Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/31/07 15:40
Chapter: Preparation

Ghost, I didn't think this chapter was disappointing. Instead, it established the setting and strategy, while giving us a glimpse at Harry's thoughts. The interaction with Fawkes was especially poignant. I do think it was helpful to have a chance to take a deep breath, before you throw us into the maelstrom of the battle.

So, once again, great job on all fronts!

Author's Response: Yeah, I think a deep breath was necessary, though I still felt like this chapter was just filler. It fits with the rest of the story, I just felt bad for people who waited two weeks for the next chapter and ended up with this and another two weeks before the excitement started. =)

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/31/07 15:26
Chapter: A Shattered Sword

The chapters really are getting more and more exciting! Double horcrux demolition! Even with the title of the chapter, I didn't add it up. Again wonderful plotting, because the horcrux hunt can take a lot of pages (and readers' patience).

Great ending with the twins coaxing the truth out of the ferret in a manner only they could come up with! Very, very creative.

While rather late, congratulations on your wedding/marriage!

Author's Response: I kind of think this one might be accurate; after all why DID Voldemort go to the school to ask for the job. I'm sure the methods of finding it and destroying it will be different, but it will be interesting to see if I'm right. The twins were a lot of fun to write in this chapter. And thanks for your congratulations! We've been married ten months and things are wonderful!

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/31/07 13:54
Chapter: Hufflepuff's Cup

Ghost, This is a great line (or partial sentence) ". . . a slight breeze seemed to come from everywhere and nowhere, like the chilled breath of death itself caressing their skin in anticipation." Wonderful writing!

Another breath-grabbing chapter, from the dementors to the badgers (very appropriate and canon-correct) to Hermione's quick thinking. Really liked Hermione and Ron lighting themselves to open the archway, so Harry could finally understand what his independent actions do to his friends.

Frankly, the chapters keep getting better and better!


Author's Response: I actually remember being really proud of that line; I've been trying to include more and more descriptive writing in my stories, and I think that's one of the things I've improved on most. (I don't think I was that great when I started.) I'm glad you think the chapters get better and better, I really think so too.

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/31/07 12:09
Chapter: From the Dead

Amazingly exciting chapter! Very logical and understandable explanation of what Fawkes's reaction to Bella's curse did to Harry. I knew his feather would come into play!

Very intense fighting, especially having it mostly in the sky, and with a number of different confrontations. Now, we need to find some horcruxes!

Author's Response: Thanks! I remeber this chapter was a whole lot of fun to write, mostly because of all the action, and because of the suspense. Even though I knew what was going to happen, I was still on the edge of my seat writing it.

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/31/07 11:48
Chapter: Grindelwald's Castle

Wow! Very exciting chapter! Great twist with having Bellatrix's curse take out both Fawkes and Harry. Never thought she and the other DE's would be there.

Really liked Ron as a lion. It seems very appropriate.

Author's Response: Yeah, I can imagine Ron being very full of himself about it too. I felt llike another Death Eater confrontation was necessary; it had been a while. =)

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/31/07 11:22
Chapter: The Noble and Most Destroyed House of Black

You destroyed Grimmauld Place? But Harry's new house sounds great! I'm sure the Christmas gifts Ginny and Harry exchanged will play a part down the line. Really liked the Fawkes feathered quill.

Oh, one thing I haven't commented on yet: your personalization of Fawkes. It has been spot on, with what canon has shown and implied he can do. Excellent job incorporating him into your story.

Also, thanks for responding to my reviews, even though you finished the story quite a while ago!

On to the castle!

Author's Response: Yeah, Grimmauld place was old and filled with bad memories. I thought it was as expendable as can be. I'm glad you liked the characterization of Fawkes; I felt like he was pretty much my only 'original' character in this story. I know J. K. invented him, but I chose to give him more personality, and I'm really glad it was believable. =)

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/31/07 9:16
Chapter: Dead Man's Blood

I really liked how you showed Harry's wonderful sensitivity with Ginny as she comes to terms with what she did. You convey their bond very well, showing that they are getting closer to each other. I'm really glad Fawkes has recuperated, since he's so important to Harry.

Thanks a lot for the cliffie!

Author's Response: I'm glad you appreciated it! I'm sure the cliffies are more fun and less annoying now that the stor is posted in full; the cliffhangers were making some people a little crazy since sometimes they had to wait up to two weeks on a cliffhanger ending.

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/31/07 9:02
Chapter: Dead End

Wow! Great chapter! Muggles continue to create problems for Harry and his friends. I'm wondering if you're using this as social commentary. Hmmm.

Anyhow, the chapter was very exciting, and Fawkes's saving Ron was a great idea -- I'm assuming he will be okay and return Harry's "sight" to him soon. Hopefully, Ginny will be able to overcome her experience with that criminal.

Your writing style again made this chapter a very fast read.

Author's Response: I don't think it's a social commentary... after all I'm not a wizard, so they can't all be bad, right? Originally I was never going to mention the muggles from the beginning again, but this chapter presented an opportunity for him to get what he deserved. =)

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/31/07 8:38
Chapter: New Pets

I just started your story yesterday, so this is the first review. Don't worry about this chapter -- it was great! Very funny, with Ginny making Hawk!Harry do tricks, naming him Gilderoy, and his naming her Cho.

On a more general level, kudos to you for your creativity and all the imaginative things you're doing with Harry's blindness. Having him using Fawkes to "see" is inspired. Plus your writing style makes the story move quickly.

On to the next chapter!

Author's Response: You know, my readers typically did enjoy this chapter, contrary to what I thought. (It's still not my favorite.) I think a few moments of levity in an otherwise mostly tense story were welcome to everyone. =)

Reviewer: Phoenixorder13
Date: 03/28/07 23:09
Chapter: Epilogue

excellent story! If you added more detail and dialouge, JK Rowling would have some serious competition!!!

Author's Response: The detail of a real novel is difficult, and I hope I imporoved on that in the sequel. I am really glad you enjoyed the story!

Reviewer: I lovesmesomeHarry
Date: 03/25/07 16:34
Chapter: The Broken Tower

That chapter was awesome!! Wow wha amazing writing!

Author's Response: I think this was actually my favorite chapter as well. I had the idea for this chapter before I wrote anything, and it's one of the reasons I decided to start my own fanfic. =)

Reviewer: Fawkes_Forever
Date: 03/25/07 8:16
Chapter: Leaving for Good

You are so talented at writing. I've read fan fictions before and some of them were very copying of JK R's previous conflicts and lacked organization, but yours shone of creativity and was very-well thought-out and left me with such a deep feeling of pleasure. I loved the fact of Harry and his friends becoming Animagi. And Fawkes was so funny and vibrant. Aside from J.K. Rowling's original works, this was the best story I have ever read. I actually found myself wanting it to BE the seventh book because it was so perfect with how I thought the series should end. Please keep writing more stories and allowing us the pleasure and honor of reading them.
Fawkes_Forever
P.S. I've seen that you've mentioned a sequel. Could you by any chance give met he name of it? I absolutely have to read it! Thank you! :)

Author's Response: Thanks; I responded to the previous review in full!

Reviewer: Fawkes_Forever
Date: 03/25/07 8:13
Chapter: Leaving for Good

You are so talented at writing. I've read fan fictions before and some of them were very copying of JK R's previous conflicts and lacked organization, but yours shone of creativity and was very-well thought-out and left me with such a deep feeling of pleasure. I loved the fact of Harry and his friends becoming Animagi. And Fawkes was so funny and vibrant. Aside from J.K. Rowling's original works, this was the best story I have ever read. I actually found myself wanting it to BE the seventh book because it was so perfect with how I thought the series should end. Please keep writing more stories and allowing us the pleasure and honor of reading them.
Fawkes_Forever
P.S. I've seen that you've mentioned a sequel. Could you by any chance give met he name of it? I absolutely have to read it! Thank you! :)

Author's Response: The sequel is Legacy of Sacrifice, and I hope you'll enjoy that one as much as this one. I'm really glad you enjoyed it and thank you very much for the great review. Now that I'm done with the sequel I'm beginning a novel of my own that I'm hoping I'll be able to get published. Reviews like this make me think it could actually happen!

Reviewer: James Jameson
Date: 03/21/07 15:58
Chapter: No Longer at the Kid's Table

i feel bad for Hedwig. She must be awfully jealous of Fwkes.

Author's Response: I don't think so, though I didn't really think about it when I was writing the story. Hedwig wouldn't mind if Harry made a new friend.

Reviewer: James Jameson
Date: 03/21/07 15:57
Chapter: Home Again

i wish fawkes could've healed harry though im glad hes safe

Author's Response: I don't think that would have worked as well with the plot of the story, so I think this is just as well. =)

Reviewer: James Jameson
Date: 03/21/07 15:55
Chapter: Muggle Trouble

WHERE IS HARRY!!!!!!!!!!?????????

Author's Response: Who can say?

Reviewer: James Jameson
Date: 03/21/07 15:55
Chapter: Waiting and Worrying

awesome!


Author's Response: thanks!

Reviewer: James Jameson
Date: 03/21/07 15:54
Chapter: Epilogue

awwwww i can't help but love this story! i'm reading it agin@ it's sooooooooooooooooooooo good!

Author's Response: Wow, a second read! I'm glad you enjoyed it that much!

Reviewer: ProfessorChristie
Date: 03/14/07 23:23
Chapter: Epilogue

Yay! It's a happy ending! I got worried there for awhile a few chapters back. I liked having an epilogue, though it was a bit of a shock to see it so far down the road and reading about people dying of old age. I'll be sure to read the sequel! Thanks for a great story.

Author's Response: THanks a lot for reading! I'm glad you liked the epilogue; things I wrote in the epilogue inspired me to write the sequel, so hopefully that is fun. Please let me know what you think!

Reviewer: Bopbopgirl
Date: 03/14/07 1:09
Chapter: Leaving for Good

This was the best fanfic EVER!!! I really love it. I think you managed the whole 'Dumbledore is gone so Harry is alone' thing. By that I mean that I love how you gave Harry Dumbledore's knowledge!

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm really glad you liked it! I hope you read the sequel too, and let me know what you think of that.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Argus Filch by BrokenPromise 1st-2nd Years
Written for the Anniversary Challenge v3 over on the boards - a double dactyl...
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES