Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 02/13/08 14:40
Chapter: Between a Chinese Fireball and an Amaryllis

That was so sad, and it's all her mothers fault, now nobody is happy. I love the customised chess pieces, wonder what mine would be? So now we know why Charlie hasn't a girl, it's because he lost the one he really wanted. Excellent fic!

Reviewer: Heiress_of_Insanity_
Date: 09/10/07 20:48
Chapter: Between a Chinese Fireball and an Amaryllis

Ah, this is such a sad/sweet story! I love CHarlie/OC stories, but this was by far my favorite! 10/10!~

H_o_I_

Author's Response: Thank you so much.

Reviewer: tc015
Date: 07/15/07 14:55
Chapter: Between a Chinese Fireball and an Amaryllis

I loved this. I like Charlie/OC romances, but this was one of my favorites.

I loved the way you introduced Heather. I can picture her walking into the shop, with her fancy clothes and a bodyguard. Then you hear about how she broke Charlie's heart. I loved how her character developed throughout the story. At first, she appeared a bit cocky and stuck-up. In reality, she is very insecure. I felt sorry for her at parts, especially about how her mother controlled every aspect of her life. But at the same time, I don't pity her. She made her own choices; she could have refused her mother. But she didn't.

I loved her interaction with Charlie. It was so sweet. She seemed to act more naturally around Charlie; her true self came out. With Ginny and the twins, she felt very forced excited. It really showed how close her and Charlie were. I loved the chess game metaphor. Charlie made his own decisions, but Heather didn't.

The chess board was really great. I loved how the pieces changed to match the personalities. The flower was perfect for Heather. On the outside, she is very beautiful. On the inside though, she is extremely fragile. The dragons for Charlie were great. They really showed his strength.

The kiss at the end was nice. I think it would be more realistic for Heather to be the one to kiss Charlie. It's something she would do; she really needs Charlie.

Overall, I really liked it. Great job.

~ Teresa


Author's Response: This is such a wonderful review. I haven't received one of this in a while. I'm impressed at how well you got Heather's character. Not a lot of people understand here, but you nailed her. The kiss in the end, she really wanted to kiss her, but she's too much of a coward, and well I imagine Charlie to be very forward especially with these kind of things. He knew he would never see her again so he decided to kiss her instead of saying goodbye. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: Lurid
Date: 04/02/07 2:56
Chapter: Between a Chinese Fireball and an Amaryllis

Aww. That's not fair, Haraldy! Ppsh. Totally not fair AT ALL.

I like Heather. I think you should write more about her life now/beforeish anbd post that, if you're in the mood! Because I'd be really interested to see the writing developing and all the unanswered questions. How I love background!! So yay. I really love the way the title interacts with the story, actually. How said is it that I thought an Amaryllis was a dragon? (cough) but seriously :D. I lubs it! - Stephalicious.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Lurid
Date: 04/02/07 2:54
Chapter: Between a Chinese Fireball and an Amaryllis

Aww. That's not fair, Haraldy! Ppsh. Totally not fair AT ALL.

I like Heather. I think you should write more about her life now/beforeish anbd post that, if you're in the mood! Because I'd be really interested to see the writing developing and all the unanswered questions. How I love background!! So yay. I really love the way the title interacts with the story, actually. How said is it that I thought an Amaryllis was a dragon? (cough) but seriously :D. I lubs it! - Stephalicious.

Author's Response: Honey!!!! There was a moment where I wanted to write about hers and Katherine's life when they were at Hogwarts. It was a good idea now that I think about it. Maybe I should develop it. hmmm, we'll see. Thank you for the reviews!!! Stephalicious rules! *chuckles while thinking of an Amaryllis dragon*

Reviewer: hermione210
Date: 10/28/06 19:27
Chapter: Between a Chinese Fireball and an Amaryllis

Hey Harald!

I absolutely loved this one-shot. The way you presented Heather’s personality made her unbelievably, well, believable. She was happy and excited when she was around Fred, George, and Ginny, authoritative around Birger, and carefree and kind when around Charlie. It is, of course, human nature to act differently in different situations, and I was amazed at how I saw you manipulate that little bit of human nature in your story.

To me, it seems you really climbed into the character’s minds. You had Fred and George react with shock when they couldn’t believe something, but had them quickly get over the shock as they do in the books. You had Ginny holding a grudge against Heather for hurting Charlie, but had Ginny forgive her. You had every bit of their characters down. You didn’t contradict canon, or yourself, in any part of the story. You had them react in ways that I would expect any person to react, so that really made this story more believable for me.

Can’t wait to start reading more of your stories!

~Becca

Author's Response: Hey!! Characterization is my favorite part of writing, co I'm happy it shows and that you think is good! This is the first time I wrote Fred and George, I'm so relieved I didn't make a disaster of them. For me, Ginny is one of the hardest characters to write, seriously. I never get her, but it seems that I did a decent job this time around. Thanks so much for the review!

Reviewer: the_half_blood_princess
Date: 10/05/06 17:55
Chapter: Between a Chinese Fireball and an Amaryllis

*reads*

*lurves*

*shocked*

It just .... ended! NUUUUUUUUUUU!!!!

That was an amazing story. i absolutely love it! I loved the characterization of hte people, especially Ginny. Most people dont get Ginny just right, but you did. Claps for you!

Author's Response: That means a lot to me. For me Ginny is a especially tough character to write so thank you for your compliments.

Reviewer: BeautyInTheBreakdown
Date: 09/13/06 16:03
Chapter: Between a Chinese Fireball and an Amaryllis

Je suis désolé... I didn't mean to offend you... I guess I did just miss the point... By the way, I have read the story over... When I first read it, I printed it out becuase I was in the middle of it when my bus came, and it's been sitting in my school bag (along with various other stories I've printed out to read on the bus) and I whip a story out to read in a boring class... I think I've read this story.... three times? Don't get me wrong, Harald. I loved the story. I guess I just missed the point... *is ashamed* I can see it now that you've explained it...

*Schuffles out...*

Author's Response: Don't worry I wasn't that mad. Is just that sometimes I get a little defemsive with my writing. Specially when i try that it has a mesage and then people don't see it. I'm honored that you read the fic in class. lol

Reviewer: BeautyInTheBreakdown
Date: 09/06/06 17:18
Chapter: Between a Chinese Fireball and an Amaryllis

Well, harald goes away, so what do I do?? Read a story, of course!!! New reviews for Harald!! No, I am NOT using this review as an excuse to get you to read Alone!! Anywho... *sigh* Love your story... yadda yadda yadda... and all that other stuff I feel obligated to say in every reveiw. : D Now for the fun stuff. Okay, So my first thought when I read this story was a very short summary of it... "Fred and Gerorge: OMG! It's Heather! *hugs Heather* Buy our stuff!!! Heather: Will do! Oh! A chess set! Oh! My ex-boyfriend! Wanna play chess?! *Charlie kisses* *end of story*" I was like.... trying to figure out the point of the story. Then I realized it's cool enough not to really have one. C'mon... a story with the twins, Ginny, an OC and Charle... the only thing that couls make it better is an Ariel/Bahir (dreamy man of mystery who lacks a last name) snog fest! And then to make things even better, I read Emily's review and realized that this and HLRiaM are connected. Clever. I like it. It explains both stories better. You have a knack for writing OCs. You make them seem so real. I'm muy jealous. *glares at Harald and his OC writing talents* Oh right... review the story... *ahem* LOVE IT AS USUAL! Writea new one, quick! Before I run out of stories by you to read!!

Author's Response: I'm offended, the story sooo does have a point! It's about the choices you make in life, is about following your heart. Charlie followed his and turned out happy while Heather didn't and was unhappy. You haven't learned your lesson Gabby! You need to read this again! lol, I'm kidding. (about the reading thing, not the rest) Thanks for the review! It was nice to come back and see lovely reviews waiting for me.

Reviewer: little_kitty
Date: 08/11/06 16:15
Chapter: Between a Chinese Fireball and an Amaryllis

Wow! I really this, and I thought it was wonderful! I even recognized Katherine, Heather, and her mother. Aren't they the characters from "Her Life Reflected In a Mirror"? Interesting how things all kind of tie together. :)

I really liked the way you opened your story, how so many people come to WWW to get a little bit of fun stuff from Fred and George. I thought it was nice.

It's neat how you wrote Charlie. And Heather is quite an interesting personality! I found it kind of weird that the two of them kissed at the end. I figured it was kind of like a good-bye thing, but I didn't really expect that.

You're very original. The chessboard was really cool! I also liked that comparison between the chess piece and the player. It made a lot of sense. I think the way you wrote the meeting was very well, with little words of wisdom here and there. It made their time together seem like it was deeper than just a little catch-up conversation.

All in all, I have to say I really enjoyed reading this story. :)

Author's Response: You didn't have to do this, really. But, I'm glad you did anyway!! Lol. Yes! this is Heather from "Her Life reflected in a Mirror" I hope it makes more sense now why she killed herself. She was very unhappy. I'm happy you recognized her! This is my first time writing Fred and Georger, I had a lot of fun with them. It only made sense to me that they kissed at the end, sure it was a bit shocking bcause she was married, but still i wouldn't have done it any other way. I'm glad you liked the chess board! I had to create an object from Fred and George and I had no idea what. Then I remembered that Ron liked to play chess and I said hey, maybe Heathher likes to play chess too. I know it doesn't make sense, but oh well. Thank you for the wonderful review!!

Reviewer: guiding ray of sunlight
Date: 06/27/06 2:25
Chapter: Between a Chinese Fireball and an Amaryllis

OMG! Awsome characterization! Charlie is just like I have been imagining him lately- except for one thing. I don't think he would kiss a married woman, even if he was deeply in love with her.

But aside from that- it's a great story! It's perfect for my mood at the moment, utterly depressed. Keep up the great work.

When is your Humour Fic coming out?

Author's Response: Well, thank you! In canon we see so little of Charlie that we have a lot of room to work with him. Maybe he wouldn't kiss a married woman, who knows, but in my fic he kissed her to say goodbye, it wasn't a passionate stick-your-tongue-in-my-mouth kinda kiss. My humor fic wasn't validated and I never received an email explaining why it wasn't accepted, so now I have to find out what is wrong with it, but thanks for asking. And thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Gryffinpuff
Date: 06/25/06 15:42
Chapter: Between a Chinese Fireball and an Amaryllis

NO!!!!!!!!! Sequel, SEQUEL!!!! Heather and Charlie should find a way to be together! Please?

Author's Response: Sorry, I'm not much of a sequel person, but maybe a prequel ;)

Reviewer: Oppungo
Date: 06/03/06 10:51
Chapter: Between a Chinese Fireball and an Amaryllis

Interesting start in Fred and George's shop, it definitely drew me in. I particularly enjoyed all the description about it, it certainly held my interest! One thing was, "George and Fred were having a slow morning. They’d had only one costumer who hadn’t bought anything." Should that be customer?

I loved all of Fred and George's banter - "That Heather?" for the third time! Ginny was really well done, her hostility to Heather for her loyalty to her brother I thought was especially well in character, whereas Fred and George took the more easy going route, "competing to see which one made Heather laugh the most."

""Katherine has a daughter?” asked Charlie in shock.
“Yes, she does,” said Heather.
“I thought she hated children!”
“She still does!” " That made me laugh!

"The right decision is not always the one that makes the most sense." Wow. That's deep! "Sometimes silence speaks louder than words" I really liked both of those lines, they really made me think.

Also, the whole chess player/piece metaphor was excellent, again, making me think. I wasn't sure I completely understood it, so I had to re-read it (and think!) a couple of times. Is it about how Charlie was in control of his life and decisions, and Heather wasn't?

That ending was so abrupt, so sad! It worked really well. Overall, an excellent story, really touching and thought provoking. Well done!

Author's Response: More Oppungo Reviews!!!!! Yay!!!! "They’d had only one costumer who hadn’t bought anything." Should that be customer?" hmm, good question. technically I don't think so, but oh well. I had a lot of fun writing Fred and George, especially the "That Heather?" discusion. Ginny was easier to write this time around, especially because she had a smaller role on this fic. Yes, the chess metaphor was exactly that. Charlie was in control of his life wether Heather was being controled by her mother like a chess piece. I wanted to write something diferent this time around, something that had a message and that made people think. So, I'm glad it made you reflect because that's what it was suposed to do. Thank you so much for your reviews!! They really make my day!!

Reviewer: HermyRox12
Date: 05/22/06 17:16
Chapter: Between a Chinese Fireball and an Amaryllis

That is sad. A little bit of joy, but sad. I liked it, nonetheless. It was a bit choppy in some places, but your style is very good. I really enjoyed this fic. I think that Charlies chess peices was a bit Cliche, but that is my problem. I looked up the challenge, and it read 'Your challenge is to pick one of these items... and describe the mayhem it has caused.' I missed the mayhem. Could you please explain it to me. Other than those little things, I think this is a great fic.
HermyRox12

Author's Response: Well, I don't think you can exactly call it a "Mayhem" but it was through the chess game that Heather became honest with herself and Charlie. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: JC_Cainstone
Date: 05/18/06 11:36
Chapter: Between a Chinese Fireball and an Amaryllis

That was really good! The ending was abrubt but effective and the writing style was interesting and held the reader throughout the story. I take my hat off to you!

Author's Response: Wow, thak you. That's one of the best compliments I've had so far. Thank you so much, I'm glad you liked it.

Reviewer: Trucker
Date: 05/12/06 19:14
Chapter: Between a Chinese Fireball and an Amaryllis

Very sweet, very sad, very well-written. Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you, that was what I was aiming for and don't worry I'll keep writing. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: fairies_r_real
Date: 05/12/06 16:39
Chapter: Between a Chinese Fireball and an Amaryllis

OMG!!! Why didn't they see each other again? They sounded so perfect for one another. That Eglantine . . . oh, she makes me want to hit something. If only she could see what Heather and Charlie were like together. Argh!!!

"bang" . . . "clutching knuckles in agony" . . . "sigh as anger is released".

Back now, better!!!

Charlie and Heather . . . such a lovely pairing.

I love it!!!

Keep writing!!! 10/10

x x x long live the fairies x x x

Author's Response: *Jumps up and down* Yay!! My first review for this fic, Yeah Eglantine is a very "special" woman. I'm very glad you liked Heather and Charlie as a couple. Thanks for the review!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Research and Development by Northumbrian 3rd-5th Years
The Mirrorphone, the latest advance in Wizarding communications. Now, of course...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES