Reviews For Conceit & Contempt
Reviewer: SkylerMalfoy
Date: 07/05/08 17:31
Chapter: Explanation

You should have written more although the open ending you did was very skillfull. You should write a sequel or somehting.

Reviewer: RavenclawDiamond
Date: 03/08/08 10:34
Chapter: Explanation

I like how they got talking through something as simple as a book they both liked, the last two lines wer brilliant, a really good story.

Reviewer: cookie_girl1377
Date: 08/03/07 20:13
Chapter: Explanation

That was great. I love that you used Pride and Prejudice. I love that book. And Mr. Darcy is perfect. :) This is a great bit of writing. You should continue with the story.

Reviewer: dumbledorefluertwins
Date: 05/18/07 14:05
Chapter: Explanation

Conceit & Contempt by callmehermione

When searching for a new short story to review, I stumbled across this wonderful little story bundled up in a one-shot. I had clicked on Draco/Ginny purely on the off chance, never really thinking that I'd find a decent one-shot that managed to pull together Draco and Ginny so quickly in a believable way. However, callmehermione (CMH for short) has managed this, more or less.

While it's not the most believable fic I've read (I'll come onto that), it does manage to create a cute little scene that I'm sure many Draco/Ginny shippers will love.

I'll do the positive aspects of the story first.

The way CMH has written Ginny's character is almost flawless. Though I doubt Ginny would believe Draco's story so quickly, she does seem to be in character, especially as CMH has managed to involve the break-up with Harry, without making Ginny into a Cho Chang, aka, human hose pipe.

I also love how Draco doesn't come out with the whole "I loved you the moment I saw you, but I was too proud to say anything." What ever.

The way CMH has managed to thread Pride and Prejudice throughout the story is beautiful, and very clever. It adds that little extra to the story.

Negative aspects of the story... well, the largest is Draco. He seems in-character at the start of the fic, but towards the end... well, he sounds much more like Harry. It's not like Draco Malfoy to read a muggle romance, really, it's not like any boy to read a romance novel and then admit it to a girl, even if she herself likes it. It's certainly nothing like Draco. It's also rather strange, although it was written very well, that Draco gave off a speech on why he's the way he is. Again, that's Harry.

Despite this, it's a wonderful little one-shot, and I enjoyed reading it.

Written for the Fanfiction Junction review challenge by apollo13 of Slytherin House.


Author's Response: Thank you so much for this well-thought-out review! I really greatly appreciate your efforts. I understand what you mean about Draco's change in character, but it was kind of supposed to emulate Darcy's, and I didn't know how to do it any other way. Again, thank you. Especially for your comments about Ginny!

Reviewer: ronnyc718
Date: 08/20/06 16:05
Chapter: Explanation

*clears throat* I meant "laughed."

Author's Response: It's quite all right. *smiles*

Reviewer: ronnyc718
Date: 08/20/06 16:04
Chapter: Explanation

I loved this fic! I think somebody said this already, but I love the part where Draco is talking about not writing a letter "partly because I’m not quite sure where my Malfoy wax seal has gone. The last time I saw it was when–never mind."

I lauged out loud! Great job.

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! I'm glad you liked it.

Reviewer: ronnyc718
Date: 08/20/06 16:04
Chapter: Explanation

I loved this fic! I think somebody said this already, but I love the part where Draco is talking about not writing a letter "partly because I’m not quite sure where my Malfoy wax seal has gone. The last time I saw it was when–never mind."

I lauged out loud! Great job.

Reviewer: GringottsVault711
Date: 07/24/06 0:43
Chapter: Explanation

*gasp* I have to post this review in plain view, don't I >.> Well, then I'll just have to swallow my pride.*giggles*

This was enjoyable for me in a rather "guilty pleasure" manner. On one hand, I shall be thoroughly honest with you and say that I can't see Draco ever being this honest with Ginny so quickly and without bedrudginly thorough plot development. Yet, there was something so enchanting about it. I'm reminded of not only my own P&Pish piece [R/Hr], but also a little of Lucius and Siobhan. That's one aspect I find believable that perhaps other readers might not: Draco's appreciation of good literature. It makes perfect sense.

"... that had made Ron scowl reprovingly and Harry raise his eyebrows appreciatively. " This line made me giggle, and I find myself automatically assigning Harry as Wickham. He might not be as wicked, but given Ginny's original liasion with Harry and comparing that to Lizzy and Wickham, and Darcy's relationship with Wickham and blahblahblah clarifying your own parallels for you ;)

I honestly don't think Draco is much of a Darcy, but I love the Ginny as Elizabeth.

And to counteract my 'honest statement' that I don't find the situation to be too believable, I do find Draco's words to be spot on. I just see him taking a lot longer to come out with them, particularly to the member of his rival family. But, all in all, it was very enjoyable. If I was a fluff girl, I'd be fainting right now. As it is, I'm a literature girl, and this piece has outstanding literary merit. [not to mention that your writing style and narration pretty much pwns, but yeah, you have to know that.

Author's Response: I completely understand about the abrupt-ness, and I agree, too. It's one of those things where I just kind of rushed it, I suppose, and you're quite right about that. I also really loved the parallel clarifying you did--it made a great deal of sense in a literary way.

Reviewer: Emily_the_Poet
Date: 07/14/06 13:18
Chapter: Explanation

Which it did. Just so you know, I picked up Pride and Prejudice just because of this fic (which makes infinitely more sense now) and it is quickly becoming a favourite.

Author's Response: Aaaaaah, that's so exciting! It's well worth reading, despite the wordiness at times. I'm infinitely glad you were inspired!

Reviewer: Emily_the_Poet
Date: 07/08/06 15:29
Chapter: Explanation

I've never read Pride and Prejudice, but from the look of things, it's well worth reading.

About the fanfiction, it was a little short and pretty fast paced. It was good, and I'm willing to bet that it would've made better sense if I'd read pride and prejudice...

Great job!

Author's Response: I agree. The fast-paced part was hard to avoid if I wanted to fit all of the parts I did into the story. Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: dizzymisslizzy
Date: 04/20/06 20:33
Chapter: Explanation

I loved it! I truely and oohhly did! I love that draco admits to being jealous of Harry. In this story Draco seems sexy. He so totally turns me on! -.-

Author's Response: um... great! Thanks for reviewing, and I'm glad you liked it.

Reviewer: dracos_darling
Date: 04/20/06 5:43
Chapter: Explanation

that was a beautifully written story! but i think dracos confessions came a bit suddenly..but i loved it all the same!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I agree about the suddenness. I wanted it to be like Mr Darcy's... thanks for the input!

Reviewer: Starmaiden
Date: 04/16/06 13:19
Chapter: Explanation

Kind of OOC, but very sweet, and not a complete ripoff of the book. I like Draco's line, “Due to the urgency of this explanation, I’m going to tell you right now that I’m not planning on bothering to stop and write you a letter, partly because I’m not quite sure where my Malfoy wax seal has gone. The last time I saw it was when–never mind."

But it's very cute. I like it!

Author's Response: Thanks! I think the OOCness was hard to avoid, but I'll try and improve on it in the future. I like that line, too! I thought it provided the readers with a bit of Draco's personality hidden in the Darcyish side.

Reviewer: Kage
Date: 04/16/06 9:16
Chapter: Explanation

Awe, pretty! I like the start of this, it was very good. Keep it up.

Author's Response: Thank you for your review! I really try.

Reviewer: silverstorm
Date: 04/16/06 5:39
Chapter: Explanation

I like the concept of your fic a lot, but i think that the kiss happened way too soon, considering that Ginny and Draco have many years of rivalry to overcome...
Yet i think that this fic has some promise. And i especially like the pride and prejudice refrences... keep it up!

Author's Response: Thank you! I know everything happened very fast, but it was all going off of P&P, so I think the quickness really came from there. Like I said, rarepairs work much more convincingly in chaptered fics.

Reviewer: xenophiliac
Date: 04/14/06 17:47
Chapter: Explanation

um, ew, I'm sorry maybe its just because I'm not a ginny/malfoy person...but ew. Malfoy sounds slimey and his confession isn't believable, and Ginny isn't stubborn enough....two seconds later they're kissing...I mean come on.

Author's Response: Well, if you're not a D/G person, then don't read D/G fics! Rarepair one-shots sometimes require a little bit of imagination.

Reviewer: wishiwereaweasley
Date: 04/13/06 20:52
Chapter: Explanation

Just skimming the lovely new site, and your fic was among the most recent...so here I am reviewing! I have to do something to make up for not having a Fire and Ice discussion thread! You already know that I think this is a lovely fic, but I will restate it. A lovely fic. Tee hee! I thought about reviewing this spew-like, but decided against it. I already know it too well... *huggles*

Author's Response: Seriously. We should review each other's stories in place of our discussions! Well, thank you for the lovely review, and for the beautiful title! (The 'most recent' thing was very exciting, too.)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Argus Filch by BrokenPromise 1st-2nd Years
Written for the Anniversary Challenge v3 over on the boards - a double dactyl...
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES