Reviews For Spider Web
Reviewer: Mary-ann3112
Date: 06/21/09 18:36
Chapter: Spider Web

Ahhh! That was cute. I adore Mr Weasley's obsession with all things muggle. Thanks a lot. =]

Reviewer: HermioneGrangerfan
Date: 10/04/08 11:58
Chapter: Spider Web

good :)

Reviewer: go go ravenclaw
Date: 01/15/08 11:37
Chapter: Spider Web

That is wonderful!

Reviewer: Athenas Quill
Date: 10/02/07 17:40
Chapter: Spider Web

this is so funny! a job well done!

Author's Response: Thanks! I hope it made you laugh! :)

Reviewer: Link Potter
Date: 09/21/07 12:54
Chapter: Spider Web

haha funny

Author's Response: I'm glad you thought so! :)

Reviewer: Ragnei
Date: 07/08/07 18:29
Chapter: Spider Web

You should make a sequel, it would be hilarious.

Next right it about how they made the web pages like MuggleNet

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for the suggestion about what to write for a sequel. I will give it some consideration when I hae a free minute away from all of the analytical essays I have to write for my degree. Thanks for the review! :)

Reviewer: actingwizard232323
Date: 06/04/07 17:59
Chapter: Spider Web

very well-written and sweet story, i always did wonder how wizards would react to the internet if they ever discovered it! i was looking through reviews for the story Seduced by the Toerog and kept seeing your name on very long reviews. once i actually read them, i was pleasently surprised by your detailed writting and wondered if you were an author yourself. obviously i have a good eye for authors because i can see you are! amazing job and i look forward to reading your other stories :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for all your praise. It actually made me blush a little bit. I'm glad you enjoyed my stories and I wish I had more of my writing to offer you since you seem to have enjoyed it so much. Thanks again! :)

Reviewer: maze
Date: 06/01/07 10:22
Chapter: Spider Web

I had a good laugh.The story is believeable and can actually imagine it happening.Good job.

Author's Response: I'm really glad you laughed. It makes me smile that my writing was able to do that. Thanks! :)

Reviewer: _bookwormgirl_
Date: 03/26/07 21:18
Chapter: Spider Web

that was cute! good job!

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

Reviewer: BeachBabe
Date: 03/25/07 14:37
Chapter: Spider Web

That was so cute! I love the little mouse incedent!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed that part! :)

Reviewer: sayiansirius
Date: 02/25/07 15:39
Chapter: Spider Web

*LOL*

Bravo, Karin!! This was simply funny! I think it’s a great idea to write a story based on a muggle invention and Mr. Weasley trying to figure out to use it since something like it is always mentioned in the books. Even after reading the summary, I didn’t know what to expect and I’m truly glad that I read it.

I tried to contain myself from laughing out loud but after this line…

“Well, you need to go to the blue ‘e’ on the screen and that will open up the internet.”

…I just couldn’t help myself. I could imagine Hermione teaching Mr. Weasley all this and could actually see it all happening. It’s strange how we all know these things about a cp but to actually read it being taught to someone who has NO idea what to do with the “box”, it’s priceless.

“I have to click a mouse? Wouldn’t it squeak if I tried to click it? Besides, I don’t see a mouse around here.” Mr Weasley quickly looked around the computer desk trying to find a mouse to click so he could get to the internet.
I literally gave myself a *facepalm* after reading this. This had to be one of the best lines in the story. Imagine clicking a mouse and it’s tail attached to the cp. Simply brilliant line.

I feel very VERY bad for Hermione. I can’t imagine myself in this predicament and if I was, I’d be on the floor rolling around from laughing so hard at their ignorance of the computer. Hermione has to be brave to take on this job.

Apart from the hilarity of the story, the characterization and flow was fairly well. Mr. Weasley’s enthusiasm at everything was on point and so was Hermione’s character. I like how you included a bit of romance between Ron and Hermione when Mr. Weasley pressed the “e” on the screen. *sniggers*

Nevertheless, I think some additions could have been made to the story to improve it. You could have added some more things to make it funnier. There are a lot of things that happens when you turn on the computer such as when the screen says the “Microsoft” word and when it’s loading. You could have added some great humor with that. Also, maybe the company name of the computer could have had a play. Like “Apple”; you could have done a bit with that. This would have also helped the flow a bit because right now, it seems a teeny bit rushed.

Also, you could have let Hermione read a fiction from MN. It would have been hilarious to see their expressions to some of the stories on here.

I personally like the ending of this. It makes us wonder what Mr. Weasley will do next with the computer and what muggle invention he will learn about next.

Great job!!


Author's Response:

KC, I'm so glad you enjoyed the story so much. Do you know that I wasn't sure it was funny enough to be put in Humor when I was getting ready to submit it? I just didn't know if other people would find it as funny as I had when I was writing it. Of course, the reviews I've had have proved that it really was as funny as I thought.

I have to agree with you about Hermione. She really was a trooper to not end up on the floor laughint hysterically, which is what I probably would've done too, just like you. But, maybe it's because she understood just how fascinating things from another world could be because she had probably had somewhat similar reactions to finding out about being a witch and everything in the wizarding world.

Another thing I was a little worried about was the characterization because I wanted it to seem real and not over the top. There were a few places, in my mind, where that could've happened and I tried hard to keep it from happening, and it seems like it worked. I'm glad you thought I did so well.

Thanks again for your wonderful review. I'm so glad we were SPEW Buddies. :)

Reviewer: love_is_torture
Date: 02/24/07 22:23
Chapter: Spider Web

That is such a good story! I love it! You should write more stories ther are great!

Author's Response: Thanks! It's always nice to hear that people want more. :)

Reviewer: nysuperstarz
Date: 02/23/07 16:13
Chapter: Spider Web

Let me start by saying that this story was very entertaining to read and it was quite an enjoyable experience. It was quite creative and light hearted to say the least. Mr. Weasley's fascination with Muggle objects was bound to lead him to a computer sooner or later and you did a wonderful job of showing his reaction to the "Spider Web"

Hermione, who had been slightly distracted by Ron’s proximity to her, turned back to Mr Weasley and tried not to laugh when she realized what he had tried to do.

It was a believable and true to canon. I especially like the way you added just a hint of romance to the story when you said that Hermione was was distracted by Ron, as quoted above.

I also loved Mr. Weasley's little reactions to everything that was happening on the computer screen, it really portrayed his personality and he was completely in character through out the entire chapter.

This was my favorite part from the chapter...

“I have to click a mouse? Wouldn’t it squeak if I tried to click it? Besides, I don’t see a mouse around here.” Mr Weasley quickly looked around the computer desk trying to find a mouse to click so he could get to the internet.

“Are you sure about that mouse, Hermione?” Ginny asked tentatively. The idea of having to click on a rodent to use a Muggle computer seemed very strange to her, even though she thought a lot of what Muggles did was strange.

It was hilarious! We take things like that for granted and it was nice to see there reaction to a "mouse" He was being practical and not going totally over-board OoC but it really showed his reaction to something that he has never been introduced to before. It was true to his character and Ginny's too. It was very like Ginny to be skeptical of Hermione's idea and because she took the word "mouse" literally it was very funny. The fact that most Muggles would never touch a rodent let alone use it for an everyday thing like the computer is hilarious.

The thing that really brought me in to the story was the fact that Hermione's homepage was Mugglenet. I found that extremely funny. I mean really, just think, if the real Harry Potter or Hermione Granger were to read all of the stories we write about their world and if they were to see the number of people who come to this site everyday they would have quite a bit of a reaction. It really got me thinking about that and I just started imagining their reactions and I just couldn't stop smiling at what they might think of some of the things we do here.

“I didn’t know Muggles had images that could move,” Ron stated, casting an accusing glance at his two best friends.

I liked that part. Though I don't really think Ron would be "accusing" per say, maybe a bit more intrigued.

“How did you get all those pictures into that box?” Mr Weasley asked, the wonder evident in his voice. He was clearly awestruck by the number of icons on Hermione’s computer.

Ha! I really loved that part because I could relate to it. My laptop has a billion programs on it and icons covering most of my start-up screen so I could just imagine him saying that.

“Hey, listen to this. Somebody has written a story about us.”

Hermione proceeded to read the story aloud while the others listened intently. By the time she had finished, which had taken some time with all the interruptions from the others, the sky had turned dark.

A suggestion is that you could have elaborated on that a bit. It would have made for quite a funny ending if you had them read a Romance fic various pairings in it. Any fic really, you could have shown their reactions to what we write not pointing at a particular story of course, just in general. That might have added to the story and made it even better.

Over-all I really enjoyed this story, it had an accurate portrayal of all of it's characters. Their reactions were extremely believable and funny. The fact that you added Mugglenet to the story really brought me into it. I was able to relate to it and it was an enjoyable experience.

~Roop

Author's Response: Hey Roop. Thanks for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed the story so much and thought I did such a good job with the characters. I couldn't help adding that bit about Hermione's reaction to Ron - it just seemed to fit. As for the mouse thing, it just had me cracking up while I was writing it because I remembered my reaction to that name for a computer mouse. When I first started really using computers, not just the MS Dos they used when I was really young, I was like Why do they call it a mouse? Of course, what has made it funnier recently is a commercial I've seen a few times where a few other animals in a pet shop are trying to use a real mouse as a computer mouse. Anyway, thanks again for the review and all the lovely feedback, including the suggestions on how to improve the story when I get around to revising it. :)

Reviewer: Vivvie
Date: 02/16/07 6:54
Chapter: Spider Web

:D
That was hilarious!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it. :)

Reviewer: snufflesismyidol
Date: 02/03/07 21:09
Chapter: Spider Web

Haha, that was really good; I enjoyed it. It seemed very much like something they would do, and it's an interesting idea for a topic.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed the story and that you think the characters stay in character - that's what I was going for. :)

Reviewer: Moonlight Goddess
Date: 01/30/07 17:59
Chapter: Spider Web

computers and weasleys now thats interesting!

Author's Response: I have to agree! There is just so much possibility when you put Arthur around all types of Muggle machines. Thanks for the review. :)

Reviewer: lily_evans34
Date: 01/28/07 14:30
Chapter: Spider Web

*giggles*

I’ve read and reread this, and that’s all I can come up with. *giggles*

[And thus Rachel begins her foray into reviewing a humour fic.]

That was such a cute story. I love reading about Mr Weasley and Muggle inventions—it’s always great to see how people have him react to using certain inventions. I thought the computer was a great thing to write about, because, obviously, all of us pretty much live on the computer. It’s funny to think about how something as simple as a mouse to us could be complicated to someone who’s never heard of it. I thought it was funny when he was looking around, trying to find a rodent to click. In regards to that part… “I have to click a mouse? Wouldn’t it squeak if I tried to click it? Besides, I don’t see a mouse around here.” For some reason, I think that line would work better if you don’t use the past tense, and say ‘Won’t it squeak if I try to click it?’ I dunno…I suppose that’s just a personal preference, but it still caught my eye.

Another line that I couldn’t help giggling at was: However, she had a feeling he wasn’t paying much attention to her words as she heard a loud exclamation come from him as the monitor came to life. I love how you personified the monitor in this sentence—it had a very hilarious effect! Even though your explanations are simple in this fic, you still manage to give us a clear image of them all gathered around the computer.

I loved how you had Hermione’s homepage be ‘Mugglenet’! All I can think to write is…LOL! *tries to come up with something more intelligent*. It’s really interesting, the way you have it written—all of them looking at a page about themselves. It’s sort of like an alternate-reality kind of thing. I thought that was clever how you had them read fanfiction as well—it gives me an image of Harry, Hermione, and Mr Weasley reading something I’ve written. *giggles*

This was a wonderful humour fic, Karin, because you took a simple idea—Mr Weasley using a computer—and didn’t make it too complicated, but yet managed to write a very entertaining piece, here! I honestly don’t think my review can convey how much I enjoyed reading this, but, well, I really did! I hope to read more by you very soon!

*hugs SPEWly buddy*

Author's Response: *hugs Rachel back* I'm so glad you enjoyed my writing. I did think about the verb tense thing you brought up and I can see your point. My use of the past tense has come from all the analytical writing I've had to do for all of my English classes. I've gotten so comfortable with the past tense that I pretty much write everything in the it. *sigh* Anyway, the fact that you liked the story makes me smile, and I'm glad you reviewed it. :)

Reviewer: fuzz_nose
Date: 01/17/07 11:49
Chapter: Spider Web

Cool story. 7/10

Author's Response: Thanks! :)

Reviewer: DogLover4Life
Date: 01/14/07 16:55
Chapter: Spider Web

In my head I just went "awwww" when Mr. Weasley touched the screen, and Hermione being distracted by Ron.. And I just awww-ed again when Harry blushed and when Mr. Weasley took the mouse from Hermione.

I loved the ending! So... It was sort of like; they were reading what was actually happening to them? I would be sort of scared if there was a story and an entire website about me. Good thing they didn't come across a romance fic. That probably would have scarred them for life. I bet Mr. Weasley will be visiting a lot of muggle libraries to use the computers... Oh that would be funny!

I wish this review was… better but it’s not. Fabulous story! A lot of humour fics lack substance…. But this, this was smart and funny.

Author's Response: You know, I'm so happy to finally get a review that comments about how Hermione and Ron. I was worried I was being a bit too subtle with that, but I didn't want to make it blatant. So, thanks for noticing! Also, thanks for the overall review. I'm really glad you enjoyed my little story and thought it was funny. :)

Reviewer: LuckyRatTail
Date: 01/09/07 12:34
Chapter: Spider Web

I was just looking for a light-hearted read about the Weasleys and I came across this - it was perfect! Very sweet and funny; I loved the fact that they all though the internet was a spider web, and that Hermione has Mugglenet as her home page. I think my favourite line has to be “I have to click a mouse? Wouldn’t it squeak if I tried to click it?". Well done ;o)

Author's Response: It tickles me that my story turned out to be just what you were looking for. I had so much fun writing it, especially the part about the mouse, and it only makes it that much more fun to me to know that others have enjoyed it. Thanks for your review! :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
MIT: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
Through the Mines by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Tom Riddle remarks on the power he held while at the orphanage and at school.Written...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES