Reviews For One Good Day
Reviewer: shadowchild
Date: 05/31/06 2:40
Chapter: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight

this is a really well-written fan fic- and it ties in well with the charcaters, and the plot liine. I am looking forward to seeing a sequel. (i hope)

Author's Response: Well, don't you fret, the sequel is posted, and it's called Epilogues, Part I: Shadows. Yeah I know the summary of OGD has it as not being up yet, but it's an old summary, so I'm sorry about that, I really need to go back and fix it. Well, I'm so glad you enjoyed it, and I look forward to your response on Epilogues. Thanks.

Reviewer: believerofmajick
Date: 05/30/06 21:42
Chapter: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight

I apologize for not reviewing with each chapter, but it is hard for me to stop reading long enough to review. I think the story as a whole was wonderful. Even with all the fluff, there was some sort of plot and you set it up well to continue the story line in another story. It is a pleasure to read your stories.

Author's Response: Heh, no problem... I love following a reviewer from story to story, so I'm already quite happy. Yeah, this one was my fluff fest, and I think those who like fluff love the first four and a half chapters, and those who don't like fluff but managed to stick around like the last little bit. Either way, I can't complain much as this is easily my most popular story and I"m glad that people continue to enjoy it. Thanks.

Reviewer: abbycadabra
Date: 05/27/06 10:49
Chapter: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight

AW!!!!! I just want to tear up! Squee!!!! You are the best writer I have read on fanfiction so far (and you include all of my favourite ships!)! Thanks for letting Harry have some e-e-e-emoootion!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading everything. As for the ships, well, I kinda like the caon ships, that's just how I am, I guess. As for Harry having some emotion, I'm glad you thought I pulled it off well, I find Harry to be the hardest one to write for sometimes. Thank you.

Reviewer: lott0327
Date: 05/25/06 11:37
Chapter: Chapter 1: Just Harry

What a great story. I can not wait for the sequel...

Author's Response: Thank you, but I gotta say, it's more like the sequel can not wait for you! It's up, and finally complete, so give Epilogues, Part I: Shadows a read.

Reviewer: Whitedragon
Date: 05/23/06 0:12
Chapter: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight

thx for writting this, this last chapter was the best, but if you write a sequal i hope it will be long like this last chapter and be very different than the other storys and much better, I think you can do a good series. thx again for writting

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and leaving a review. And there is no if, regarding a sequel, in fact, the sequel is nearly done with being posted. Check out Epilogues, Part I: Shadows. Five chapters up, with the final chapter in queue, please check it out and enjoy! Thanks again.

Reviewer: Ice Nine IV
Date: 05/18/06 1:54
Chapter: Chapter 3: The Strip

I enjoy Ron and Ginny's reactions to the muggle world, funny, yet not overdone. Oh and man I cheated, I didn't get the "Good Omens" hint but I really should of that's one of my favs.

Author's Response: Ah, this one is a bit out of order, but that's cool. See, I'm pretty confident in my abilities with emotion, but I'm always worried about humor. I just think that if I try and focus on humor too much, I'll over do it. Like, when I wrote the Soda Incident, that struck me as incredibly funny, but when I went back to read it later on, I just thought "what was so funny about that?" I don't know, I think comedy is actually something really hard to do. And Good Omens, man I love that book. I gave my copy to a friend of mine, and I have regreted it ever since. Definitely the kind of book you can read over and over again. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: Ice Nine IV
Date: 05/18/06 1:47
Chapter: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight

Ok so as my previous review for chapter 2 stated, you got me all wanting McDonalds breakfast. Well that just wasn't possible so the closest I could come with was Ham and Cheese. So I'm in the middle of eating my tasty(but not overly satisfying) sandwich when I read this:

That definitely settles it, Harry thought. They arent Hermione and Ginny, theyre death eaters who took polyjuice potion and have brought me out here to give me a heart attack.

I laughed so hard I blew chucks of ham and cheese all over my laptop!! So thanks for that, cause I'm without a doubt blaiming you for it. But onto the actual review!
(this review is really for the story as a whole)

So most of this is Fluff, and I'm a cynical jerk so usually I hate this sort of piece. But that didn't end up being the case here. I really dug this, and it's mostly because you really hit the characters so damn spot on. I'm not trying to inflate your head in any way, really, but there were moments when I completly forgot I was reading FanFic.

The whole second half of this chapter nearly had me in tears (didn't cause i'm just too manly for that, HA). It was a little gushy in parts but rants by all four characters really helped cement this story as more than just fluff (or at least fluff of a higher order than most on this sight). Really I just think you have a better perception of these four then the majority of the fanfic community.

To conclude let me just say this, Book 7 will of course not have anything like this in it(I wouldn't think anyhow). But as a read it in 2007 I think that I'll imagine all this happening anyway and Jo just forgot to mention it. Truly I think that's the best praise I can give you.

Oh and as a side note reading Ron in this fic is making feel really horrible about what i've done to him in the post war fic that I'm writing. Not enough to change it minf you, but it still made me feel bad for being so mean.

Author's Response: Note: The Author does not take responsibility for damage to your computer incurred while reading the author's fanfics. I'm glad you dug that line. Well, you know, about the fluff, that was originally what this whole thing was going to be about. Four to six chapters just crammed with "aw" moments. I kinda like fluff if it's well written, so, you know, that's how it started. Then somewhere in writing the second or third chapter, I realized that that's just not how it was gonna end. It couldn't because tomorrow wasn't going to be as good as today was, plain and simple, and there were some serious underlying issues that had to be addressed. I'm terribly honored that you would compare me to JKR, it's not a common occurrence, but when it happens, that's just, well, I don't have the words for it. And as for this stuff eventually not being canon, that's a bit of the heartbreak of doing these things. I put so much thought into these stories that they do become canon for me. That's why all of my stories follow each other; once I've written one, that's it, the deal is sealed, that's how it happened. So, with Right Here and One Good Day, I'm just hoping that JKR just kind of breezes through those two bits and lets me keep my stuff. And your little side note is definitely the best plug for your fic I've ever seen. I've now clicked on your profile twice hoping to see the story you're talking about because I now want to know what you do to him. I, however, am not that great at plugging my work, so I'll just tell you that I'm really glad you liked this story, and hope you'll read the sequels, Epilogues, Part I: Shadows, and Everybody Does It. Thank you so much.

Reviewer: Ice Nine IV
Date: 05/17/06 23:40
Chapter: Chapter 2: Eggs And Soda

Oh man I haven't had McDonalds Breakfast in forever. Thanks to you I'm sitting here at 1am craving hash browns and hotcakes. Oh and the story is awesome to, by the way.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you're liking it. To be honest, my favorite McDonald's breakfast item has got to be the steak egg and cheese bagel. Damn tasty, also damn fattening, so I only eat them like once in a blue moon, you know, gotta keep my girlish figure (just realizing that that's not quite as funny when it's not blatantly obvious that I'm a guy... note, should work on non visiual irony a little more). Thanks again, man you are awesome, on to the next review!

Reviewer: ginnyjss
Date: 05/16/06 19:21
Chapter: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight

really good story


Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'd really appreciate you checking out the rest of my fics, they are all in the same universe as this one, so I think you may enjoy them! Thank you.

Reviewer: Hope_543
Date: 05/16/06 2:19
Chapter: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight

Woah. That was so powerful, and striking. I've read a lot of fics recently, and yours are by far the best! You've managed to keep the characters so it's really easy to see that they're the same, but you've added your own unique elements of story, and they've just worked! Wow. More of what i said about Right Here, really. I needed this fic!!! Thanks for writing it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading it. I think with Right Here, I was just trying to get as close to JKR's voice while at the same time tell the story of Ron and Hermione getting together the way I liked it. With One Good Day, again I was trying to use JKR's voice, but I think, as you pointed out, I also tried to inject a little bit more of myself into the work, and I definitely injected some symbolism and imagery that I continue to use in later stories. I'm really proud of this last chapter in particular because I started off just wanting to write a long bit of fluff, but I knew it couldn't last, and what came out i the end just felt really real, you know? Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: phoenixgaze
Date: 05/14/06 22:44
Chapter: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight

I don't know what to say, it touched my heart. It made my day, gave me inspiration. I don't know if it was made to have a double meaning, but I found it. A very good one. I'd really like to read a sequel. Keep on writing! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much. You're quite in luck if you liked it enough to want to read a sequel, because there's a prequel, a sequel (almost finished), and a way way way down the road sequel as well. Right here is the prequel, that's the one that started it all, then you got this story, then you have Epilogues, Part I: Shadows, and finally Everybody Does It. When you mention the double meaning, It's been a while since I've wrote that one now, but you know something, I believe that once I've written something and sent it off, my intentions and meanings are no longer valid, it's what it means to you, so if you found a double meaning, than it was always there. Thank you so much for the review, i truly appreciate it.

Reviewer: Potter_freak0515
Date: 05/14/06 1:54
Chapter: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight

Ummm.... Woah. I liked this one better than yuor first one. Especially the earlier chapters. It's nothing against yuor writing, I just don't like Ron/Hermone and Harry/Ginny. You understand, don't you? You're a good writer and I'm going to read the Epilogue stories now.

Author's Response: I totally agree, the ship involved can really affect your take on a story. I prefer canon ships, for the most part, and have in the past been turned off by certain ships. I think the worst was one in which Voldemort fathered Madame Rosmerta... That one bothered me. But thank you so much for the compliments, and I hope you dig Epilogues.

Reviewer: phoe_gurl
Date: 05/13/06 17:32
Chapter: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight

ahhhhhh. that is so adorable, but you really deal with the more serious parts of the book really well. the character's thoughts were really realistic. i loved it.

Author's Response: I am so glad you loved it. Yeah, that's exactly the reaction I was hoping for this story; lots of fluff with some seriousness towards the end. I'd really love it if you checked out the rest of my stories, I think you'll like them as they are all in the same universe as this one. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Dora_
Date: 05/13/06 14:43
Chapter: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight

Brilliant! Amazing! Great! As usually you keep on writing brilliant stories! And this one was so sweet and you've written it amazingly! I love your fanfics! KUTGW!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I love repeat readers! I really hope you'll read Epilogues, I've not had a lot of reviews there, so I'd love to know what you think about it. Thanks for reading my stories and I'm really glad you enjoy them.

Reviewer: LiliacFleur
Date: 05/13/06 12:16
Chapter: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight

I love this story, and think that the emotions were very well portrayed, in particular the part where Ron and Hermione are talking about marriage. I think that you have got a very good grasp of what the characters would actually be feeling, so well done! There are, however, a few americanisms that could be changed, such as "expressway" becoming "motorway", but other than that I think that this fic is very, very good.

Author's Response: Thank you ever so much, I really appreciate it! It's funny that you should mention it because I had used expressway specifically because I was trying to avoid an Americanism. We will name them expressway, but for the most part we call them highways or freeways. Initially I had intended to use motorway, and to this day I don't know why I used expressway. It probably also didn't help that this story and Right Here were both written before I started using betas. Now I have three regular betas, oneof which is actually British, so I don't think I make that mistake anymore. So I'm very honored you think I have the characters down well, and I'm really glad you enjoyed it. I guess the only thing I could say is that I really wish you would read the rest of my fics... They're all in the same universe, starting with Right Here, then One Good Day, then Epilogues (part I, 2, and 3) of which I'm only up to the third chapter of the first part, and finally another one shot called Everybody Does It.

Reviewer: MaleHorntailDragon
Date: 05/12/06 9:28
Chapter: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight

Love the story, I would have like to see some more loose ends tied up, but pretty solid. The only other problem i have is with harry. Its that he doesn't know if anybody loves him. Not once has anybody in the books state they love him. His problem isn't that he knows people love him and he loves them, its that he can't recognize love. Don't get me wrong he knows people care for him and he cares for them, but to actually love him, thats something entirely foreign to him. I would have changed the dialoge so that he's realizes what they feel for him is love and that is what he feels for them. Other than that I thought it was extremely well written, I thoughly enjoyed it can't wait for more from you.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. Hmm.. I see your point about love, although, I guess the way I read the books was thatit was implied, you know? But I guess I could be wrong. As for any other loose threads, well, I really recommend that you read Right Here and Epilogues Part I. This is actually the second story in my series of stories, so there are lots more! I really appreciate the review.

Author's Response: The more I think about the love thing, I think we could have a pretty excessive debate on that point...

Reviewer: Hamm On Wry
Date: 05/11/06 23:29
Chapter: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight

Mate:
This is one of the best ff's that I have read here. You made the characters come alive and you really pull the reader into the plot. I am looking forward to the sequel...
BTW, enjoyed this much more than the songfic... for some reason I just can't get into those...

Author's Response: Thank you so much. Eh don't worry, songfics are the red headed step children of fanficdom. I don't even like songfics, I just had to write that one. I'm really glad you stopped by, thanks for the read and reviews.

Reviewer: Rikka_23
Date: 05/11/06 11:11
Chapter: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight

wow.. i cant wait for the sequel.. is it done yet?? the story was beautiful, it really moved me.... i really liked the way you describe the situations.. it is very detailed and your great.... hope to read that sequel soon.... best of luck

Author's Response: Wow... Thank you so much! The sequel is finished, but I'm trying to get it throughthe queue! While we wait, I would really appreciate you checking out my other two published fics here. They're both one shots, Right Here, and Everybody Does It. Thank you so much for the review.

Reviewer: weasleys_and_potters
Date: 05/10/06 11:45
Chapter: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight

i really really really loved this story. you got the emotions accross so well. it was funny and emotional all rolled into one - brilliant!! -zoe

Author's Response: Thank you so much for that! I'm so glad you liked it. Please check out Right Here, and keep your eyes out for my next two fics, "Everybody Does It," and "Epilogues Part I: Shadows." All of my stories exist in the same universe, so it doesn't just end there.

Reviewer: Thecaretaker
Date: 05/03/06 9:20
Chapter: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight

I have just come across this fic, Iand I must say its bloody brilliant. Congrats on an excellent fic

Author's Response: Thank you immensely, and might I ask that you check out Right Here? Also, be sure to keep an eye out for Epilogues, Part I, which should be coming around the pike soon.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES