Reviewer: The_Mystic
Date: 06/24/07 16:39
Chapter: (one shot)

I don't know why people would say Harry turning from Severus like that is out of character... although it may just be that they have a very idealized view of him. If this sort of situation had happened years ago (like his second or third year) I don't think he would have, but Harry has had year of built up hatred for Severus, and those feelings are clearly shown in the novels themselves. Look at the end of HBP, comparing Lord Voldemort to The Half-Blood Prince. *facepalm* The biggest problem is that people *believe* him!

Well now I'm ranting, and I'm afraid it doesn't have much to do with your story, which I really liked. The only thing that struck me as odd as the actual conversation between Harry and Snape. It may be the fact that I spend a lot of my time on Harry Potter discussion sites and therefore have read quite a lot of 'How Snape can still be on the good side after killing Dumbledore' essay-like posts. Perhaps if you had described more of the action rather than simply having Snape say he did it?

Either way, I did enjoy the story, especially the Snape/Regulus relationship. I do like the idea that they knew each other and had been friends at Hogwarts, and it is an interesting idea that it had been Regulus that got Snape involved.

And again, I can still see Harry as being in-character, especially after the war. I really see him as emotionally damaged, and a fight against Voldemort would probably unhinge him even more than he already is. And I think it is clear that Harry *does* believe Snape to an extent, but is desperate to force himself to not believe, if that makes any sense.

Author's Response: Incidentally, the story started out being a long thing that started *in* Regulus' point of view, and was going to switch over to Snape's... covering the entire period. It didn't work out that way, and this was what was born of my meditations and brainstorming on the issue. It was written before *I'd* seen a lot of that type of essay, too, so that may have affected it as well. I love how my story ends up causing people to rant about Harry... Maybe it will make Harry-lovers *think* about it. I do love Harry, but you're right about his hatred and people believing him. And yes! Your comment about believing but desperate to force himself not to -- that's *exactly* what I'm trying to portray! I'm so glad it came across that way! Thank you so much for your detailed and thoughtful review!

Reviewer: Red and Gold
Date: 06/23/07 17:44
Chapter: (one shot)

Vorona-

Once agan, you write an incredible story that's logical from beginning to end! It was amazing the way you tied in Regulus as a big part of why Sirius and Snape hate each other, how Snape joined the Death Eaters and subsequently decided to leave and turn spy instead.

The whole entire aggravating part of thi story is Harry. His actions and constant prejudice though the facts look him square in the face is like fingernails constantly scratching on a chalkboard. I love how your story points out who the the true grudge-holder is, and who really holds the most hatred for another human being.

What's truly ironic is that Harry is acting exactly as the Ministry did when Harry tried to tell them that Voldemort was back. The Ministry didn't want to believe it, so Harry was made out to be the bad guy - an attention seeking prat.

Harry gave that interview to the Quibbler just so people would know the truth - that Voldemort was back so that people could prepare themselves and their families. He seemed so insistent upon the truth, then, didn't he?

Now, once again, Harry is determined to seek truth - even going to get illegal veritaserum to do so. He gives it to Snape, Snape speaks what Harry knows full well to be the truth and still refuses to accept it.

And what with breaking into Regulus' box of letters, anyway? Although the house and everything in it was given to Harry, he didn't even hesitate to break open the lock on the box containing Regulus' private papers - and read them! That's from years and years of getting away with all kinds of activities at Hogwarts that would have been called criminal anywhere else.

Oh, gosh, I really went off on Harry, didn't I? Sorry about that! *blushes*

I just feel that someone can only be called "The Chosen One" for so long befoe they start to believe it and act like it. People have bowing at the Potter altar for too long now.

Oh, gosh, Vorona, there I went again!

I loved your logical, well-thought out story that covers so many missing moments, and things we have yet to discover from the books. It's going to be very interesting to read Book 7 and see which of your theories dovetail with what actually happened.

Great job! And once again, I apologize for my rant. You know what a Snape-lover I am. That's my only excuse.

~Andrea

Author's Response: Oh, good, I'm glad I'm not the only one to go off on Harry rants! I had a great laugh, and this completely made my day -- I'm not exactly having the best of days today... *sigh* And, in Harry's defence here (*sigh*, I know), I also think the human mind can only take so much. His whole world view is based (*rolls eyes*) on Snape's guilt. He wanted the truth because he wanted more proof of that, and then didn't get it. He was already partly broken before the meeting, and now... Well, he really *can't* take it at this point in time. As in, he's unable. If he'd found out the information earlier, or in a different state (not reeling with despair about all the losses), he might have tried harder to understand. But, he *is* in a fragile state, so completely destroying his world view is impossible for him right now. Even if his world view is based on something completely and utterly false. But this is going to be with him forever, even if he constantly shoves it down, and he's never going to truly heal from it.

Reviewer: Wand_Waver2006
Date: 06/17/07 18:45
Chapter: (one shot)

As always, I am amazed at the power of your writing, Vorona. Absolutely stunning. Your characterization of Harry at times was a bit OOC to me; I don't quite see him /asking/ Snape to do anything. But, that's probably just the way I see it 'cause I'm weird like that. :D

The interaction between Snape and Harry was ideal; very tense and lotsa yelling. Very nice. I also saw warping between Number 12 to Hogwarts to the Ministry. It's quite refreshing to not have that description, partially because it would take hours and be boring in the wrong hands.

I especially liked the RB memoirs. They are very unique in style and quality, and I'm sure no one else could write such a convincing piece and make it dark at the same time.

The best of the best you are, m' dear.

Star

Author's Response: Why thank you, dear! I see what you mean about asking... Funny, the biggest problem people have had with Harry is that he would never turn his back on Snape like that! *rolls eyes* No one on Mugglenet has said that, so I can indulge in my eye rolling. Not sure exactly what you mean by "warping", but I get the gist. I'm glad you found it refreshing. But thank you so much for your kind thoughts on the memoirs themselves and me in general. They make a narcissist smile with glee!

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 05/24/07 16:06
Chapter: (one shot)

Hi Vorona!
Nice job with this story. I love that Harry got to confront Snape about what happened on the tower. Using the Veritaserum was a great idea, although now that JKR has spoken up on it I wonder if Snape might be able to get around it with his Occlumency skills? Still, I think he was more than willing here to tell Harry the truth, particularly after he read Regulus's letter.

I think the letter was great. You did a really good job making a connection between Snape and Regulus, it was totally believable. And the way that played into Snape's rivalry with Sirius was brilliant.

I thought it was really interesting that Regulus brought Snape into the Death Eaters, and that Snape brought Regulus out. Both situations make a great deal of sense, however, especially since I know some of your thoughts on Snape. You managed to develop sympathy for both men through Regulus's confession.

So you also think that Dumbledore told Snape to take the prophecy back to Voldemort; obviously I couldn't agree more! :) But why didn't Snape tell Dumbledore about the Horcrux sooner? Was it his pride? I thought it was really neat that Snape had a part to play in R.A.B's discovery of the locket, but I'm also really curious why he didn't tell Dumbledore sooner. Did he at least tell Dumbledore about the potion he made before Dumbledore left with Harry to go to the cave?

The potion sounds exactly right, and the fact that Dumbledore was already dying a horrible death when he pleaded with Snape to kill him so Draco wouldn't have to makes perfect sense. Of course that's what happened! :) I'll be a bit surprised if Snape actually had something to do with the cave and the potion, but you made it very believable here.

So you had asked about Harry. I absolutely believe he would be capable of going after Snape with a Cruciatus Curse. I really think he might skirt the edge of the Dark Side in the final book before he figures out just what he needs to do. What a surprise to see Neville there sticking up for Snape - I love the irony, given how cruel Snape has always been to Neville. I also think that Harry would continue to want answers from Snape, especially if he were just locked up in Azkaban; having him force Veritaserum on Snape seemed very believable to me. Of course, it still seemed to me that Snape was willing to have the truth out, but I think Harry as you've written him would have used even more force if he needed to. I don't think you went too far at all.

The piece grew very intense by the end. I liked when Snape used Harry's first name for once, showing his extreme emotions. I thought that Snape pointing out how the death Harry gave Dumbledore was too terrible, and how no one would every know Harry's part in it, was very tragic in two ways. Snape is the one being punished for the murder, but Harry will carry his own guilt alone for the rest of his life. Very sad, and very possible.

This was a nice read after a long day! I'm glad I read it and will try to read some of your other stories soon. Good luck with your future writing!
~Gina :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the long and thoughtful review. I must admit, I'm not very good at those, myself. I am glad you enjoyed it. Occlumency and Veritaserum: yes, probably. But you're right in that he could choose to tell the truth. And it's possible that *Harry* doesn't know about Occlumency and its ability to cancel it... though I do allude to that in the prequel to this that's awaiting beta-response. That actually makes things *better* for me: 1. It explains how Snape can keep so much of his emotions when Veritaserum usually causes a sort of limpness and then complete, factual answers. 2. It gives even more reasons for Harry to not believe Snape/"never come back". Which is the main thing people had a problem with: they figured that after thinking things over, he'd realize he was wrong and come to apologize or something... sort of like how he changes his attitude toward Sirius... but there's a lot more negative history between Snape and Harry, especially considering the enmity between Snape and James, that just didn't exist with Sirius. My thinking is that he was broken and when he finally got "put back together", it didn't seem important enough... after all, Snape *did* cast the Unforgivable AND Harry probably still hates him AND he doesn't think Azkaban is all that bad. But with the suspicion that maybe Occlumency could work against Veritaserum, he has even more reason to "never come back". Your questions about the Horcrux: I'm working on answers for some of them in connected stories. He didn't say anything because he didn't see any need. I think it's probably a lot like Harry not mentioning the Voldemort dreams -- you know, not wanting to bother him, not thinking it's important enough. I don't remember making a decision about whether he told him about the potion, but that's a really interesting angle! It's almost too bad it's written this way, since an interesting theory could be that Dumbledore knew that Harry needed to see what it would look like to get a Horcrux and destroy it, and used the fake... except I can't imagine him doing that... I'll have to think on that some. Neville sticking up for Snape... Yes, well... If you've read my duelling thread recently, you'll have seen that I'm horridly sadistic to my characters. What does Snape hate most? (in my opinion) Being saved. And of all the people who *could* save Snape, the most likely really is Neville, considering we're dealing with the Cruciatus Curse here. I think Neville's opposition of that curse in particular (considering his parents) would be strong enough to stand up against it in any and all cases -- just as he stood up to the trio when they went for the Stone. That *is* his particular kind of courage, after all. But I really put it in there because that was about the cruelest and most humiliating thing I could think of to do to Snape after having Harry manage to curse him. Finally, you cannot possibly imagine my gratitude at your comment about the tragedy of this. I personally think Harry has it worse. I've gotten a lot of Snape-fan comments that keep wanting me to punish Harry. They are angry and think he got away "scot free". I don't think so at all. Things were bad *before* he talked to Snape. Now... Thank you again, so much for this thoughtful review! You've absolutely made my day!

Reviewer: fawkes_07
Date: 09/12/06 11:08
Chapter: (one shot)

OUCH! Wow! I think Snape was right in Book 6, when he caught Harry using the SectumSempra curse. Underestimated, indeed! Love the role-reversal, I just hope Harry doesn't turn into the next Dark Lord in the sequel!

Author's Response: How did I miss this? Anyway, no, Harry is not going to be a Dark Lord. His psyche just sort of got... broken, briefly. He's spent all this time trying to get revenge on Snape for, well, everything, and then Snape pulls this -- and it's the truth. That's gotta hurt. Not that I'm siding with Harry on this, obviously... just, I do understand how it might be too much. And by the time it's not too much, there's really nothing he can do about it. I mean, one thing most of these stories forget is that, well, an Unforgivable is an Unforgivable.

Reviewer: SilentSempra
Date: 08/09/06 13:25
Chapter: (one shot)

That was good for tying up loose ends. It was well-written, and it explains everything! (Keep going. Good luck on the sequel, btw!)

Author's Response: Thanks! Sorry it took so long to get back to you, and perhaps you will not read this, but I do appreciate your comments and wish of luck! ~Vorona

Reviewer: cruciatusking
Date: 04/22/06 8:11
Chapter: (one shot)

very good. very cleverly explains the 'snape -good or bad?' deal, and ties it up neatly with the plot. i enjoyed it, and i hope to find more of your work!

Author's Response: Thank you! So far, that's the only thing I have, but I'm working on a sequel. Unfortunately, the sequel isn't working out so well, and I'm thinking of leaving it as it is.

Reviewer: ProfPosky
Date: 04/20/06 1:02
Chapter: (one shot)

I like the friendship you established between Snape and Regulus. I like the irony of Harry having also been a part of Dumbledore's death. It is a very interesting take on things.

Author's Response: Thanks!

Reviewer: Magical Maeve
Date: 04/19/06 8:42
Chapter: (one shot)

Wow. Beautifully constructed character piece. This had all the elements of post-HBP angst that I would expect from a final confrontation between Harry and Snape. And both of them so elegantly in character. This is very well written and I look forward to your next piece.

Author's Response: Well, I'm blushing now. Thank you.

Reviewer: KenTuck
Date: 04/18/06 20:31
Chapter: (one shot)

Vorona- This is amazing! I don't know how you could but you really should try to advertise it more. I'm more into Romance and Comedy fics but I really got into this one. I'm so glad that you are beta reading my work, when I see what you have done for yourself. Awesome work.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm glad you were able to get into it!

Reviewer: rita_skeeter
Date: 04/18/06 19:23
Chapter: (one shot)

Wow, this was fantastic! You're style is very natural and well-suited to the story. I've never thought of this reason for Snape killing Dumbledore before - it's certainly intriguing! This was a refreshing and unique fanfiction to read; it was very suspenseful and exciting. I particularly loved the end line - that was a fabulous way to end. Well done on a brilliant story!

Author's Response: Thank you! I think I'm speechless *grins*.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Unexploded Bombs by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Dudley Dursley has just experienced the death of his elderly father Vernon from...
Ginny's Big Decision by dg04 1st-2nd Years
After Dumbledore's Funeral, Harry tells Ginny that they can't be together anymore...
Little Lions by SexY_LydZ 6th-7th Years
On a stormy October evening, a letter, a late night trip to the library and...
FEATURED
Going Against Salazar's Grain by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
"Sometimes," said Dumbledore, "we sort too soon." Originally writtten for...
Whispers in the Night by lucca4 6th-7th Years
"Swear to me, Cissy. Swear you won't tell." It's a secret, and it haunts...
Fear and Loathing in Florida (Mostly Loathing) by minnabird 3rd-5th Years
Scabior and Greyback had to escape the Aurors somehow - they just hadn't expected...
Just Before Healing by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
With Hannah, things always go to yellow.
In Bloom by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
It figures that he ignores the other side of roses. Thorns fit to draw blood...
Magical by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ginny and her brothers sneak down the stairs to look at presents, but instead...
CATEGORIES