Reviews For Ghosts
Reviewer: RedChequeredConverse
Date: 04/07/09 14:08
Chapter: Ghosts

This is so freaking amazing. It's always been one of y favorite stories here; it's also the story I re-read the most. It gets better every time.

Reviewer: Shortone
Date: 01/04/08 21:44
Chapter: Ghosts

That was a beautiful ending to a beautiful story. I wasn't expecting it at all. Absolutely fantastic. Keep writing!

Reviewer: chasing_willow
Date: 11/12/07 13:43
Chapter: Ghosts

Why oh why do I feel like crying?
I guess we all think of the loves we lost, the friends we no longer keep in toch with, the way we were as children or in our youth.
It's an amazing story, it really is - it should have won a contest of some sort or garnered applause from an enormous audience - I mean it.
It's quite a lot easier to cause your reader to laugh themselves silly or swoon in endearment, but to make them remember strange dreams from decades ago and people who will never be who they once were - as you did to me, is and entirely different can of worms.
Most writers are quick to describe Andromeda's animosity towards her sisters, but indeed, there could have been a part of her that simply remembered the way the were as kids, good or bad or neutral - as children tend to be, because no one really ever forgets their childhood.
Thank you.

Reviewer: Lylian
Date: 09/13/07 19:51
Chapter: Ghosts

I wouldn't exactly classify this as a dark story. I'd classify it as a memory of some sort. The last line made me smile sadly. It was really well written! I hope you continue writing about these small things.

Reviewer: Nadia Malfoy
Date: 08/10/07 11:55
Chapter: Ghosts

I just re-read this fic, and decided to review again.
I just love the ending. It is so perfect--you feel satisfied, that Narcissa really does remember, and she did try the dress on. And how you have the whole conversation between Cissa and Andromeda--abselutly wonderful.
The first line I really like too. It really pulls you in.
Also the line: 'There's nothing you can't explain, Cissa.'
Overall, one f the best fics I have ever, ever read.

Reviewer: tatjanablack
Date: 08/02/07 3:07
Chapter: Ghosts

Honestly I don't know what to say. This is one of the best fanfic I ever have read. Loved it so much..............

Reviewer: Nadia Malfoy
Date: 07/31/07 13:55
Chapter: Ghosts

Haunting. It's the best word i can think of to discribe this. I love it. I almost--almost, mind you--cried at the end. Really, really good.

Reviewer: Nadia Malfoy
Date: 07/31/07 13:55
Chapter: Ghosts

Haunting. It's the best word i can think of to discribe this. I love it. I almost--almost, mind you--cried at the end. Really, really good.

Reviewer: Iheartsiriusblack
Date: 07/25/07 19:44
Chapter: Ghosts

I loved this story. Its like going through old times. The ending was the best!

Reviewer: LadyAlesha
Date: 06/10/07 9:05
Chapter: Ghosts

This story was recommended to me by the lovely Rachel and she even gave me the direct link, but I make it a habit to go back and read the summary first, before setting out to read a story. So I did exactly that with this story, too. Reading the first two lines I though, well this sounds nice. And then this question: Do you believe in ghosts? and I was hooked. I have no idea what it is about this question that drew me in so much, maybe it is that it seems somewhat out of context with the rest of the summary, but I couldn’t not click on the link to read your story after I read this line.

I love the atmosphere of your story. Grimmauld Place, at least I think it’s supposed to be Grimmauld Place, had a very eerie, spooky feel to it. Especially when Andromeda tries to be really quiet when she climbs up to the attic, because she doesn’t want to disturb the house, it makes it seem even creepier. The whole building gives of an air of abandonment, but at the same time it doesn’t seem to be exactly empty. Very chilling.

I have to say I really like how much you tell us about Andromeda, Narcissa, Bellatrix and their relationship even though we just ‘see’ Andromeda wandering through the house for a last time. The dialogue about ghosts between Narcissa and Andromeda while they were children and the way there is one line of it after every paragraph describing Andromeda’s journey through the house, was very well done and told us so much about Narcissa and Andromeda’s less than perfect relationship. I feel sad for Andromeda because she is essentially left alone now that Ted is dead and she tries to reach out to her estranged family in any way she can and Narcissa doesn’t even write her a small note. I like how that last line gave some closure nonetheless and showed that Narcissa isn’t heartless after all.

I liked this story a lot, it was very unique and I enjoyed your writing style, especially the use of present tense, very much.

Reviewer: KASK
Date: 05/31/07 20:41
Chapter: Ghosts

Wow! I love this story. It's amazing. I love the way you portrayed Narcissa, Bellatrix's and Andromeda's relationship. I think it's perfect. I see Narcissa as the adored younger sister, Bellatrix as the powerful older one and Andromeda the misfit in the middle.

I like the way you incorporated ghosts in, and really showed the difference between the ones Bellatrix spoke of and the ghosts of Narcissa's past.

And the end, *gushed*, I love the end! It was perfect. Narcissa forgetting to re-zip really gave the closure the story (and Andromeda) needed.

I also love the vibe the story gives off. The house is very eerie and the story gives off a spookiness that I love.

Great story! It's a favorite, and the first D/A I've really read. I'll definitely read more after this.
:D

Reviewer: MissPurplePen
Date: 05/31/07 19:13
Chapter: Ghosts

Wow...the ending. The first thing I'll tell you is that I love the ending. Even if the rest of the story had been dreadful, the ending would have made up for it all without a doubt. It gives the reader closure but is at the same time very open for interpretation...did Narcissa leave the zipper open on purpose, or was it an honest accident? I love it!

At first I must say that the alternation between the conversation about ghosts and the present was confusing at first, but after a while I got used to it and now I think it makes the story so much stronger. It's a very creative way of writing; congratulations on pulling it off so well!

I adored your descriptions of the setting...you made the Black house seem so creepy, just how I'd imagine it...you really painted a picture with words, and it added to the mood of the story drastically. Great job!

I also liked Andromeda's characterization...I don't necessarily picture her with the same personality as she has here, but nonetheless, you captured her well and really developed her within the story. Sometimes it's hard to include much characterization in a one-shot, but you've done it and it's great.

Overall, this story was amazing. I love the whole feel of it...not dull at all. Wonderful job; keep it up!

Reviewer: miss padfoot
Date: 05/27/07 23:07
Chapter: Ghosts

Wow! This is probably one of the best D/A fics I’ve ever read!

The first thing that I noticed about this fic was the tense. Although I’m not a big fan of the present tense, I’m positive this fic wouldn’t have been as better as it is now if the past tense had been used. It almost felt like I was there with Andromeda. :D The descriptions of the Black house too, made the fic come alive.

Do you believe in ghosts?

I loved this opening line. It aroused my interest immediately and made me want to keep reading more. I also liked how you switched back between the past and present – that conversation with Narcissa was very believable. I would certainly expect her, of all people, to be frightened by ghosts, LOL.

Then Narcissa had walked up in her adorable little communion dress and Druella had forgotten Princess Andromeda in lieu of Queen Narcissa.

This line here was a nice touch, because it brings back the old sibling rivalry into play. Though, a comma after ‘dress’ would be nice, I think. =]

Lightning flashes again, and she can almost see Narcissa beside her, glowering and asking her to try on the pretty dress.

Eek! This line totally gave me the creeps. It reminded me of those old horror movies where whenever lightning flashes, an old ghost appears. Of course, the term 'ghosts' here refers to the old memories that haunt them but it still is creepy. You used imagery very well here – I could almost see Narcissa in my mind’s eye. *shudder*

She had forgotten to re-zip the back.

Wow, that was the perfect ending. :D It’s almost like they had been waiting for each other to reconcile first and then ended up wasting a lot of years. And I liked how Narcissa didn’t send any note in return. She’s too proud to openly speak to her sister, now that Andromeda’s been blasted off the tapestry, and yet, she’s forgetful enough to have forgotten to re-zip the back. Though, I wonder if she had left it un-zipped on purpose? But that was just the perfect ending.

I have very few nitpicks for you:

There’s no Sirius to prowl around, viciously hating the lot of them.

The contraction of is to ‘s is usually used only in dialogues. =]

She has to give the Tapestry one last look.

There’s no need for capitalising the tapestry. =]

There’s a musty, stale scent on the air, and a faint breeze — there must be an open window in one of the rooms nearby — carries the faint smell of impending rain.

I loved the picture this sentence painted – just so real, but there was an unnecessary repetition of ‘faint’. If you put a synonym there, it would read better. =]

She climbs it gingerly, not wanting it to break and send her crashing to the ground. Besides the pain it would cause, it just doesn’t seem right to have so much noise.

Maybe it’s just me, but ‘climbs it’ sounds odd. Maybe say ‘mounts it’?

Overall, I loved the story! You truly are a talented writer! =]

Reviewer: Bookwolf
Date: 11/14/06 15:46
Chapter: Ghosts

Wow. That was beautiful, and lovely. It would be stuoid to repeat all the things that other reviewers have already said, but I just want to reinforce them. I wish I could write like that.

Reviewer: Sly Severus
Date: 11/06/06 21:01
Chapter: Ghosts

Awww...I love it! It gave me chills. This was really well done and it clearly shows that the bond of family is not as easy to break as we sometimes wish.


Truly amazing.

Reviewer: solemnlyswear_x
Date: 10/06/06 20:34
Chapter: Ghosts

Wow. This was hauntingly beautiful.

The first line draws you in, and you can’t stop reading. It's so intriguing. Your descriptions are great, as well as your use of imagery. I could imagine Andromeda's dress, and the girls in the attic, trying them on. Andromeda is such an interesting character, and you definitely do her justice.

I do have one tiny nit-pick. “She was forgiven for wearing a muggle brand, only because they were so expensive.” Here, Muggle should be capitalized.

Anyway, I loved the interwoven conversation between Narcissa and Andromeda. It fits perfectly, and never feels like it’s interrupted. It only adds to the fic.

And, even though she knows that she can’t ever go back, she can’t just shut it away like that.

This is one of my favorite lines in the story. It’s very powerful, and it made me feel for Andromeda.

Well, this was just absolutely phenomenal! And, by the way, the ending line was perfect. :]

Reviewer: just_the_contrary
Date: 10/05/06 16:41
Chapter: Ghosts

I love the use of present tense. It makes the reader feel like they're beside Andromeda, walking through the house with her. The reader can hear the thunder clap outside and see the darkness in front of their eyes.

Lightning flashes again, and she can almost see Narcissa beside her, glowering and asking to try on the pretty dress.

When I read this sentence I went, "woah!" It was like in a scary movie, when light flashes and suddenly the character can see something that they hadn't seen before. I picture Narcissa appearing suddenly in the light asking for the dress. It's horrifying.

Amazing fic.

Reviewer: AurorGirl101
Date: 10/04/06 13:37
Chapter: Ghosts

wow! How creepy! I could hear the thunder and lighting and the stairs creeking!! It was great!!!

Reviewer: Siriuslyinluvwithharry
Date: 05/21/06 11:41
Chapter: Ghosts

wow...i really loved this story. a look at a character other than the trio or the marauders. very original. i absolutley loved the ending...it was sad but it ended it perfectly...how you knew she had tried on the dress without actually saying she had...BEAUTIFUL!

Reviewer: 180goddess hotline
Date: 05/06/06 11:50
Chapter: Ghosts

haunting

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Unexploded Bombs by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Dudley Dursley has just experienced the death of his elderly father Vernon from...
Ginny's Big Decision by dg04 1st-2nd Years
After Dumbledore's Funeral, Harry tells Ginny that they can't be together anymore...
Little Lions by SexY_LydZ 6th-7th Years
On a stormy October evening, a letter, a late night trip to the library and...
FEATURED
Going Against Salazar's Grain by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
"Sometimes," said Dumbledore, "we sort too soon." Originally writtten for...
Whispers in the Night by lucca4 6th-7th Years
"Swear to me, Cissy. Swear you won't tell." It's a secret, and it haunts...
Fear and Loathing in Florida (Mostly Loathing) by minnabird 3rd-5th Years
Scabior and Greyback had to escape the Aurors somehow - they just hadn't expected...
Just Before Healing by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
With Hannah, things always go to yellow.
In Bloom by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
It figures that he ignores the other side of roses. Thorns fit to draw blood...
Magical by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ginny and her brothers sneak down the stairs to look at presents, but instead...
CATEGORIES