Reviewer: kumydabookworm
Date: 04/15/07 22:16
Chapter: One-shot

Oh lovely. Just simply lovely with sugar on top. :D Sweet, sweet fire. Yay for fiery D/Hr stories. Hee.

So...let me begin coherent thought. ;) I loved this story and thought you did a wonderful job. The coffeeshop motif was brilliant, and the way you started each with "her Xth-favorite cafe" was particularly clever. The whole thing flowed wonderfully. Also appreciated your use of Satan instead of Malfoy. *grin*

The most important strength, though, was the pairing dynamic. They remain at each others' throats throughout, and remain wickedly hurtful. That's always nice. Draco does manipulate her into following him, as he should, and she does guilt herself into forgiving him, as she should.

Only one problem: I never understand why Draco - someone known for being arrogant and selfish - would need Hermione's forgiveness. His desperate hunt for an announcement of redemption from a Muggleborn needs to be justified more because it just doesn't seem to make sense, knowing Draco.

A bit of fire, a bit of laughs, a bit of forgiveness - a lovely romance. Nice job.

Author's Response: Thank you, kumydabookworm. I'm very pleased to hear you liked it. As for the forgiveness part, this story takes place post-Hogwarts, Hermione has a job, a job she's had for quite some time, as we see from her having routines. I don't tell exactly for what Draco's appologising, and I did that on purpose. It wasn't to avoid making up more of the past, but because this was a story that was only to take place in the present - no flashback, no interruptions of future plans or past troubles. I didn't find it neccesary for Draco to elaborate because years have passed (and lord knows what he's done! Hah, no, just kidding) and he's, in this story at least, a changed person. Thanks for the lovely review!

Reviewer: Blue Dragon
Date: 04/02/07 10:13
Chapter: One-shot

WOOO! go draco!

Author's Response: Yes, woo...!

Reviewer: KewlKat
Date: 03/27/07 22:03
Chapter: One-shot

Well, the only words I can say about this story is it was good. Nice ending.
~Kacey

Author's Response: Thank you, Kacey.

Reviewer: HunnieBuns88
Date: 02/25/07 23:32
Chapter: One-shot

First of all, I would just like to say that I enjoyed reading this so much and I loved the entire story!

Your characterization of Hermione and Draco has made these two characters so believeable if they were ever set in a situation like that. I can really see Hermione as one who would go to a cafe every morning just to relax, or get work done. It was a very interesting choice of setting. Draco, on the other hand was done extremely well, because he is very determind and cocky. He knows somehow that Hermione will eventually cave in if he can show her that he isn't such a bad guy and therefore, keeps comming back.

I really like the way you have gone with this story. The ending was portrayed perfectly and was very believeable towards the event earlier in the story. You've kept the mood highly comical in my opinion and I even laughed out loud while reading this...

“Would you just go to Hell?” Hermione pleaded.

“Don’t like it much,” Malfoy replied. “Spent too many years there. How about Bora Bora?”

I love how you kept the snide comments and things that Draco would say to Hermione, and things that Hermione would say back, in the story. It kept them perfect as who they were in canon and eventually, you found a way to turn them into friends without even showing OOCness.

In the end, it really was a great story and I enjoyed reading this so much! This made my day! =]

~Emma

P.s. If you are ever on the forums, I'm P r o n g s *... =]

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Emma. I am so pleased to hear you found my characterisations of Draco and Hermione believable. “It kept them perfect as who they were in canon and eventually, you found a way to turn them into friends without even showing OOCness.” This is really the greatest compliment an author of a Dramione can receive. I’m utterly flattered, truly. Thanks ever so much for the kind review!

Reviewer: Lily_ Evans
Date: 02/25/07 6:57
Chapter: One-shot

I often read Draco/Hermione fanfics and when there is a good plot, characterization etc. they often go to my favorites.
This is a very good fic. Hermione's acting is perfect. Her bossyness, stubborness...

Draco has changed, and I like his attempts to convince Hermione to forgive him. This pairing often starts with forgiveness and continues with love. I see that you keeped Draco's sarcasm. I laughed at the parts when people say to Hermione to forgive Draco.
I didn't think that you'll make her forgive him, after all.

[I]“Would you just go to Hell?” Hermione pleaded.

“Don’t like it much,” Malfoy replied. “Spent too many years there. How about Bora Bora?”

Hermione didn’t reply, but kept her eyes fixed on her newspaper.

“Lose the paper, Granger.” Malfoy sighed.

Hermione folded it irritably and gave him a venomous stare. “How did you even find me here?” she asked.

“You’re as easy to spot as an elephant on a field,” Malfoy replied.

“Oh, that so doesn’t heighten your place in my heart.”

“I have a place in your heart?” he asked, baffled.[/I]

This is good. Draco has a place in her heart. I don't believe that Draco will end up evil. Jo described him very good at he Astronomy tower. You showed Draco's good side.

Author's Response: I'm happy to hear you liked the story and Hermione's characterisation. You're right; this pairing does often start with forgiveness and continues with love, however this story never reaches love. One might imagine what sort of (romantic, even) relationship will brew between Draco and Hermione after this, but that's up to the individual reader, really. Well, no, Draco does not actually have a place in her heart (at this point at least); he's baffled by what she said, but she didn't exactly mean it like that - as she hurriedly explains afterwards. I don't think Draco's all bad either, having read HBP. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: honeydukes_10
Date: 02/24/07 17:43
Chapter: One-shot

Wow, this story was great. I hadn't expected to see it end this way: it actually turned out a lot better than I could have ever imagined.

I like how the whole story is based on Draco begging Hermione for forgiveness, but she always denies him. Then, it takes an unexpected turn when he stops showing up, and she starts missing him, though she won't allow herself to think it. I really like how it ends, how he tells her she can sit with him, and she ends up forgiving him in the first place.

The way you make her go to a different cafe every morning is funny. It is like she is a different person every morning, and she goes to a different place to wipe her board clean. But, only in a way.

I also like how you give Draco so many names. My favorite would have to be "the Lord of Metaphors", thought the runner-up would be "The Grim Reaper" or "Satan". I like how you compare him to different things, yet all are along the same lines. They are also having to do with the way she feels about him, or how he is acting. They also happen to be HILARIOUS.

"....upon him again for the first time in many to come, she muttered, “I forgive you.” She gave him a weak smile...." This made my stomach do a back flip reading it. It is sort of like you knew she was going to forgive him, but it still makes me warm and super fuzzy inside. You know what I mean?

Overall, you did great on this. I absolutley love to read a well-written Draco/Hermione story, and this is probably my new favorite.

~Andrea


Author's Response: Thank you very much, Andrea, I’m glad you liked it. No, you’re right about wiping her board clean by changing cafés. Well, basically she hopes she can avoid meeting Draco again by changing café, because how on Earth could he know which café in all of London she’d choose next? On a more subconscious level, she changes café because she feels like she needs to tell herself that that first meeting with Draco did not actually happen; that her life is not actually about to change. As I wrote right in the beginning of the story (and continuously throughout it), she has a morning routine of coming to her favourite café, having a latte, reading The Times, before going to work. I see her as a routine person, in this story, and (at least I believe) one gets the impressions that her morning latte is not the only routine in her life. So having someone from the past re-enter your life – uninvited – would definitely disorient her. ‘The Lord of Metaphors’ is a favourite of mine as well; Draco so deserves it after that award-winning Elephant comment. I know how even the smallest line in a story can make your stomach do a back flip, and I’m flattered you experienced that here. I’ve read several stories where this happened to me, but only one of my own has succeeded in that for me. I know it sounds weird because it’s my own story, but I found out it was possible… It’s was in Take the Plunge – see if you can find it ;) Thank you so much for the great review!

Reviewer: tc015
Date: 02/24/07 17:05
Chapter: One-shot

I really enjoyed this fic.

Hermione's characterization was perfect. You potrayed her stubborness perfectly. You can see her struggle with Draco, and you can tell that she is doubting her feelings.

“I’m glad you are,” she replied nastily. “I’m glad you finally, after so many years, decided that you were in the wrong. I’m glad that you think you’re changed for the better. I’m glad that you can see what you’ve done to me through the years. I’m glad you feel like shit now. And I’m glad that I still have some small willpower in me — I’m leaving.”

I love this line. It really shows Hermione character. It is exactly what she would say.

I was glad to see that Hermione didn't give into Draco right away. Hermione and Draco had a bad past with each other, and I doubt Hermione would be willing to quickly just forget about that. I love how you stayed true to her character.

I like Draco's characterization. I like how you keep some of his sacastic humor in there. I think that it is highly unrealistic, in my mind, that Draco would be on his knees, begging Hermione for forgiveness. He seems a bit too proud for that. Apart from that, I think Draco's character is good.

I loved the symbolism of the latte and cappuccinos. The lattes symbolize Hermione's hate and anger at Draco. The cappuccinos are a sign of forgiveness and a fresh start.

I think that it takes a good author to pull of a ship like D/Hr, and you are definitely one. I really liked, even though I don't typically read D/Hr.

Author's Response: Thank you, tc, I'm glad to hear you liked how I wrote Hermione in this story. I'm also very pleased to know you liked that line of Hermione's; it was quite an important line because it had to show her emotions through it. Draco might not, as you say, get down on his knees and beg, but - even though he means it deep down - the remorse act here is not very truthful (as Hermione knows and comments on) but more done to slightly embarrass Hermione and put her in a position where she almost has to forgive him because of the entire café listening in on their conversation (and joining in!). He does, however, truly want her forgiveness - and he's quite persistent, going from café to café in search of her. I'm glad you liked the beverage symbolism, lol. As I told Lindsey; it's time for innovation. I greatly appreciate your kind review, thank you!

Reviewer: Sarakime
Date: 02/21/07 16:41
Chapter: One-shot

Wow, I honestly could've sworn I have reviewed this awesome story before. I've probably read it about 12 times. I know you probably get this a lot, but everything about this story is simply *great*.

Even though Draco's characterization is questionably noncanon, I could care less. I love the way you've shown him in this story; it shows us a different side, a more humourous and determind side than we've seen before. It's really good, and I enjoyed every part that he comes in. As well as the other parts.

Hermione is shown very canon, too. Though, she might be a little harsher than we normally see her. She's still great though. They balanced each other out; Draco being nice and seeking her forgiveness, Hermione being unforgiving and harsh.

I laughed out loud so many times in this story. The witty banter, and, of course, all the names Hermione refers to Draco as, and the generally humourous thoughts of Hermione.

I'm probably going to read this story another 50 times between now and the next few months. It is that good. :)

Have a nice life!
~Sarah

Author's Response: I'm flattered you think this story worthy of being read so many times :) I agree with you on the characterisation of Draco - he is not completely canon, however I would not call him OOC. But I'm pleased to hear you liked him nonetheless. Hermione IS slightly harsh perhaps, but I like her this way, I have to admit, and I do believe that she could be like this. I'm glad the story made you laugh! And you are oh so welcome to read this story another 50 times. Thanks for the review, Sarah!

Reviewer: Ron x Hermione
Date: 02/19/07 12:02
Chapter: One-shot

The smooth, delightful liquid warmed her as she swallowed. Hermione sighed in relaxation. Soon she was going to have to leave for work, so she was going to enjoy these moments of peace before her bustling day began.

What a great start to a great fic. You've got the description down to a T, and I'm glad that you chose this story as a Draco/Hermione story. it fit perfectly well among this plot, and I must say, you did a great job in writing it.

“What every man wants,” he replied, shrugging.

Alarmed, Hermione scooted her chair further away from him.

“Not sex, Granger.” The imp sighed, rolling his eyes. “Well, that too, but… No, I want forgiveness.”


I started busting out laughing at this; you know your comedy. I can totally see Ron saying this in a Ron and Hermione romance, but seeing Draco saying to her was priceless.

“And yet I am unmoved,” Hermione replied haughtily, grabbing her purse and heading for the door.

I think that you have Draco and Hermione characterised perfectly in this entire story. Not many can write a Dramione relationship well, but you can perfectly. I can see that you like ship from how many stories you've written about them, but practice definitely makes perfect.

Even though we don't know what Draco actually did to Hermione to make her angry, I like how you've written this story. It's very conspicuous, and you know how to write.

“Two lattes, please,” Satan ordered, an impervious finger in the air. “You like lattes, don’t you? That’s what you were drinking yesterday.”

I like how you refer to Malfoy as Satan. It fits his character here, and although he keeps on annoying Hermione, you keep on wanting to read the story. You have him characterised perfectly here, too. Draco is so annoying! *giggles*

He slowly put his arms around her, hugging her close to his body. Her arms hung limp against her body, but her cheek rested comfortably on his chest.

Aww... this is just so sweet. I cannot say this enough: I absolutely love how you've characterised these two. I can totally see these two doing this and being involved romantically after reading this.

Draco flashed a genuine smile and inclined his head. He then protruded a single, immaculate finger in the air and said firmly, “Two cappuccinos, please.”

What an awesome ending! I love how you've changed the 'cappunccinos' from 'lattees'. That's great, and I like how you've allowed Hermione to forgive Draco. Great ending, and I loved it!

I do hope that you've written a sequel to this. Even though this is a one-shot, I want to know what happens to these two, and how their relationship flourishes after this. You deserved the win for the best Hermione POV of the Dramione awards. Great work.

~Lindsey :)



Author's Response: I'm pleased to hear you liked the beginning of the story. Not that this story had a particularly eventful or captivating start, but I've always thought a story's very first sentence should have something in it. I'm glad you liked the What Men Want comment :) Ron could definitely have said this as well, but whereas Ron would have felt awkward for saying something that Hermione could mistake for sex, Draco's much more nonchalant (well, my version is, and I like that). I'm very flattered you think I actually can write this ship because Lord knows it's difficult. So thank you. Ah, yes, the Satan reference (and all the other lovely nicknames I gave Draco throughout the story) is something many reviewers have liked and commented on :) I'm happy to hear you liked the ending. Everything about it is innovative, really - as you say with the change from lattes to cappuccinos. It is also the first time I write ‘Draco’ instead of ‘Malfoy’ (or, as we've already established, Satan, Imp, Grim Reaper etc.), and whereas the last time he ordered a latte for both of them (“Two lattes, please,” Satan ordered, an impervious finger in the air.), this time his finger – or, more profoundly interpreted, his demeanour from Hermione’s now changed point of view – is ‘immaculate’ not ‘impervious’. I have not, I'm afraid, written a sequel and I don't plan to. Thank you very much, Lindsey, for the wonderful review!

Reviewer: laceymoibella
Date: 01/31/07 19:51
Chapter: One-shot

Loved it! I could actually feel the emotions within Hermione. Great writing.

Author's Response: Thank you, laceymoibella!

Reviewer: mysticmemories
Date: 01/22/07 17:29
Chapter: One-shot

Its CUTE!! You write really different fanfics...me luuuuuvs it! That was very adorable..anyway..keep writing..PLEASE!!!

Author's Response: :) Thanks again, Mysticmemories!

Reviewer: mysticmemories
Date: 01/22/07 17:29
Chapter: One-shot

Its CUTE!! You write really different fanfics...me luuuuuvs it! That was very adorable..anyway..keep writing..PLEASE!!!

Reviewer: Bookwormy
Date: 01/03/07 4:18
Chapter: One-shot

Very nice...it surely deserved to be the winner as the best Hermione POV.

Author's Response: Thank you, Bookwormy!

Reviewer: darkeyes_tasnia
Date: 12/24/06 0:46
Chapter: One-shot

first off, love the title. haha...
now... i love how you wrote it... teh fact that after a while he stops going to the cafe she's going to and how she finally ends up meeting him... loved it...

lots of love

Tasnia

Author's Response: Glad you liked the title as well as the story, Tasnia. Thanks!

Reviewer: Lenore95
Date: 12/09/06 10:36
Chapter: One-shot

Wow . . . that was quite . . . unexpected. Not only that, but hilarious, awesome, well written, and . . . *grabs dictionary* Er - fantastic. I especially liked the part when he made that scene in the "first favorite cafe" and everybody started to look at them and stuff. That was funny. :D

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the great review, Lenore!

Reviewer: melydia
Date: 11/28/06 13:09
Chapter: One-shot

lol. i love this story. i haven't commented on it before, but i've been back a few times to re-read. very clever!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, melydia!

Reviewer: hearyoume
Date: 11/25/06 10:53
Chapter: One-shot

Oh how I've missed Dramione!! You're making me love this ship even more than D/G! This was so funny, and sweet at the same time. This line:
“Is this seat taken?” Satan asked from behind her newspaper.
made me crack up. Along with many others. This was such a clever idea; I've never read anything like it. It was so sweet when she was disappointed he wasn't there those last couple of times :]

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm pleased to hear you like this so much!

Reviewer: slytherinqueen
Date: 11/15/06 17:56
Chapter: One-shot

hey jsut totally wondering i am setting up a site (shh don't tell emerson) and i was wondering if we could use your fic in our cellection e-mail me at jclaireblocker@earthlink.net please

Author's Response: Hi slytherinqueen. I just sent you an email. Thanks for considering me. Eilime

Reviewer: Sola Almon
Date: 11/06/06 22:00
Chapter: One-shot

oh, this was funny...cant seem to type vera wel 'cause i'm tryin to keep my mouth closed so i dont wake the rest of the house up... also cant seem to stop smiling, excellent job on the fanfic ~s

Author's Response: Thanks, Sola Almon. Can't see how opening your mouth can affect your typing, though, but I'm glad I got you to smile :)

Reviewer: Krissa
Date: 10/21/06 8:11
Chapter: One-shot

Well, I can truthfully say that I do understand why you won that award! Great POV, great idea, great story! Love it!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Krissa!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
M.I.T.: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES