Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For One Good Day

Name: Ice Nine IV (Anonymous) · Date: 05/18/06 1:47 · For: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight
Ok so as my previous review for chapter 2 stated, you got me all wanting McDonalds breakfast. Well that just wasn't possible so the closest I could come with was Ham and Cheese. So I'm in the middle of eating my tasty(but not overly satisfying) sandwich when I read this:

That definitely settles it, Harry thought. They aren’t Hermione and Ginny, they’re death eaters who took polyjuice potion and have brought me out here to give me a heart attack.

I laughed so hard I blew chucks of ham and cheese all over my laptop!! So thanks for that, cause I'm without a doubt blaiming you for it. But onto the actual review!
(this review is really for the story as a whole)

So most of this is Fluff, and I'm a cynical jerk so usually I hate this sort of piece. But that didn't end up being the case here. I really dug this, and it's mostly because you really hit the characters so damn spot on. I'm not trying to inflate your head in any way, really, but there were moments when I completly forgot I was reading FanFic.

The whole second half of this chapter nearly had me in tears (didn't cause i'm just too manly for that, HA). It was a little gushy in parts but rants by all four characters really helped cement this story as more than just fluff (or at least fluff of a higher order than most on this sight). Really I just think you have a better perception of these four then the majority of the fanfic community.

To conclude let me just say this, Book 7 will of course not have anything like this in it(I wouldn't think anyhow). But as a read it in 2007 I think that I'll imagine all this happening anyway and Jo just forgot to mention it. Truly I think that's the best praise I can give you.

Oh and as a side note reading Ron in this fic is making feel really horrible about what i've done to him in the post war fic that I'm writing. Not enough to change it minf you, but it still made me feel bad for being so mean.

Author's Response: Note: The Author does not take responsibility for damage to your computer incurred while reading the author's fanfics. I'm glad you dug that line. Well, you know, about the fluff, that was originally what this whole thing was going to be about. Four to six chapters just crammed with "aw" moments. I kinda like fluff if it's well written, so, you know, that's how it started. Then somewhere in writing the second or third chapter, I realized that that's just not how it was gonna end. It couldn't because tomorrow wasn't going to be as good as today was, plain and simple, and there were some serious underlying issues that had to be addressed. I'm terribly honored that you would compare me to JKR, it's not a common occurrence, but when it happens, that's just, well, I don't have the words for it. And as for this stuff eventually not being canon, that's a bit of the heartbreak of doing these things. I put so much thought into these stories that they do become canon for me. That's why all of my stories follow each other; once I've written one, that's it, the deal is sealed, that's how it happened. So, with Right Here and One Good Day, I'm just hoping that JKR just kind of breezes through those two bits and lets me keep my stuff. And your little side note is definitely the best plug for your fic I've ever seen. I've now clicked on your profile twice hoping to see the story you're talking about because I now want to know what you do to him. I, however, am not that great at plugging my work, so I'll just tell you that I'm really glad you liked this story, and hope you'll read the sequels, Epilogues, Part I: Shadows, and Everybody Does It. Thank you so much.


Name: Ice Nine IV (Anonymous) · Date: 05/17/06 23:40 · For: Chapter 2: Eggs And Soda
Oh man I haven't had McDonalds Breakfast in forever. Thanks to you I'm sitting here at 1am craving hash browns and hotcakes. Oh and the story is awesome to, by the way.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you're liking it. To be honest, my favorite McDonald's breakfast item has got to be the steak egg and cheese bagel. Damn tasty, also damn fattening, so I only eat them like once in a blue moon, you know, gotta keep my girlish figure (just realizing that that's not quite as funny when it's not blatantly obvious that I'm a guy... note, should work on non visiual irony a little more). Thanks again, man you are awesome, on to the next review!


Name: ginnyjss (Signed) · Date: 05/16/06 19:21 · For: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight
really good story


Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'd really appreciate you checking out the rest of my fics, they are all in the same universe as this one, so I think you may enjoy them! Thank you.


Name: Hope_543 (Signed) · Date: 05/16/06 2:19 · For: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight
Woah. That was so powerful, and striking. I've read a lot of fics recently, and yours are by far the best! You've managed to keep the characters so it's really easy to see that they're the same, but you've added your own unique elements of story, and they've just worked! Wow. More of what i said about Right Here, really. I needed this fic!!! Thanks for writing it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading it. I think with Right Here, I was just trying to get as close to JKR's voice while at the same time tell the story of Ron and Hermione getting together the way I liked it. With One Good Day, again I was trying to use JKR's voice, but I think, as you pointed out, I also tried to inject a little bit more of myself into the work, and I definitely injected some symbolism and imagery that I continue to use in later stories. I'm really proud of this last chapter in particular because I started off just wanting to write a long bit of fluff, but I knew it couldn't last, and what came out i the end just felt really real, you know? Thanks for the review.


Name: phoenixgaze (Signed) · Date: 05/14/06 22:44 · For: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight
I don't know what to say, it touched my heart. It made my day, gave me inspiration. I don't know if it was made to have a double meaning, but I found it. A very good one. I'd really like to read a sequel. Keep on writing! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much. You're quite in luck if you liked it enough to want to read a sequel, because there's a prequel, a sequel (almost finished), and a way way way down the road sequel as well. Right here is the prequel, that's the one that started it all, then you got this story, then you have Epilogues, Part I: Shadows, and finally Everybody Does It. When you mention the double meaning, It's been a while since I've wrote that one now, but you know something, I believe that once I've written something and sent it off, my intentions and meanings are no longer valid, it's what it means to you, so if you found a double meaning, than it was always there. Thank you so much for the review, i truly appreciate it.


Name: Potter_freak0515 (Signed) · Date: 05/14/06 1:54 · For: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight
Ummm.... Woah. I liked this one better than yuor first one. Especially the earlier chapters. It's nothing against yuor writing, I just don't like Ron/Hermone and Harry/Ginny. You understand, don't you? You're a good writer and I'm going to read the Epilogue stories now.

Author's Response: I totally agree, the ship involved can really affect your take on a story. I prefer canon ships, for the most part, and have in the past been turned off by certain ships. I think the worst was one in which Voldemort fathered Madame Rosmerta... That one bothered me. But thank you so much for the compliments, and I hope you dig Epilogues.


Name: phoe_gurl (Signed) · Date: 05/13/06 17:32 · For: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight
ahhhhhh. that is so adorable, but you really deal with the more serious parts of the book really well. the character's thoughts were really realistic. i loved it.

Author's Response: I am so glad you loved it. Yeah, that's exactly the reaction I was hoping for this story; lots of fluff with some seriousness towards the end. I'd really love it if you checked out the rest of my stories, I think you'll like them as they are all in the same universe as this one. Thanks for the review!


Name: Dora_ (Signed) · Date: 05/13/06 14:43 · For: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight
Brilliant! Amazing! Great! As usually you keep on writing brilliant stories! And this one was so sweet and you've written it amazingly! I love your fanfics! KUTGW!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I love repeat readers! I really hope you'll read Epilogues, I've not had a lot of reviews there, so I'd love to know what you think about it. Thanks for reading my stories and I'm really glad you enjoy them.


Name: LiliacFleur (Signed) · Date: 05/13/06 12:16 · For: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight
I love this story, and think that the emotions were very well portrayed, in particular the part where Ron and Hermione are talking about marriage. I think that you have got a very good grasp of what the characters would actually be feeling, so well done! There are, however, a few americanisms that could be changed, such as "expressway" becoming "motorway", but other than that I think that this fic is very, very good.

Author's Response: Thank you ever so much, I really appreciate it! It's funny that you should mention it because I had used expressway specifically because I was trying to avoid an Americanism. We will name them expressway, but for the most part we call them highways or freeways. Initially I had intended to use motorway, and to this day I don't know why I used expressway. It probably also didn't help that this story and Right Here were both written before I started using betas. Now I have three regular betas, oneof which is actually British, so I don't think I make that mistake anymore. So I'm very honored you think I have the characters down well, and I'm really glad you enjoyed it. I guess the only thing I could say is that I really wish you would read the rest of my fics... They're all in the same universe, starting with Right Here, then One Good Day, then Epilogues (part I, 2, and 3) of which I'm only up to the third chapter of the first part, and finally another one shot called Everybody Does It.


Name: MaleHorntailDragon (Signed) · Date: 05/12/06 9:28 · For: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight
Love the story, I would have like to see some more loose ends tied up, but pretty solid. The only other problem i have is with harry. Its that he doesn't know if anybody loves him. Not once has anybody in the books state they love him. His problem isn't that he knows people love him and he loves them, its that he can't recognize love. Don't get me wrong he knows people care for him and he cares for them, but to actually love him, thats something entirely foreign to him. I would have changed the dialoge so that he's realizes what they feel for him is love and that is what he feels for them. Other than that I thought it was extremely well written, I thoughly enjoyed it can't wait for more from you.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. Hmm.. I see your point about love, although, I guess the way I read the books was thatit was implied, you know? But I guess I could be wrong. As for any other loose threads, well, I really recommend that you read Right Here and Epilogues Part I. This is actually the second story in my series of stories, so there are lots more! I really appreciate the review.

Author's Response: The more I think about the love thing, I think we could have a pretty excessive debate on that point...


Name: Hamm On Wry (Signed) · Date: 05/11/06 23:29 · For: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight
Mate:
This is one of the best ff's that I have read here. You made the characters come alive and you really pull the reader into the plot. I am looking forward to the sequel...
BTW, enjoyed this much more than the songfic... for some reason I just can't get into those...

Author's Response: Thank you so much. Eh don't worry, songfics are the red headed step children of fanficdom. I don't even like songfics, I just had to write that one. I'm really glad you stopped by, thanks for the read and reviews.


Name: Rikka_23 (Signed) · Date: 05/11/06 11:11 · For: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight
wow.. i cant wait for the sequel.. is it done yet?? the story was beautiful, it really moved me.... i really liked the way you describe the situations.. it is very detailed and your great.... hope to read that sequel soon.... best of luck

Author's Response: Wow... Thank you so much! The sequel is finished, but I'm trying to get it throughthe queue! While we wait, I would really appreciate you checking out my other two published fics here. They're both one shots, Right Here, and Everybody Does It. Thank you so much for the review.


Name: weasleys_and_potters (Signed) · Date: 05/10/06 11:45 · For: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight
i really really really loved this story. you got the emotions accross so well. it was funny and emotional all rolled into one - brilliant!! -zoe

Author's Response: Thank you so much for that! I'm so glad you liked it. Please check out Right Here, and keep your eyes out for my next two fics, "Everybody Does It," and "Epilogues Part I: Shadows." All of my stories exist in the same universe, so it doesn't just end there.


Name: Thecaretaker (Signed) · Date: 05/03/06 9:20 · For: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight
I have just come across this fic, Iand I must say its bloody brilliant. Congrats on an excellent fic

Author's Response: Thank you immensely, and might I ask that you check out Right Here? Also, be sure to keep an eye out for Epilogues, Part I, which should be coming around the pike soon.


Name: Monster Book of Monsters (Signed) · Date: 05/03/06 0:22 · For: Chapter 5: Fireside and Moonlight
Yay - good story! A little too fluffy at the end for my taste - II get bored with "I Love You's" after the first time they say it - but that's just me. It was a good concept, the whole "but COME BACK" thing and makes me wonder if JK won't hint at that in the final book somewhere...

Author's Response: Thank you. Yeah, this one's a fluffathon. I'll let you in on a little secret, after all the conversations were had, I really didn't know exactly how I wanted to fade out of that, so there were the I love yous... In retrospect, a bad call.


Name: Monster Book of Monsters (Signed) · Date: 05/02/06 23:32 · For: Chapter 3: The Strip
The vibrating chair bit was pretty good. I think you hit it right on the head. (Oh man, that was bad... LOL... couln't help it...)

Author's Response: You know, you're the only one that has really picked up on just how dirty that was supposed to be.


Name: Monster Book of Monsters (Signed) · Date: 05/02/06 23:23 · For: Chapter 2: Eggs And Soda
I'm just wondering why McDougalls instead of McDonalds. Is that supposed to be a play on Scotland? 'Cause dude they have McDonalds over there. I ate at a couple of them!

Author's Response: That was mainly because I didn't want to throw in a disclaimer about McDonald's on top of the disclaimer I already had. Didn't feel like dealing with copyright stuff, so I dodged it. Now, the question is, what movie did I pick up McDougall's from?


Name: Monster Book of Monsters (Signed) · Date: 05/02/06 23:12 · For: Chapter 1: Just Harry
Harry opened his eyes blearily? There you go making up words again... heh Still, it's an interesting concept - acting like Muggles for a day. Although, I thought when Harry said he wanted to be "normal" he meant "a normal wizard" - not the boy who lived and that sort of thing. ?? You know I'll still read the next chapters though. Gotta "see" this.

Author's Response: Such a stickler... and yes, Blearily is a word. Honestly. What, you think I just make stuff up over here?


Name: Katastrophe (Signed) · Date: 05/01/06 15:59 · For: Chapter 1: Just Harry
Most excellent! And in the story, you brought up a very good point, very close to a moral of the story. No maatter what the hardships and trials, we all deserve one good day.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. It's very funny, but you're the first person to mention that, and that theme is actually VERY important. Not only is it important to the very heart of this story, but it's absolutely vital to the sequel too. Though, I think you'll find I take everything in a very different direction, it's that sentiment that Ginny expresses to Harry that comes back to play a major role in shaping his life right after the death of Voldemort. Thank you so much for the review, I hope you'll keep your eyes open for Epilogues Part I:Shadows, which is the sequel I speak of. I also hope you wouldn't mind giving a read and review to Right Here, which is actually the prequel to this story. Thanks again, I really appreciate it


Name: heartsinger2 (Signed) · Date: 04/30/06 22:15 · For: Chapter 1: Just Harry
good . and I'm wondering if you are the person who goes by the same pen name on GP.com?

Author's Response: Thank you for the review, and yes I am. In fact, I'm the same pen name there, SIYE, and HPFF. Though only Right Here has made it through queue there. Thanks for the review.


You must login (register) to review.