Reviews For I Don't
Reviewer: Chaser921
Date: 07/01/07 19:28
Chapter: One-Shot

This was a very well written and enjoyable story. Both moments seem very appropriate for Snape's life, particularly his memory about his father.

I particularly liked the contrast that you set up between Snape and Lucius. You didn't make Snape ugly or anything, but he definitely appears inferior to his friend. However, as we all know, looks can be deceiving. Young Snape proves that when he hexes his father.

Note: Even though Snape drank a glass of wine, he could just be against drinking Firewisky, since it's what his father drank. Wine is different...and I just can't see him indulging in beer, ever. So, it's still quite believable.

All together excellent.

Reviewer: Khrys
Date: 07/18/06 22:10
Chapter: One-Shot

While Severus Snape is not my favorite character, he is an intricate and interesting character. There is no short supply of stories written about the character that many love to hate. The majority of the stories revolve around Snape as an adult and attempt to debate his position in the dichotomy of good and evil. I have found few, however, that delve into his childhood.

Madame Marauder has taken an altogether new and intriguing position. Her story begins in a dark bar, in the present day, with Snape’s attitude about drinking clear. Snape find himself forced into a position where he must remember his childhood.

Madame Marauder does an excellent job of taking a simple idea and making into an engaging story. Despite the raging conflict surrounding his character, she manages to make the story solely about his past. She uses drinking as a way of showing how Snape reacts to difficult situations. Which, I think, leads to thought provoking brainstorming about who Severus Snape truly is.

In the end, Snape’s refusal to drink shows just how resolute, and stubborn, he can be. Snape, and Lucius Malfoy, were both kept in character. Her description of the past, done as a flashback to the term before Snape started at Hogwarts, is credible. In my opinion, her sequence of events is an eerily accurate representation of Snape’s past.

Quote:
“That’s what makes me think he’s going to my ‘stupid school’,” she said to her unconscious husband”

This quote, written after a confrontation between Severus and his father, was strong, but it would have been more powerful if there was a descriptive word or two about the tone of her voice when she was speaking to her husband.

Quote:
Snape looked at the goblet and saw his face reflected in the amber liquid. He saw not only his face, but his father’s face. He set the goblet down and pushed it away.

This is another strong and descriptive quote. There are many people who will be able to relate to Snape’s feelings about his father the way that are so eloquently described in the story.

This was a touching and excellent piece about Severus Snape and a childhood incident that dramatically influenced his adult life.


Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for this beautiful, in-depth review. I almost cried when I got this... It's the kind of review an author always hopes for. Thank you so much for your input and compliments.

Reviewer: Cruciatus Love
Date: 04/28/06 20:32
Chapter: One-Shot

Wow, I really liked this piece. I am definitely a Snape fan, so the background is great!

Here are just a few things I picked up:

According do the HPLexicon, the word "the" in "the Hog's Head" in the first sentence shouldn't be capitalized.

For this part, "She ruffled her son's hair, lank and black, like hers and drew him close to her" I think I meant to put the second comma after "like hers."

When I read this part, "But he was lanky and his black, greasy hair was a great contrast to Malfoy's long blonde tresses," I instantly thought that it was wrong to start a sentence with a conjunction. I looked it up and apparently it not wrong, but it is still more correct to add a comma after the conjunction. This is just my opinion, but I think it would flow better as, "But, he was lanky and his black, greasy hair..."

Other than that, I thought this was a great story. I again loved how you showed Snape's childhood. You don't get a lot of that in most fanfics. Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks for the puncutation betaing! I'm so bad with stuff like that. I'll fix it soon. Thanks again for a wonderful review. -MadMar

Reviewer: Zara Ravenwood
Date: 04/01/06 15:57
Chapter: One-Shot

I like this one. Mostly beouse I engoyed seeiing snape sand up for something even if it ment tstandign up to malfoy. PS soory about the spelling Im learing Disabled

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed my story. I love making readers happy. You're review made me smile; I'm glad someone else likes seeing Snape stand up for his beliefs. We see so little of that in the series. Thanks for your review. -MadMar

Reviewer: Blinded Moon
Date: 03/27/06 18:49
Chapter: One-Shot

I've never read a one-shot until I saw this, and I also usually just read romance, but I must say that I'm impressed! You really give a character and a life to someone who is always seen as a darkened face, and those are the kind of fanfics that I like most (I'm actually writing one from the point of view of Voldemort). But again, great fic and keep writing!

Author's Response: I'm glad that I was able to impress a fellow Potterfan. I'll be looking forward to your Voldemort story. -MadMar

Author's Response: I'm glad that I was able to impress a fellow Potterfan. I'll be looking forward to your Voldemort story. -MadMar

Reviewer: Oppungo
Date: 03/19/06 13:59
Chapter: One-Shot

What struck me first about this story is the amazing description, right from the beginning, which really drew me in. I got a really vivid description of the two men in the pub, and they were both so in character. "The scent was too strong, as was the memory it provoked." I absolutely love this line, it's so powerful. The only criticism I can find is two minor typos; "to Malfoy long blonde tresses" - I think this should be 'Malfoy's', and "Snape stood to great his friend" - should this be 'greet'? This is a really good portrayal of Snape's home life, making the characters react in ways that they truly would, Snape's parents were very well done, and especially Snape himself was especially well in character. Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks for pointing out the typos-- I'll fix them ASAP. But more importantly, thank you for the in depth input. I'm glad you enjoyed my story enough to find a favorite quote. I'm glad everyone seemed in-character. That's always been a bit tricky for me. Thanks again for your review. -MadMar

Reviewer: 3560s
Date: 03/19/06 5:14
Chapter: One-Shot

I love this story.Please write another chapter soon if you can.

Author's Response: No thanks. I'm glad you loved the story, but as to writing another chapter, I don't intend on it. You can check my other stories out if you want to. They're both finished, but I'm working on others. But, if you like reading stories featuring Eileen and Tobias Snape, I recommend "Eileen Loves Toby" by Vindictus Viridian. It's one of my favorites and VV has enough Snape Backstories to keep fans satisfied. Another author I'd recommend is Sigune. Very good portrayls of Severus in their writing as well.

Reviewer: Avenger_of_Dumbldore
Date: 03/16/06 8:32
Chapter: One-Shot

Wow, Madmar, good job! You reviewd my Snape fic, so I am returning the favor :) I liked it allot. I think that you were pritty true to both characters that were in your story, and I liked the way you portrayed Snapes mom. I always thought of her as more of a push over, but you gave her a back bone! Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks, Avenger. I know what you mean about Eileen being portrayed as a push-over; Severus must have had someone supporting of him, other wise he would be a push over or completely embittered-- like Voldemort. But I could talk about all that until the cows come home. What I'd like to say is thank you for such an attentive review.

Reviewer: little_kitty
Date: 03/15/06 21:27
Chapter: One-Shot

MadMar, wow...what can I say? This was great! I can't believe you actually just took one meeting between Lucius and Snape and turned it into a one-shot! I personally would not be able to do something like that. :) Anyway, I thought your characterization was pretty accurate. I actually feel kind of sorry for Snape in this fic, since it seems he had such a horrible childhood. I've never read a Snape-based fic before, so this is my first one. I have to say you've given me a good impression. :) 10/10

Author's Response: I'm glad that I gave you a good first impression, and honored that you read my Snape-fic before any of the others (there are many). I'm glad that you thought I was in-character; I always worry abou that. And I apparently got the response I was after; you felt sorry for Snape. Your review really made me smile knowing that I impressed someone so much.

Reviewer: 3560s
Date: 03/06/06 12:33
Chapter: One-Shot

I really liked it.I want to be the first to say that was cool!Snape's dad probably was an arse hole who drunk heavily,being mean to Eileen.I liked it.Write another chapter,please.

Author's Response: It's labelled one-shot for a reason-- there is no more to it. The story ends there. Well, it doesn't "end"; it lives on in my (and the readers') head(s), but there's no more to be written. I'm glad you liked it. Maybe I'll do some more on Snape Backstory, but this is the end of "I Don't".

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Argus Filch by BrokenPromise 1st-2nd Years
Written for the Anniversary Challenge v3 over on the boards - a double dactyl...
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES