Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/10/09 20:26
Chapter: Decisions

That was totally wonderful. I have this feeling of satisfaction--kind of like Elpis purring. I never expected Lily to be throwing crucios around. I was very happy with their solution to the problem. The drunkeness hex was pretty funny. Poor Sirius. I can't believe Severus was ballsy enough to remove Lucius' memory. That was very good. Then for Eris to alter Erik's memory--well, that was just necessary. The last part was excellent. I take it Severus will be accompanied by his cat. Excellent book. Thanks for writing this. I'll probably see you in the sequel next.

Author's Response:

Thank you for being such a wonderfully encouraging reader! P L Travers, who wrote Mary Poppins, said, "A writer is, after all, only half his book. The other half is the reader and from the reader the writer learns" and you certainly prove the quote true.

*hugs*

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/10/09 19:27
Chapter: Darkness

This chapter was amazing. I hope I remember to make all my points. I wish there was some way to make notes in the margins. James seems like such a kind young man, almost gallant. I appreciated Kendrick's comments about knights being chivalrous--even if they are Death Eaters. Oh Severus--what did you do when you recruited Peter? What a sad day. Tom is so vengeful--a good friend but a nasty, powerful enemy. And, just when things were working out, Eris gets crucioed. I'll probably have to read the last chapter tonight. I hate to leave one last chapter hanging. I saw "Firelight" on SNL last Saturday. That was so funny, I laughed out loud and I usually try to keep quiet at night so my little guys aren't disturbed. I couldn't believe how well done that was. Again, an amazing chapter. I can't wait to see what you do for a finale.

Author's Response:

Yay, you won't wait to read the last chapter! That's a lovely compliment. Thank you so much!

James has a good heart and had lovely parents. I got to write them in the Christmas chapters of Semi Charmed Life and they were delightfully eccentric. Here's a quote from when the Potters meet them at the station.

“Sirius!” Mrs. Potter called. “Where is my second son?” She leaned heavily on a cane, but her smile was mischievously girlish. “James owled that my black sheep had Rapunzel hair. Yours is much too short. You can’t be Sirius.”

Sirius took her hand and brought it to his lips. “A woman who loves puns is a pearl above price.”

She kissed him on one cheek and patted him with gloved fingers on the other. “Handsome and charming…you are Sirius, after all.”

“I am seriously famished,” Mr. Potter interjected, coming forward to shake Sirius’ hand. “I do not believe I have eaten all day. Have I, my dear?” he asked his wife.

“You skipped afternoon tea,” she said, “avoiding my ladies’ group.”

“What cause are you championing now?” James asked. He grinned at Sirius, who smiled, remembering his joke that he was the most worthy cause Mrs. Potter had ever supported.

“The Society for the Preservation and Acceptance of Muggles.”

“S.P.A.M…what kind of name is SPAM? It will never catch on,” Mr. Potter said sceptically.

“Do not argue in front of the children,” Mrs. Potter scolded, walking past her husband at a brisk pace that belied her age and use of the cane. “You play with your toy trains in the attics, and I will make a difference in the world,” she tossed over her shoulder.

“Model Railway, Madam!” Mr. Potter retorted. “King’s Cross and its environs, circa 1920, complete down to the Caledonian road and its station!” He glanced at the boys and winked. “Hold out for strong-willed women, lads.”

Okay, back to the current story, heh. The finale, I hope, will have you eagerly searching for the sequel. ^_~

 

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/10/09 15:55
Chapter: Tensions

I think Eris has been dancing in quicksand during this entire chapter. I really admire how she got around Sev's anger at the beginning. Kind of reminded me of something I'd do. Eileen seemed charmed. The halitosis hex was pretty funny--I almost laughed out loud at that one. It was hard to keep my snickers to myself. This last part--I don't know how Eris is going to get out of this one. She should've told Sev she had an animagus form a long time ago. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Eris is in trouble, and even though she brought it on herself, I couldn't help feeling sorry for her...and neither can others, a fact that will annoy Severus, heh.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/10/09 13:05
Chapter: Surprises

Oh Sev--please be nice. Dani may sound like a blond, blue-eyed angel but I think she's more Slytherin than Eris. The vampire comment was very funny. How sweet of Dani to take pictures and give them to Eris. Eileen is presented in a very positive light. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Oh yeah, Dani's a lot more cunning than Eris. Thank you for liking the vampire comment! There was a SNL parody of Twilight with Taylor Swift as the Bella character and Frankensteins instead of vampires called Firelight you might get a smile out of watching. :D

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/10/09 10:41
Chapter: Spells

That was so sweet. What a nice Valentine's Day. Sev is more romantic than I would've thought--but he does have that intensity I described earlier. He is a little younger than me but not so much to be disgusting--he's very intellectual which I can appreciate. Anyway, back to the chapter. I hope Eris shares her animagus skills with Severus soon, before Lucius says something. The thought of her being with one of the Lestranges is pretty bad. I finally got my laptop set up to be wireless last night, around 9:00. Yay--I'm so good--it took long enough, around four hours and I had to get upper management people at the help desk to advise but it's done. Those people are the ones who are good. They found ways to get around the problems I was having with my desk top. Great chapter, by the way:)

Author's Response: I thought for sure I'd responded to this. Geez, I hope I didn't review myself instead. :P I'm a sucker for Valentine's Day and every other holiday, and I know how disappointed I am when writers don't go all out to make the characters (and through vicarious identification, the readers) experience them in a memorable way.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/09/09 19:02
Chapter: Dreams

I got kicked off this website late this morning after spending all morning on the phone with the wireless router people. I was annoyed, but I have to admit that I got all of my other stuff done and I mysteriously got back on this site when all my work was done:) However, I still have to call that help desk again--I had to stop talking to them because my phone battery died. I really loved reading about Eris and Sev opening their presents. Eris is so thoughtful. She's so funny as the cat. If Sev only knew who he really was sleeping with. Eris' noises to get rid of Bellatrix were particularly funny and on time. I'm not sure how much more I can read tonight. It depends how far I get with my friends at the help desk. There's always tomorrow at work. This was a really good chapter. I love all the Christmas detail.

Author's Response:

Annoyed...I think that's an understatement! You talked to them so long your battery died. Says it all, right there!

If Sev knew who he was sleeping with, he wouldn't be happy about it, so it's better he doesn't...for now...

Thank you for loving the Christmas detail! Yes, there are solemn, even malevolent things going on at the same time, but it's Christmas, and like a Who down in Whoville, I can't help making sure Christmas came all the same. :D

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/09/09 8:27
Chapter: Voldemort

I didn't expect Eris to laugh over Sev's comments. I don't think he did either. The fact that he could break through the charm on the dress seemed to startle Eris. I loved Sev's explanation as to why that happened. The thought of Bellatrix getting a Howler was pretty funny. I think we're seeing the beginning of the end here with Sev's inauguration into the Knights. Although, I kind of felt sorry for Clive. It seems that it might be dangerous to be turned away from the Knights--to be considered that weak. Great chapter.

Author's Response:

She startled him and he startled her. Seemed a good balance. ;D

There's twenty four chapters, so Severus has a bit more to learn about himself and what he will..and won't...do to further his ambitions. 

Yes, Clive should be worried. At best, he's flunky material, at worst....

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/08/09 21:45
Chapter: Preparations

Well, that wasn't very nice of Severus. In light of Narcissa's comment and the earlier comment from one of the Lestrange's, I guess he's allowed. But it's still not nice to make others feel bad just because you feel bad--that's like kicking your dog when you've had a bad day. Narcissa and Eris sounded lovely. How cute--she was eavesdropping on Remus and his mother--and then she found a book for Sev. You know, if Sev's hair is long enough to pull back into a tail, that's what he should do. That would look really awesome. Do you think Sev might be my age:D Or close enough:D Great chapter.

Author's Response:

The HP Lexicon puts Severus' birth date as January 9, 1960, but hey, age aint nothin' but a number, baby! :D

There's a great Anne Frank quote: Whoever is happy will make others happy too.  The reverse is true with Severus. I've never thought that excused the way he treated people (especially Harry) but it does make me sympathize with him. I can understand him, and in the words of a old song, "To know, know, know him...." LOL

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/08/09 19:24
Chapter: Holiday

I knew there was a reason I liked Eris' grandfather. This answered one of my earlier questions--as to whether Severus knew that Fenrir was a werewolf. He's such a jerk to say the least. How sweet--Dani and her family came to spend Christmas. I'm really liking this description of Christmas and the Greyback's Christmas traditions, although I know there's trouble around the bend. Great chapter.

Author's Response: I like showing Death Eaters are people too. They celebrate holidays as well knighting ceremonies. Voldemort's around the bend (literally as well as figuratively, heehee).

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/08/09 17:33
Chapter: Gatherings

Eris is so cool. I just love that she's taken a romantic interest in Severus. He deserves the best. Did I mention that I've always loved Severus, even when he seemed to be mean to Harry. Did I also mention that I'm working on a story about Bellatrix. i've planned it out, but am trying to finish my book before i do much with it. For some reason, she fascinates me. There's some bizarre stuff going on there. Great chapter.

Author's Response:

Huzzah for you always loving Severus! I remember reading the first book and thinking, forget about Harry Potter, I want to know more about Severus Snape! That first years speech was toe curling, lol.

Bellatrix outdoes Patsy Cline in the "crazy for loving you" category. :D She'd do anything for Voldemort, which is pretty much my premise for why Tonks is still breathing in my AU fic. I had the best time writing Bella in the R/T first chapter, and her characterization is less man eater, more Machiavellian. 

You have such willpower putting off fan fiction for original work! I'm working on my fantasy novel for NaNoWriMo, but I still sneak in bits of fan fiction here and there. ;)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/08/09 16:42
Chapter: Disclosures

I sure loved this chapter. Eris' story about her cat rolled off her tongue so easily. I don't see any problem with that. She's been nothing but helpful in her animagus state. The scene in the car was hysterical. Sev is so sly--but in a good and playful way, unlike Lucius who is so smooth and a slimeball. I love Eris' family, especially the grandfather. I know, I know, I just met them and there's probably a dark story going on--they are hosting the Knights, after all. I can't describe how this chapter made me feel. i felt like I did back in graduate school at an Ivy League University--we were starving students and had little but what we had was quality. Those were some of the best years of my life and those are the memories awakened by this chapter. So thank you for that. Excellent chapter.

Author's Response:

I'm so happy the chapter made you feel that way, and what an interesting life you've led! I wish you many more adventures and shining years!

If Eris trusted Severus with her secrets, she would have more than Hufflepuff tendencies, she would have to be mad. Severus is much too ambitious at the moment. He doesn't have his priorities right yet. :D

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/08/09 10:37
Chapter: Transitions

Oh, oh--Sev thinks Eris did something with "his cat." What's she gonna say. That was so sweet of her to transfigure his clothing. I used to sew a lot so I knew what she meant by tailoring and the hang of fabric and quality. I know that Sev needs Tom as a friend rather than an enemy. Tom will make a good Death Eater. Does Severus have enough information on where Eris was over the summer to satisfy Lucius? I have a feeling she learned some odd, obscure, very ancient magic. I finally chanced looking at review responses. I didn't want anything to kick me out of the story, so I waited to look at a number of them at once. If I had looked earlier I would've known why Eris was being so nice to Remus. I must say you are right--when I fix my computer it's due more to my psychic skills than knowledge. Computers are so literal that I have to keep reminding myself not to question why--it's not a philosophical issue--but to just do what it says. That's hard for me to do because I always like to know why. And I always have to stick with the logic--I can't meander down any creative paths when working with my computer. I've been working with computers for nearly 40 years but I just use them. I don't need to know about their internal workings. They just need to work as far as I'm concerned. I bought the Smashing Pumpkins Greatest Hits yesterday. It's very good. I didn't realize it came out in "01 though. I really thought I had something new:) Actually, I found it while looking for Melon Collie and the Infinite Sadness which is even older so I shouldn't complain:) Great chapter, by the way.

Author's Response:

I'm a sewing lesson drop out, heh, so I had to look that stuff up. Thank heavens for the internet, allowing any random idea to be googled until you find the information you're looking for! :D

Today is the greatest
Day I've ever known
Can't live for tomorrow,
Tomorrow's much too long

Smashing Pumpkins! There's that show Whale Warriors or something that uses their song for the theme song...The world is a vampire... :) Today fits Severus. He definitely wanted more than life could ever grant him, but had a few days that fit "the greatest". 

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/08/09 9:07
Chapter: Snow

I'm excited for Severus and Eris. I'm frightened for Narcissa. Duh, I finally got it--why Eris is trying to help Remus. She believes she's responsible for her uncle turning him into a werewolf. Sometimes you have to be so clear with me. And, this is how he gets together with Dorcas. Once I got into this story I stayed in--hopefully I won't get kicked out until I'm ready to call my internet provider help desk, maybe this afternoon after I get a few other things done. Great chapter.

Author's Response:

Lucius isn't that bad. At least he loves his family, which is more than moldy-shorts can say. :D

I'll cross my fingers the internet help desk is helpful!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/07/09 21:41
Chapter: Reactions

I realized that I really like Jugson--he always takes things literally. I really laughed when he asked why Severus would go cry in the library when he could cry in his room:) I forgot before, I really like the scenes with Kettleburn. I liked his comments about house unity when he just couldn't remember who was who. That scene with the water bull was hilarious. Severus saved the cat again. I don't think he's going to be very happy when he finds out who the cat is. I think he's going to see it as a breach of trust or something. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Jugson is Slytherin comic relief :D, so thank you for liking him...and the water bull fiasco! Yes, Severus is going to be very put out, so it's a good thing he won't find out for a long time, heh.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/07/09 21:08
Chapter: Summons

Severus just seems very shy but intense. I'm reminded of another story on another site about Regulus Black. Severus figures heavily in the story, as does his relationship with Bellatrix. It was quite outrageous with her constantly dragging him off to bed--and that's putting it mildly. In that story they had a very intense love/hate relationship. That was pretty cool of Severus to summon Eris. Do those Marauders do anything but prank people and eat:) Great chapter.

Author's Response:

Severus is socially challenged. :D

Bella only has eyes for Voldemort, but she's not above trying to use her sexuality to gain power or torment people. I can see Rodolphus having a love/hate relationship with her, but Severus? Nah. 

I happen to have a Sirius-centered Marauder Era story called Semi Charmed Life that takes place in seventh year. In the Marauder band of merry men he's Will Scarlett and helps "Robin" woo maid Lily, avoids sermons from Friar Moony, aids a rat in need, and wins the heart of a fair lady. If you ever want to read about the Marauders doing things other than pranking and eating, heh, I'd love you to read it. ^_~

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/07/09 20:39
Chapter: Lures

Lucius is so sly. If he's on such good terms with the Greybacks why doesn't he ask them where Eris was over the summer. Damn, now I'm starting to wonder where she was. I thought the jump roping was very charming and I think Sev thought so too, but he wouldn't admit it. I'm almost sensing that Eris is using the advice she gave James on Severus--kind of acting friendly but not too interested. My computer problems are making me crabby. I know what's going to happen. I'm going to whine and drag my feet for a few days--this is the third day--then I'll fix it myself and everyone will go "How'd you do that" and I won't know--I'll just do it. I don't really enjoy working on computers. I believe they should just be there working for me when I need them:) Great chapter. I'm really liking this story.

Author's Response:

The Greybacks don't know where she went. She just took off, naughty girl. :D

You're the first person who's ever made the connection between the way Eris told James to act and the way she's acting toward Severus! It's very much subconscious, she hasn't admitted wanting to act on the attraction yet, but it's there! ;)

I'm so impressed you can fix your computer! My other SD internet pal is a computer whiz, but I think she has an IT degree. Yours sounds like psychic powers. Computer, heal thyself! :P

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/07/09 19:44
Chapter: Ghosts

I bought myself "The Nightmare Before Christmas" for Christmas last year. I should watch it again but I keep forgetting. Tom is very much a cruel brat. Clive and Erik were intent upon hurting Severus and Tom though. I remember, from living in LA, all of the skeleton toys that were for the day after Halloween. I'm really liking this story. The cyber God is smiling on me, letting me get into Mugglenet and read your stories. Great chapter.

Author's Response: You can see why Severus prefers Tom as a friend than an enemy. Yay for you getting to read! If you ever want to read a Jack and Sally Halloween-Eve one shot, here's the link to my story Restless Hearts. http://www.fanfiction.net/s/2694687/1/Restless_Hearts

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/07/09 18:49
Chapter: Frights

Now I'm really trying to figure out what Eris is doing in Slytherin. She really does sound more like a Hufflepuff. I'm only saying that because she's so nice. How many people would give up a perfectly good evening to spend time with a lonely werewolf. I've never mentioned that I really like it when Tom, Sev's roommate, speaks in a heavily Yorkshire accent. I always read those parts out loud because they sound so cool. Great chapter.

Author's Response:

She feels guilty for "causing" Remus to become a werewolf, since nasty old Fenrir made her think he turned Lupin because of Sirius' taunts. I think she was probably like Harry and lots of others and had traits that suited more than one house and was sorted into the one they wanted to be in.

Thank you for liking Tom's accent! I had a lot of fun looking it up. 

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/07/09 18:09
Chapter: Trials

I loved this chapter. I never really thought of Severus as a Quidditch player. Doesn't Sutton know that when you purposely try to interfere in things it usually doesn't work out. Eris is so cute, trying to help James. That cat's gonna become Severus' familiar. I'm still trying to get my computer, including the laptop, up to snuff. This is the first time I'm using the laptop and it's not totally ready to be used. But, we'll figure that out sometime Monday. So, if you don't hear from me too much, that's why. I did manage to get in and read this chapter, so if I don't get kicked out I'll keep reading. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Snape's so determined, I can't believe he didn't overcome his first year awkwardness and learn to fly, and envy that James was captain while he didn't make the team was behind his snarky comments to Harry about James' Quidditch ability.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/06/09 12:45
Chapter: Glimpses

That was so funny--I'm such a child--Sirius Black having dog breath. That was a great hex, especially considering he thought it stunk because of Slytherins. I think Eris has a little crush on Severus. Does Severus not know that Eris' uncle is a werewolf? I just thought it was odd to think she might be afraid of werewolves. Although, I suppose it's possible to be afraid of an uncle. They can be creepy. Great chapter.

Author's Response:

Thank you for grinning over Sirius having dog breath! :D

Eris' crush is little, now, but just wait, LOL. She isn't afraid of werewolves as much as guilt-ridden over what she thinks is her fault, Remus being turned by "Uncle Fenny". 

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES