Reviews For Spider Web
Reviewer: keysers1girl
Date: 04/28/06 12:31
Chapter: Spider Web

Ummm....good idea I guess, but the whole Mugglenet thing and them reading about themselves was kind of dumb. Sorry. The idea of Hermione teaching Arthur Weasley about computers or other muggle things is a good idea though, I just think the Mugglenet thing was going a little too far.

Author's Response: Thanks for your review. There's really no need to be sorry for thinking the whole Mugglenet thing was stupid. You are definitely entitled to your opinion and it is nice to know what you thought didn't work in the story just as much as what you thought did work. So, thank you for taking the time to let me know your opinion.

Reviewer: lunafish
Date: 04/09/06 22:42
Chapter: Spider Web

Hi, K! Sorry it took so long to get over here, but I’m glad I finally made it because I really enjoyed this story. Mr. Weasley fascination for all things Muggle offers a wealth of humor, and you did a good job taking advantage of that. It’s funny how much we take for granted these days; I remember how it was when I first went back to school in the mid-90’s, though: I couldn’t believe how far the computer industry had come. Luckily, my college offered a beginning computer course that started with (seriously) “how to turn on the computer.” Arthur & company’s amazement here reminds me so much of what I felt during those first few classes. And who better to teach them about computers than Hermione? Even Harry probably doesn’t know what he’s missing since Dudley certainly doesn’t share.

I also liked the story’s organization. The dialogue was a nice way to pull the reader right into the story, while the narrative does an excellent job of giving us the background details of how they ended up in this situation. Then you (and Hermione) demonstrate the kind of hands-on teaching that inspires pupils and gives them confidence to continue learning on their own. She demonstrates, but then let’s Mr. W. experiment on his own. How funny that they’ve found Mugglenet! I like the idea that Rowling has somehow tapped into this secret world and is sharing it with the rest of us, but the inhabitants of that world (aside from the diligent researchers like Hermione) have no idea that their lives are on display. I hope they’re not too squicked out by all the stuff we write about them—lol!

Finally, you wrap things up nicely…by not wrapping them up. As Arthur looks back longingly, you leave us with the distinct impression that Arthur is now hooked. I see him pursuing this new interest every chance he gets, and wouldn’t be surprised if he started up a site of his own before long. In other words, your story leaves us with the impression that life goes on in the world you’ve created. Well done, you!

Author's Response: Hey, N! I'm so sorry that I haven't responded before now. I made a pretty horrible buddy this time and I feel bad about that. Your review is absolutely fantastic. I'm so glad you enjoyed reading this and liked the ending. The fact that you picked up on the open-endedness of the end of the story really makes me happy. I left it that way so people could draw their own conclusions about what Arthur would do now that he's had a taste of the internet. I really appreciate your review and was delighted to get it! :)

Reviewer: miss padfoot
Date: 04/07/06 8:51
Chapter: Spider Web

I didn't know your first fic was up. I would have reviewed sooner! Mr. Weasley was great. Here are two quotes that had me ROTFL:
When nothing happened he turned to Hermione with a dejected expression and asked, “Did I do something wrong? Nothing happened.”
Poor Mr. Weasley!
“I have to click a mouse? Wouldn’t it squeak if I tried to click it? Besides, I don’t see a mouse around here.”
So Mr.Weasley-ish.

Just one suggestion, though. Harry seems to be quiet throughout the fic. You could have made him say something when Hermione says that there was a site about Harry or something like that. Your one-shot is very together, but you could have expanded it a bit, you know? Like in the middle of her reading, someone makes a comment, or something like that. It ended too soon for my liking, still, was an awesome humour fic!

Author's Response: Hey, P, thanks for the review. I'm really glad you liked it and thought Mr. Weasley was done so well. The comment about the mouse was one that had me laughing while I was writing it. As for your suggestion, I think you are quite right, Harry is very quiet. The reason for that and the somewhat abrupt ending is that this was supposed to be a drabble, from the 'I Challenge Thee...' drabble thread, of Hermione teaching Mr. Weasley how to use a computer with Harry, Ron, and Ginny also present. As I was writing it, though, I just couldn't keep it drabble length, but wrapped it up pretty quickly so I could call it drabble-ish and I just didn't think too much about revising it before I submitted it for posting. Now that I've read your review, I realize there was so much I could've added since I was going to post it as a one-shot instead of just a drabble. Thanks for pointing it all out to me! You're great! Thanks again for the review! :)

Reviewer: JC_Cainstone
Date: 04/06/06 9:39
Chapter: Spider Web

It was funny and interesting, but surely Harry wouldn't "ooh and aah" as 1) he grew up with muggles and 2) in "Stone" he talks about maybe being able to have a go on Dudley's computer, good story though! Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I really appreciate your criticism, but I did have a reason for Harry's reaction. In PS/SS, he talks about having a go, but he never gets the chance. So, while he grew up with Muggles, he had probably never experienced the internet. But your criticism is valid and he may not have reacted that way. It's just the way I picture him reacting, and I thought it was funnier that way. Thanks again!

Reviewer: Snotori
Date: 04/01/06 20:04
Chapter: Spider Web

Ha ha, that was funny. I'd love to see Arthur try and work the internet. Well written and write more please.

Author's Response: The idea of Arthur working on the internet is really funny. I can see so many things going wrong, like clicking on a pop-up. Thanks for the review. Sorry it took me so long to respond.

Reviewer: Dara
Date: 03/27/06 15:21
Chapter: Spider Web

Wow! That made me laugh out loud! Whose house was it? You didn't say. Hmm, I wonder what the Weasleys would think if Hermione told them the "arrow" was called a cursor. Maybe they'd think "curser." Funny, when I was very young and first heard of the web, I thought it was a spider web too. 10/10 this was really funny!

Author's Response: Dara, thank you so much for your review. Reading about how you laughed out loud put the biggest smile on my face. They were in Hermione's house. Also, your thought about the "cursor" "curser" mix-up is pretty funny. I bet the Weasleys would've thought that's exactly what she meant. Thanks again for the review....it definitely made my day better!

Reviewer: hpaddict626
Date: 03/27/06 1:22
Chapter: Spider Web

cool...the fact that the characters got to read the story they were in....wonder how did that feel? haha....

Author's Response: Thanks for leaving a review, hpaddict626. I really appreciate knowing that you liked the story. I think it would be really weird to read a story about myself...kind of like reading an unofficial biography or something, except that fanfic goes so far beyond that. I hope they would've laughed at whatever the story contained - I never really thought about it. Again, thanks for the review.

Reviewer: thisisfun
Date: 03/26/06 21:19
Chapter: Spider Web

Mugglenet is the awsomest. Story? Loved it! So child like so new and amasing. Cool. And Now to think of it the object of clicking a real mouse is kinda gross

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for the review, thisisfun. The thought of even touching a real mouse is really gross to me, which is why I thought it would be funny for Ginny to make the comment about clicking a mouse. I'm so glad you enjoyed the story. Thanks for reviewing and letting me know because it really makes my day!

Reviewer: sirius_star
Date: 03/26/06 11:55
Chapter: Spider Web

yeah, i really liked that! its a great idea for a story...i'd love it if there were more chapters. one thing though...Harry wouldn't be amazed by the internet cos he grew up with muggles. really good though, i enjoyed it!!

Author's Response: Hey, sirius_star, thanks for the review. I'm glad you liked. The only reason I have Harry as being amazed by the internet is that he was never allowed to get near Dudley's computer and, therefore, wouldn't have been able to ever look at the internet, though he probably would've heard about it. Once again, thanks for the review. It makes me happy to know people enjoyed the story.

Reviewer: kaammini_the_kreacher
Date: 03/25/06 6:27
Chapter: Spider Web

That was so great! The only complaint I have is that it should be longer!!! Really enjoyed that! Thanks

Author's Response: I'm glad that you enjoyed the story. It is always nice to know that it is enjoyable. Thank you so much for taking the time to let me know how much you enjoyed it...it really brightens my day!

Reviewer: alla
Date: 03/23/06 19:32
Chapter: Spider Web

i really thought that was interesting and funny! i thought that they would know a little more about the internet but that was really good! 10!!!

Author's Response: Thank you for your review. I really appreciate the fact that you took your time to let me know that you enjoyed the story. My take was that the Weasleys wouldn't know much about the internet as they don't really know much about the things Muggles use instead of magic. Anyway, thank you again for your review.

Reviewer: ladyofthebookworms
Date: 03/23/06 9:18
Chapter: Spider Web

Aaah, oh well, it's good as it is. I have a very complecated theory on how we could know about Harry, and if it were true it would give the Ministry fits.

Author's Response: It sounds like your theory would be an interesting one to hear as I haven't really thought about that before.

Reviewer: ania potter
Date: 03/23/06 8:23
Chapter: Spider Web

really interesting...but i'm surprised...Hermione showed them mugglenet?how did the muggles knw abwt Harry anyway?unless...Hermione made it herself....oh well!doesen't matter...good story though...hope you'll make a sequel...

Author's Response: I'm glad you thought my little story was interesting enough to warrant a review. As for Hermione showing them Mugglenet, she didn't really it to them, it just came up. It was her homepage. I never really thought about the possibility that Muggles might not have known about Harry Potter. Anyway, thank you for your review it definitely gave me some things to think about.

Reviewer: Silver_Quill
Date: 03/22/06 20:37
Chapter: Spider Web

Heh, I love it! Mr. Weasley must've been in just complete awe the entire time he was in Hermione's house! I wonder what Harry would have thought about half the fanfiction out there, especially with the shipping. Great story! 10/10 ~Alexa

Author's Response: I am very glad you enjoyed my story. Mr. Weasley was definitely awed by what Hermione was showing him. I also wonder what Harry's reaction would be to the numerous stories that have been written about him by fans. Thank you so much for taking the time to review my story. I truly appreciate it.

Reviewer: ladyofthebookworms
Date: 03/22/06 9:37
Chapter: Spider Web

Ha, Ha, I'm the first to revieeeew! Please hurry up with the next chapter, this is very funny! (What would Harry think of that 'Sexy Snape' video?)

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review. I really appreciate the fact that you took the time to leave one. As for the next chapter, I only ever meant for this to be a one-shot. I'm sorry to disappoint you.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES