Reviews For Hagrid a Hero?
Reviewer: Ponder
Date: 10/19/06 12:44
Chapter: Hagrid a Hero?

Your story is really good becase I always wondered when Hagrid met Fang.It's a pity about Aragog though...Hagrid should have been allowed to keep him, but I suppose he's too big.Why did he attack Kim?He usally is a good spider.

Author's Response: Thank you for your review! I loved the prompt I got in Gryffindor Tower, so I wrote the story. :) Aragog attacked Kim because he was frightened. She was merely in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Reviewer: Sekhmet
Date: 09/16/06 8:34
Chapter: Hagrid a Hero?

Oh, I love the sweetness of Hagrid in this story. He just seems like the kindest giant that you want to huggle because he's so good. He's brave and loyal and loves creatures deeply. You can also sense the undercurrent of pain from the loss of his father and the absence of real friends. This seems the perfect reason why he loves the creatures so much. He loves them, and they love him in return.

Author's Response: Ahhh. And, he's just like me. I know my little monsters love me unconditionally. I don't have to worry about anyone else, because I'm safe and comfortable in that knowledge!

Reviewer: kumydabookworm
Date: 08/22/06 11:20
Chapter: Hagrid a Hero?

As always, Hagrid's love for the wild will come into conflict with the humans he loves. This story was sadly tragic, and it nearly made me cry.

I loved how Hagrid immediately found Fang after Aragog - it's characteristic of those who have lost pets to either get another one immediate (which is Hagrid) or never get one again (obviously, not Hagrid).

Nice work. I do really like how Dumbledore accepted Fang at the end, as well. :)

Kumy

P.S. Review 5 of 5 for the August Review Challenge Prize.

Author's Response: I really like this piece. I think Hagrid is under utilized and poorly written during most fics (Mine incuded) whish is why I chose to write a singular piece about him. I still have to write the follow up about his expulsion. Drats.

Reviewer: whittyleah
Date: 07/31/06 16:07
Chapter: Hagrid a Hero?

Oh! You did an amazing job in the characterization of Hagrid. He would have thought about his pets more then himself and he would have stopped harm from coming to another student. You even got his speech just right.

The story all together is good. You do an awesome job of describing the feeling and mood of the piece. Reading it I could see it all happening in my mind.

The only thing I didn't like too well was the...I don't how to word it. Reading it I wasn't captivated by the story. I continued reading cause I don't just stop reading in the middle of something. Maybe it was the pace. It was interesting then it slowed down and then sped up...It didn't capture my attention. I hope that makes sense.

Overall: Very good!

Author's Response: Hey Leah, It makes perfect sense. I'm sorry about the pace. I'll have to go back and see if I can level the field, so to speak, before I write the second part. Thank you for your compliments!

Reviewer: the nutty imp
Date: 07/23/06 4:16
Chapter: Hagrid a Hero?

I always did found it difficult to do Hagrid's accent. You managed it extremely well. You also showed his love for animals and all those little Hagrid-ism in this story. I love that Fangs and Aragog was there. And his actions here clearly showed that he's a true Gryffindor.

Love your attention to details on that scene where Hagrid saves Kim and his farewell to Aragog.

On that detention ... I'm not sure about this but wasn't Hagrid expelled for keeping Aragog?

Author's Response: Thank you for such a lovely review! I am so glad that my portrayal of Hagrid comes across so well. As MbM suggested, I will write a sequel to the story that explains how the detention became expulsion. I have one more chapter of my fic to complete before I can undertake that plot bunny, but I will get to it shortly! :)

Reviewer: Marauder by Midnight
Date: 07/21/06 16:47
Chapter: Hagrid a Hero?

A very delicious and heart-breaking story. This chapter made me want to wrap Hagrid in my own arms and cuddle him.


You wrote the emotions very well, giving each character just the right emotion at just the right time, Hagrid especially.


It's nice to see you work in Hagrid meeting Fang! I've always wondered how they met. That must make Fang a VERY old dog!


I had a bit of trouble understanding Kim's involvement in the story though. She seemed like a very insignificant person other than her account that Hagrid saved her life. I, however, was under the impression Dumbledore didn't need her account to know Hagrid was innocent.


I would love a sequel to this one-shot. What was the headmaster's reaction? And how did Dumbledore fail in keeping Hagrid in school?


I can see Hagrid didn't change at all from his school days: always the caring person he'd been in the Harry Potter books.


Hagrid is truly a character often overlooked. It never really occurred to me until now that he was a Gryffindor. You did an excellent job reminding me that he was indeed a Gryffindor.


-Bethany

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you for such a lovely (and long) review. I love getting reviews from you, they are always so well thought out and constructive!

Thank you for your compliments, Hagrid was difficult to write, I'm glad that he came across so well.

As for Kim's involvement, I wanted to keep it minimal. I wanted to show that, as a Gryffindor, Hagrid was brave enough (and willing) to save anyone. She wasn't a friend of his, not even a particularly close aquaintance, but he risked his life and magical education to save her.

I don't think that Dumbledore needed her account to know that Hagrid was innocent. But, being the fair, equal opportunity guy that he is, he would have wanted to get all the information he could get. That way, no one could accuse him of playing favorites.

A sequel. Oooh, dangerous plot bunny hopping around in my brain. I will have to do that right after I finish chapter 24 for TBWL. I will start jotting down some ideas!

Thank you Bethany!

Reviewer: HarryPotter is my LIFE
Date: 07/15/06 13:27
Chapter: Hagrid a Hero?

This was very nice. It showed Hagrid's true colors as a Gryffindor. Many will mistake Hagrid for being a Hufflepuff, but his kindness to animals who will usually be shunned, and wanting to help a classmate, show is true bravery. (Even though Hagrid was not afraid of Aragog, wrestling a giant spider to save a girl is pretty darn brave.)

Author's Response: Awww. Thank you! I'm so glad you came over to read it. I still don't know why people thought Hagrid was a Hufflepuff?!? I always thought he was in Gryffindor. And, I think that there are several instances in the books where he shows that he bleeds Red and Gold.

Reviewer: hpnut
Date: 07/07/06 22:32
Chapter: Hagrid a Hero?

Another great story!!!! I liked this story for the main reason that their arn't many Hagrid stories to read. Keep them coming.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you found this. I didn't put it in my series because it was a story for the Gryffindor Joint Fic. It doesn't really belong in TBWL universe and all that. I love Hagrid as a character, but it's hard to write him because there isn't much known about him, despite his frequent appearances in the books. Never-the-less, I tried.

Reviewer: Elanor Weasley
Date: 07/06/06 11:02
Chapter: Hagrid a Hero?

hehehe i liked you story! well done

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: Ginzig
Date: 07/05/06 12:45
Chapter: Hagrid a Hero?

I was very struck by a young Hagrid rocking himself in despair on the cold hard castle floor; I could feel his heart breaking with the decision he had to make. Again, I love how your brought Fang into the story. You brought Hagrid's love of animals to life! The accent is amazing! Wonderful job! Thank you again, for you know what!!

Author's Response: You are such a doll! I'm glad that you liked it the second time around. Thank you for the accent acknowledgement. I worked hard on that, and I hope it suits his character. You are very welcome, for everything, and thank you!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
M.I.T.: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES