasley family, although I anticipate at least one.

Your portrayal of Percy is dead on. It's scary how chilling that is. Gives me goosebumps. His decree was so... Ministry-like; I can see a decree like that popping up in Wizarding future (potentially book seven). And, although Percy Weasley is not my favorite character, this story was amazing.

MadMar

Reviewer: kumydabookworm
Date: 07/21/06 22:40
Chapter: Percy's Revenge

So, Percy, true to Fred and George's predictions, truly is a reincarnation of Barty Crouch Sr. I loved the ending; it was spooky. Percy was perfectly in character.

Beautiful work, Beth, like always. Great job. Downright spooky.

Author's Response: Spooky? Haha, I never thought I'd make it spooky. But now that I think about it, it reallyis spooky! Thanks so much!

Reviewer: Potter_freak0515
Date: 07/21/06 21:13
Chapter: Percy's Revenge

I HATE PERCY!!! Besides being a git, I'm a H/Hr shipper. HERMIONE DID NOT WASTE HER INTELLECT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can't believe he actually thinks he's helping. Kingsley is right. Chaos will reign once more. It's part of everyone's nature to refer to Voldy as "You-know-Who" and stuff. Sorry, sometimes I forget the difference between the real world and fan fiction. The real world being canon HP facts. The point is... good story.

Author's Response: It is part of everyone's nature to call him "You-Know-Who." But as you can see, Percy's on a warpath to change this. Thank you for your review.

Reviewer: Draco_is_hot
Date: 07/21/06 20:45
Chapter: Percy's Revenge

fred and george arnt in the photo, why?

Author's Response: Thank you for pointing out my mistake. I've added Fred and George. *blushes*

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Research and Development by Northumbrian 3rd-5th Years
The Mirrorphone, the latest advance in Wizarding communications. Now, of course...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES