Reviewer: sunshine
Date: 06/07/06 12:53
Chapter: Over the River and Through the Woods

i really love this story. i give it 11/10!
so what house will she be in? i can see her as a ravenclaw...but anyway, please update soon!!


Author's Response: Well, Ravenclaw certainly is an option. Phedra does have some Ravenclawish traits. And update is on the way, should be up (relatively) soon. I'm so excited to hear from new reviewers, and your penname made me smile! Thank you, thank you, thank you for reading and reviewing!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Hermione499
Date: 05/21/06 20:37
Chapter: Over the River and Through the Woods

Hi, Anna, loved the chapter, kind of late for reviewing though. Um, really intresting loved it all. UPDATE FOR HEAVENS SAKE, just kidding ;) But please update, need more, au revoir!~~~

Author's Response: Hello! Don't worry, its NEVER too late for a review. I'm working away at a lot of background stuff for my fic right now. I was nearly ready to send my next chapter to my beta when I realised I had conflicting character ages etc. OOPS! So I'm smoothing that out right now and playing with some of Phedra's little pet plot bunnies. LOL. So in other words, it might take longer than I hoped. Thanks so much for the positive review! Adios!

Reviewer: Violinist209
Date: 05/17/06 20:44
Chapter: Over the River and Through the Woods

I would just like to point out that the comma in that sentence, Mr. Kentuck, is perfectly justified and should remain there. Keep up the good work banana!

Love love love Genius Bre

Author's Response: Er, I'm pretty sure KenTuck is a girl, and that my pen name is NOTabanana. So much for being a genius.

Side note: To any confused person reading this, violinist209 and I are perfectly used to harrassing each other. So there isn't any mutual hatred, is my point.

Reviewer: KenTuck
Date: 05/15/06 19:29
Chapter: Put On Your Anxious Face

It's the trunk from the prologue! "There was her father, heading for the door" I don't believe that this requires a comma. Who is Mr. Magoon? Do you believe that all muggle-born students have a representative to talk to them?

I just had a thought... could Maeve be who I think she is? She seems very much like a mean aunt of today.

I like the chapter, although I would really enjoy hearing more about Diagon Alley. I love your writing style and I do not think I have found any grammatical or spelling mistakes. Well done, and I look forward to your next chapter.

Author's Response: Yay, three reviews in a row! Well, I'm glad that you noticed the trunk from the prologue, and am hoping that you weren't the only one (just the only one who said so). Nearly everything from the prologue will pop up as we follow the winding road of notabanana's plot.

I think I read in a JKR interview somewhere that a sort of representitive visited familys of Muggle-born witches and wizards to explain everything. That made perfect sense to me, and of course there simply had to be someone to get them into Diagon Alley as well! I don't think the Muggles could handle it on their own! So along came Mr. Magoon, dutifully indroducing many a Muggle-born child to the wizarding world. I had particular fun with his wardrobe.

Unfortunately, your thought about Maeve is much to clever for me. No, Maeve is not any character from JKR's books...and there is a reason. I'm sorry that there wasn't enough Diagon Alley for you. I was really trying to keep Phedra's introduction to Hogwarts from being too repetitive of Harry's. Don't worry, nothing too exciting happened.

I can't tell you how glad I am that you are enjoying this little fic. Hopefully the rest is up to your standard as well! Thanks so much!

Reviewer: KenTuck
Date: 05/15/06 19:13
Chapter: The Most Contrived Prank

Another great chapter. Just a few thoughts; her sister seems at times five or six and at other times thirteen or fourteen. Just out of experience, I have never heard a young girl say; “Okay, okay…I’m going…geez.” I have heard many older children say this but I just cannot hear it coming from the voice of a young girl.

I thought that Dumbledore wasn't headmaster at the time, but researching on Lexicon, he indeed was.

She believed she was a witch very quickly. Was this because she was so in need of change?

Can't wait to read on!

Author's Response: Based loosely off of the little girls I babysit, Maeve repeats phrases she hears on television or in movies. Perhaps she doesn't always know exactly what she's saying but she does get the gist of it. I know I did similar things when I was little. Everything was very "affected". So thats what I was going with there. I look nearly everything up on the Lexicon before I use Rowling's characters, I usually hate to stray from canon. Phedra was very unsure at first, but her dissatisfaction with her current situation mixed with knowledge of certain chair chrashing (she did feel some sort of responsibility for that) incident certainly pushed her to acceptance. Lets hope she remains that enthusiastic!

Author's Response: By the way, thanks for such a great review. You clearly put some thought in.

Reviewer: KenTuck
Date: 05/15/06 18:40
Chapter: Musical Chairs

This is very good so far. I like that everyone can relate to this story. I have been unfairly accused of doing things like that (obviously I didn't have a magical excuse) and you really managed to capture the anxiety and anger of being wrongly accused. I cannot wait to read more of your story, and see how she ends up in the magical world. (I am also very curious about how she returned sadly to America).

Author's Response: A new reviewer! I can't tell you how excited I was to see some new unresponed reviews. I'm glad that people can relate to poor Phedra. She had the additional anxiety of not really understanding what happened at all, not to mention that it was her first day of school. Thanks very much!

Reviewer: Violinist209
Date: 04/22/06 23:50
Chapter: Over the River and Through the Woods

Hey dork, you spelled THOUGHTFUL wrong in your last review response! Take that for being a meanie head so there! *sticks out tongue*

Author's Response: *looks sad*

Reviewer: Kerian
Date: 04/21/06 22:09
Chapter: Over the River and Through the Woods

Now that is most definetly a cliffhanger!! Hmm it seems to me that Gryffindor would be the choice, with her little something extra and the fact that the Marauders will be there... but maybe she will be a Ravenclaw and observe James etc. from the sidelines. I really liked your idea that she is very good at blending in and eavesdropping and I can't wait until she gets the guts to make a new friend! Nice update!

Author's Response: Obviously I'm not going to tell you if your guesses about which house she will be in are correct, but they are definitely things I considered when I planned the fic. New friends are coming, but not right away (well, I can still change my mind). Thanks so much for the thoughtfull review!

Author's Response: Er...thoughful? Sorry (see violinist209's review right above).

Reviewer: saveginny417
Date: 04/21/06 19:34
Chapter: Over the River and Through the Woods

to right that was a cliffhanger... a mean one, at that! it's ok, though. I did the exact same thing a couple of chapters back... I do love the new service where they tell you if a favorite gets updated. I can stop checking every two hours now! 10/10 and update quickly! Please?

By the way TTFN means Ta-Ta For Now. In case no one else has explained that yet.

Author's Response: Oh, thanks so much for clearing that up!!! I think I might have known about TTFN at one point in my life...but I have an infamously terrible memory. I know what you mean about checking fanfiction all the time. For example...I should be working on a Paradise Lost essay right now...but could I resist the temptation to check for reviews? Oh no!

Reviewer: Violinist209
Date: 04/21/06 17:29
Chapter: Over the River and Through the Woods

You are so evil!!!! I shall call you Evil Banana!!!! Hahahaha! So there! Besides that, I loved this chap, which you already knew. Did any of your other lovely readers recognize another character you slipped in? Prolly not, since I didn't, and we all know that I am genius Bre! *10*

Author's Response: Talk about being blinded by your own light! No more sneak peaks for you! I am firing you as assistant beta! ;-P JK, but seriously don't be rude to the wonderful reviewers! Most of them haven't even read the chapter yet you big meanie-head! Heeheehee.

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the ten and the nice review, though.

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the ten and the nice review, though.

Author's Response: Oops.

Reviewer: PuppetPal
Date: 04/21/06 9:33
Chapter: Over the River and Through the Woods

That's so mean! A cliffie, right now? Your story is really good, i love it. Please update soon. Your writing style is really nice, it catches my attention. 10/10

Author's Response: Review number thirty! A new reviewer! YES!!! Not only that, but you have a really awesome penname. I love Potter Puppet Pals...I've even got a t-shirt! Anyways, thanks so much for the great review, I'm glad you're enjoying the story. Hope to hear from you again!

Reviewer: Hermione499
Date: 04/15/06 9:36
Chapter: Hurry Up and Wait

OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I cannot believe I missed this chapter, school really has taken over my life. Love this chapter soooo much, really intresting! I would so rate "10" but there is no rate button... do you like the new layout? Well anyway, au revoir!~~

Author's Response: Yes, I like the new layout. The only thing that bothers me is that it is harder to skim story titles. It seems that when presented with a list of fics in a category...they all run togeather! I'm sorry you couldn't find the rate button. Hopefully it will show up soon, but just hearing that people think it is a ten is pretty sweet too! Good luck with all the school work and thanks so very much for reviewing!

Author's Response: *edit*--Since they put lines between fics, I am now nearly 100% in love with the new layout! I am currently favoring the Helga Hufflepuff design.

Reviewer: Violinist209
Date: 04/13/06 15:33
Chapter: Hurry Up and Wait

YAY!!!!!!!!!! Guess what???? With this new system, I have absolutely NO problem leaving reviews!!!! *Does crazy happy dance that draws stares from man that Molly won't stop barking at* Anyways, back to your chapter, in my second review ever for you! I really liked how you fixed the pastrami fiasco(that is such a cool word!) and the birds, oops, do they know about the birds? oh well. I feel bad for poor Phedra, sitting with giants, being ignored. I can relate (haha!) I definitely enjoyed this chapter! When do I get to beta the next? *Starts planning elaborate scheme to steal next chapter without you noticing* I give a 10, only times 20 million!

Love Love Love
Genius Bre (I love that name!)

Author's Response: Dear Genius Bre, Someone needs to deflate your skull, an honorable job that is usually reserved for me...but I invite my readers to join in the fun!!! I am typing away at the next chapter as we speak. So far, so good, but that's my opinion.

Reviewer: saveginny417
Date: 04/04/06 15:47
Chapter: Hurry Up and Wait

look, see? I'm reviewing! even though I really don't have time to... but anyway... I liked this chaptr too. James, Sirius, Regulus, and Petunia.... and maybe Lily was in there too, but I must have missed that. so anyway, update soon. can't wait to see what happenes when she finally gets to Hogwarts. TTFN Juli

Author's Response: Nope, you didn't miss Lily. She wasn't there. Hopefully you didn't fail any tests or anything because you were too busy writing the review. I can't say I feel guilty though...*chuckles evily* I'm psycho busy so it might be a while until future chapters. Thanks so much for the review!

Author's Response: Oh, and what does TTFN mean? I'm netspeak impaired. =p

Reviewer: Kerian
Date: 03/30/06 16:59
Chapter: Hurry Up and Wait

Hey there! Nice work! I loved the little snuck in peaks at other characters, are James and the lot first years too? And poor Phedra she has most likely shut herself in a veryy wrong compartment! Update again soon, Maeve little fit was adorable and sneaking Petunia in was very smooth!

Author's Response: Hola! Thanks so much for this review. Don't worry about Phedra, she's not going to get gang-beaten by the older kids...or is she??? (I probably should leave the suspense suspenseful) I'm glad you liked Petunia. She was fun to write, the sullen/bratty teen. A bit like me...only joking (of course)! So glad to hear from you!!!

Reviewer: MereRanger
Date: 03/29/06 9:28
Chapter: Hurry Up and Wait

Just for the record, I try to review as much as I can! Anywho... love the story! Phedra's finally off to Hogwarts! The way you brought in characters like James and Petunia before actually introducing them was awesome. I love reading about characters I know as if they're simply side people (random but whateves). I really like Susan, the mother. Her character is so complete and relatable! Excellent job overall and please update soon!

Author's Response: Hey, you don't have to justify yourself, people have lives! Yes, Phedra is finally off to Hogwarts...finally. It should be interesting. I'm going to miss writing her family while she's away, especially Susan! Thank you so very much for the detailed review!

Reviewer: Surreal
Date: 03/29/06 9:17
Chapter: Hurry Up and Wait

I'm not fearful, just lazy :) Anyway, I love your story and hope you'll update soon

Author's Response: A new reviewer! *does mental cartwheels (since I can't do real ones)* I'm glad to hear from you, it appears that any potential lazy streak in you might have been broken by leaving that review. Congratulations, and thanks a lot!

Reviewer: On Angels Wings
Date: 03/28/06 15:04
Chapter: Put On Your Anxious Face

Oh please, continue. It's really hard for me to read a story and not get enough of it. I'm dying to know what's going to happen. Who will she meet? What house will she be in? What's going on? Where's my mind?!!! (okay it's been lost for a long time, I was just trying to add some drama) I hope you keep getting these up as fast as you have been doing! ~Angel (by the way, this gets a 10!)

Author's Response: Hey, nobody minds a little drama! Especially when it comes from a new reviewer and fellow author! Thanks from the ten!

Reviewer: Violinist209
Date: 03/21/06 19:02
Chapter: Prologue

Yay finally! I get to leave a review! I absolutely LOVE your story, though I should be impartial, seeing as I am your clearly genius unofficial editor. My only criticism is that some sentences have too much description, but you already knew that. Hurry up with the new chpaters I'm dying to know what happens! I give you a 10!!!! times a lot! Keep up the good work (and the chapters!) Genius Bre

Author's Response: Huzzah! Bre is here! I'm so excited! *breaks into song and dance routine* Everyone, this is Bre, a cool kid.

Reviewer: Hermione499
Date: 03/12/06 21:17
Chapter: Put On Your Anxious Face

I loved this chapter and everything about it!!! Oh, it was really, really, good!!! OMG, I just love how you write its really entertaing!!! Please update soon!!! 10/10, au revoir!!!~*~

Author's Response: Yippie! I hadn't had a review in ages. *sigh of contentment* I knew I could count on Hermione499! Hopefully a new chapter will be submitted within the next couple of days (its going through my beta). Glad to entertain you! Thanks for your dedicated reviews!

Author's Response: Ok, I lied. It might be more than a couple of days until the next chapter.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
The Other Prophecy by IWriteToSurvive 3rd-5th Years
Hermione Granger is in a dilemma. A dilemma she never thought could happen...
FEATURED
Etched in Gold by Cirelondiel 1st-2nd Years
"It’s like a safe place, somewhere to watch the world, somewhere...
The Elder Tree by the opaleye 1st-2nd Years
It would have been no surprise to see Vernon Dursley sitting on the frosty concrete...
Perfect First by Hermiones Kneazle 1st-2nd Years
Hermione is at her first dance and on her first date, but the night for firsts...
blackbird over the dark field by psijupiter 3rd-5th Years
AU. Severus and Remus forge a damaged and damaging relationship in the aftermath...
Turn to Stone by iLuna17 1st-2nd Years
One summer's night in Hogwarts, two statues are given one night to be human.
Ashes of the Past by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Viktor carries the memory of Grindelwald's path of destruction, passed down...
What War Takes by WeasleyMom 6th-7th Years
War takes things and keeps on taking them, and the things it takes don't come...
The Observer Effect by Squibstress 6th-7th Years
Minerva is a watcher. Mostly, she watches Severus. She sees through a glass...
CATEGORIES