Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 07/07/08 19:56
Chapter: n/a

I love it, particularly the ending. And wouldn't it be cool to have a sorting hat to talk to?

Reviewer: Fantasium
Date: 03/23/08 16:18
Chapter: n/a

Leslie! I never knew that you had written Salazar/Helga! It actually happens to be one of my favourite pairings, much as it contradicts canon and with all its difficulties. As Hufflepuffs, I think that both you and I are aware of the charms of a Slytherin, and that we can relate to Helga’s feelings.

I think you’ve pinned down Helga’s feelings very accurately, and you convey them to us with an honesty that is very fitting for her character. In fact, Helga is very well-written overall; the only issue I have with her is her dialogue, which sounds a bit too modern to me. I’m not saying that you should change it all to Old English or something, and I’m not exactly looking for a more formal tone because I don’t see Helga as a particularly formal person, but maybe her words would have been more convincing had they been a bit more old-fashioned.

We all know that Helga was the most accepting of the four Founders, so I’m completely willing to believe what you tell us about her being the one to raise her voice against Salazar’s pure-blood ideas, even if they were lovers. But it also makes complete sense that Godric would be the one responsible for the big fight – cleverly done, dear, because by letting Godric take that blow, Helga seems just about sad enough for this story to work. If she’d been completely broken, you would have had to use a much more depressing tone and the story might have lost some of its charm.

Now, the Sorting Hat! With the Hat lies the true genius of your story – its voice is perfect, entirely non-human even though it has become conscious through the work of humans. It is the ideal confidant, so much better than a Pensieve or a magic mirror, and of course you have the advantage of the Hat “knowing” Salazhar; why, part of it comes from him, even!

I love that you used the, “better to have love and lost, than never to have loved at all” theme, as it happens to be something I truly believe in. It really is a very clever Hat. ;)

How you manage an uplifting ending here I don’t know, but you certainly do manage it. It’s very touching that the remaining three founders seem to still think of Salazar as one of their own; I get the feeling that they are sorry rather than angry.

This is a lovely piece, Leslie. I would love to see you write more Helga/Salazar. Perhaps he did return to Hogwarts someday..?

Reviewer: phoenixfire7
Date: 02/06/08 5:05
Chapter: n/a

aw, this was so sad, but sweet at the same time! i've never seen the slytherin/hufflepuff ship before, so this was refreshing to read (i usually just stick to lily/james, lol) kudos!

Reviewer: Nyaza
Date: 09/03/07 15:13
Chapter: n/a

oh, god! Hey, why unexpected? *smiles* I love them, and i was looking for sth of them (it's not easy to find!!) and... aw... i loved it... Helga made me think of myself, which isn't weird (yay, huffie! LOL!) I loved the use of the hat... really really lovely, poor Helga ._.!!!

Author's Response: Helga/Salazar is VERY rare, I agree. I'm glad you liked it, and thanks for the review! :)

Reviewer: Onbegrepen
Date: 01/01/07 11:36
Chapter: n/a

This was great, i really enjoyed it. I love the pairing of Salazar/Helga and this protrayed their relasionship in a realistic light. I liked what you done with the sorting hat it made it original.

Overall this was really good.

*adds to favourites*

-Onbegrepen

Author's Response: A favourite? Wow! I didn't think it was that great...but I really appreciate it! This is a pretty peculiar pairing, isn't it? Have a nice day! *D*

Reviewer: mugglegurl
Date: 11/27/06 21:08
Chapter: n/a

What a great fic! I have to admit, when I first read it, I had to scroll down to the bottom to get what was going on *blushes* But what I really liked about this fic was how it was to the point. You didn't waste time with describing the surroundings, and for this fic it worked.

Also-- great choice for using the Hat!! The Hat is part of each of the founders, so it was kind of like Helga was talking to Godric, Salazar, Rowena, and herself at the same time. Also, I think Helga was the wisest choice for who to talk to the hat. Godric is brave, Salazar is sly, and Rowena is wise, so why would they need to talk to the Hat? Helga's ability to do such really says a lot about her personality. Sometimes it's hard to let your emotions out and talk to other people, so I guess I can sense why Helga would want to talk to an inanimate object.

I wished you would've added a bit more detail in some parts; the argument against Godric and Salazar, for example.

It was because of me. Not that they fought over me, of course not, but I have standards I cannot let down, even if they’re challenged by the one I love.

So what caused the fight, exactly? What was the turning point? I know this fic isn't especially about the fight between the two founders, and more about Helga's feelings about Salazar, but I think that elaborating on the fight a wee bit more would help us understand what Helga is going through.

The romance between Helga and Salazar was interesting-- in a good way! It wasn't something you see often, and it really sparked questions in my mind, like why do future Slytherins seem to think so little Hufflepuffs? (If this fic was canon, that is).

Then there was the Hat's personality. As said above, it's a bit of all the founders, is it not? The Hat really seemed to be a good mixture of Godric, Salazar, Rowena, and even Helga herself. Its cockiness sort of fits in with JKR's Hat... I can very easily imagine it saying all of that.

Favorite line:
“I don’t know, I am feeling rather foolish now. He’ll never come back, and it’s my fault. We were in love, you know.”

Yes, I had gathered that.


I don't know why I enjoyed that part so much. Helga had been repeating herself a bit much, hadn't she? It was very Hat-like.

And, for an SBBC review, I'm sorry this was so short. But I think I summed up my views pretty well. Overall rating: 9.5/10

Author's Response: for an SBBC review this is pretty long, actually, jordan. I really appreciate your taking the time to comment and all. Have a lovely day! *D*

Reviewer: LadyAlesha
Date: 11/03/06 11:06
Chapter: n/a

Leslie,

I don’t think I’ve read another one of your stories before, so I have no idea if your writing style is always the way it was in this story, but I liked it a lot. I do enjoy reading authors who have a more elaborate, even convoluted style, but every now and then I love reading something that’s pretty straight forward and to the point. It’s refreshing and it was exactly what I needed when I read your story, so I’m glad we’re discussing it in the SBBC this week, or else I probably wouldn’t have read it.

At first I was confused as to who Helga is talking to, for a while I actually thought she was talking to herself, but then it becomes more and more obvious that she’s talking to the Sorting Hat. I love your choice of confidant for Helga in this situation. I don’t think Godric or Rowena would have been of help to her or been able to make her feel better, because as I understood it, they didn’t even know about her relationship with Salazar and wouldn’t have understood it if she had told them. The Hat is the perfect choice, because it contains a little bit of her friends, her love and herself, and it won’t judge her. I could, for example, see Godric trying to make her see that Salazar is bad and just used her, because after his argument with Salazar, he probably wouldn’t be in the mood to listen to Helga’s pain and be understanding. Rowena would probably have her own problems to deal with and not enough time to provide the support Helga needs. The Sorting Hat on the other hand, doesn’t share Godric’s hard feelings towards Salazar, or Rowena’s busy schedule and he can just listen to what Helga has to say and thus let her get it off her chest, which is what she needs.

Helga herself possesses a number of qualities typically associated with Hufflepuffs, but she also shows that she’s not a push-over and that she will stand her ground and stay true to herself and her ideals even if it gets tough. She seems insecure but at the same time sure of the love she and Salazar shared, and I especially like that. On some level she knows that he genuinely loved her even before the Sorting Hat told her he spoke to him of her, but in the situation she is in, after he left, it’s only natural to also have doubts about it.

Now, concrit… I really don’t have any constructive things to say, I think. The format, with mostly dialogue and only a few descriptive sentences, worked well for a story of this length, but if you kept it up for much longer it would lose it’s appeal and just drag on anymore, but that isn’t really constructive…

Oh wait, I found something halfway constructive to say: but she thinks on the last thing the Sorting Hat said to her and decides it is right. I think you have to use ‘about’ instead of ‘on’ as a preposition after ‘she thinks’ here.

Anyway, I liked this story a lot, mainly because it’s straight forward and kept quite simple. *huggles*

Author's Response: It's being discussed in SBBC?! *runs over and reads what everyone is saying* Thanks so much for your review, Ilka! Have a most lovely day! *D*

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 07/03/06 19:49
Chapter: n/a

Actually, I think this interpretation turned out quite well. As for the pairing... well, opposites attract they say.

Author's Response: I'm really glad you liked it. And it would be a sort of opposites attract sort of deal, wouldn't it?

Reviewer: Blossomlily
Date: 04/24/06 5:51
Chapter: n/a

This is wonderfully written, CA!! I thoroughly enjoyed it. I love your portrayal of Helga and I wish we could have seen what sort of people you made the other three. Somehow, I get the feeling from the end that Slytherin didn't love her as much as he made out to because later the Hat appears to be faking concern for her...
Am I wrong?


Anyhow, I loved these lines. Well, you’re getting my brim all wet with your tears.

“I thought it was something like that.”
So funny! Superb job!


Author's Response: Ummm...actually, I don't know. I think it could go either way. Salazar did come talk to the hat, and worry about Helga, but that could have been not because he still loved her but because he still cared for her ... I'm really glad you liked it, I'll have to think about doing another Founders fic. Thanks for your review! *D*

Reviewer: Fly to Dawn
Date: 03/21/06 1:43
Chapter: n/a

Helga/Salazar? Unexpected, but this story made it believeable! I absolutely love the way you bought the Sorting Hat into the story, 'You're making my brim wet!' *laughs* Loved it!

Author's Response: Believable? Thank you! It was pretty fun to write the Sorting Hat, although you might be able to tell how hard it was for me to keep it objective. *pets Sorting Hat* Thanks for your review! Have a nice day! *D*

Reviewer: Hamstergeist
Date: 03/20/06 8:36
Chapter: n/a

Squeak Squeak Squeak! Welcome to SPEW!

Author's Response: Aw, a SPEW review from our mascot! *hands some undead apple slices* Thank you very much! I appreciate your well-thought out review and how you made me feel like I could improve as a writer. Thanks. *chuckle* Have a nice day! *D*

Reviewer: Dory_the_Fishie
Date: 03/08/06 16:28
Chapter: n/a

CA, this was wonderful! Helga/Salazar, yes a rarepair, but you certainly did a great job protraying it. I love your use of the Sorting Hat; I think it was perfect for a confidante. I also really liked your choice of setting, during Salazar's and Godric's huge fight. I think it was a very appropriate time for Salazar and Helga's relationship to fall apart. You write so well, and you've characterized Helga perfectly, I think. Great job!

Author's Response: Ah, Leanne. You are too kind. I was so happy to see that my story came in useful, in part because it meant that I garnered a review. *shy smirk* Thanks so much for your nice words for my very worst attempt at a story. (written in like half an hour on the 27th of February.) Have a nice day! Badger Pride! :) *D*

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES