Reviewer: winters_tale
Date: 12/01/10 12:38
Chapter: Challenge # 5 (Valentine's Challenge)

Aw, this one ended so sadly! It was very good though. You did a great job fitting the entire story into a oneshot.

Reviewer: tha_looney_one
Date: 08/13/07 10:08
Chapter: Challenge # 5 (Valentine's Challenge)

this is really touching. its more than a missing moment fic, though. i just sort of realized that in all our 'oh yay, ron and mione got together parties, we never paid a thought topoor old viktor. an exelllent story overall. keep writing

Reviewer: Juan Weasley
Date: 01/20/07 20:11
Chapter: Challenge # 5 (Valentine's Challenge)

Even as a Hermione/Ron fan, I always had a soft spot for Hermione/Krum. This was a lovely story with both of the ships. You manged to keep it real and sweet and for that I thank you.

Author's Response: I also think Hermione and Ron fits one another perfectly, but how she won Krum's heart in GOF has just struck me as sweet.

Reviewer: Kantaka
Date: 11/29/06 19:37
Chapter: Challenge # 5 (Valentine's Challenge)

the most lovely fic i've read so far (and that's not few)
you (and your) betaw do a wonderfull job!
keep it up, so i can live trough the painfull wait till book 7!

Author's Response: Lucky for me, Andrea gives the best advice and really knows romance :)

Reviewer: lily_writes
Date: 07/02/06 9:28
Chapter: Challenge # 5 (Valentine's Challenge)

I liked how you inserted quotes from GoF. That was really cool, and I feel that it supplemented the story to help carry it through the whole year. Another thing that was pretty cool was that you carried some of the beginning to the end, I liked that. All in all, a very good story.

Author's Response: Thank you.

Reviewer: wendelin the wierd
Date: 06/27/06 20:13
Chapter: Challenge # 5 (Valentine's Challenge)

Ok, I'll have to leave for school right now so please forgive me for leaving only a short review.


I'll just be highlighting what were the best parts of your story and of course, you'll be receiving a little critique.

First of all, I love the use of the quidditch metaphor. It somehow makes this story real powerful.


And the missing moments from the books were excellent too.

I loved the ending! Couldn't have been better.

This is truly a fantastic story. No wonder everybody loves it!

Author's Response: Thanks. :) Always did thought that there's something poetic about making the ending reflect upon the beginning or something :) - puts symmetry into it somehow.

Reviewer: mooncalf
Date: 06/27/06 18:14
Chapter: Challenge # 5 (Valentine's Challenge)

Wow, that was really sweet, but a bit sad. I love your characterisation of Hermione in this; from start to finish, she is perfectly plausible. Victor is wonderful too. In the books, he isn't given much depth, but you took what you knew from canon and developed him into a very real character without him ever seeming out of character. The only criticism I can think of right now is you might want to change Hermione's description of Ron as a 'doofus' to something a little more British. Great story!

Author's Response: *wince* Americanism ... and modern slang. Thanks for that suggestion.

Reviewer: Lurid
Date: 06/17/06 0:30
Chapter: Challenge # 5 (Valentine's Challenge)

Hey Miel! Well, for someone who doesn't write romance, you're certainly on the right track! You find people, when they first start writing romance, it's very smutty, very boring. This is deeper, and has more meaning. Romance isn't just lust, or love, it's connection, and I particulary like the way you've helped Hermione connect with the "outside" world better. She wasn't all over him, which impressed me. This fic was actually reccomended to me on the boards, so I checked it out, and reccommended it myself. You managed to include the canon details flawlessly, I could have swore that they were your own.'Grats on another great fic!

Author's Response: Hey Steph!

I'm reponding only now after *shock* more than 11 months! yes I've been away from this site that long.

Thanks for that review. I wonder how far your fic has gone since I last read it. (awful aren't I?)

Just wanted to say that I'm glad to be back and to find a review of yours here. :)

Reviewer: Fly to Dawn
Date: 06/15/06 4:42
Chapter: Challenge # 5 (Valentine's Challenge)

This fic was recommended to me by a friend - and I certainly wasn't disappointed!
I like the way how you write Hermione and Krum's relationship throughout this fic, taking parts of GoF out, which makes it easier for me to relate to the relationship. The ending was perfect - not too sweet, not too sad. It made me smile ;-)

Author's Response: Thank you. From someone who can write romance that means a lot. :)

Reviewer: xenophiliac
Date: 04/21/06 21:36
Chapter: Challenge # 5 (Valentine's Challenge)

That was enjoyable...and cute! You didn't overdo it, and Viktor wasnt a bad guy. And Hermione sounds completely innocent in this quote:
“What if she’s right? What if I’ve been toying with his feelings all along, only I didn’t realise it until now.”
But I still like it!

Author's Response: Thanks :) Why would anyone think that Viktor's a bad guy?

Reviewer: hogwartsduchess
Date: 04/19/06 9:34
Chapter: Challenge # 5 (Valentine's Challenge)

That was adorable! I loved the Hermione/Viktor romance from Krum's POV. You have a real talent for writing heartfelt emotions.

Author's Response: Thanks for saying so. :) I enjoyed exploring Krum's character as well.

Reviewer: lunafish
Date: 03/24/06 23:07
Chapter: Challenge # 5 (Valentine's Challenge)

Nutty, what a pleasure it is to visit one of your stories again! I usually associate you with all those humor stories I love, but this romance between Viktor & Hermione really touched me. I especially enjoyed seeing Hermione basking in the attention she so rarely receives, and the part where she confides in Ginny did such a nice job showing how “normal” Hermione really is—she’s experiencing the same giddiness that any girl would feel at receiving such attention from a famous and, it turns out, sweet boy.

You’ve characterized Viktor in a pretty intriguing way as well. Although I like him confiding in his friend as I like that Hermione confides in Ginny, I think the thing that affected me most about your Viktor was how self-contained he is. You’ve made him more than the dumb jock that he could so easily pass for and you’ve done it using evidence from the texts to back up your characterization. It’s so easy to forget Viktor’s moment at the beginning of book 4, but thanks to you I see how important that moment is to understanding him. The repetition of “on his own terms” really gives me a sense of how impressive this young man really is. No wonder Hermione is able to maintain a friendship with him.

I also like that you give Viktor a better reason to like Hermione than just her being uninterested in him; that seems to me such a shallow reason to like someone. Instead, he seems to like her because he can have an intelligent conversation with her; it’s nice to see Viktor himself being studious rather than just mooning over Hermione as she studies. Now looking at the new movie, I’m disappointed in the way they’ve characterized him as not being loquacious because, as Hermione claims, he’s more a physical being. Thank you for giving us a truly rounded character rather than the card-board cut-out of the movie!

Author's Response: Neta!! :) Well Stan's hot in the movie *snicker* so I'll take that card-board cut-out *L* (kidding)

*L* Romance is new to me too ... I just had to churn something for a challenge. It's great to try out new genres though :) I'd like to try again sometime.

I did notice that in the books Viktors usually sits sullenly by the shadows, or corners and does talk much even to the other champions. Thus he must be the silent and anti-social type :)

Thanks for the review Neta! always a pleasure to hear from you. :)

Reviewer: Hermionefan_6
Date: 03/05/06 0:49
Chapter: Challenge # 5 (Valentine's Challenge)

OMG!!!!!!! very cool story!!! I cryed... yes I admit it...every time I read a story like this one I cry...but is was Awsome...yes I'm weird...but anyway...REALLY COOL STORY!!!!!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you. Glad you enjoyed this. :)

Reviewer: Starmaiden
Date: 02/25/06 12:09
Chapter: Challenge # 5 (Valentine's Challenge)

I like it! Viktor doesn't get much time. Even though Hermione writes him, we have no idea what it is either of them is saying. I like the way you've filled in the gaps for all the time from meeting to "now." It's very true to Hermione and very true to what little we know of Krum. Karkaroff's bit is great, as well; as a former Death Eater he would have been like that.

The way that you cleared up their relationship at the end was very smooth. I like it. It's great for a first Romance -- don't stop writing them!

Author's Response: Thank you. I hope the next time I try, there'll be some improvement :)

Reviewer: Oppungo
Date: 02/25/06 8:24
Chapter: Challenge # 5 (Valentine's Challenge)

This isn’t a type of fic that I‘d usually read, but I’m really pleased I did, it was so good! I absolutely loved a lot of your description, like “grotto full of fairy lights”. Also, I think you managed to capture Hermione’s character really well, showing not only her more intense side, like with SPEW and studying, but her more girly side, like her giggling and being excited about going to the ball with Krum, which is of course how she would react, but a lot of people seem to forget that. And, of course, I liked the references to her and Ron!! One thing I did notice was, “He did went out there with the intention to win;” I think this should be, “He did go out there with the intention to win;” It was very nice to see a fic like this, because a lot of the time Viktor’s PoV is ignored, so it’s different and original, and very good!

Author's Response: Actually I can't take credit for that 'grotto full of fairy lights' descriptions was actually derived from the canon. Thanks for that review and I will go about with that slight correction.

Of course she chose Ron - I wouldn't mess with canon *thinks* -- Ok I did mess with it on another fic but that's AU.

Thanks for the review --- I kept thinking that this lacks descriptive details, but it's good to hear that you like it.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES