Reviews For Fading Into Grey
Reviewer: hp_number1fan_fl
Date: 05/07/06 17:37
Chapter: Chapter Four - September 1st, 1971

LOL...Yes, I've been hanging around too many silly people.

Author's Response: Silly is fun! =oD

Reviewer: uk_rulz
Date: 05/05/06 19:46
Chapter: Chapter Four - September 1st, 1971

Wow. That was such a good chapter. All of your chapters are so good! I really loved the way you ended it, making us want to find out more. I can't wait to see what Sirius' reply to Regulus will be.

One word about the summary though. Although us avid readers will look through your most interesting summary, other readers will just pass it by, without even skimming it. It's a bit long, you see. Although it really is a good summary, they won't know that because they'll see this huge mass of writing and think 'I can't be bothered to read this!' and just skip it over. It's a shame, because I know once they read the actual fanfic they'll be on the edge of their seats.

Can't wait to read Ch5 and I will continue to recommend your fanfic to people.

Author's Response: You know, that's a good suggestion. That's true that most people will pass it by because it's too long. I will need to rework it. Thank you for continuing to recommend, that is fantastic! Chapter 5 should be coming soon!

Reviewer: hp_number1fan_fl
Date: 05/02/06 21:01
Chapter: Chapter Four - September 1st, 1971

I'm giggling. Have no fear, I am rather entertained...I think you'll find I am just as strange and random as you are : P. In face, at school today I found a rather adorable rock on the ground and decided to adopt him. His name is Icabob.

Author's Response: Oh my...you are crazy. :p

Reviewer: hp_number1fan_fl
Date: 05/02/06 20:58
Chapter: Chapter Three - August 31, 1971

Actually, I really like reading Fics from this genre, and I just came upon yours while looking for something good and the summary you wrote really got me hooked.

Author's Response: Oh good, then the summary is pretty good to at least get you interested enough to try it!

Reviewer: hp_number1fan_fl
Date: 05/01/06 20:40
Chapter: Chapter Three - August 31, 1971

No, don't! I've finally found someone who will put up with my wild rantings! It's nice to find someone who likes to talk as much as I do : P.

Author's Response: Since we're chatting :oP Can I ask how you found my story? I'm trying to get more readers (what writer isn't, right?) and find out how people found me so I can advertise it properly. Fanks for any info!

Reviewer: hp_number1fan_fl
Date: 05/01/06 20:38
Chapter: Chapter Four - September 1st, 1971

I am speechless. You are brilliant.

And I am in LOVE with Remus. Always have been, but you make it all the more better.

And Regulus is a regular cutie! I love his letter!

Author's Response: There's more of Remus in the next chapter, you should be pleased. Teehee! And yes, Regulus makes me just want to squiggle him to bits he so adorable. In fact, he's folded up and stuffed into my pocket right now. *pets pocket* "Good Reggie, good boy".
O_o
OK, I think I need to stop, I'm in a very werid mood at the moment.

Reviewer: hp_number1fan_fl
Date: 05/01/06 19:55
Chapter: Chapter Three - August 31, 1971

Have I mentioned yet that I absolutely loathe Bellatrix and Narcissa?
And, oh, gracious, the relationship you've formed between Sirius and Regulus is just amazing. It's getting more and more difficult for me to imagine that years later, Regulus will become a Death Eater and the brothers will hate each other!
Oh, God, I know you're probably thinking, "Shut up already! You're bugging me!", but I really don't see me ever NOT sending you a gushing review, so you'll just have to bear with me here ; ).

Author's Response: OK, you seriously just put me in a fit of giggles! I will NEVER tell you to shut up! lol <----- Seriously, I am! Don't worry, this isn't AU, it will happen, the impending ending of doom...*sniff-sniff* OK, now I'LL shut up! :oP

Reviewer: hp_number1fan_fl
Date: 05/01/06 19:20
Chapter: Chapter One - October 1970

I totally agree with you...you know, about how both Sirius AND Regulus must have believed what their parents were feeding into their brains at some time. I mean, I never really thought about it until I read your story, but now it just seems natural that in the earlier years, Sirius would have of course thought the same things as the rest of his family because those were the only things he knew, just like people who are brought up in racist homes. It just makes sense!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you agree. Not that I want everyone to see things how I see them, but it's just a twist from what you seem to always read in Sirius/Regulus fics. Chapter 5 was sent to my beta last night so look for it soon! Thanks again for reading & reviewing...it makes me smile! =oD

Reviewer: hp_number1fan_fl
Date: 04/30/06 20:54
Chapter: Chapter Two - December 31, 1970

Oh, my goshness...I LOVE your descriptions...you are definitely a natural writer.
I added your story to my favorites...I'm addicted!!! I totally aspire to be as good a writer as you! Again, awesome job!

***And BTW, that Bellatrix...and she's only thirteen!!! : P

Author's Response: Wow! Once again, THANK YOU! And yes, Bella is a nasty piece of work, isn't she? ^_~

Reviewer: hp_number1fan_fl
Date: 04/30/06 20:19
Chapter: Chapter One - October 1970

I don't even know what to say! You are a phenomenal writer...I LOVE your story. It really gets into Sirius's life...how did you come up with it? You sound like a proffessional author...keep it up!

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you for reading & reviewing! Reviews make my heart soar! Thank you for the wonderful compliments too, you're so sweet. As for the story, I have always wanted to read a Sirius/Regulus fic where they didn't HATE each other instantly. When I first read OoTP and Sirius mentions his "Idiot brother, soft enough to believe his parents...blah blah", for some reason, at that moment, I felt there was so much love lost between the brothers, that there was regret in Sirius's voice - not because his brother was a DE, but because he loved him and he wished he could have convinced him what the family believe in was wrong, almost as if Sirius felt he didn't do enough to convince Regulus. OK, so I rambled there, but I've always felt BOTH brothers would share the beliefs of their parents up to some point, the circumstances (Sirius meeting James & crew/Regulus sorted into Slytherin) for which they start questioning are the reason they fall apart.

Reviewer: Kerian
Date: 04/26/06 16:04
Chapter: Chapter Four - September 1st, 1971

Aww great great great chapter! I loved the letter from Regulus and the idea that because Sirius and James are both such strong personalities, they would definetly clash at first. Poor Sirius finds himself in quite the mess now, and McGonagall did a nice job of guiding him. That Howler burneddd! Excellent chapter, I'm very glad you updated and I can't wait until the boys become "as close as brothers".

Author's Response: Yea! I'm so happy you enjoyed this one! It was soooooo difficult to write because I had to find each character's voice, and the fact that they are so young, it was hard to remember that they wouldn't have their "15 year old" personalities just yet. FYI...chapter 5 is complete and I will be sending it to my beta in a day or two after some minor tweakage. Thanks again for reading!

Reviewer: lucy3742
Date: 04/26/06 15:31
Chapter: Chapter One - October 1970

yea! i found you! i added you as one of my favorite authors...now i have you and kimmy!
best story ever!!! (well, tied with TUoBD)
i am standing on my chair of world domination again clapping for you!!

Author's Response: You're starting to frighten me. All this talk of world domination. I feel I may be dethroned! :op

Reviewer: nenya
Date: 04/26/06 7:26
Chapter: Chapter Four - September 1st, 1971

Again a brillient chapter.
You have a few spelling error's though.. nothing major.
Fantastic work, this is one of the best stories I've read in a while! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you are enjoying it! Any suggestions on how to get some more readers? Thanks for reading and commenting!

Reviewer: uk_rulz
Date: 04/23/06 20:45
Chapter: Chapter One - October 1970

I love your story! It is my favourite story on mugglenet fanfiction.

Is Bellatrix really a tart, or was he just teasing Andromeda? Yuk!

I love the way you describe things and the way you express Sirius' feelings. The fact that you have Sirius and his brother liking each other (unlike in some other fanfics) really fits into JKRs story. It just makes sense. You have this thing that lets the reader really get into the story and feel what the characters are feeling, or at least feel for the characters. I have been trying to do that for ages and I still haven't got it.

I have been recommending your fanfic to all my friends etc. and I would be so happy if you FINALLY updated it. I'm not trying to rush you or anything (I know how hard it can be to finish a chapter) but I'm waiting!

Just please do me one favour: do not make your fanfic Professors!

If you ever decide to become a novelist I will be your supporter (if I know which book you wrote!), so please think about it!

However, I will advise you to look at grammer errors so that you do not sink to the level of some other writers (I have not yet mastered the grammer/spelling thing like those writers!) and keep your book interesting!

Again I love your book, so keep it up!



Author's Response: Wow! Thank you so much for the review. First off, I just want to tell you that Chapter 4 is off to my beta, she's been taking her time on this one because she's been busy, but as soon as I get it back from her I will post. Chapter 5 is also finished and I'm working on 6, so there will be more coming soon! Thank you sooooooooo much for the recommendations, I would love to get more readers. Do not make it "Professors"? Does that mean like rated R? I don't see that happening but we do have to account Sirius as an older teenager, who knows what he'll get up too. *wink* Nothing too bad, tho, I promise. =) Thanks again soooo much for reading! Your comments make me *squee*!

Reviewer: chudley_cannons_keeper
Date: 03/14/06 10:52
Chapter: Chapter Three - August 31, 1971

As everyone else has been saying, the relationship between Sirius and Regulus is very realistic. It's the perfect balance of annoyance and love that is typical of siblings, especially when they're at this age. Can't wait to see how long Sirius stays with his cousins... my guess is not too long.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to read my story! I like the balance too...I think it's how I'd deal with a little brother too. Chapter 4 is off to the beta, she's just taking her time so hopefully I will be able to post it soon! Again, thanks for reading! =)

Reviewer: mgle_teacher
Date: 03/11/06 1:05
Chapter: Chapter One - October 1970

I really like your story. I love how you potray the sweet & innocent relationship between brothers. It's cute and heart melting how Sirius takes care of Regulus. And the abuse that Sirius endures is heartbreaking...I can totally see how he becomes confused about his heritage. Kudos... Update soon!

Author's Response: ThankyouThankyouThankyou for commenting! From the first time I read OoTP I felt there must have been some love between the brothers at some time in their lives. I'm happy you're enjoying the story so far. Chapter 4 is in the works, coming slowly, but coming none the less! I can't wait until I'm able to post it!!! <---Do you think Remus would cringe from the 3 exclaimations points? Heehee!

Reviewer: loligo8me
Date: 03/09/06 6:59
Chapter: Chapter Three - August 31, 1971

Oooh! I wonder what happens next. Well written, though I'm not sure how you'll get Sirius to turn his back on his brother; you established such a good relationship. I guess it will be hard. Anyway, waiting for an update! :)

Author's Response: I know what happens next! Heehee, sorry, I had to tease. Chapter 4 is coming slowly but it is coming. We meet the marauders and it plays out a bit different than the norm...keep checking back! =) Oooh, and thanks for taking the time to comment! It's much appreciated!

Reviewer: Kerian
Date: 03/08/06 13:46
Chapter: Chapter Three - August 31, 1971

Great great chapter! I just love the relationship between Sirius and Regulus and the way Sirius tries to take care of him while also being frequently exasperated by him. I really feel for poor Regulus who will probably feel Sirius slipping away over the years. Great work! I liked to see the way things function in their house and Sirius's overwhelming desire to earn his father's respect and love. Update again soon!

Author's Response: Thank you for the comment! I just LUUURVE getting comments! Get's me excited about the story! I'm working on Chapter 4 and it's coming slowly because (as you've probably guessed) we meet the marauders and I'm having some difficulty finding their voices...and first impressions are very important! =) Thanks again for taking the time, it's much appreciated!

Reviewer: Kerian
Date: 02/25/06 19:22
Chapter: Chapter Two - December 31, 1970

I really love this story, the relationship between Sirius and Regulus is just perfect! And I especially love the way Sirius looks up to his father, and the dynamics of the unhappy House of Black. Incredibly well done, I can't wait to see how the brothers treat eachother once Sirius leaves the family. Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for commenting and what wonderful compliments! I'm so happy you're enjoying the story so far, Chapter 3 is in the que, being reviewed by the mods, so hopefully it will be up shortly. I'm working on Chapter 4 and it's getting rather difficult because things are starting to change for poor Sirius. Thank you again for taking the time to read my story! Gives me a huge smile!!!

Reviewer: moonymaniac
Date: 02/24/06 9:49
Chapter: Chapter One - October 1970

Wonderful! Something made me click on your story and I’m still not sure exactly what it was. (It may have been your author name!) But it was probably your summary. You made it clear that I would be seeing a pre-Hogwarts view of Sirius and that he was going to show the influence of his upbringing in terms of self importance and superiority, and I was intrigued. (Although, I must disagree that Sirius is our favorite…that would be Remus, but this is your story…and Sirius is a close second so I over looked that. ;)) Anyway, I don’t normally review a summary, but I thought yours was one of the best I’ve seen. Only one tiny thing, when you say Sirius is the favorite, you put characterS. It should be singular. Nit picky, but the story, (at least the first chapter which is as far as I’ve gotten so far) is so well done, a little typo stands out.

Which brings me to your story; I agree with your other reviewers. I think showing Sirius with the prejudice that his family would have instilled in him is a stroke of brilliance. I think we often want to believe the characters we love are perfect and it isn’t easy to show when they have serious flaws, but it makes them so much more believable. Your portrayal is very realistic since children really are influenced by their parents, at least in the beginning. I adore the image I’m getting of Sirius and Regulas as brothers. Sirius playing with Regulas, tolerating him to a point as all older siblings do with their younger ones, then becoming a bit irritated, and of course, protecting his little brother, seems so real and has such a melancholy feel. I suppose it is the fact that I know what is to become of them, but the way you have written it is just lovely. I want to scoop them up and whisk them away from that wicked house and let them be happy and whole. You have made me very sad. Well done!

Again, the story is so beautifully written that I feel the need to point out minor technical flaws (things I probably wouldn’t even notice in a lower quality story, do you know what I mean?) I hope you don’t mind. I would like to see you italicize the Book titles Sirius reads in the library. A small detail that would only enhance the quality of your wonderful story. So, anyway, fabulous start to what I expect will be a great fic. I have a feeling I’m going to be sad a lot, which I probably should be in a Sirius centric fic, (there was more to him than good looks and pranks!) Thank you.

Author's Response: Wow! First of all, thank you so much for commenting (and what a comment it is!) I was having a bad week and this has totally made my day! First of all, the name PuckerUpRemus came to me…well, because if I saw Mr. Lupin, I’d walk right up to him, grab his lapels, say it, and then proceed to snog the man unconscious. But, seeing as he’s your favorite, please don’t hold that against me. Sirius is by far my favorite character (that doesn’t mean Remus doesn’t need some luvin’). I tend to love the dark, moody, “woe is me”, gorgeous types…it’s a curse. As to where the idea for this story came from, here’s the skinny of it: I have always wanted to READ a pre-Hogwarts Sirius/Regulus story but it seems no one has ever written one! Well, to the extent of ideas that were in my head anyway. When I first read OoTP, and Sirius mentioned Regulus as “My idiot brother…blah blah”, for some reason when I read that I felt there was a love between them at one time and Sirius had some deep regrets about the way their relationship ended. Almost as if he felt responsible that he could not convince his brother that their parent’s views were so wrong…because he was “soft enough to believe them”. I’ve read hundreds of stories where Regulus is an “idiot” and Sirius hates him, but no one has ever dove into the reasons or how their relationship faltered. This is going to get difficult to write, but I will keep plugging away. So thank you so much for the comments. I am so happy someone else agrees with the path I have (so far) led these characters on. Chapter 4 (Chapter 3 will be sent to the mods this weekend), that I’m working on currently, is rather difficult, because we find Sirius finally getting to school…and well, you’ll just have to read it to find out what happens! As for the grammar errors, I’m still learning this HTML stuff! I can’t get the stinking thing to italic. (Note: My PuckerUpRemus above is a test with < I > and < / I > so hopefully it’s working!) I want people to share all their thoughts, good or bad, so please don’t hesitate or apologize for pointing those items out! Thanks again soooooooo much!

Author's Response: Gack! The whole bloody thing is italics and that post was supposed to be three seperate paragraphs! LOL! I forgot responses were italics...but I will try the < i > < / i > in my next chapter post. Thanks again. And yes, I'm always this loony. =)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES