Reviewer: Suhaibk93
Date: 11/10/06 20:30
Chapter: Chapter 4: Rathius

I actually feel sorry for Romilda!

Author's Response: Yeah, that is something I toyed with in this story here and there, the whole idea of actually feeling sorry for the villain from time to time. Definitely something we see again in chapter eleven. Thankis for the review.

Reviewer: Silver Whisper
Date: 11/10/06 17:27
Chapter: Chapter 10: Tests

"Author's Response: "Nah, Harry wont be doing anything with that cow! He's just talking to her about her lessons, after all, she is the professor and he is her student. " Hmmm... sounds like denial. Thank you so much, I really appreciate the comments about Ratbone. For everyone looking forward to Part III, I really hope you liked that because there is a lot more of it to come. Ginny deserving a break? Oh come on! Have you read any of my stories? What the hell is a break?!?!?! Kidding... but not really, I'm not done with her quite yet. Thank you so much."

Oh no, not denial, i mean, we know Harry and Ginny end up together anyway (From your story "Everybody does It")

Even if he is doing something, we know Ginny takes him back at least, although...i must say, its a little out of character if he IS cheating, the Harry in your story LOVES ginny, like, really LOVES her, i mean, for goodness sake, he asked her to marry him in Part 1!! (I know, it was a spur of the moment sort of thing, but you cant deny, Harry's feelings for Ginny are serious)

Hmm...what im writing does not make sense here, i swear i know what i am talking about!

Personally, what i think will happen is Ginny will over react, even though nothing did happen, which will create tension and fighting between her and Harry for a while. However, everyone will learn their lesson and Ginny will realise she needs to trust Harry.

I cant really offer much in the way of improvement, your story was spot on again, and as i said before, if JK was to write a post Hogwarts story about the characters, Epilogues would be it! So, well done again! and please hurry up with the next chapter!


Author's Response: Thank you so much. And wow, you pulled out EDI to verify your theory, well done. Still... I can't tell you how close or far from the mark you are yet considering chapter eleven has yet to be validated, thanks for trhe review..

Reviewer: Tyan Of Gryffindoor
Date: 11/10/06 6:26
Chapter: Chapter 10: Tests

I think you did a very good job with the quidditch match. I really do enjoy reading your story - I've added it to my favorites :) .. As for Harry and Cho, I dare say that I know all too well that Harry would never do anything stupid towards Ginny concerning things like that. Or maybe your story will turn out different? *crossing my fingers that it will not* I was half guessing that she would see them together when she opened the Maurauders Map - however, that doesn't mean it was badly written. It's just a typical thing for romantic fan fics ;). Now, I know you not to be the average fan fic-writer: your stories often have a positive (meaning exiting) twist which always makes them fun to read, and are of course very well written. You describe wonderfully, and can tell us a lot within just a few words, though sometimes things can seem a bit rushed. But, as you probably know, these comments are just viewpoints and thoughts from my side - remember that this is one of my favorite fan fics, and that I simply -love- it! Keep up the good work, I'm looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you very much, and I truly appreciate the criticism. I know I have a tendency to rush from time to time, that is why I wrote chapter ten the way I did, I was specifically forcing myself not to rush. Aside from that I am very much flattered, and yes there is still a twist or two left in store, but as there are only two chapters left, I'm afraid that there are also only a limited number of twists left, until we get to Part III anyway. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: Bane of Severus
Date: 11/09/06 15:13
Chapter: Chapter 10: Tests

Great job with the quidditch scene and the tourettes syndrom rathius scene. One comment though: I think Ginny would be wrong in telling the beaters to send every bludger they got after the keeper, because it is illegal to attack the keeper when the quaffle is not in the area. Quite an excellent job though. The end came all too soon for me, so uh...hustle will ya?

Author's Response: Now where did you find this illegal. I wiki'd quidditch rules, checked the lexicon, etc. I don't have quidditch through the ages, but from what wiki said of qta, it's more a history/anecdotal book than a rule book. Anyway, even after writing the scene and trying to research that specific bit, I still sent a note to the mod saying I'm not sure if everything I'm doing here is legal but I researched to the best of my ability. Another thing I find interesting is that you point out this rule, but the one I thought was really against the rules was the keeper leaving the hoops to score a goal. Anyway, thank you so much for the review.

Reviewer: dementorkis
Date: 11/08/06 23:38
Chapter: Chapter 10: Tests

Firstly, the quidditch was amazing... i think being able to write those parts alone takes a heck of a lot of talent so yeah.. well done! And what happed with rathius was wow... pretty crazy, but i liked it, how Ginny took control of the situation.... lastly, let's hope Harry isn't doing what i think he's doing in there with Cho. Great Chapter. Update soon!!!!!

Author's Response: The quidditch... I had a lot of fun writing it. Thematically, originally this chapter was all about watching Ginny cope with hardships, and so the first and simplest task was supposed to be just getting her mind clear enough to play quidditch. I liked writing the sequence where she takes a time out and does exactly that, and then from there it was just visualizing how the rest of the game was going to go. I wanted to see her do things and try things that were unique. To quote a favorite movie, "It's the end of the season, can't hold anything back!" Waterboy. er right, my story, okay, yeah, so you know, boom Kurt taking the quaffle, and no one has mentioned him much yet, but I just love Paul Carlson, mainly because though he's a small part in this story, I know him pretty well in my head, and he's a cool kid, quiet and just eager to prove himself. So I loved writing how he got the snitch. Really, just the way he flew can tell you something about his personality. I'm very glad you enjoyed the Rathius scene, that too was fun to write, but a little more difficult than I thought (just coming up with the Gytrash alone was a pain in the butt, and required a good forty five minutes sifting through the hp lexicon) As for Harry and Cho... that would be telling. Thanks, and I hope to have chapter eleven done soon!!!

Reviewer: Aikio
Date: 11/08/06 21:34
Chapter: Chapter 10: Tests

I have to say that the ending of this chapter was just plain evil... The least you can do is to update it as soon as humanly possible... I can't wait to read Ginnys reaction to this, but I must say that you do have the ability to get people to continue to read the story.

On the other side, Your writing is brilliant, and I am impressed by your imagination, and Rathius must be even better than dumbledore (thought I don't want to say that out loud), but then again he don't know how to love someone... I do hope that you continue this story past the end of the eight year, because if you don't then this story would end quite soon, now that the NEWTs are just around the corner...

Again Great work.

---Aikio---

Author's Response: Thank you so much Aikio. Just think, the original cliff hanger for this chapter was about twice as evil (and you would have had to read about two thousand more pages to get there). Updating soon, sorry, I got to write the next chapter, and I'm not rushing it. I went back to basics with this chapter, and I slowed myself down a bit, and took my time, and I liked it, so I'm doing that wilth the last two chapters of this story. And thank you, I think I learned early on in this story that cliffies keep them coming back. I think a part of that stems from the fact that I didn't think this story was going to be nearly as good as Everybody Does It, or Part I, but I still wanted people coming back for more, so I did what I could to just keep writing in those cliffhangers, you know? I guess it's working as I just shot by the two hundred reviews mark a while ago. Rathius better than Dumbledore? Well for one, writing something like that is not something that I'm apt to do. I don't believe in that really. Dumbledore's status and abilities and everything are, I think, quite symbolic, and integral to canon, and to just out of nowhere create a character better more powerful than him, I think, would just be selfish and poor writing, and doing a severe disservice to Miss Rowling. That being said, Rathius and Dumbledore do have a backstory, and it's something I think I may write. Rath is turning out to be such a popular character, I may just write a little side story about him and his brothers, and perhaps even his relationship with Albus. I think it would be fun. I am continuing this story arc beyond this story though. This story, The Eighth Year, this one only has two more chapters left, which means that if I'm diligent, the conclusion should be to you guys just in time for December. Then I've got a few things I want to do, and by around mid to late December, I intend to start work on Part III: The Nightshades, and it's going to have a lot less angst, and a lot more taken from the final exam of this chapter. So, thank you so much, and can't wait to see ya again for chapter eleven.

Reviewer: KneazleWeazl
Date: 11/08/06 21:28
Chapter: Chapter 10: Tests

You know someday I'm going to make cliffies illegal and then you'll be sorry FOR ALL THE ANXIETY YOU'RE CAUSING ME!!! Right now I'm angry that this story didn't win in those awards on the homepage but I think one of yours did, right? Everybody does it? I think. Well anywho, right now I'm trying to come up with some award name for this story. But for now it's just the oh so prestigious, very hard to get, in fact nearly impossible to get, Kneazle Seal of Approval. Or something else including the fact that this story is so good that I'm typing really fast so I'll have time to run from the men in white coats who are further looking to bruise my bum with sedative injections. LOL. love the story, and i'd say love you but now i just feel uncomfortable saying that. Remember you've got the Kneazle Seal Of Approval, AKA the hardest award to get. ;P

Author's Response: Hey Charlotte! Come on, don't make cliffies illegal, please? I don't think this story would be half as good if it didn't have the cliffies. Your anger on my behalf is an honor, and yes EDI was made runner up for best Dark/Angsty fic, something I'm incredibly proud of, and honored by. Ooh, quick cheap plug for anyone reading this!!!! If you haven't read my story Everybody Does It, go read it now! It won an award, and has a cool banner as a result!. The Kneazle Seal of Approval is an equally prestigious award though, and if you make me a banner, I'll post it in the summary! And, don't let the men in the white coats get you, you're much more fun without the sedatives. hehehe... yeah, imagine how uncomfortable I am... ahem... just turning twenty nine and all, and then there's the other Charlotte. Now, if it were a platonic love, that would be cool! OKay, thank you kindly, and I'll see ya for chapter eleven!

Reviewer: 365 letters_ryan gosling 20
Date: 11/08/06 20:09
Chapter: Chapter 10: Tests

Omigoodness, I'm going to cry...Please, please update!!!!!!!!!!!!

Author's Response: Cry? Really? I had to edit out the crying scene of this chapter... OKay, I'll update... er... as soon as I have it written... and through the beta... and back through me... and through the queue... Thank you so much.

Reviewer: potterwidow
Date: 11/08/06 20:05
Chapter: Chapter 10: Tests

Dun, dun, dun, DUN! Ooooooooooooh a little jealousy going on! Fantastic fighting scene. Bloody brilliant!

Author's Response: *takes a bow* Little? hmmm... seems not quite the word I would use... MWUHAHAHAHAH!!!! And thank you so much about the fight scene, I was really worried about it, and how well it would go over. Thank you so much.

Reviewer: Silver Whisper
Date: 11/08/06 18:33
Chapter: Chapter 10: Tests

Nah, Harry wont be doing anything with that cow! He's just talking to her about her lessons, after all, she is the professor and he is her student.

Hmm, good chapter Grimmrook! The thing with Ratbone was awesome, although, i think Ginny deserves abit of a break now, dont you think?

Author's Response: "Nah, Harry wont be doing anything with that cow! He's just talking to her about her lessons, after all, she is the professor and he is her student. " Hmmm... sounds like denial. Thank you so much, I really appreciate the comments about Ratbone. For everyone looking forward to Part III, I really hope you liked that because there is a lot more of it to come. Ginny deserving a break? Oh come on! Have you read any of my stories? What the hell is a break?!?!?! Kidding... but not really, I'm not done with her quite yet. Thank you so much.

Reviewer: magical_hannah
Date: 11/08/06 17:55
Chapter: Chapter 10: Tests

now i know you arent gunna make harry look like a cheater, i refuse to believe it! awww such a cliffie... PLEASE UPDATE SOON.


Author's Response: I'll update as soon as possible... (he says knowing he hasn't even started writing the next chapter) Man,when Charlotte emailed me to say I had better get off my ass and start writing, I had no idea how serious she was. Thank you so much, and I'll see you for the next chapter.

Reviewer: GarnetGirl
Date: 11/08/06 17:48
Chapter: Chapter 10: Tests

ooooh...cliffy!

Author's Response: Ayuh, that's what I do. It's my thang, really.

Reviewer: gunslinger3604
Date: 11/08/06 17:32
Chapter: Chapter 10: Tests

There is no possible way that Harry is cheating on Ginny. It would just contradict the entire story. Harry has come way too far to let some "fling" come back in his life and over-shadow the love of his life. Come on, if Harry can trust Ginny with Colin, Ginny should do the same for him. But I could understand if she got a little mad the first time. Not to mention she's a Weasley.

If anything was going on, it would be Cow's doing. Perhaps a love potion? Who knows? Only You. Great chapter. LOVED the quidditch. Can't get enough of it. The "final exam" was pretty sweet too. Don't want to mess with that guy. I think I speak for everyone in saying, PLEASE, WE NEED MORE!!

Author's Response: I don't know. You know, back in book four and book five, I was pretty hardcore Harry/Cho. I admit it. I wanted to kick Harry in the nuts and burn book five after he botched things with Cho... You never know, this may just be me setting things right... hehehe... oh man, Well, I just hope at this point you lot aren't disappointed with what REALLY ends up happening, you know? Quidditch is fun to write. I can see how JK got tired of writing it, it does put you in a kind of box where only so much can happen, and yet, I found it refreshing to write, although, my beta and my friend Anna refuse to let me use the word "screamed" to describe a player moving up and down the pitch, and that makes me grumpy. But other than that, it's fun. As for Rath... Well, somewhere in my head there is a chapter waaaaaaaaaaay down the line in a story that is very very very far from being written where you actually do get to see what he can do... pity that won't come for a long time. Thank you so much for the review, I appreciate it.

Reviewer: mrsdan
Date: 11/08/06 17:29
Chapter: Chapter 10: Tests

Holy Shit!!! hell jo!!! Cho better not be doing anything dirty to harry!!

Author's Response: Heheheheh dirty harry... never mind. Wow, two holy shits in reviews, that in and of itself is pretty awesome! Note, see the response I left below for what may happen. Thank you kindly mrsdan, hope to see you soon for chapter eleven.

Reviewer: harry_kissed_ginny
Date: 11/08/06 17:21
Chapter: Chapter 10: Tests

OH MY GAWD!! OH MY GAWD!!! OH MY GAWD!!!! OH MY GAWD!!!! wow, i love it, but im sure they are not doing anything, except, cho possibly trying to seduce harry

Author's Response: Possibly. Okay, after all the reviews about Cho and Harry, I will reveal this one bit of information. Whatever Cho and Harry are doing in that room, I think she's going to end up walking in on it... but shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh don't tell anyone, okay? It's a secret.

Reviewer: mrskimberleyweasley
Date: 11/08/06 17:10
Chapter: Chapter 10: Tests

what? is that it??? i have waited what feels like a very long time for this chapter and you leave me with that?!!!
i swear if you weren't such a good writer, and i wasn't so hooked on your stories i would hate you right now!
tell me harry isn't doing what i think he's doing... cho's evil. i hate her.

dude you might actually be a living legend; no one normal writes this well.
love it and want more!

Author's Response: "dude you might actually be a living legend; no one normal writes this well. love it and want more!" OKay, that's some damn awesome praise, thank you ever so much. As for the long waits, it can't be helped, as my beta will freely tell anyone, I'm very critical of my own work, so after she's chewed it up and spit it back out at me, I'll sit there and obsess over it for another day or two... So... where was I? Oh, yeah, I'm definitely getting the feeling that ending chapters on cliffhangers is a good way to keep people reading, so I think I'm going to keep it up as much as possible. Thank you so much for the awesome review.

Reviewer: xo___jen
Date: 11/08/06 17:08
Chapter: Chapter 10: Tests

duh duh duh!!!...bitch!!i hope ginny gives cho the fight of her life!! ahh cho's a big poopoo head!!lol...love the story love!! oh and please post soon

Author's Response: Thank you so much. You know, I just realized something... Cho's going to end up being one of the major villains of this piece, and in the end, she's only going to have a few lines of dialogue, I think... How weird is that??? Do Ginny and Cho fight? Or do I have something even more evil devised? I dunno... we'll just have to wait and see won't we? And I'm very sorry, but you may be waiting as long as two weeks... As I'm going to say in nearly all my reviews, the first scene in chapter eleven was going to be the original ending to chapter ten, but now that I had to cut chapter ten, I'm going to rewrite that scene and make some changes, so it's going to be a little longer. Terribly sorry. Thank you kindly.

Reviewer: Ginzig
Date: 11/08/06 16:57
Chapter: Chapter 10: Tests

I can understand why Ginny is jumping to conclusions, but she needs to give Harry a chance to explain. I don't think he's cheating on her, he does love Ginny. But after the terrible day she's had, when she needs him the most, to find that he's with Cho has to be heartbreaking for her. Even if he's not doing anything wrong, it's cut her deeply. Rathius is one scary man. Poor Ginny. I've always felt Ginny was very strong, but after everything that's happened to her, I don't know how much more she can take, especially if Harry's visit with Cho is not innocent. Please update quickly, what a terrible cliffie to leave us with! REALLY great job!

Author's Response: Welllllll We'll just have to see how this pans out, yeah? You know, I got to thank you specifically because I think it was early reviews from you and the comments you made about the maturity level of Harry in particular, and it gave me something to think about. The general story line has remained the same, but I think it really helped me etch out the details here and there. In all truth though, I can't say much beyond that because I think just about the entirety of the next chapter is going to be dealing with the repurcussions here. If our beloved trainee witches and wizards keep their heads about them, they may just make it out of this with heads and hearts in tact... But then again... this is me we're talking about here too.

Reviewer: books 4 ever
Date: 11/08/06 16:53
Chapter: Chapter 10: Tests

OH my god, oh my god! please please please don't tell me that Harry is cheating on Ginny with Cho. I don't think he could ever do that! Maybe she's trying to get to him or something, because she jelouse or something
I cant wait for the next chapter! I hope you update ASAP!
I am silently hoping that nothing is going on with cho and harry! oh god please update soon! the suspence is KILLING ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
:)

Author's Response: HAHAHAH! Man, I wish you had talked about something else in this chapter because I just can't say much about what's going on with Harry and Cho other than... YOU'LL JUST HAVE TO WAIT AND SEE!!!! I'm sorry but you may have to wait two weeks for it though, I haven't started chapter eleven yet. I got some rethinking to do before I can really begin. Thanks again!

Reviewer: Hope_543
Date: 11/08/06 16:52
Chapter: Chapter 10: Tests

I can't say I didn't see that coming, somewhat, but there you go, tee hee, dramatically, it needed to be done, so that's not a criticism, at all.

I loved the contrasts in this chapter - it worked almost as a little mini story, from the quidditch to Rathius, to Harry and Cho...

And Rathius

Well, well, well, I think that's a bit more of what we all wanted to see of Rathius, well done, very well done, very exciting, very cool...

and still a perfect mix of JK and Kyle, so yay!

Loved it, as always, loves xxx

Author's Response: Aw, Anna. You know what hun, I miss you. We need to talk sometime soon, seriously. Okay, on to the chapter. Yeah, to be honest, that wasn't the cliffie I originally intended to leave with you folks (I think that cliffie was much more evil, and from the reaction I'm getting now, I probably would have had pitchforks and torches chasing me down). But when I was faced with where to cut the end of the chapter, this just seemed to be the right place you know? Predictable? sure, but I'll take it. The contrasts was definitely something I was going for. The deal with Rathius was to try and give everyone a taste of what Part III is going to be like, but I think I just wanted to hit everyone from as many different angles as I possibly could, and I loved running from the triumphant quidditch scene to the scary battle with Rathius to the final bit which I was hoping put a lump in everyone's stomach. So, thank you kindly hun, miss you terribly, and I'll see ya later.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES