Reviews For Semi Charmed Life
Reviewer: Maeve_Issyra
Date: 07/14/06 8:51
Chapter: The Wild One

Ah, well, that would explain why your fics sound so English to me with that little bit of American glimpsing through. I will never look at them the same way again, lol. And for UK reviewers, you shouldn't be with me, cos I'm Belgian, ironically enough. A pretty obsessed-with-British-English Belgian, though, but still a Belgian. Anyways, one can't want everything. Thanks anyway for solving this mysterious matter for me! (:P)

Author's Response: I have a writer pal on another site who's English and gets asked if she's American because her stories 'sound' it, LOL, so irony abounds. :D

Reviewer: Maeve_Issyra
Date: 07/14/06 6:25
Chapter: The Wild One

Author's Response: You've got a great name! Hmm...Maeve Issyra Brodie...has a ring to it. :D My stories are apples and oranges to me, I can't compare and love them all, but Sirius is a character that tugs at your heart, sigh, so thank you so much for reading!

Actually, it's Maeve Issyra Anthemis, which I find sounds just a little bit better :P no offense given. (I can never remember whether offense is with an s or with a c. Hm.) And Sirius most certainly tugs at my heart! I got to know you via Once in a Blue Moon though, but all of your stories just seem to.. fit, I guess. Oh yeah, makes me wonder... are you English or American? I've been asking myself that for a couple of days and I just can't see it.. Bah. But, anyways, just keep writing and I'll be happy :D

Author's Response: I'm a Yank who uses UK spelling and UK reviewers to keep her characters from sounding that way, lol. I had to go back and edit ch 10, for example, because I thought gobshite could be used impersonally or personally- bs or calling someone a bs'er, lol- then learnt it's just personal, and not affectionate, ie Fudge is a gobshite. Sigh. Oh well, I'm happy to edit, and happier to receive reviews like yours! ^_~

Reviewer: HJaneWeasley
Date: 07/13/06 15:39
Chapter: Down in Flames

This is such a great fic- just the right balance of movement & comedy. I think it's really creative to pair Sirius up with Rosmerta. That's a "rarepair" for sure =). Some favorite lines:
Sirius was intrigued to learn elves blushed.
He even grunted a few pithy phrases in Goblin.
Mr. Harris made a sound like a dry cough. It was laughter.
'I told Fiona to check out your legs' would not have been good for the troop to hear.
She bet he could spit incredible distances.


Author's Response: You had me at "this is such a great fic", lol, but then you quoted fave lines! I heart you. Thanks so much! ^_^

Reviewer: snowy_owl_92
Date: 07/12/06 22:10
Chapter: In the Moonlight

what were they playing> hide-and-seek or something?

Author's Response: Wormtail hid, and the rest of them went to find him, more hide-and-track, lol. :D

Reviewer: some_kinda_superstar
Date: 07/10/06 0:34
Chapter: In the Moonlight

heehee great story so far! i especially loved the bit in chapter 6 when sirius is explaining about his dad being his own grandfather...i was so confused i had to draw a family tree, and it actually all worked! its really funny. update soon!

Author's Response: And Filch is so befuddled he doesn't realise it's only by marriage, not in-breeding, LOL. I'm so glad you liked it. Thanks! =)

Reviewer: Maeve_Issyra
Date: 07/09/06 11:35
Chapter: In the Moonlight

This is a good one. I even daresay it's a great one. Absolutely your best since Once in a Blue Moon. The Sirius/Rosmerta concept is unusual, but I think the most unusual concepts can be the best, if they're worked at properly, and you surely work at it properly. Keep going like this, I will love reading the rest of this story! (And of course, any proceeding stories..)
x
Maeve_Issyra

PS: "Midnight, behind Maeve Brodie's at the edge of the Forbidden Forest."
Though I am getting used to seeing my name appearing in stories, my heart still leaps a little bit. Just thought I'd mention.

Author's Response: You've got a great name! Hmm...Maeve Issyra Brodie...has a ring to it. :D My stories are apples and oranges to me, I can't compare and love them all, but Sirius is a character that tugs at your heart, sigh, so thank you so much for reading!

Reviewer: lily_writes
Date: 07/09/06 8:53
Chapter: Down in Flames

I know this chapter isn't out yet, but I couldn't resist reviewing. The title of the chapter forbodes something is going to go wrong. Is Rosie going to keep Padfoot, and then pine for Sirius when he doesn't turn up again? Then he'd have to sneak away during the day to go to classes and be with his friends. Imagine the look on Rosie's face if she saw her dog playing around with the Marauders and trying to bite Snape... tee hee... sorry, lost in my thoughts. Back when this chapter is validated. ;D

Author's Response: I think it would strain credulity too far to have Padfoot become Rosmerta's dog, although like you, I think it would be amusing. 'Grimmy' does keep popping up in the story, though!

Reviewer: lily_writes
Date: 07/09/06 8:45
Chapter: In the Moonlight

I'm so gald that Rosie has some more people to get to know. I'm just glad Hagrid came in at the right time to spook those drunkards into leaving. (Speaking of the drunks, did you get the idea of calling her Rosie from me, or was that your idea entirely?) I can't wait for chapter 9!!

Author's Response: 'Rosie' was an example of great minds thinking alike, and I could see drunks calling her that, thinking they're paying her some compliment. Hagrid is a prince of a guy, even if he didn't turn out to be the HBP like I'd wanted. :D

Reviewer: lily_writes
Date: 07/09/06 8:29
Chapter: One Step Forward

I would want to run too if I had her for a parent. ;) He got to play with Rosie at least. But that's really sad the way both her and her dad's love lives were so screwed up.

Author's Response: Families do seem to follow patterns. Kind of scary, really. :D

Reviewer: mock_turtle
Date: 07/05/06 16:30
Chapter: In the Moonlight

I'm in love with this story. I had a hard time getting into it at first, but I'm a lot more interested now. Not completely sure why. All I know is that your characters are so totally well-developed that it is always a pleasure to read about them. Seriously, your characters are better than those in some of the books I read (and your plotlines are more interesting too). You are fabulous; keep writing!!

Author's Response: Was it the Sirius and who? Rosmerta?!! reaction? :D I'm glad that regardless of reservations, you gave the story a chance and love it now! Thanks for liking the characters and plots. It means a lot that you're reading- the least I can do is make it interesting!

Reviewer: I lovesmesomeHarry
Date: 07/05/06 15:22
Chapter: In the Moonlight

That was too cute! I love Rosemarta's inner voice, and poor Sirius, he has girls falling at his feet, poor poor boy! Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Thank you! I think other boys call Sirius a jammy so-and-so, lol, but Peter is the only one who envies Jane's "affection"! :P

Reviewer: pheonix_princess
Date: 07/01/06 11:19
Chapter: One Step Forward

update!update!update!update!update!update!update!update!update!update!update!update!update!update1update!update~!alright this is one of the best story ive ever read

Author's Response: Since you asked so nicely....:D Actually, I'm just waiting on a couple of fics to clear the queue, so as soon as possible, I'll update. ^_^

Reviewer: mock_turtle
Date: 07/01/06 0:04
Chapter: One Step Forward

More!!! Gimme more!!!!!

Author's Response: Mods willing, lol. Thanks for wanting more! ^_^

Reviewer: brokenhearted
Date: 06/30/06 19:07
Chapter: One Step Forward

Dang. =( I was hoping she'd see Sirius not Snuffles. *tear* When's the next Hogsmeade visit?

Author's Response: Chapter 9 is Hogsmeade Weekend, when Sirius once again faces Rosmerta across the bar. :D

Reviewer: whittyleah
Date: 06/30/06 14:34
Chapter: We Meet Again

I really like this story! I don't read Manauder era much...I always feel like the character are OOC, but the way you write the boys is just how I would have imagined them talking and joking with each other! Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! You made me a happy writer with your kind comment. Speaking of the boys, I can't wait to see how the actors portray them in the OotP film!

Reviewer: lily_writes
Date: 06/26/06 22:13
Chapter: Reading the Signs

Confusing Filch must've been so fun. His dad's his own grandfather, that's priceless. I can only imagine the look on Filch's face. Rosie's been taking walks down towards Hogwarts hoping my favorite Marauder will be skiving off his lessons. Padfoot's going to trot down to the Three Broomsticks, probably for something more than food, lol. And Lily decided to join this chapter, how nice of her to join in!

Author's Response: Lily is definitely going to become an important part of James' life, but she and Sirius won't be friends until each works out some of the misconceptions they have about each other. Fun for us! :D

Reviewer: brokenhearted
Date: 06/23/06 10:43
Chapter: Reading the Signs

Great! I'm anxiously awaiting the next chapter. I just love Sirius/Rosmerta encounters. I check my email more often now, because I hope you just might have updated. I love seeing "Update to Favorites" as the subject of a letter.

Author's Response: Oh, thanks! I'll try my best to update at least once a week. I hate waiting for updates too! ^_^

Reviewer: whittyleah
Date: 06/23/06 5:54
Chapter: Life's Little Jokes

I loved the prank! Poor Terry... Giggles, slippery pigs. I like how you had the pigs number 1,2,and 4...no 3. But, I have seen that before in a Marauders fic (the number thing). I like how you included Peter in the prank and in their conversations, a lot of the time he is left out. Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you! The prank was listed as "classic schoolboy" on the site I got it from, :D, so I'm sure the other writer found similiar inspiration and enjoyed creating their HP version of it too. It's a shame Peter gets left out in some stories. He had to be close to Sirius or he wouldn't have been made Secret Keeper. I think he had his good points, it's just that his cunning and greedy/cowardly self interest outweighed them. Sigh. Thanks again! ^_^

Reviewer: Stag_Flower
Date: 06/22/06 14:11
Chapter: Reading the Signs

Finally! I want them to meet again. Wow, that whole inbred thing was mightily confusing. Especially, since I own a headache right now.

Author's Response: Thanks! The un-summarized song is much more convoluted, and hilariously farcial since he's his own grandpa by marriage, not blood, lol. Good thing Filch isn't as fast a thinker as Sirius is a talker! :D

Author's Response: Forgot to say, hope your headache gets better! ^_^

Reviewer: mock_turtle
Date: 06/22/06 13:40
Chapter: Bad to Worse

Ms. Artie Fowl...? Do I sense a reference to the greatest theif in modern literature? Where did he get the heart, or perhaps the foolishness, to stay and raise his daughter?
Again, another wonderful chapter. You truly have a gift for writing.

Author's Response: Thank you so very much! You don't have to be psychic to get any of my changed-slightly-to-please-powers-that-be references, ^_~ (I have a Tom Fenton in my R/T fics, heehee). Artie figured it would be foul to leave Fiona in the lurch, lol.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Unexploded Bombs by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Dudley Dursley has just experienced the death of his elderly father Vernon from...
Ginny's Big Decision by dg04 1st-2nd Years
After Dumbledore's Funeral, Harry tells Ginny that they can't be together anymore...
Little Lions by SexY_LydZ 6th-7th Years
On a stormy October evening, a letter, a late night trip to the library and...
FEATURED
Going Against Salazar's Grain by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
"Sometimes," said Dumbledore, "we sort too soon." Originally writtten for...
Whispers in the Night by lucca4 6th-7th Years
"Swear to me, Cissy. Swear you won't tell." It's a secret, and it haunts...
Fear and Loathing in Florida (Mostly Loathing) by minnabird 3rd-5th Years
Scabior and Greyback had to escape the Aurors somehow - they just hadn't expected...
Just Before Healing by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
With Hannah, things always go to yellow.
In Bloom by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
It figures that he ignores the other side of roses. Thorns fit to draw blood...
Magical by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ginny and her brothers sneak down the stairs to look at presents, but instead...
CATEGORIES