Reviews For Voice of Truth
Reviewer: LadyAlesha
Date: 07/17/07 11:40
Chapter: Tell A Different Story

Honestly? I think I would have preferred the previous chapter to be the ending of this story. This doesn’t mean that this chapter was completely horrible, it was nice and all, but it felt like a bit much towards the end. I really liked the newspaper articles. The two of them on their own would have made a splendid epilogue, in my opinion. Being a free-lance writer for the local newspaper myself, I really liked the articles. They were quick, easy reads and contained all the important information, along with a little something to make them memorable and not boring, like some news items tend to be. You did a very good job with them.

Now I wonder why Ron was playing this badly though. Was it really because of the wedding or did something else capture his attention? Oh and I totally can’t see Harry and Severus sitting down to tea to talk about Lily, but, as Hermione said, one can always hope.^^

Bless Minerva McGonagall. She has really come through for Hermione and Severus and although I haven’t mentioned her in any of my previous reviews, I think you did a very good job of characterising her.

Well, as this is the end I have to say that I really enjoyed this story. I don’t think I’ve ever read so many chapters in succession while writing reviews after each of them, this should show you how much I liked your work.

Reviewer: LadyAlesha
Date: 07/17/07 11:24
Chapter: To Stand Before a Giant

Aww, that was adorable! And quite a big public display of affection for someone who dislikes them as much as Snape, but a night in prison and the possibility of being sentenced for murder had to have some effect on him. I’m just glad he was told that Hermione was the one who found the evidence that proved his innocence and that he didn’t believe she was the one who tipped the aurors off to where he was.

I laughed when I read what Ron proposed Hermione do in order to pass the time. It was such a random thought, it lightened the mood and made the suspense not as stifling as it had been before.

I love how you handled the memories they found. In none of them Dumbledore actually tells Snape to kill him, but they still show enough for everyone to be able to guess the rest. It wouldn’t have been like Dumbledore to have a memory with Snape vowing to kill him in it just lying around somewhere, this way was much more Dumbledore’s style.

So here it is finally, the theory that Snape was in love with Lily and wanted to protect her so he went to Dumbledore. I’m usually not one to theorize, but that theory doesn’t seem too far-fetched and at least in this story it works very well.

One more chapter left. I have no idea what needs to be explained in it and I would perhaps have stopped reading here, totally forgetting that there was one more chapter left if you hadn’t said it. This chapter the way it is can stand as an ending to this story as well, in my opinion, but now I’m curious to see what there is left to say to make it a whole chapter. *runs off to read final chapter*

Reviewer: LadyAlesha
Date: 07/17/07 11:04
Chapter: Holding Out His Hand

I love how you have Hermione think the same thing about Ron’s reaction that I mentioned in my last review *giggles* I swear I didn’t read this chapter before writing it, and I’m happy with your explanation for his somewhat strange behaviour.

I almost felt sorry for Harry in this chapter. First he overhears Hermione telling Ginny she was afraid Harry would tamper with Dumbledore’s memory so that Snape couldn’t be proven innocent and then she has to bring up Sirius, which of course would still hurt him even years after his death. Sure, what Harry did wasn’t alright in any sense of the word, but none of this is easy for him either. So yeah, what I’m trying to say is that I’m glad you showed this side of him and let your readers feel for him for a change. Harry hasn’t been shown in a very positive light in this story before, so I liked that he clearly states wanting to protect Hermione as one of his motives for withholding information from the other aurors here, he isn’t quite as selfish and heartless as he seemed before and for that I am grateful.

When I first read the flashback about how the relationship between Hermione and Severus started I was thinking, “Surely she isn’t saying that in front of Ron and Harry? They would lose it!” *grins* Ginny is the right person to say this to though. Hermione has been her confidant before, during their Hogwarts years, and helped her with her crush on Harry, so I think if anyone Ginny would be willing to listen to Hermione now.

Standing upright, she hastily made her way towards to bedroom, certain that he could find his own way out of her flat. I believe you mean the bolded word to be ‘the’, not ‘to’.

I pause in my story and look at Ginny, who now has silly grin on her face. Sorry to be so nit-picky, but to make this sentence grammatically correct, there has to be an article in front of ‘silly grin’, making it ‘a silly grin’.

I’m getting more and more excited the closer to the final chapter I get. I can’t wait to see what Severus will have to say to Hermione once they meet again after this whole disaster.

Reviewer: LadyAlesha
Date: 07/17/07 10:46
Chapter: Having the Strength to Stand

Yes! Finally Ron and Ginny are there as well. And it’s about time Hermione got some support, especially Harry’s comment about when she started shagging Snape was totally inappropriate. Also, Ginny comforting Hermione was very in character for her and showed a completely different Ginny than the one that was hinted at in the first chapter. She sounded rather self-important and vain then, but this show of support for her friend connected her with the character we know her to be in canon.

So I was wrong about Snape telling her his story at his own pace. I’m not too disappointed about it though. He seems to have been a very meticulous student himself, so maybe he appreciated the effort Hermione made to understand what happened or he was just glad to get his side of the story heard. He must have been very lonely, being on the run for so many years.

What struck me as odd was how soon he became downright friendly and didn’t take Hermione’s wand anymore. He probably is the better dueller, but the ‘good morning’ on the same day as not taking her wand seemed a bit much. I like how they became friends first though, although you have to doubt if Snape really wanted her friendship at first or was just glad to not be alone all the time and then later started to consider her a friend.

I would have expected Ron to be a bit more vocal about this whole situation, but it is entirely probable for him and Ginny to stay out of an argument between Harry and Hermione, especially when both are this angry.

“They are nothing but odd, spurting, twirling knick-knacks. What could there possibly among them that I haven’t yet seen?” In this last question I think you need to put ‘be’ after ‘possibly’ for it to be grammatically correct.

I hope Harry relents and they go looking for that memory soon. I don’t think there’s much left for Hermione to tell him to convince him.

Reviewer: LadyAlesha
Date: 07/17/07 10:25
Chapter: The Realm of the Unknown

I’m liking this story more the more is revealed of Hermione’s history with Snape, if you might call it that. I can clearly see Hermione sitting in the library at Hogwarts, trying to decipher the meaning behind Dumbledore’s journal while making her own copy of it to take home with her. She must have been quite frustrated when the journal led to even more questions she didn’t have answers to, but also the puzzle Dumbledore’s journal proved to be must have given her joy to figure out.

Your assessment of taking the job as a teacher was so very Hermione! I can’t really see her as a teacher and having to deal with students who are either not able to or unwilling to learn what she has to teach them. The post as a researcher of dark curses, at least that’s what I understood she is doing, suits her a lot more. Neville on the other hand would make a very good teacher, I think. He could only have problems with some of the more outspoken Slytherins, but other than that the job suits him very well.

I love the idea of Snape saving Dumbledore’s life after he destroyed the ring of Gaunt. Dumbledore generally seemed to trust Snape more than Minerva, at least I always get this impression in the books, and having him go to Snape after destroying the horcrux shows this trust very well. Out of all the people in the Order and the Death Eaters, Snape is the most likely to know about horcruxes, in my opinion. Lucius Malfoy and Bellatrix Lestrange would probably try to make some of their own and Voldemort wouldn’t want that, so I don’t think they know about horcruxes.

I’m virtually sitting on the edge of my seat waiting to find out what Snape will tell Hermione at this next meeting. I have the feeling Hermione’s notes and questions will annoy him more than anything and he will only tell her what he wants to say and in the order he wants to say it, but it should prove interesting nevertheless.

Reviewer: LadyAlesha
Date: 07/17/07 10:02
Chapter: Do Not Be Afraid

I have to say I’m glad you changed the format in which you tell this story. If all of it had been a first person account I think it would have gotten quite tiring after a while. As it is, telling Hermione’s story in flashbacks is very refreshing and gives it life.

Snape’s distrustfulness is very well done. I like how he was more careful about returning to the graveyard after Hermione came across him there. What I do wonder though, is why he only confronted her after two years, why not sooner, when she was still coming to the graveyard more regularly?

Where I typically stick with my brains and logic, I am a woman… and there had been something telling me that Severus Snape could truly be trusted. I would have expected Hermione to be a bit more cautious. It’s not like her to trust a feeling like that. Or maybe it is alright for her to trust him once, but I don’t think that she would have been as trustful after he hexed her when she first came across him. I would have at least expected her to be very aware of her surroundings whenever she is in the graveyard.

Harry’s reactions to her story were very well done. He made comments at the appropriate moments and seemed truly worried for his friend, not just angry that she saw a murderer quite a few times without telling anyone. His characterisation is getting better, I think. He’s still not happy about what Hermione did, but I think the way he behaves in this chapter is more in character than the huge rants in the previous chapter, because after all even Harry has to grow up some time.

Walking the same path that she had the following year, she forced herself to stay calm as she neared Dumbledore’s final resting place. I think this should be ‘the previous year’, because ‘the following year’ would be the year two years after she met Snape there for the first time, not the year of the first meeting.

I wonder what Hermione will find out when she does as Snape tells her and what he himself will reveal to her the following year. You’re very much keeping my interest with this story.

Reviewer: LadyAlesha
Date: 07/17/07 9:42
Chapter: Onto the Crashing Waves

Another nice chapter. I actually like how short the chapters are. Somehow I always read quicker the shorter the chapters are, a 3000-4000 word chapter takes me a lot longer than three chapters around 1000 words in length, don’t ask me why.

Hermione and Harry’s characterisations were ok. I liked how Hermione let him rant and only started talking when he was relatively calm again. Where Harry is furious and rash, Hermione remains calm and thinks about how she is going to say what she has to say, this is very much like her.

Harry jumps to attention, unable to contain himself. “You’ve been plotting against me, your best friend, for that long?” he shouts. This line irked me. It seemed more like something Ron would say, at least the ‘plotting against me’ part, I don’t think either Ron or Harry would call themselves Hermione’s best friend in a situation like this though. It just seems odd.

I do agree that Hermione would have had a considerably harder time getting Harry, Ron and Ginny to listen to her if all four of them were in the room together. I don’t think they would ever calm down sufficiently.

That was how long I actively started on the project, though it wasn’t how long I’d been thinking about it. The wording is slightly awkward here, I would suggest replacing ‘started’ with ‘worked’, because a person doesn’t start doing something for a time period of three years, they start it and then work on it for three years.

“Well,” I continue, “you had also told all of us the reason that Dumbledore had trusted Snape. I’m sorry, Harry, but the reasoning, even at that time, just didn’t set right with me. The bolded word should be ‘sit’, I think.

Yes, I’d like to know how well Hermione knows Snape as well. She needs a bit more to motivate her than just a weird feeling whenever Harry talks about Snape, I think, and I’m excited to see her reveal the whole truth.

Reviewer: LadyAlesha
Date: 07/17/07 9:23
Chapter: All This For Our Glory

I became aware of this story back when it was featured and wrote it down as something to look into when I have some spare time on my hands and no story to read. At the moment I’m very interested in different Hermione pairings and as I have never read a Hermione/Snape before I thought now would be a good time to read yours.

I like the first chapter. It’s a very nice opening and shows a lot of Hermione’s character. Her not liking these Ministry events fit her character perfectly. She’s really not a person to want to be in the spotlight and I can see her (and Harry too) being very reluctant about going to these functions, because they serve no real purpose. Lavender on the other hand is just the type of person who would love nothing more than an occasion to talk to the press about how she dated a famous hero.

Ginny’s still around, too. To hear her tell it, we should’ve been dubbed the Unstoppable Foursome, but Harry was right to not have her involved in the end. This is the only character I had problems with. I see Ginny as very down to earth and not someone who would make herself seem more important than she was. I also can’t see her willing to talk about the war at any great length, sorry.

I’m curious how and where Snape was apprehended. He surely isn’t someone easily caught, as you show in your story, because the war has long been over and still he was on the loose. I can totally see Harry twisting whatever was in Hermione’s report so that Snape really looks like the murderer Harry believes him to be and regardless of what Hermione will say, I can’t see him changing his mind. For him Snape murdered Dumbledore and Harry has been known to carry grudges, especially against people like Snape, whom he never liked.

Nice first chapter and I’m interested in what length Hermione will go to to prove Snape’s innocence.

Reviewer: Snuffles_snogger
Date: 07/09/07 21:14
Chapter: Tell A Different Story

Excellent story. i like your style of writing. it's very unique.

Reviewer: TheTrioLivesOn
Date: 05/30/07 6:19
Chapter: Tell A Different Story

that was cute, and i usually hate HG/SS fics...

Reviewer: hpbooks4ever
Date: 05/27/07 18:04
Chapter: All This For Our Glory

I love this story. This is one of the fanfictions that actually make sense, and I always thought the same about dumbledore's death. I would give this 5/5

Reviewer: i_pfft
Date: 05/26/07 16:58
Chapter: All This For Our Glory

great story.
i love how the chapter names are taken from the song voice of truth.
:D

Reviewer: GinnysGal
Date: 05/21/07 20:49
Chapter: Tell A Different Story

I really liked it. Which suprised me, at first i didnt, i felt it was just a glorified way of getting you opinions on the book to the world. Which it was, but it was well written. And...good.

Reviewer: ginnyp0tter
Date: 05/21/07 16:44
Chapter: Tell A Different Story

Wow. Very interesting twist, but I love your theories about why Snape killed Dumbledore, why Voldemort would have let Lily live, etc. Wasn't expecting Hermione and Snape to be married, but oh well, that's the mark of a truly good story--you can't guess the ending. I liked it a lot.

Reviewer: ByMerlinsBeard
Date: 05/13/07 16:38
Chapter: Tell A Different Story

The only truly bad thing I have to say about this story is that it has shaken my confidence in Snape's guilt. It's quite impressive how well this story is supported by canon--you didn't mess with the canon plot, and the characters are quite in character. Making each chapter contain a canon quote made the story all the more believable (even if it wasn't your idea, you made it work well).

I have to admit that I'm not sure Draco should be supported by Hermione in the way he is in the last chapter. It's believable that Severus could prove that Draco was more innocent than he probably seemed to the Wizarding World, but I find it hard to believe that Hermione would so easily forgive him for everything he did during their years at Hogwarts. True, Draco probably isn't as evil as many other Death Eaters, but that wouldn't make him completely innocent. He did some bad things while trying to protect him mother, but he also did things to Hermione he has no excuse for. All of that said, while I don't think Draco has a role in this story, I think you could make a strong case for him in his own story.

Nice use of flashbacks. I see why you used them--some parts of this story could not have been as vividly spoken by Hermione, at least not to Harry and Ron.

I'm so happy that this was featured. I doubt I'd have found it on my own. (I'll favorite it on the off-chance that it will help other people on this site discover it.) Thanks for the perfect break from studying for finals, Ginny_W!

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 05/12/07 15:16
Chapter: Tell A Different Story

Aw. I love how believable you make the Hermione/Snape relationship and how you have the flashbacks along with current bits. Plus, I really liked how IC everyone was! :D I really enjoyed reading this fic; your writing was really magnificent!

Reviewer: Crookshanks93
Date: 05/11/07 16:38
Chapter: Tell A Different Story

this was a great story! i rele liked it! although, i hav 2 agree with the others...hemione/snape is not a fanciful ship....in fact its kinda creepy. also, i didn't much like how harry and ron were complete gits. harry was a jerk and ron seemed like his brain was in the process of leaking out his ears. but other than that, it was a pretty good story!

Reviewer: Ohh
Date: 05/09/07 16:33
Chapter: To Stand Before a Giant

Hey -- nice story, though I can't say Hermione/Snape is my favorite ship. Nor can I say that I like Ron's behavior, but this is your story, and a GOOD one.

Anyway, was there a point to you putting young Dumbledore in this chapter? Heh, don't think I didn't notice the (not looking for precise wording, here) vaguely familiar man with auburn hair and blue eyes.

Reviewer: Hazil
Date: 05/09/07 11:20
Chapter: Tell A Different Story

awwwwwwwwwwww great story!

Reviewer: Hazil
Date: 05/09/07 11:05
Chapter: To Stand Before a Giant

yay! u made me cry u biatch hehe xxxx

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
Other Lives and Dimensions and Finally a Love Story by MoRoCcAnAnDpRoUd Professors
The year is 1977, and the Wizarding World is in turmoil, but it doesn't really...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES