Reviewer: mgle_teacher
Date: 09/14/06 0:37
Chapter: Chapter Eight: Whose Part Was to be Gladness

Better, even, as Padfoot has always been able to ask for physical affection, which is something that Sirius has not entirely trusted himself to ask for from Remus since the summer after their third year at Hogwarts for fear of betraying himself.

Ok...what does that above mean? Are you hiding something from us?
Just in case, I haven't told you already --- I love your story. I don't usually stories before Harry's time but you've done an excellent job thus far!

Reviewer: mgle_teacher
Date: 09/14/06 0:03
Chapter: Chapter Six: And All Their Sorrows In Your Face

I'm interested....you mention that Moody took on seven trainees from that Hogwarts' class. So...James, Sirius, the Longbottoms,...who are the other three?

Author's Response: The other three are Kingsley Shacklebolt, Agnes Meadowes, and Peter Dawlish.

Reviewer: SeverusEternal
Date: 09/06/06 0:55
Chapter: Chapter Ten: Or Their Stretched Purpose Slacken

Wow! I love it. Your story is so detailed and intense. It flows perfectly. I hope you are writing fast! This is brilliant.

Author's Response: Thank you! Sorry it took so long to respond -- writing has been muy hectic lately.

Reviewer: hearyoume
Date: 09/02/06 15:23
Chapter: Chapter Ten: Or Their Stretched Purpose Slacken

*reads review below*
I'm sorry to hear that you broke your finger! I hope it gets better quickly. (:
Anyway. Loved Molly's POV. In fact, I love everyone's POV in this story. You're such a talented writer, and the way you're handling this fan fiction is amazing. I can't wait to read the rest of this, and I'm definitely going to be keeping an eye out for more stories by you!

Reviewer: MaraudersAffair
Date: 08/27/06 17:44
Chapter: Chapter Ten: Or Their Stretched Purpose Slacken

Arg, I read about your broken finger on livejournal. I hope it's feeling better. :]

That was amazing. I loved the description of the Wealsey boys asleep. Even though the part in Peter's POV was short, it still was very powerful. I loved it. :D Please continue!

Reviewer: anAnachronism
Date: 08/26/06 11:37
Chapter: Chapter Ten: Or Their Stretched Purpose Slacken

Ah yes, the plot bunnies must be fed. Otherwise they start eating themselves and then you're left with no plot bunnies at all!

And I'd completely forgotten that Scabbers sought refuge with the Weasleys. I expect he manages to strike up some sort of friendship with Percy, maybe eating bits of breakfast Percy dislikes or something. Funny, because I can't imagine book 5 Percy keeping a rat. What advantages can Scabbers offer? Maybe some leverage against his aggravating twin brothers? A friendly ear to confide in?

Enough about Scabbers though, what about my favorite two Marauders? I do hope we'll see more of Moony and Padfoot in the next chapter. How vast are Black estates? Are there any in Germany? And how many portraits did narcissistic Phineas get painted and distributed? Perhaps he donated money to some German ministry/hospital as a peace offering..

I anticipate the next chapter eagerly.

Author's Response: oh, the plot is about to unfold. the first ten chapters have in all honesty been set up. as a hint -- the next place that sirius and remus are headed is prague - and i have been looking forward to doing the iron curtain effect on the wizarding world for quited a while,

Author's Response: and i cannot type w. a broken finger

Reviewer: xilovegeorgex
Date: 08/26/06 8:04
Chapter: Chapter Ten: Or Their Stretched Purpose Slacken

you are such a good writer - you put the right amount of speech and description in so it doesnt get boring or unbelievable. i love this story so much - thanks for writing it!!

Author's Response: you are quite welcome. hope that you continue to read and enjoy!

Reviewer: MaraudersAffair
Date: 08/24/06 11:29
Chapter: Chapter Nine: The Wounded Air Roared In

Still, for a long moment, the only thing Sirius can think of is how very much he would like to kiss Remus until neither of them needs that knowledge any longer.

