Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For Worn Away

Name: qing (Signed) · Date: 06/30/16 0:22 · For: Worn Away
jordans for cheap
tiffany and co
oakley sunglasses
nike huarache sale
cheap oakley sunglasses
michael kors outlet
louis vuitton handbags
michael kors uk
tiffany jewelry
discount oakley sunglasses
ray ban sunglasses outlet
tiffany and co outlet
cheap air jordan
michael kors outlet online
http://www.uggoutlet.uk
ray ban sunglasses
Cheap Jordans For Sale
nike huarache
kobe shoes
kobe sneakers
fitflops sale
kobe shoes
adidas nmd runner
cheap basketball shoes
yeezy boost 350
toms outlet store
nfl jerseys
cheap authentic jordans
cheap rolex watches
cheap jordan shoes
nike kobe sneakers
chrome hearts online store
michael kors handbags clearance
tiffany and co outlet
oakley vault
http://www.nikedunks.us.org
cheap oakley sunglasses
cheap real jordans
air jordans,cheap air jordans,air jordan shoes,air jordan 11,air jordan 13,air jordan 6,air jordan 4
ray ban uk,cheap ray ban sunglasses
tiffany and co jewelry
adidas yeezy boost
michael kors outlet store
chrome hearts wholesale
true religion sale
coach outlet online
http://www.chromehearts.com.co
mlb jerseys authentic
fitflops clearance
oakley sunglasses
Cheap NFL Jerseys China
nike huarache sale
michael jordan shoes
yeezy boost 350
jordan retro
yeezy
michael kors handbags
oakley store online
toms outlet store
chrome hearts
cheap jordan shoes
cheap uggs
true religion store
ralph lauren online,cheap ralph lauren
cheap nfl jerseys
adidas nmd for sale
toms outlet store
tiffany online
discount sunglasses
tiffany jewelry
michael kors handbags clearance
christian louboutin shoes
tiffany and co uk
christian louboutin outlet
fitflops sale clearance
air jordan retro
nike huaraches
cheap air jordan
cheap jordans
yeezy sneakers
oakley sunglasses wholesale
air jordan shoes
michael kors factory outlet
air jordan
nike dunks
tiffany and co jewellery
tiffany and co outlet
adidas yeezy uk
tiffany and co outlet
fitflops clearance
michael kors outlet
cheap oakley sunglasses
adidas nmd
michael kors outlet store
oakley sunglasses,oakley outlet sunglasses
http://www.raybanglasses.in.net
christian louboutin shoes
nike huarache
tiffany and co outlet online
cheap true religion jeans
cheap tiffanys
basketball shoes
jordans for cheap
nmd adidas store
nfl jerseys
michael kors outlet
Air Jordan 11
christian louboutin outlet
michael jordan shoes
http://www.oakley-sunglass.in.net
replica christian louboutin
nike huarache
cheap jordans online
michael kors handbags sale
michael kors outlet
http://www.chromehearts.us.com
kobe basketball shoes
adidas nmd
michael kors outlet online
Cheap Jordans For Sale
michael kors handbags
michael kors handbags
michael kors outlet store
nike huarache
jordan shoes on sale
kobe byrant shoes
huarache shoes
kobe byrant shoes
michael kors handbags
http://www.cheapairjordan.us
air jordan retro
michael kors handbags
huarache shoes
nike polo
michael kors outlet online
nike huarache
cheap oakley sunglasses
michael kors handbags,michael kors handbags clearance,michael kors clearance
http://www.oakleystoreonline.us.org
adidas yeezy boost
true religion jeans
yeezy boost 350
christian louboutin outlet
fitflops outlet
yeezy shoes
tiffany and co jewellery
ralph lauren uk
kobe basketball shoes
nike huarache
yeezy shoes
chrome hearts online store
cheap oakleys
fitflops sale
michael kors outlet online
Cheap Jerseys Online
fitflop sandals
michael kors handbags
ray ban sunglasses outlet
cheap oakley sunglasses
cheap air jordans
cheap jerseys from china
tiffany and co uk
mlb jerseys authentic
yeezy boost
fitflops
michael kors factory outlet
jordan retro
tiffany jewellery
cheap oakley sunglasses
http://www.cheapbasketballshoes.us.com
kobe shoes
http://www.outlettiffanyand.co
michael kors outlet handbags
oakley sunglasses
air jordan shoes
tiffany online
cheap oakley sunglasses
ray ban sunglasses
nike zoom kobe
adidas nmd
louboutin shoes
toms outlet
yeezy boost
retro jordans
nfl jerseys
ugg outlet
mlb jerseys authentic
michael kors outlet online
ralph lauren online
ralph lauren polo shirts


Name: Gryffinpuff (Signed) · Date: 07/29/06 8:51 · For: Worn Away
Oh! I forgot to mention that you left me wanting more. I really wanted to get more details from their past, more on Slytherins thoughts. Maybe even a few more moments of their friendship before everything went south. You write the Founders very well! I'll have to see if you have written about them in other fics as well ;)


Name: Gryffinpuff (Signed) · Date: 07/29/06 8:40 · For: Worn Away
I really liked how you slowly built to telling the reader who the narrator was. In the beginning it could have been anyone from Hogwarts (I actually thought of Hagrid upon reading the summary). As the story progressed it became clearer who was speaking, and the spacing out of this information was wonderful. I was a bit confused during the him, her part, though I can't think of any way of doing it better.

I think the best part of this one-shot is your portrayal of Slytherin. Most people make him out to be this evil, heartless person (kind of hard not to after learning about the Chamber of Secrets...), but you painted him in a very different light. You could see why he and Gryffindor might have been friends, so excellent job there! Also, the detail to imagery you used in the flashback where Slytherin first meets Gryffindor was beautiful =D Fantastic job!


Name: pandafan81 (Signed) · Date: 06/15/06 0:48 · For: Worn Away
Ha ha ha! I should go over to LJ and cut and paste my review from over there in here. This really was a magnificently written work my dear. You are now on my "favorite autors" list and I'm going to start working through you other fics.

I decided that this should actually look like a real review, so here's what I said about it on your LJ for those who didn't read it there:

This one was fabulous by the way! Although I was slightly confused in the flashback about naming the school. Was Godric the one who named it? The one putting charms on the pigs? or was that Salazar? Throw a book at me if I'm being dense. I'm probably missing an important detail. But really, I loved how you kept the identities secret until the end. And the emotions were really good!


Name: Periwinkle (Signed) · Date: 06/14/06 16:45 · For: Worn Away
What a lovely story you have there, Liz! =)

The way you start describing the country is quite effective in easing the reader in a complicated story. For your story is quite complex, and that makes it interesting and different than other fics. I like how you alternate from past to future and back again. It's a great way to let the reader see the story from both sides, and make their own opinions and judgements. Doing it this way also foreshadowed the end. We knew in the second before last section that the main character is one of the Four Founders, but we never would have expected that it be Salazar.

He's an often overlooked character. Not many people write him, because he's so distant to us, so strange and surreal. We don't know how to get on with writing someone like him. He was a Slytherin, we know that. And he had some blood racism going on too. But apart frrom that, there's not much that aids us in writing him. You've approached him splendidly, and have gone far and beyond in capturing his feelings and views.

You also have an advantage in using strong words that convey those feelings. You have a nice play on words going on, and you say what you want in a short amount of space. You control the story; you don't let it control you.

Many authors fall into their story, and they want to make things work out so much, that they'll try anything to perfect it. Eventually, their story disintegrates, and they lose it. You, however, have control over your story, and you don't let it restrict your writing.

I can see that you've spent quite a while on your story, because that seeps through it and we readers can tell. You must have done either a lot of planning to have it flow through, or it came naturally.

The close of this beautiful one shot is final, satisfying and truly inspiring.

Fantastic job, dear.


Name: Ennalee (Signed) · Date: 06/14/06 0:24 · For: Worn Away
One of the hardest parts of writing is one-shots is the technique of leaving the story ambiguous, and yet keeping the reader’s interest, even without providing a specific character. You do a very good job of this; though I spent most of the first half trying to figure out who you were writing about, the ambiguity never caused me to lose interest. You also managed to transition successfully between time periods without totally confusing me. I am easily confused by time changes, so this was very well done.

You use a couple of interesting techniques in here – the ambiguity and time changes, of course, but also the way you refer to the characters by their hair color; this was a very clever way of allowing us to differentiate between them without ever having to mention their names. My one problem was that we are never actually told who has what hair color, either in canon or in your one shot. Unless I’m forgetting some obscure canon reference (which, of course, is quite possible), I think it tends to be a fanon thing, in which people automatically assume that Hufflepuff is blond, Ravenclaw is dark, and Gryffindor is red-headed. Adding a further association between their hair color and their best known trait (for example, referring to Hufflepuff as gentle, or sweet) might help the reader be sure of whom you are talking.

A few nitpicks, before I get to the more important stuff. Be careful about your ellipses (…). Ellipses can be a very strong tool when used sparingly, but when overdone they tend to distract the reader. Use them in moderation, and they will be more effective. “He remembered her tears as she begged him not to go, but he was adamant--he had seen the look in his eyes and knew that if he stayed, he would die. Before him, before her, came himself.” I found this part rather confusing – too many pronouns. I know you’re avoiding the use of proper names, and you do it very well for the majority of the story. In this part, however, I found myself getting lost in the ambiguity – I had to work very hard to figure out who you were talking about. You should try to make the act of reading as effortless as possible for the reader – you want them paying attention to what you’re saying, not trying to poke your words apart. You might try clarifying the pronouns, not necessarily with proper names, but with other characteristics. If by “her” you mean Ravenclaw, refer to her as “his lover” or something. (At least, I think you had set up Ravenclaw and Slytherin as lovers, though I wasn’t really sure.) Or if by “his eyes” you mean Gryffindor’s eyes, say “his friend’s eyes” – otherwise we think you’re referring to Slytherin.

Overall, I think this is well written story, and you have a lot of potential. I love the overall theme – I’m a great fan of the friendship between Gryffindor and Slytherin, and you portray it very well. I’d like to see a bit more of the reasons for which Slytherin left, but you do a great job of showing that no matter who made the mistakes, they were still friends, and they still cared for each other. The scene about the naming of Hogwarts was humorous and poignant at the same time – you gave an amusing depiction, and yet at the same time you showed an essential bit of characterization and the dynamic between the four friends. The ending was lovely as well – I love the way that you suddenly pull back from the narrative. You’ve been showing us Slytherin’s thoughts through the entire piece, and at the end you distance the narrative from Slytherin, showing us only his actions, which are themselves strong enough to finish the story. It’s a lovely example of showing, and the transition is done perfectly. Good job, and I hope to read more of yours.


Name: Just Beyond the Veil (Signed) · Date: 06/10/06 20:04 · For: Worn Away
I've never read anything like this. It's a great story!
~JBV


Name: mock_turtle (Signed) · Date: 06/06/06 18:59 · For: Worn Away
This is truly profound.

I had to read the beginning several times because I wanted to figure out who the man was before you said so at the end, and I went in the wrong direction for a while. I got there eventually, though ;) ! I really like this piece because it stands alone--you could add to it, but there isn't an overwhelming urge to know more. It does what a short story is supposed to do. So many one-shots are either begging for sequels or are trying so hard to stand on their own that I don't develop interest in the characters. This story has neither of those problems.
Thanks.


Name: Zara Ravenwood (Signed) · Date: 06/06/06 16:50 · For: Worn Away
Sniff.. aww that was encrable.. ive wanted to read somethign like this for a very long time... it was wonderfuly bitter sweet and very resalic- angery dose slow over time..


You must login (register) to review.