Reviews For Everybody Does It
Reviewer: iluvharryandron
Date: 06/19/06 15:35
Chapter: Everybody Does It

omg that was beautiful... im still crying... alright now that ive caught my breath... never stop writing... never ever ever.... that was amazing and if i had gone on adn notr ead it... wow i would have been missing out on soo much... no doubt one of the best sotries i have ever read... ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!!! 100000000/10

Author's Response: Yes, and I think if I read that right now considering my two girls are in California, I think I would be a friggin wreck. That's who this story is, Kalani and Camryn. Oh I should really not be responding to reviews right now.

Reviewer: KneazleWeazl
Date: 06/16/06 15:38
Chapter: Everybody Does It

I had to do everything I could to keep myself from crying. That was beautiful. The only thing I could do to keep myself from crying was think about this really hot guy who for some reason- whenever I see his face I smile, or I'm in a better mood. Anyway, WRITE A NOVEL!!! This was really good, a little confusing in the beginning but really good when my brain and I sorted everything out. You are an amazing writer.

Author's Response: I'm not sure, so, set me straight if I have anything wrong, but you want me to write a novel? You're a little shaky there, so I just wanted to be clear. No, seriously, I really am very touched by all the praise, though, I kinda wished you weren't thinking about the hot guy. I mean, I bawled through the writing of this, you could shed a tear you know. Kidding again, I'm really happy you liked it. Thank you.

Reviewer: PotterFan22
Date: 06/15/06 22:45
Chapter: Everybody Does It

That was so sad! I cried so hard when I read it, but it was still the very best story i've ever written! You're a very, very talented writer and I hope you keep writing! You're definately on my favorites. I think the keyboard's all wet from me crying all over it! Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I, well, I don't really know what to say. It's pretty emotional stuff, I guess, so I'm just really glad you can connect with it.

Reviewer: Hermioneweasley4ever
Date: 06/12/06 12:07
Chapter: Everybody Does It

okay now that was really sad i nearly cried while reading it! it was really heart warming and touching and in the end very sad i thought. But i thought it was beaitfully well writen and i think it even gives good advice in it. i really think have a talent for writing i love the way u write your storys ! so thanks for the storys and keep writing !!!
~jenny~

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading this one. Obviously this one was very emotional... Can't really say it wasn't. just about cried my way through it, but I am happy with it, I think it's an important bit, I mean, I think that despite the subject matter, and despite some hints at more tragedy in the past, I think what's always been important to me regarding this story is that it IS a happy ending. You know? well, thanks for the review.

Reviewer: DreamingOfRon
Date: 06/05/06 14:48
Chapter: Everybody Does It

I am still left wondering what happened to Ginny (obviously she died, but of what?) and what Harry was "diagnosed"
with. Otherwise, this story was beautifully written and I absolutely loved it.

Author's Response: Well, for answers to those questions, I point you to my livejournal at http://grimmrook.livejournal.com If you scroll down some, I have to posts dedicated to answering just those kinds of questions. But I had to leave them out because they were just a means to an end, and to me the end was emotion so I chose to have as little exposition as I possibly could. Anyway, thanks for the review, hope to see you at my livejournal, and at the reviews of the rest of my stories. Thanks a heap.

Reviewer: Amarie
Date: 05/28/06 17:09
Chapter: Everybody Does It

Wow! That was really sad, and really well-written. I think you did a great job portraying the characters both the ones we know and the new ones, they reacted realistically and Harry...he was exactly what he should have been...his dying adivice was about love...He never said anything more true...You did a good job capturing the moment.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. It's weird in a way. I tell all the authors I beta for that Harry is one of the hardest characters to get right because we all transpose ourselves onto him in the reading of canon. That's just the way the books are written. So really, Harry's words are my words, which makes sense because the inspiration for this story came out of me imagining having to say goodbye to my two daughters under similar circumstances. But in this case I think that anyone who really enjoys HP enough to read fanfic, well, I think that we all can agree on that one dying message that Harry has. Maybe, or maybe I'm talking out of my ass. I'm also glad you brought up the extra characters. Trust me when I say that we'll be seeing a great deal more of Tom and Dennis in the future. Oh I can't wait. Thank you.

Reviewer: Butterbeer123
Date: 05/27/06 23:11
Chapter: Everybody Does It

Wow!! That story was amazing!! I cried my eyes out till they were dry!! I loved it sooo much!!! Wow!! That is all i can say!!! You are brilliant!!! THat was fantastic but sad but brilliant!!! I absolutely loved loved loved it!!! 100000000000000000/10

Author's Response: Thank you. This has probably been one of the single most gut wrenching things I've written, and trust me, I've written a lot of emotional stuff even in my own original writings. I think this may be the fic that I'm most proud of, though funnily enough it's very hard for me to bring myself to read it again... Very emotional piece from me.

Reviewer: abbycadabra
Date: 05/27/06 9:22
Chapter: Everybody Does It

Aww...that is so good! And, so sad!!! Great story - one question, how old was Harry? Probably 40s to 50s? Oh, and one more: How can you be brand new at writing, and still write so so well??? I'm jealous!

Author's Response: Actually, in this story, Tom is in his late thirties, early forties, so that puts Harry at the very earliest in his mid sixties. But as so many other people have expressed, I like the idea of Harry and Ginny having a lot of time together, so I would put it at even later than that. For some of the backstory that I've left out, I do encourage you to check out my livejournal at http://grimmrook.livejournal.com Oh, and I never said I was new to writing, just writing fanfiction. I've been writing other stuff for twenty years. Thank you for yet another great review.

Reviewer: believerofmajick
Date: 05/26/06 19:19
Chapter: Everybody Does It

I really liked how you put the story together. The emotion wove through it and you could feel each character's pain and loss. Very good job.

Author's Response: Thank you. Yeah, for this one, it was all about emotion for me. I just got myself in the right frame of mine, and let my fingers go after that. So, yeah, I left out a lot of backstory, but again, that was because i was worried about letting anything get in the way of the feelings that were going on. Thank you again.

Reviewer: Crazy_Owl101
Date: 05/21/06 16:15
Chapter: Everybody Does It

I loved it, absoultly loved it! It was so sad and at the same time beautiful. This story reduced me to tears. :'( You really great job with this story. You have a talent in writing. Keep writing.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. Yeah, this one is a tough one to get through. I put so much emotion into it that this is probably the only story I have that I can't go back through and read. I remember when my beta got it back to me, Thanks Charlotte, I remember her having a suggestion to change something in the plot, and I just remember thinking, "I can't, I would have to reread it again..." It was a nightmare writing this one, tears everywhere. Anyway, I really appreciate the praise and hope to see you check out the rest of my stories! Thanks.

Reviewer: Siriuslyinluvwithharry
Date: 05/20/06 18:39
Chapter: Everybody Does It

OMG! I am crying right now! That was sooo good. Your writing is superb!! I LOVED IT!

Author's Response: I'm am so thrilled, I really am. Okay, not that you're crying, well, okay, yeah I am, but not ina bad way. Okay, no, thank you so much, and now comes time for the requisite plug of everything else I've written. I'd love for you to check out the rest of my stories, though I think you started off with the end, and probably my most raw emotion one. Well, thanks, and hope to hear from you again.

Reviewer: Ice Nine IV
Date: 05/19/06 0:27
Chapter: Everybody Does It

Wow. That was, bittersweet. Jeez, can't you ever just write anything mundane and normal that doesn't make me get all teary. I got chills, the hairs on the back of my neck stood up. It was just so, Genuine.

I like that you named his son Tom, in memory of the boy that could have been not the man that was. It really connected to the part in the Epilogue where Harry goes back to the battle field. Naming his son after Tom Riddle was Harry's final way to make amends with what he had done, and to be able to set things right.

Thank You.

Author's Response: Okay, disregard the bit in my last response over at Epilogues about plugging this. You know, One Good Day was supposed to be my shot at writing mundane and normal... oh well. Well, it was genuine, I... well, I'll just tell you to check out my livejournal, I tell the story on how I came to write this story over there. To this day I still can't read this story again, it's just so... Ugh, I hate crying that much. And I'm so glad that you got the name. I have actually gotten some people real pissed off that i named Harry's son that, but hey, at least I gave him a name that made people think... So thank you so much, I've really enjoyed following your reviews around. Thank you.

Reviewer: Hope_543
Date: 05/16/06 10:33
Chapter: Everybody Does It

hehe me again(!) what can i say? You're a beautiful writer! this one made me cry...everything is just perfect! It's a really original idea, and the whole story is just packed with emotion (that's a good thing) I just love how you decided to call Harry's boy Tom - i haven't checked out your LJ yet, but i'm guessing it's to show he's come to terms with what's happened, and also that he's kind of understanding Voldemort?? Even if it isn't, it's beautiful! Keep writing, please!

Author's Response: Man, you're super awesome. I love it when I get to watch a reader go from one story to the next. That's probably one of the biggest compliments to know that someone is digging what you write enough to keep right on reading from one story to the next. About my livejournal, yes, I would really appreciate it if you check it out. Note that you'll have to type the http:// in there with the url I give... I just realized that just typing grimmrook.livejournal.com just redirects you to some search engine. Anyway, I have a kind of FAQ up, and right after that, a pretty decent length essay on why I chose Tom. Keep in mind that Tom is a character I made a while ago, and whom I plan on introducing in full in Epilogues Part III, along with Dennis Weasley, and Linus Longbottom. To be perfectly honest, I have built those characters before I even considered doing fanfiction, so, I think that by the time I start writing them, they'll be pretty well established as their own people. But yeah, check out the livejournal because I leave a lot of details out on purpose, and I do it for one reason. Emotion. Emotion is the star of this piece, and there is obviously so much backstory missing, but the more I thought about it, the more I realized that to try and fill in that backstory, the more that would take from the emotion, and I didn't want to do that. So that's what that is all about. I really have some great characters waiting in the wings, and I can't wait to get them out. In Part II you'll be meeting Rathius Ratbone, whom I think you may eventually grow to like, and as I said we got the kids that we meet in Part III, and Fiona Longbottom too. But anyway, yes, thank you so much for the reviews, I'm really glad I'm doing right by you! And if this response hasn't been enough of a clue, I very much intend to keep writing! See you at the end of Epilogues Part I!

Reviewer: harryforever
Date: 05/14/06 10:17
Chapter: Everybody Does It

wow. that's really good. I even got pretty teared up. please keep writing! I love the mystery part of it, where you don't know exactly what happened, or why he's dieing. It makes the whole story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Yeah, I did the mystery part of it because I didn't want to waste too much time on stuff that wasn't pure emotion, you know? If you do want some backstory after the fact, though, I really encourage you to check out my livejournal at grimmrook.livejournal.com. Thanks again!

Reviewer: harryforever
Date: 05/14/06 10:15
Chapter: Everybody Does It

wow. that's really good. I even got pretty teared up. please keep writing! I love the mystery part of it, where you don't know exactly what happened, or why he's dieing. It makes the whole story.

Reviewer: JC_Cainstone
Date: 05/14/06 3:15
Chapter: Everybody Does It

Wow...!!! That was fantastic! And brilliant! And completely sad and wonderful! I am literally speechless! Oh, one thing, because Voldemort was Tom Riddle, I found it rather weird that Harry would call his son that, and also, what was Harry dying of? Still, fantastic story! I can't think of enough words to describe it! This is definitely going on my favourites! I really should read dark/angsty fics more often if they're all as good as yours!

Author's Response: Heh, thanks. Note, I wonder how many people think I made Tom's name Tom on a whim or by mistake... Well, I don't, in fact I put a great deal of thought into what I do, and for this reason, I wrote up the answer to both your questions in my livejournal, which I ask you to check out at grimmrook.livejournal.com. I can't promise all your questions will be answered, but you should get a decent chunk of them taken care of. I'm really glad you were so moved, I guess the whole point of this was to just lambast you with as much emotion as I could. I'm really glad you enjoyed it, and I hope you'll check out the rest of my fics please... Thank you.

Reviewer: Potter_freak0515
Date: 05/14/06 1:18
Chapter: Everybody Does It

Oh. Ok. i just read your livejournal thing. I guess it makes sense, but I disagree with Tom's name. That's such and awfule disease. What site is SIYE? I want to read the two-chaptered version. And you're right, that is a stupid rule.

Author's Response: Okay, I respect you disagreeing with Tom's name. I didn't name Harry's son Tom to take the easy way out. If I wanted that, I would have named him James. As for SIYE, I'm not up and up on cross site etiquette, so if you leave a comment up on the livejournal, I'll leave a link there. I've been meaning to drop a few links there anyway. Though, I wouldn't bother to read the two chaptered version, there is absolutely know difference in the stories. In fact, I think this one is a little bit cleaner because I usually post to SIYE first. They're usually faster, and so I post there first, and then I'll clean it up a little more and post here. The chapter break occurs right where the narrative break occurs here and I name the two chapters, "Yesterday," and "Tomorrow." That's about it. But, as I say, if you want the link, drop a line in comments at the LJ, and I'll get you one. As for the validity of the rule, I'm friends with an ex staffer over there, and she had told me that the rule was even more crap because through the entire history of the site, they had only had one "spam" attempt, and they got it before anything saw the light of day. Anyway, moving on. I'm glad you caught the bit about the disease, which really brings to light another point. There is so much backstory to this story it's incredible. Understand I have most of the history of Harry and his friends and family at least sketched out in my head from the time Harry leaves hogwarts at least until he dies. There are some fuzzy patches, but I at least have a skeleton. So Dennis has a history, and Tom, and Anathea... Molly didn't because I actually created her for this story only, but that's beside the point. The point is that there are all these backstories, and I intentionally left them out. Not because I didn't want people to know, but because I felt that too much backstory would detract from the emotion, and that's what I wanted to take center stage. For instance, I had wanted to bring in Tom and Dennis' other two best friends, Linus and Esmerelda Longbottom (nee Grimm), but figured there would be just far too much explaining to do. With the disease in particular, that was a kind of retro backstory for me. I wanted to make the wizarding world have a disease, but it was a trick creating a magical disease. Ah, I just realized I'm seriously rambling now, and I still have one more review to get to so thank you very much and I really hope you'll check in with Epilogues which is only two chapters away from completion. Thanks!

Reviewer: Potter_freak0515
Date: 05/14/06 1:13
Chapter: Everybody Does It

Ahhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! First of all I'm crying That's so sad. But I'm also angry. Why thee hell would he name is son Tom. TOM. Tom as in TOM MORVOLO RIDDLE!!!!!!!! But you really are a great writer. I'm going over to your journal thing now. Bye!

Author's Response: Okay, I had a huge response to this review, and it got timed out so I'll just leave it at thanks,and you're only the second person I downright angered with Tom, but you also read the argument so that's cool, thanks.

Reviewer: Dora_
Date: 05/13/06 14:01
Chapter: Everybody Does It

My God that was sad, but so beutiful! I cried my eyes out when I read it, but it was brilliant! You've written it beutifully, KUTGW!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. i guess this is a pretty important piece to me, so I'm glad you thought it beautiful. Took me a minute to figure out what KUTGW, but I got it, and I've got plenty of other stories out there that I hope you will like just as much. They're all in the same universe, so plese check out and review Right Here, One Good Day, and Epilogues.

Reviewer: Jane Bilus
Date: 05/12/06 12:50
Chapter: Everybody Does It

oh my gosh. i'm crying. it's just so sad. i don't undertand how anybody could possibly write something that sad. don't get me wrong, i liked it, but...ok, i'm going to find the tissues now...

Author's Response: Well, I'm gonna plug my livejournal again. Grimmrook.livejournal.com . The story I came about how I came to write this story is posted there, along with a pretty in depth rationale on why I named Harry's son Tom. But I'm very happy that you cried. I cried as I wrote it... a lot. So, it's really good to know that that emotion really came through. Thanks for that.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Unexploded Bombs by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Dudley Dursley has just experienced the death of his elderly father Vernon from...
Ginny's Big Decision by dg04 1st-2nd Years
After Dumbledore's Funeral, Harry tells Ginny that they can't be together anymore...
Little Lions by SexY_LydZ 6th-7th Years
On a stormy October evening, a letter, a late night trip to the library and...
FEATURED
Going Against Salazar's Grain by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
"Sometimes," said Dumbledore, "we sort too soon." Originally writtten for...
Whispers in the Night by lucca4 6th-7th Years
"Swear to me, Cissy. Swear you won't tell." It's a secret, and it haunts...
Fear and Loathing in Florida (Mostly Loathing) by minnabird 3rd-5th Years
Scabior and Greyback had to escape the Aurors somehow - they just hadn't expected...
Just Before Healing by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
With Hannah, things always go to yellow.
In Bloom by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
It figures that he ignores the other side of roses. Thorns fit to draw blood...
Magical by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ginny and her brothers sneak down the stairs to look at presents, but instead...
CATEGORIES