Thank God some sort of evidence to Sirius' feelings for Lupin. So much tension - terrific! :D

Author's Response: thank you thank you.... ch. 11 should be sort of a de-tensionizer (my incoherency is due to the combination of percocet and a broken broken finger)

Reviewer: MaraudersAffair
Date: 08/24/06 0:55
Chapter: Chapter Eight: Whose Part Was to be Gladness

This is very good - I was surprised that Remus started egging Sirius on . . . I dunno, but I really want them to make up and love each other. Oh yeah. XD

Author's Response: ...that part is on its way. (i have high hopes for ch. 11)

Reviewer: MaraudersAffair
Date: 08/23/06 20:24
Chapter: Chapter Seven: Between the Dawn and the Day

Ok, wow - just wow. I loved, loved the first two paragraphs. Remus is absolutely wonderful in this one - but I have said that already. The dynamics in Dumbledore's office, between all the characters was amazing. Moody - you have written him perfectly. Because of you I feel really sorry for Bellatrix and her husband. Your descriptions of them - God, it was wonderful! Great job! :D

Author's Response: Thank you soooo much. I admit, I hate Bellatrix as much as the next Sirius aficionado -- still, I also felt bad for her after writing that -- all of that glittering malevolence brought to a dull, grinding halt. next chapter is very much in progress, i swear.

Reviewer: mretscork
Date: 08/22/06 12:22
Chapter: Prologue: Your Brother's Hand

great chapter, really liked it

Author's Response: Thanks. Hope you will enjoy the rest as well.

Reviewer: anAnachronism
Date: 08/21/06 17:12
Chapter: Chapter Nine: The Wounded Air Roared In

This is most dissapointing, I click the 'Next' button and I can't read the next installment! I'm like a toddler who's been denied candy!

Anyway, just out of curiousity have Remus & Sirius had any sort of relationship yet? Or did they have one briefly but break up? They're definitely bollocks for each other, I can tell that much.

And I must say (though I'll probably be the only to ever say it) that I love Phineas and his witty comebacks. Not to mention his sarcastic regard for Dumbly.

I hope the next chapter comes through the queue soon!


Author's Response: the next chapter is being feverishly written, i swear. as far as sirius and remus are concerned, they're both bollocks for each other and both too bloody oblivious to notice it -- though that will change in chapter eleven, provided that i can beat it into submission. thanks so much for the review. encouragement is a big plus at this point.

Reviewer: anAnachronism
Date: 08/21/06 16:38
Chapter: Chapter Three: Auguries of Innocence

Insert nosy!Me, offering help for your french translations. Or not exactly offering, probably forcing it upon you. :-)

-'the unhappy (miserable) liver' (Actually I read Le Fois Malheureux to mean the unhappy time, but your's is both accurate and far more amusing.)

-'very dangerous wizard — do not approach' (Sorcie**r dangereuse - ne l'approchez pas! Tiny french lesson in gender: Sorcie**r = wizard and sorcie**re = witch. 'Magicien' is like the guys who pull rabbits out of hats at parties.)

-'he defeated the dark lord'(er...'defait' means, literally, undid. It would be more accurate to say "Il a tue* le seigneur des tene**bres"

-'no one knows how he did it' (Personne sait comment il l'a fait.)

-'i need this list filled.(J'ai besoin tous les objets/choses sur cette liste. )
immediately.'

-'i require the blood of an innocent.' (J'en veux le sang d'un innocent.) but your translation works as well, on in place of 'du', you should put 'le'.

-'a dark request, (Un demande noir, )
suitable for these suddenly troubled times.'

Oh, and everything I left untouched was fine!

Oh, and I should probably explain the asterisks. Yes, they're fun, but they also have a purpose. * = accent aigue, and ** = accent grave.

Er... I don't know the english for those...Hmm. Aigue is the accent where it goes to the right and Grave is when the accent goes to the left. Sorry if that's confusing!

Author's Response: thank you sooo much. (it's terribly sad. i have maintained my accent, but the grammar behind it is gone.)

Reviewer: anAnachronism
Date: 08/21/06 16:36
Chapter: Chapter Three: Auguries of Innocence

Insert nosy!Me, offering help for your french translations. Or not exactly offering, probably forcing it upon you. :-)

-'the unhappy (miserable) liver' (Actually I read Le Fois Malheureux to mean the unhappy time, but your's is both accurate and far more amusing.)

-'very dangerous wizard — do not approach' (Sorcie**r dangereuse - ne l'approchez pas! Tiny french lesson in gender: Sorcie**r = wizard and sorcie**re = witch. 'Magicien' is like the guys who pull rabbits out of hats at parties.)

-'he defeated the dark lord'(er...'defait' means, literally, undid. It would be more accurate to say "Il a tue* le seigneur des tene**bres"

-'no one knows how he did it' (Personne sait comment il l'a fait.)

-'i need this list filled.(J'ai besoin tous les objets/choses sur cette liste. )
immediately.'

-'i require the blood of an innocent.' (J'en veux le sang d'un innocent.) but your translation works as well, on in place of 'du', you should put 'le'.

-'a dark request, (Un demande noir, )
suitable for these suddenly troubled times.'

Oh, and everything I left untouched was fine!

Reviewer: anAnachronism
Date: 08/21/06 11:42
Chapter: Chapter Three: Auguries of Innocence

First of all, I really love this story. It's orignal, and the effort you put into your titles is amazing. (Coming from one who always struggles with titles.)

Though I would be careful when saying that Sirius is fluent in french. Some of your translatiuons were quite awkward and seemed to be a directly from a Bescherelle and franco-anglais dictionary. One translation I really did like was Seigneur des tenebres. Lord of the shadows. I would have just said Seigneur Noir but I love your translation much better.

Anyway, I'm off to read further chapters, but I'm loving it so far!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! As far as the French bit goes -- although Sirius is fluent, my linguistic skills have, sadly, fallen by the wayside. (my latin, too, is a sad travesty of what it once was. I live with the hope that some kind soul will take pity on me and fix said linguistic inadequacies, i admit. (the translation you liked was a suggestion from someone else -- cannot think right now who from, sadly)

Reviewer: hearyoume
Date: 08/19/06 14:07
Chapter: Chapter Nine: The Wounded Air Roared In

I have a confession to make - when I first started reading this fic, I had no idea it was Remus/Sirius. In fact, if I had, I probably wouldn't have read it. Slash doesn't bother me, necessarily, but I've never really enjoyed it.
However, I love everything about this story - even the Remus/Sirius element. Even though I was pretty surprised when I found out this was a slash fic (how I missed it, I don't know, lol) this story was too good to stop reading, so I decided to give it a shot. And this chapter finally had a tiny bit of romance, but I really liked it!
Anyway, I think I've left enough of these for you to know that I love your writing style and characterization. Can't wait for Chapter 10 (:

Author's Response: Glad to know that didn't put you off!! (and am slightly gloating). ch ten is on the way, and as always, thanks so much!

Reviewer: hearyoume
Date: 08/13/06 8:14
Chapter: Chapter Eight: Whose Part Was to be Gladness

Agh. I love it. As usual :D

Author's Response: Thank you so very much!

Reviewer: MaraudersWolf
Date: 08/10/06 19:06
Chapter: Chapter Eight: Whose Part Was to be Gladness

Excellent work! I've just picked up this story at this point, but I went back to the beginning and enjoyed every chapter! AU is a category that I'm very picky on, but yours is the only one that has not only caught my interest, but has kept it with every chapter I read.

The schoolteacher in me is a tough critic in terms of grammar, mechanics, etc., but your writing has impressed me! Your style is easy to follow and is utterly and totally believeable. Although I'm a Remus fan at heart, Sirius isn't too far behind and your characterizations of them, as well as all of the other characters are awesome!

Please continue writing! I look forward to each update and seeing the story completed!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm terribly flattered, just so you know. Bad characterisation and bad grammar are my two biggest pet peeves, so it's good to know that I'm doing it right!

Reviewer: Crazy Inferi
Date: 08/09/06 2:17
Chapter: Chapter Eight: Whose Part Was to be Gladness

...wow...awesome...ilovit...

Author's Response: thank you!!!

Reviewer: superzoyotte
Date: 08/07/06 12:37
Chapter: Chapter Three: Auguries of Innocence

Very good job really!!
Just a small rub though : "the dark lord" can't really be translated into "le seigneur foncé", it would be better to write "le seigneur des ténèbres". I'm only telling you that because i'm french, and it's rather choking for someone who read HP in french too ;) . Some french sentences are awkward too, but that's a very good job all the same, congratulations !!

Author's Response: Thank you much. It's been nearly six years since I saw the inside of a French classroom, and my fluency has gone the way of the dinosaur. (goes to fix)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES