Reviews For Gambit
Reviewer: bezbaruah
Date: 07/12/09 14:04
Chapter: Gambit

very very nice!

Author's Response: Thank you

Reviewer: clumsywerewolf2438
Date: 07/14/08 11:50
Chapter: Gambit

I loved this story! Not only did it show a deeper side to Ron, but it also incorporated my favourite game! (I'm a chess geek, I admit it freely.)

And on top of that, your writing style is beautiful, and I love all your comparisons of different people to the chessmen. This is definitely going to be added as a favourite.

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely review. It's always wonderful to get a review at any time, but it's always a nice surprise to get one for an older one like this. I'm chuffed you think the style beautiful and the story fav-worthy.

Reviewer: bertiebott12
Date: 02/11/08 16:59
Chapter: Gambit

Hello there!

Today, I was looking for a totally random story, and yours came up! Ron stories, where he is trying to fight in the war are very common-too common in my opinion. Even so, the way you made Ron challenge his current situation, and show that minor character details hidden deep inside him was wonderful. This is the type of story that I would use for a character study. You delved past the arrogant, redheaded Ron that we know into a more demensional character. Wonderful!

His feelings flying through his head, specifically the ones in italics were right on the dot. You really showed that he wanted to get out wonderfully! I love how he compared his self to Harry, in a truely human way. I could see a parellel between myself and Ron, even though I have thought of us as total opposites before. He showed the good things in Harry, and actually opened his eyes.

I loved the symbolism in this piece. The way you put Harry as a knight was brilliant. You pulled it off very well, though there is still a doubt in my mind that Harry might be the bishop. That is really the only thing I can nitpick. Try to remove all doubt from the reader's, or in this case, my mind. I want to agree with your points, but I need more convincing statements that Harry would represent the knight. The language that you had Ron use was traditional "Ron" language, such as "Blimey", etc. You showed that, even in a situation and in a moment of thought, that you didn;t stray too far away from the Ronald that we know from the books. You kept his feelings very steady, and I loved it.

Keep on writing, and I am looking forward to see more fics/stories from you!

*Claire*

Author's Response: Actually, I meant Snape to be the knight--not Harry. The "trickiest" piece on the board--the spy if you will--and one that often is taken out early in the game. I saw Harry as the King, actually, the piece which, if it cannot escape, loses you the game. If anyone is the bishop--it's Dumbledore. Thanks for such a lovely, thoughtful review.

Reviewer: bertiebott12
Date: 02/11/08 16:59
Chapter: Gambit

Hello there!

Today, I was looking for a totally random story, and yours came up! Ron stories, where he is trying to fight in the war are very common-too common in my opinion. Even so, the way you made Ron challenge his current situation, and show that minor character details hidden deep inside him was wonderful. This is the type of story that I would use for a character study. You delved past the arrogant, redheaded Ron that we know into a more demensional character. Wonderful!

His feelings flying through his head, specifically the ones in italics were right on the dot. You really showed that he wanted to get out wonderfully! I love how he compared his self to Harry, in a truely human way. I could see a parellel between myself and Ron, even though I have thought of us as total opposites before. He showed the good things in Harry, and actually opened his eyes.

I loved the symbolism in this piece. The way you put Harry as a knight was brilliant. You pulled it off very well, though there is still a doubt in my mind that Harry might be the bishop. That is really the only thing I can nitpick. Try to remove all doubt from the reader's, or in this case, my mind. I want to agree with your points, but I need more convincing statements that Harry would represent the knight. The language that you had Ron use was traditional "Ron" language, such as "Blimey", etc. You showed that, even in a situation and in a moment of thought, that you didn;t stray too far away from the Ronald that we know from the books. You kept his feelings very steady, and I loved it.

Keep on writing, and I am looking forward to see more fics/stories from you!

*Claire*

Author's Response: Actually to me (and in the story) Harry is the king--he's that one piece on the board that if he's surrounded unable to move and the next move of the others would knock him off the board, the game is over. Thanks for the kind and meaty review!

Reviewer: courtney funk
Date: 02/07/08 15:44
Chapter: Gambit

cool

Author's Response: Thanks

Reviewer: remilupin
Date: 06/03/07 9:14
Chapter: Gambit

Wow. Where can I begin?
- I love your writing style. Your prose flows beautifully.
- You illuminate a depth to Ron that I unfortunately feel has been missing. Your Ron - while still canon-Ron - has more introspection and insight, is clearly srategic and intelligent. I love his analysis of Hermione and why he predicts she'll be the first to die and his self-analysis of why he could be the next Dumbledore. Your one-shot makes me like canon-Ron more.
- I love certain things that you wrote (others have mentioned this as well): Ron's using Voldemort's name in the privacy of his mind, of his knowing that Harry has "avada kedavra hate" (love that phrase) in particular. Great images. Great story.

Author's Response: It's always fun and gratifying to hear what others see in your stories. Ron isn't actually a favorite character of mine, but I found myself taken with a vision of him in a SS/HG, Falling Further In as a strategist. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: R_Ravenclaw
Date: 05/31/07 9:43
Chapter: Gambit

I've read editorials about the chess game in PS/SS. And this was a really interesting addition. I never really thought about it, but Ron really would make a good strategist for them. Smart people like Hermione are bad at chess. I'm bad at chess. Sorry, but a lot of really smart people can't play chess. I never really thought about what an advantage Ron's chess playing would be to them, but now I can. Clearly. Thanks to you. Oh, and you really did bring a lot of depth to Ron's character. I hate when people think he's stupid. He's just smart in a different way!

~Alison

Author's Response: I think he's basically smart, just not intellectually inclined and rather lazy--but there is a good mind there--he got more OWLs than the twins certainly and an E in enough subjects to fill out his schedule. And anyone who can play not only chess but disucss Quidditch strategy... Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: maddie78
Date: 05/17/07 20:42
Chapter: Gambit

that was simply fantastic. I spent a long time trying to figure out what I could write after something like that, and I still don't really know. That just made a lot of things fit together. Seeing that insight into Ron's character added so much to him for me. To me, and probably to a lot of people, Ron is just Harry's friend, a cool guy, but he hasn't shown his merit yet. This little view of his mind may not be canon, but it may as well be, because suddenly Ron has depth.
I don't think there's much more for me to say than that, except... no, I lied. Nothing else I've got to say would do the job.

Author's Response: Rowling does give hints of depth--it was Ron who played that chess game first book and then sacrificed himself--but I admit we haven't seen as much of him since. Thanks so much for the lovely review.

Reviewer: Hanabi
Date: 04/09/07 18:07
Chapter: Gambit

Wow. This Ron is so much more deep than the readers are used to seeing. I really like the style you used. Also, I was really impressed by the way you talked about Hermione in a kind of concerned, dark way that was Ron/Hermione without Ron thinking something like, "Hermione's cherry lip gloss looks tasty," or something creepy like that. Well done!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it. I enjoyed your review and reading what struck you about the story. Thanks!

Reviewer: Diamond Quill
Date: 02/09/07 4:20
Chapter: Gambit

Voldemort? Oh, yes, in the privacy of my mind, I use that name.

That line ripples with power.

I loved this, its excellently written and your Ron isn't just in Canon, he's also got another element to him which makes him almost larger-than-life. I like the ominous sounding end and the paragraph about Harry's hate is rather disturbing but very accurate. This is a fic which tells things how it is and doesn't fluff stuff up to make it sound all light and pretty. Dark, compelling and very well written. Definately a new addition to my favourites list.

Author's Response: Fav-worthy? *grins* That's quite the compliment. I'm glad you think my Ron fits with canon, I wrote it to explore his character a bit. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: HJPCATI
Date: 12/14/06 8:28
Chapter: Gambit

that was deep
it kind of voiced a lot of my thoughts about the trio but in better words than i could have managed

Author's Response: Glad you liked it, thanks for the kind review.

Reviewer: Bambu
Date: 08/22/06 21:39
Chapter: Gambit

This was the first story of yours which caught my eye. Even after all this time, it's still a beautiful character piece, and it makes me want to just hug Ron for his perceptiveness. He's so often overlooked, and I think he really is worthy!

Author's Response: Aww thanks--its such a lovely surprise to have gotten this review in my inbox and know this story lured you into rereading it and that even after all this time you still find it striking. (And yeah, even after all this time I still feel poor Ron doesn't get enough credit!)

Reviewer: Trucker
Date: 04/16/06 23:52
Chapter: Gambit

Excellent! I've wondered why JKR hasn't really told us more about Ron's strategic abilities since the first book... Since then his abillies been very subtly mentioned, almost hidden.

Author's Response: Perhaps they'll be highlighted in the last book? I just hope that we won't get another parallel from the first book with Ron sacrificing his life... I too wish we got more of that side of Ron in canon--and in fanfic. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: gordoweasley
Date: 04/16/06 14:23
Chapter: Gambit

Great imagination and a nice view of the outcome of the sixth book. Brilliant..

Author's Response: I'll very, very happily take "brilliant." I'm so glad you enjoyed the story. Thanks so much for taking time to leave a review!

Reviewer: KenF
Date: 04/16/06 12:54
Chapter: Gambit

Good one.

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to let me know you liked it!

Reviewer: Ronandchicken
Date: 04/16/06 12:31
Chapter: Gambit

Evilevergreen phrased my thoughts perfectly--I fell absolutley in love with Ron's character. He's my favorite, and you portrayed him here so well, that thoughtful, calculating Ron. Not the idiot from the movies. And beyond that, it was well-written. The parallels were fantastic. This was just absolutely amazing.

Author's Response: I can't think of a better compliment then that someone who truly loves Ron's character thinks I portrayed him well--I think too many people underestimate him. Thank you so much for that compliment--and the review!

Reviewer: Evilevergreen
Date: 04/16/06 12:29
Chapter: Gambit

Now, this is the Ron I love to see. This is the Ron I fell in love with in that first book. The intelligent, calculating Ron. Oh, I hate how the movies protray him after the first one. I miss that true witty banner that is Ron.

This piece was very insightful, heartbreaking even as he corperated the people in his life to the chess pieces on the board.

The last piece about Harry's hate, makes me wonder though. What did Ron mean by he was afraid of Harry's hate and if Hermione sided him (Ron)?

I mean, for some reason, it always appears that Ron is playing the fool, but when it comes to chess, it's where he's in his own, and the only time Harry takes him seriously, you know? And how you ended it : And I'm tired of playing games. It looks like Ron is finally willing to put the board aside and show Harry his true nature. . . the intelligent and calculating Ron we haven't seen since Book One.

Fantastic Story!

Author's Response: I miss the intelligent Ron too--and it's Ron who often can reach Harry even when Hermione can't. As for Harry's hate--or perhaps more accurately temper, for me it's gotten scary--he choked Mundungus in HBP til the man was purple--and his hatred for Snape now is... well intense. I'd be scared, or at least apprehensive, to face him with any suspicions that not all was as it seemed--especially if Hermione might not back me up. Or fear that if she did, that Harry could be alienated leaving him with no true confidants. Thanks for the praise--and the meaty and thoughtful review!

Reviewer: BroadwayGurl
Date: 04/16/06 12:02
Chapter: Gambit

Wow. This is a really great story. You drew some excellent parallels there, wihtout making the story totally unbelievable. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: I love that wow! I'm glad you found the story and parallels plausible. Thanks so much for reviewing.

Reviewer: hufflepuffgal
Date: 04/16/06 11:50
Chapter: Gambit

I love your story! It is so well thought out and believable. I like what is written and how it was written. I enjoyed how you tied all of this into a game.

Author's Response: Aw thanks! That's so nice to hear. I really liked the Ron we saw in the first book--with the intelligence to play that game and the wisdom and courage to make sacrifices. So it seemed natural he'd think in those terms.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
At the Battlefront by Nagini Riddle 3rd-5th Years
The Final Battle at Hogwarts rages on as the victims question whether or not...
Crocus by Equinox Chick 3rd-5th Years
Four years after the Battle of Hogwarts, Andromeda Tonks exists only for her...
Other Lives and Dimensions and Finally a Love Story by MoRoCcAnAnDpRoUd 6th-7th Years
The year is 1977, and the Wizarding World is in turmoil, but it doesn't really...
FEATURED
My Troubled Tyrant by Belledeg Professors
Keedie Dante has experienced many amazing things during her time at Hogwarts...
His and Hers by Acacia Carter 3rd-5th Years
In a perfect world, Neville and Hannah's wedding would go off without a hitch...
All This Waiting For The Sky To Fall by Dawnie 1st-2nd Years
They found her body - broken, bleeding, face filled with signs of pain and fear...
Sanguini, the Vampire by teh tarik 6th-7th Years
Vampirism is the persistence and the perpetuity of the body, a madness of the...
Lost and Found by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
When Tracey Davis's financial security was a casualty of war, her family is...
CATEGORIES