Reviews For Beneath The Shell
Reviewer: bellatrix-black-lestrange
Date: 09/10/09 15:15
Chapter: Chapter 1

this is wonderful i love the fact that it is just the too of them no one watching

Author's Response: Thanks so much. This is one of my personal favs.

Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 02/12/08 17:13
Chapter: Chapter 1

I really like this fic, although it does make me feel a little sad. If Bella had a little kindness how is it that she ended up as she did? Also, the message illustrated by the shell, when she said that the bad stuff could be washed away, did she mean that people could change, or that those of impure blood could be removed to leave only purebloods? I'd like to think it was the former, but what we know of Bella from JKR seems to imply the latter. Either way, a very interesting fic, alot to ponder.

Author's Response: It was the former. :D I guess you could say my Bella isn't overly canon compliant, but I love her anyway. I'm glad you enjoyed the story. Thanks so much for the review.

Reviewer: DracosBaby_232
Date: 09/30/07 7:51
Chapter: Chapter 1

Well that was depressing. A good story about apearences and the way people act but depressing. Got any more like this? (Yes I know, I'm confusing)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. I think most of my stories could be considered depressing, but I don't have anything really like this one.

Reviewer: Lily Roxy
Date: 08/30/07 22:49
Chapter: Chapter 1

WHY have I not reviewed this fic yet?! Anyways, to business.

Well, I'm not going to quote those three excellent paragraphs at the beginning describing Tonks, but they're excellent. They're just as I pictured Tonks when she was a kid. You definitely brought out the youthful carefreeness, innocence and curiosity that's in every child while still bringing out Tonks' bratty yet adorable uniqueness.

Here you show Tonks as a normal
They expected that she would go into Ravenclaw House, when it was time for her to start at Hogwarts.
It was actually really surprised when Jo said that Tonks was in Hufflepuff, I always thought she'd be in Ravenclaw or Gryffindor at Hogwarts. Ah well, Jo's the boss.

Unfortunately, she was not simply admiring the flowers. She was stomping them to death.
*giggles*. Tonks is so cute and realistic. Some writers out there get all their pre-hogwarts characters to litterally do accidental magic every five seconds or even some directed magic as though it were normal. The magic is so minimal in here and though this is HP fanfiction, I like it. It's different.

Nymphadora looked so devastated that her mother knew something had to be done.
Aww! Just like how any kid like Tonks would react... that heartbreaking expression...

“You’re very pretty,” the small girl said.
I passed over the reviews while searching for my own non-existent one. Somebody said that Tonks was acting too mature for her age. I disagree. I was volunteering at a daycare a couple weeks ago and I think Tonks would've fit in perfectly with our four-to-six year old group.

Nor does superficial ugliness always represent something thoroughly bad.
Hmm, Bella is using far too big words to expect Tonks to understand. Hopefully Tonks will remember this encounter when she's old enough to understand what her aunt is saying.

Nymphadora spent the rest of the day asking her mother about the woman. But she received no answers. Her mother refused to discuss it at all.
She's the Aunt Petunia of the Black family, it seems. It makes sense though. If Tonks can't understand Bella's message, she can't even begin to comprehend Bella's history.

Reading this again feels nice, to forget the grim events between the three of them during DH.

This is possibly your deepest fic, Elle. It's been months since I've read this for the first time and it still pops into my head occasionally when I'm not even thinking of anything to do with fanfiction. I remember being impressed with this when I first read it, my feelings for one of your earliest fics haven't changed one bit:).

Author's Response: *hugs* This is a personal favorite and I really appreciate your wonderful review! *hugs again*

Reviewer: tatjanablack
Date: 07/13/07 15:19
Chapter: Chapter 1

I loved Bella's speech I don't think she is OC, I can truly imagnie her be in that way, because I believe, like you do, that Bella has a heart.

Really enjoyed reading it.

Author's Response: *huggles*

I love to hear that other people can see Bella as a human being. Thanks so much for the review and I'm glad you enjoyed the story.

Reviewer: Hermione_Rocks
Date: 05/09/07 19:24
Chapter: Chapter 1

Aw, Elle! That was sweet. I'm actually starting to soften towards Bellatrix, especially after that. :) The relationship between Tonks and Bellatrix was really interesting. How sad that that is probably as close as they will ever get. Great job!!

Author's Response: *huggles Anna* Thanks for the review. I love writing about Tonks and Bella. Their relationship is just so unique. I actually considered writing a sequal to this where they meet up during to war, but who knows if that will ever get done.

Anyway, thanks so much for the review and I'm glad you enjoyed it. I'm really happy to hear that you're softening towards Bella. *huggles Bella*

Reviewer: The Weasley Triplet
Date: 05/09/07 9:12
Chapter: Chapter 1

Elle! beautiful! I suspected Tonks would meet Bella as soon as I read the summary. do you think Bella would have treated her differently if she'd known who Tonks was?

as always with your stories, Tonks' interactions with Bella are unique and very interesting. they are one of the many beauties of your writing. good job.

~Will~

Author's Response: *smiles* *huggles Bella* This was my very first story with Bella and Tonks. It is also one of my all-time favorites.

Thanks so much for leaving a review and for recing this in the Slytherin Review Circle. *refrains from huggling Will*

Reviewer: lucozade
Date: 04/02/07 5:44
Chapter: Chapter 1

I love this story! It's really well put together. 10/10! What happened to Bella before her encounter with young Tonks? If it's in another story, which one is it?

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I'm glad you liked the story. What happned to Bella prior to seeing Tonks is cloaked in mystery. Something traumatic happened to her, but details aren't relevent for this story. Sorries. But thanks so much for the review.

Reviewer: GoldenTigress
Date: 01/02/07 11:05
Chapter: Chapter 1

I must say that I love the way you portray Andromeda. She makes me think of my own mother when I was Nymphadora's age. And Bella's speech was amazing. In your response to another reveiw, you mention that "this takes place shortly after a traumatic event in Bella's life," and I think that just really makes it even more touching.

Author's Response: I'm glad that you liked it. Somehow, writing this one just came naturally. I hardly had to think about it at all, except when I was trying to get the commas in the right place.

About Bella's traumatic event, I was actually disappointed that I couldn't get it to fit in the story, but as it was in Tonks POV there was no way to include it.

Anyway, thanks so much for the review and I'm glad that you enjoyed the story.

Reviewer: tc015
Date: 12/31/06 11:56
Chapter: Chapter 1

I absolutely loved it. I loved how you had Bella reach out her niece like that. I love how potrayed Bella. I don't think that Bella is completely heartless and you seem to get this idea through.

Author's Response: Thank you. I love this story, as well. It's one of my personal favorites.

And of course, I do not believe that Bella is heartless either. I love her. She is my favorite character and defending her seems to be taking up a fair amount of my time these days.

Thanks so much for the review. I'm glad you liked the story and I'm happy to hear that you don't think Bella is a heartless monster.

Reviewer: Skewper
Date: 12/29/06 20:20
Chapter: Chapter 1

i understand about how you feel about bella tho i still hate her after what she did to sirius...*sniffles*... bella is a great character and in your story she said something about how not all things are pretty in the inside and wash the bad away. If only Bella could've done that to herself...

Author's Response: There's a lot about Bella that we don't know and I'm just going to leave it at that. ;)

Thanks for the review, though. :D

Reviewer: Masked One
Date: 12/22/06 20:19
Chapter: Chapter 1

She was still thinking about the mysterious Bella, whom she had meant earlier in the day. The nitpick police are at it again! I think ‘meant’ should be ‘met.’ And that was all I noticed.

It’s interesting that Bella would be so nice to a random child - one she probably assumes to be muggle. But then, she was really only polite, and much of what she said was simply stuff on her own mind - so in a way she disregarded Tonks while being nice to her - gave a minimum of her attention. It’s also interesting, but logical, that she’d smile genuinely at a random child, but probably not at most adults she knows. After all, who would she offer a genuine smile to?

I like the Bella/Andromeda interaction, and the way Bella shows her generosity again by complimenting Tonks - and the way that Andromeda is more worried about rushing her child home. It must be difficult for her as well, being convinced that her sister would harm her daughter - and she does seem to think that. I love Tonks as a child as well.

And just to make an inside-out review, I just thought of something. Any inquisitive four-year-old I know would have asked almost immediately what something she didn’t understand meant - at the very least, the words. I would have expected that reaction, and it would have been interesting to see Bellatrix’s reaction to being pushed a bit.

Author's Response: Bah! Another of my usual mistakes. I have no idea why I do that but I find myself correcting that word very frequently. Thanks for the tip. :D

Hmmm...well, to Bella, Tonks was and wasn't a random child. Her feelings were similar to Tonks'. She felt drawn to the strange, spunky child and she wasn't sure why. I didn't think of her as dissmissive of Tonks. She wanted to offer the small child that she was drawn to advice, but it was not an easy thing for her to do. She would have been away from children since her sisters were small and (this isn't stated anywhere in the story) this takes place shortly after a traumatic event in Bella's life. She is trying to re-evaluate her own life, while giving advice to this child. Her mind is not well focused in this moment and she doesn't realize that her comments only confuse her. I hope I'm not confusing you. :D

Again, with Bella and Andromeda, Bella is in a strange place. A part of her wants to reach out to the sister that she has lost and another part of her is afraid of the consequences that could be brought down on both of them. Andromeda is more confused than scared, but yes she is a bit scared. She doesn't know why Bella is being civil to her or her daughter. Bella has not been the sister that she grew up with for a very long time. She wants to reach out to her, but she no longer knows if she can trust her sister. She isn't willing to risk her daughter's life on that.

The idea of Tonks questioning Bella is interesting. I hadn't thought of it, but you're right. It does seem like something she would have done. I'm not sure where the story would have went if she had though. I wanted to build a slight bond between aunt and niece, while allowing Bella to vent her feelings. We all know that Bella has a temper. She wouldn't hurt Tonks, but I think it would have damaged the story if she had become irritated with her. Although, it is something interesting to think about.

Thanks so much for the review. I've really grown to enjoy reading your reviews. :D

Reviewer: VeniaTaint
Date: 12/21/06 10:15
Chapter: Chapter 1

That was absolutly gorgeous, you really captured young Nymphadora and drew her up to her fullest and most vivid. Andy was also well done, though slightly muffled and forgoten towards the end. As for Bellatrix, you obviously have a natrual flow and connection with this character, it takes skill beyond any form of recognition to translate your own thougts, lifes-lessons and feelings through paper and ink, let alone in the form of a character not originally yours...you did a beautiful job, and I comend you for leaving a question at the end of your piece, while still maintaining a clean cut finish. *curtsies* you've reached new hieghts with this piece...keep it up!
~The Tainted One

Author's Response: :D This was one of my first stories for the site. It was also the story that caused me to fall in love Bella. This is when I first really connected with the character, and as you can see from my author's page and Bella rants on the fourms it was a very strong connection.

Thanks so much for the review. :D

Reviewer: NikkiSue
Date: 12/10/06 22:54
Chapter: Chapter 1

That was a very sweet story, though I am not sure if that is what you want to hear from a reviewer! You have a gift for bringing out the many different sides of a complex character who most people know very little about. And I think you're theory about how she is not *all* bad rings true, especially before her time in Azkaban.

Author's Response: *Smiles* I agree that this story had a certain sweetness to it. It was one of my first and still remains one of my favorites. It was the story that made me fall in love with Bella. :D

Thanks so much for all your compliments and I'm glad that you agree Bella couldn't be all bad. Thanks again, for the review, Nicole.

Reviewer: Just Beyond the Veil
Date: 11/24/06 11:24
Chapter: Chapter 1

I really like this story! Little Tonks is so cute! I don't think Bellatrix was OOC at all. I agree that she was nicer before she went to Azkaban, and would have been kind to Tonks. I like that she taught her the little lesson about how not everything is what it seems on the outside. I think she realized that she wasn't a good person and was protecting Tonks. Great job!

The Order of the Ravenclaw House Elves

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review. I'm glad that you don't think Bellatrix is OOC. I was worried that people would complain about that. Anyway, yes, the idea kinda was that she thought she was bad, but remember she also told her that people could change, when she washed the shell. :D Thanks so much for the review.

Reviewer: Ithinkrabis2people
Date: 11/21/06 9:11
Chapter: Chapter 1

Ooh, this is wonderful!

I loved their interactions - Andromeda and Nymphadora, and Bellatrix with both of them. It was nice to see the more human side of Bellatrix, because she's so fanatical in the books. I agree with you said about her being different before Azkaban. It makes you wonder how she would've been if she hadn't gone...

As for that little speech about the shell, I thought it was a lovely message. This line here - “It is also important to remember that we can usually wash the bad stuff away.” - struck me as the type of thing Nymphadora would tell Remus, for some reason. I think it'd be nice if you could trace it back to something like this...

Author's Response: Awww...thanks so much. I am particularly proud of this little story.

This is actually the story that got me so attached to Bella. And one day I do plan to write a bit of a sequal to it. Something where Bellatrix has another run-in with her niece, probably during the war when they should be trying to kill each other.

Anyway, thanks agaiin. :D:D

Reviewer: SimplyCharmed
Date: 11/18/06 9:59
Chapter: Chapter 1

Now that I think about it... Bella couldn't have possibly been evil all her life. Nice one shot! *10*

Author's Response: :D No one is born evil. I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for the review! :D

Reviewer: LovelyxLena
Date: 11/10/06 17:37
Chapter: Chapter 1

That small speech bella gave Tonks was amazing. I knew that she was partly referring to herself hwne she told Tonks. If Tonks had been older at that moment I wonder if she would have the same thoughts I had. This was beautiful, but I highly doubt your fic is evil.

Author's Response: Glad you liked Bella's little speech. But the idea was for Tonks to be too young to really understand. We all know that there was no fuzzy relationship between Tonks and her aunt, but I like to think that there could have been.

Thanks so much for the review!

Reviewer: Schmerg_The_Impaler
Date: 10/05/06 20:03
Chapter: Chapter 1

This is a truly fantastic one-shot. I really admire your writing style and your interest in the Black sisters.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed. This is a personal favorite. And, yes, I am a little obsessed with the Black Sisters. Thanks for the review! :D

Reviewer: ForbiddenLove
Date: 07/08/06 9:50
Chapter: Chapter 1

A/N:Bella probably seems OOC to most people in this fic. That is because I have an intense believe that she cannot be as bad as she seems. This is a private moment for Bella, no one is watching her, and she is free to act however she chooses without repercussions. I also believe that she was probably, at least somewhat, kinder before her years in Azkaban. I could not have agreed more!! I loved the shell metaphor, how it was pretty on the outside but ugly on the inside, and how that could also be washed away. This was as beautiful as your other fic in the Bella Files, but I must say I liked this one more. This is oh so beautiful! You are a very talented writer! God bless!



Author's Response: Thanks so much. I love writing about Bella. And it was weird how the shell metaphor came into existence. I hadn't thought of it prior to starting the story. It just popped into my head around the time Tonks and Andromeda were walking back to their towels. I have no idea where it came from, but I instantly fell in love with the idea. This is my personal favorite of my own fan fic. I'm glad you enjoyed it too, and thanks for reviewing!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES