Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 08/05/08 19:35
Chapter: One Kiss and the Sky Vanishes

This was very nicely done, you've really shown the emotion and your descriptions are beautiful.

Reviewer: chasing_willow
Date: 12/05/07 13:29
Chapter: Maybe I'm Afraid of the Way I Love You

It's been wonderful so far, thank you!
*squishes author*
*pets OTP*
-------
"could not bare to explore."
*bear
(to bare make naked, to bear carry, withstand)
-- willow


Author's Response: Thank you for pointing that out! All fixed up. I'm really glad yoy like it!

Reviewer: DracosBaby_232
Date: 08/13/07 10:03
Chapter: One Kiss and the Sky Vanishes

That's so sad! He was so close to having everything and he lost it because of a stupid boy and his arrogance.

Author's Response: Yes, it's a great shame. I personally love Snape/Lily. Thanks for all your reviews!

Reviewer: DracosBaby_232
Date: 08/13/07 9:56
Chapter: Help Me Dry The Tears I've Cried

Well, it's pretty obvious they both like eachother. Will hey amit it to eachother muchless themselves I wonder?

Author's Response: Yep! There's a definite attraction and all that's standing in their way is their fear of the way they feel...

Reviewer: DracosBaby_232
Date: 08/13/07 9:47
Chapter: Maybe I'm Afraid of the Way I Love You

This is a really amazing story. Kepp it up.

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: Madeira
Date: 07/05/07 23:56
Chapter: Maybe I'm Afraid of the Way I Love You

I don't know if you'll read this review, but I just love the way you write!
Congrats! Keep the good job and I shall add you to my favourites!

Author's Response: Yes, I have read it! Thank you very much! I'm flattered. :)

Reviewer: Chaser47
Date: 04/21/07 23:40
Chapter: One Kiss and the Sky Vanishes

*pops in again* I'm back, bearing another review!

I love how you shifted POVs for each chapter. It really keeps it interesting, not to mention the entirely complete idea that you are able to convey through using something like this-- you get the view of each protagonist, not to mention an omniscient narrator.

You've also brought together what people would view as opposites-- the popular Gryffindor and the almost unnoticed Slytherin. Yet, they are joined together by the fact that they think similar, something that they both seem to value.

You create another perfect culmination with Severus and Lily's kiss. Both of them forget about what anyone else might think, both going against whatever was holding them back. It was a great moment and you were able to put it across while still blending the emotions of happiness and sadness perfectly.

And after this, we see a different side. One of disappointment, one that almost hurts to accept. This is another thing about your writing that Iove. All of the emotions seem to jump from the page! You illustrate how quickly an opinion of someone can change-- with only one action, an entire relationship can be destroyed.

Amazing story, Sarah. You write emotions so well, it hurts! Haha, bad pun. Well, thanks for writing this amazing story. I truly did enjoy reading it.

--Hanna

Author's Response: Yay for another review! When I started out the story, I was unsure which POV I should go with - all of them had their merits., and I thought could work pretty well. So what did I do? I chose them all! I'm glad it didn't turn out too confusing in the end! I thought it was very important to make it clear that Snape and Lily were crossing boundaries by being together, as that basically is what leads to their break-up - Lily can't accept the life Snape leads. It's great to hear that scene worked! I'm really flattered that you like the way I portray emotion, as it's something I love to do and hope people enjoy in my writing! Thank you so much for your wonderful reviewing, and I'm very very pleased to hear you enjoyed it! <3

Reviewer: Chaser47
Date: 04/21/07 23:20
Chapter: Help Me Dry The Tears I've Cried

I know I've already reviewed for your first chapter, but I reread it as a refresher for the rest of your story. I have a few things that I'd like to say on it that I didn't say in my previous review, so here they are! :]

I loved the foreshadowing you used in the instances where Snape thinks that Lily hates James as much as he does. It's also that bit of dramatic irony-- we as readers know that James and Lily will end up together, but as Snape doesn't, we know he is basically getting set up for heartbreak. You've worked this in really well throughout your first chapter.

Also, the characterization of Snape (although I think I mentioned this in the last review) was so brilliant! You show this completely different side of him, yet it doesn't seem at all OCC. You've managed to create a Snape that thinks he loves Lily so much that it makes him want to cry, yet at the same time wants to be rid of all of these emotions that seem to plague him.

Ok, onto the next chapter!

I love how much you're able to contrast the way you right Lily and the way you right Snape. Lily's observations aren't as brooding or pained as Snape's were-- it's almost as if she is seeing things with an somewhat powerless indifference. She believes that she can't change her perfect image, so she tries to accept it. Snape, on the other hand, seems completely overwhelmed by his emotions and whether he should try to embrace them or push them away.

You paint a great picture of Lily's comfortable lifestyle. She's pretty, has friends, and is a good student. Yet, she is unhappy with the monotony. This also foreshadows to how she might pursue a relation ship with Snape, if only for a little spontaneity in her life. You can see her contemplating this when she describes her Potion class encounter with Snape as the "most intriguing days of my first four years at Hogwarts". Anyway, what I'm trying to say is that idea of Lily being fed up with a boring routine makes it more believable to readers that she would consider or even go through with a relationship with Snape.

Ooh, the last scene with Lily and Snape in the Owlery was perfect; a culmination to the thoughts that both of the protagonists had been having. Yet, it was still incomplete enough to keep a reader interested enough to keep reading. You really have a gift with describing emotions-- they always come out clearly, but retain that complexity that something like sadness still has to hold in order for it to feel real.

Brilliant job, Sarah! I'll be reviewing for your last chapter, too! I hope you don't think I'm spamming your review page or anything... :P

--Hanna

Author's Response: Spamming the page? With reviews like this? If that's the case, please,spam away! :D I'm really pleased that you thought Snape's characterisation was accurate, as this is actually one of the weakness of my writing. I am also happy to see you picked up on the irony of Snape's situation - I was aware whilst writing this that it was a important to firmly root Snape respect for Lily in the fact that she hated James too. It helps to explain why he feels so angry when James and Lily finally end up together. Again, it's fantastic to hear that you thought Lily's characterisation was good, as her character is subjected to so many cliches in the fandom normally! I did try very hard to give her a believable attitude to life in general, and a sense of open-ness which makes her eventual attraction to Snape more plausible. Finally, I'm thrilled to see that you enjoyed that last scene, as it's probably my favourite of the entire story. It's a key moment; bringing them together after we've begun to understand each person's emotions! I loved writing it. And so, thank you ever so much for this brilliant review. *hug*

Reviewer: dracolicious24
Date: 01/28/07 16:46
Chapter: Maybe I'm Afraid of the Way I Love You

Amazingly well-written!! Snily is one of my favorite ships, but it's so hard to find good fanfictions for that ship! You did a very good job, though... especially since this story comes from two different point-of-views =D

Author's Response: Thank you! I love this pairing too, and haven't seen very many well-written ones. I'm really pleased you enjoyed the style!

Reviewer: Poultrygeist99
Date: 01/18/07 13:06
Chapter: Maybe I'm Afraid of the Way I Love You

She made me want to cry. You make me want to cry too! Yipes! You do a lovely job in this chapter of capturing the desperate emotions of this boy. I don't in my own mind want to connect this boy with the adult Snape, but you're going to make me, aren't you? Nice job.

Author's Response: I sure hope I can make you! Teehee. Thank you very much.

Reviewer: HPwizzzard
Date: 12/21/06 18:41
Chapter: One Kiss and the Sky Vanishes

Wonderful, angsty rarepair. The best kind.

Author's Response: Thank you ever so much!

Reviewer: Chaser47
Date: 11/19/06 17:56
Chapter: Maybe I'm Afraid of the Way I Love You

Wow, Sarah. Can I just say that I loved this chapter so much? I thought it was so amazing. I had never read anything from Snape's POV before; especially not young Snape. But it was truly amazing. I have always toyed with the idea of Snape loving Lily, and now how I see you bring it to life, I think you've got me hooked.

What this reminded me of was those incidences where someone is so horribly bullied that they end up doing rash things. Such as, going on a shooting spree at their high school. Maybe this reminds me of that because I know that Lily will never truly notice Snape, at least not how her wants her to, and that James, in the end, is going to "get the girl". I'm already empathizing with him, I guess, and that's all because you have set up this amazing chapter full of longing.

What I thought was the greatest about this chapter was your complete characterization of Snape. It was perfect, how you kept in tune with his rational side, but also exposed this raw side to him, this one thing that he cannot rationalize.

To go along with the characterization (kind of), I thought that Lily/Snape potion scene was so great. It moved your plot along so well, giving Snape just the little bit of hope that will make him hurt all the more when he is let down.

You've earned a rave review from me, Sarah dear. I enjoyed reading this so much.

Author's Response: Wow! Hanna! *hug* I'm so glad you liked the characterisation and atmosphere built up during this chapter - I've actually found this story one of my most challenging yet, so to have achieved that in your eyes it utterly wonderful. I am really really pleased you liked this so much - you'll send me off to bed grinning! :D

Reviewer: I_am_Snapes_Bride13
Date: 11/12/06 15:45
Chapter: One Kiss and the Sky Vanishes

Very well-written. i almost cried!!!

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

Reviewer: Caren H
Date: 09/10/06 22:50
Chapter: One Kiss and the Sky Vanishes

That was awesome, lovely dear. Like I said before, you really have a way with words hun and I felt myself captivated by every last one of them. Was this the last installment? If so, amazing story and if not, than I can't wait for more.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked it. Yes, it is indeed the last part of the story - I'm quite sad in a way. Thanks for all your reviews!

Reviewer: MaraudersAffair
Date: 09/09/06 15:03
Chapter: Maybe I'm Afraid of the Way I Love You

Although I would never conside Snape is such a vulnerable light

I have no idea how to type. XD I meant to say that I would never conside Snape so vulnerable - his thoughts are very unsure - like he sees himself weak. Very nice. :D

Author's Response: Thanks! I make a thousand typos too - you're not alone!

Reviewer: MaraudersAffair
Date: 09/09/06 15:00
Chapter: Maybe I'm Afraid of the Way I Love You

Hmm - this is very interesting. Although I would never conside Snape is such a vulnerable light - I find myself really liking his character in this story. I kind of just want to wrap my arms around him and comfort him - XD. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! Yes, in this story I am aiming to make Snape more...human, in a way. Thanks for your review.

Reviewer: Spottedcat
Date: 08/05/06 22:03
Chapter: Help Me Dry The Tears I've Cried

This story is intriguing. I've always thought there was something between Lily and Snape. Whoo-hoo... shivers! More, please!

Author's Response: Well thank you very much! I think there definitely was. I've written the final chapter already and should be posting it soon!

Reviewer: cakey_turnip
Date: 07/19/06 17:24
Chapter: Help Me Dry The Tears I've Cried

wow! go sarah! i could tell who the characters were in the first paragraph; you really captured their feelings well, keep it up cant wait for the 3rd chapter :) Katie

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm very glad the characterisation came over well. the 3rd chapter is coming soon!

Reviewer: Caren H
Date: 06/28/06 0:56
Chapter: Help Me Dry The Tears I've Cried

More, more, more! Another well written chapter!

"Everyone is allowed to cry, even you, Lily.

That part had me absolutely gushing...very good hun. You are great with words. Is this to be continued?

Author's Response: Yay! I'm really glad you like it this much! *grins* There will only be one more chapter...look out for it! Thank you very much for your review.

Reviewer: Caren H
Date: 06/28/06 0:49
Chapter: Maybe I'm Afraid of the Way I Love You

I'm usually not one for Lily stories but, I must say that I'm am hooked! You have a talent for conveying people's feelings, I can see it all in my head. Your detail is lovely as well.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm very flattered.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
A Different Kind of Magic by unjellify 3rd-5th Years
James Potter is Head Boy and Gryffindor Quidditch captain in his seventh year...
Colorblind by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Set in the future, Harry's grandchild tries to comfort him while Harry remembers...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES