Reviews For The Violin Teacher
Reviewer: makinmagic323
Date: 12/09/06 14:38
Chapter: Heartsong

You have the most wonderful vocabulary of any author I have ever read on here. This is by far the best written story I have ever read, and I hope to read more of your stories soon! Congratulations!

Author's Response: Thanks so much; I'm really humbled. I had a lot of help on this one from my friend the dictionary; I didn't want to bungle!

Reviewer: makinmagic323
Date: 12/09/06 14:08
Chapter: Conversation

So I understand that Lupin is supposed to me a "muggle" and so is Hermione, so when she speaks of his "condition" in life, is she simply talking about him being poor and such? It is still so wondefully written nd poetic though. I'm so jealous haha =)

Author's Response: I'm hoping to clarify/elaborate that when I touch up this story; he's supposed to be "tainted" somehow, I just haven't figured out what the proper parallel is yet. (Tell me if you have any ideas! hehe.) =D

Reviewer: makinmagic323
Date: 12/09/06 13:59
Chapter: Hermione

Once again, beautifully written. You should definately comsider writing as a career.

Author's Response: Thank you, and I'll probably scribble no matter what else I do! =)

Reviewer: makinmagic323
Date: 12/09/06 13:51
Chapter: Remus

Whe I read this I seriously got lost in it. This could definately be a published work because you write so fluently and artistically and know exactly how to express a moment. LOVE IT.

Author's Response: Well thank you! I don't quite know what else to say. =D I'm just glad you think it has merit as a piece of fiction!

Reviewer: brokenhearted
Date: 12/07/06 20:23
Chapter: Heartsong

I'm enchanted. This is the first fanfiction story that has nearly brought me to tears, and my heart ached to see it ended. It was bitterly sweet, but I don't care. The experience was sweet in itself. You write as well as Hermione plays. Your content is well. You know how to write your ideas, principals, and morals and make everyone agree. There is honesty and dignity in this story that is rarely seen. I can't wait to see if you have anything else in your story bank. God has given you a great talent. You can paint anything you want and people will listen.

Author's Response: Thank you, brokenhearted! From the bottom of my heart. It's one thing to write, and another entirely to feel that something you've written somehow hit its mark! I hope you find many more fanfics that move you; you've really brough a smile to my face today. God bless you!

Reviewer: lolalola
Date: 11/11/06 3:28
Chapter: Heartsong

brilliant! words can not decript the emotional jouney your words capture.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing (this is the 50th review- thank you so much!)! I'm really happy you liked it!

Reviewer: HermioneDancr
Date: 11/09/06 17:41
Chapter: Heartsong

Congrats on winning QSQ.


*giggles and runs away*


I know nothing.

Author's Response: *G* Leaving me with a mystery?

(Thank you so much!!)

Reviewer: Potter_freak0515
Date: 11/05/06 17:27
Chapter: Heartsong

Wow. This is just... phenomenal. Just... wow. This was an excellent piece; it was well-written, sad, meaningful. Wow.

Author's Response: Hey, it's you again! It's so nice of you to review both! Thanks so much - I'm really glad you enjoyed it! ^^:

Reviewer: wicked angel
Date: 11/05/06 14:59
Chapter: Heartsong

Wow. Exceptionally well written. Deliciously wordy and hard to walk away from. I'm glad I got to read it all in one go. I would have probably had a fit waiting for the next installment. Nice work!

Author's Response: Thanks! I guess we share a taste for words. ^^. Yes, everybody's happier when the story's done and nobody's kept waiting!

Also, welcome to the website! Cheers!

Reviewer: Zetera
Date: 11/04/06 20:59
Chapter: Heartsong

That was a beautiful ending - the emotion was very raw, and it did the story justice. This review is short despite the fact that it's the final one, but I'm sure you must know my feelings about this fic by now. Well done, and congratulations again on the QSQ for this story.

Author's Response: Thanks so much again, Zetera. =) It was really nice of you to review every chapter, and fun to read your read-along. I hope you got a nice rest after staying up reading, and that you feel better soon! =)

Reviewer: Zetera
Date: 11/04/06 20:20
Chapter: Moonlight

Wow - I nearly cried when reading your description of Hermione writing the piece; it was so full of emotion. Then again - I'm a little over-emotional myself at the moment as I have glandular fever and haven't slept properly for a week! Anyway, ignore me, and well done! I'm off to read the final installment. (Btw - loved the inclusion of James)

Author's Response: Aww, I'm both glad and sorry to hear that - sorry that you're ill, I mean. I'm glad if some emotion shone through. Feel better soon!

Reviewer: Zetera
Date: 11/04/06 20:01
Chapter: Conversation

Brilliant dialogue - as good as the narrative. I can find no fault with this piece, and I can't wait to see how it ends!

Author's Response: Thanks, and this reminds me that I have to take out the notes about it being the next-to-last installment!

Reviewer: Zetera
Date: 11/04/06 19:50
Chapter: Hermione

Yep - still loving it. I can really picture Lupin's attic space; you're description of the skylight was particularily brilliant.

Author's Response: I'm glad someone mentioned the skylight - that was my favorite part to write in the whole story!

Reviewer: Zetera
Date: 11/04/06 19:38
Chapter: Remus

(*is) Sorry, I'm typing late, it's 1.40 am over here. Also, I forgot to say how very much I enjoy the thought of Remus as a violin teacher - it seems to fit him perfectly.

Author's Response: It was my brother who suggested the violin profession; I think he's greatly amused that I went and ran with it, but hey...!! =D

Reviewer: Zetera
Date: 11/04/06 19:35
Chapter: Remus

This in incredibly beautiful - a careful narrative with exquisite wording, yet not overwritten. I saw the title under the QSQ winners and you definitely deserved to win. Congratulations! I'm off to read the next chapter which I'm sure will be just as good, if not better. I truly love it so far, each line I read makes me wish I'd written it myself.

Author's Response: Thanks a million, Zetera! As someone whose writings I really admire (my gosh, your sonnet - talk about wishing you'd written something!) it means a lot to me!!

Reviewer: Frosted Honesty
Date: 11/03/06 18:55
Chapter: Heartsong

AU stories are ones I don't normally read, but I saw this won in the best AU story category, and since it was about music, I decided to read it.

You really developed Remus and Hermione beautifully. You stayed true to their character and personalities as shown in the books, but it was entirely different. It's probably safe to say that I'll never think of Remus the same way again.

Metaphors seem to be your strong point -- they were everywhere in the story and made it flow very smoothly. Also, the word choice was absolutely wonderful. I'll admit, I hadn't heard all of them before I read this, but I really think that they really made the story what it was.

If I had to give a suggestion, I would say that less narration and more dialogue would make the story more interesting. It would have broken up all the description a little bit, and made it a slightly easier read.

There's one more thing -- near the end of Chapter 4, you use the term "forlornest." I'm not quite sure that's a word - perhaps you meant "most forlorn?"

I'm a clarinetist/saxophonist myself, so I really appreciate a combination of Harry Potter and music. I really see why you won the best AU story -- you totally deserve it. Congrats!

Author's Response: Aww, thanks for giving this story a shot! I never guessed that putting "Violin" in the title would bring in all the best reviewers - musicians like yourself. =) I'm really tickled that you perceive Remus in a slightly different light after reading this. I know I kind of think of him whenever I hear a violin play - it's given me a few laughs, as violins often turn up in the funniest places. =) I'm so glad the characters worked for you! I'm going to go over this whole story one of these days, and when I do I'll remember your suggestion about the dialogue. There are some scenes that I didn't include because I was pressed for time, and now maybe that that pressure's gone, I can work them in where they'll help break the heavy narrative up. And "forlornest" - I'll definitely look into that. I think I picked that one up in a poem, which probably isn't the most reliable way to find words, lol. Great special thanks to you for leaving this 40th review! That's a landmark I never thought I'd reach. So, thanks again. =)

Reviewer: sunshine
Date: 10/31/06 21:59
Chapter: Remus

Congratulations on you Quicksilver!

I'm so happy for you : )

Author's Response: Thank you so much, sunshine!
I won't forget your reviews and your kindness! =)

Reviewer: cellomisstress
Date: 10/31/06 19:24
Chapter: Remus

as you can probably guess, i'm a cellist so when i saw this on the main page, i had to check it out. and i wasn't disappointed. i loved most everything about it. i love that you talked about her style being youthful and unpolished but exciting. it's so true. in my experiance anyway :)

Author's Response: Wow, I wish I could play the cello! Keep it up! Thanks for reading and leaving a review... I can't say enough how much I appreciate the feedback of musicians... I only sing, so I didn't know how the writing would carry over to people who do know a thing or two about it! I'm really glad that it fit in somewhere with your experiences! =)

Reviewer: froggerlotr
Date: 10/30/06 21:46
Chapter: Heartsong

Now this was different.
And that's a good kind of different.
Certainly not your average fanfiction, that's for sure--seemed more like an original fiction work (which it easily could be) using two familiar characters. It did not involve any magic that we're used to seeing in the Potterverse, but it had a magic all its own in the emotional and musical quality of the diction, syntax, description, and story.

It seemed to me like each and every word was carefully selected--all the sentences flowed perfectly in a kind of rhymthmic pattern. Very good diction and imagery--I could see and feel the whole story and the scenes in which it was set unfolding before me. Truly beautiful.

You gave it a bit of an air of mystery--as another reviewer mentioned, I was left wondering as to Remus' mysterious condition. It kills me not to know that answer and other answers to questions that were raised while I was reading, but at the same time it leaves room for speculation. I also enjoyed how you gradually revealed information about Remus' past throughout the story, as if the reader was travelling down memory lane with him.

Let me assure you, this is one of the best works I've read on here--quite a breath of fresh air, really. However, a few minor crits:

A couple of places I noticed some awkward wording, especially with prepositions and conjunctions. I can't recall the exact places right now, but when you rework it, try reading your sentences out loud to make sure the wording doesn't mess up that beautiful flow!

Also, I agree with another reviewer that Hermione seems to lack that logical side she's so famous for. She seems rather more artsy and creative. Granted, in a story like this one that works fine, and we still see the determined, hard-working girl we've always known, but a bit more of the left brain, so to speak, would be nice.

That's about all I have to say...wonderful story! I'd love to see you turn this into a fiction short story with original characters--it would work exceedingly well! However, Remus truly fits the violin teacher role better than any original charcter could, I think! Nice work.

--Ceryle

Author's Response: Hi again Ceryle! It's so nice to have a "familiar face" come and review another story! =) I'm really flattered (and not in the pretentious sense) that you liked the premise and execution and that you think it's almost like an original; it's like a vote of confidence for me, as it comes just as I'm about to try writing an original novel for NaNoWriMo. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and leave your thoughts!!

I trust, as you cited another person's review, that you've also read my responses; but there's another thing that your review reminded me of in regards to Hermione: I started her off as an OC, and I don't remember how, but as the concept came together in my head I began to shape her into Hermione! With the present feedback, I can see that some of the unnamed girl remained in Hermione, so it'll be my main concern when I re-do this story to make her fully our left-brained Hermione, as you say. =) And when I do so I'll definitely look out for the knots in the narrative thread, so to speak. I've just been surprised with this QuickSilver Award and I'm frantic to kind of make this story more worthy of it!

Thank you again! I know I risk sounding disingenuous, but I really do hope to be an author in the future and it's things like this that I'll look back to as I try to get there. =)

- Ana

Reviewer: Moonysfullmoon
Date: 10/24/06 6:24
Chapter: Remus

COOL!

Author's Response: Thanks! =D

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
MIT: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
Through the Mines by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Tom Riddle remarks on the power he held while at the orphanage and at school.Written...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES