Reviewer: Muggle in the Know
Date: 04/03/10 0:27
Chapter: Good Intentions

Alice in wonderland, eh? Just when I thought you couldn't fit in any MORE pop-culture references... *Shakes head sadly*

Author's Response: I think the Alice quote, like the Shakespeare, counts as a literary reference, ^_~, but references of all sorts are a perk of fan fiction, and I'm sure it's very apparent I enjoyed using them and hope readers enjoy them too.

Reviewer: Russia Snow
Date: 03/07/10 10:23
Chapter: Let's Get it Started

Heyyy, Paige! Look who's baaaaack! Yes, you'd better get those dancing shoes on, because here comes a Russia review! XD

Another fabulous chapter, of course, I loved so many things about it!

Luna especially, is a big sticking point for me. Every time I read Luna, in anything, I keep waiting and waiting for her to go out of character. But in this fic, she is just... gah she is an amazing Luna! You don't try too hard to keep up with the idea that everyone has of Luna being so 'dreamy' and 'loopy' because you are exploring her character and giving her more depth than just the ditzy character we see in JKRs work. I love your Luna, Paige!

Draco. Wow. So arrogant and just exactly as I always saw Draco to be:

”Speechless, eh...I like you more already...not that I don't have that effect on most girls in this school...just the price I pay for being so...me”

That is a really great Draco line =D The way he and Ginny interact in this chapter is wonderful, you have really got inside Draco’s head and shown us how he ticks.

You also have a true gift for subtlety. I mean, you finish this chapter and get the distinct idea that Ginny has a serious thing for Draco. And you never even say she does! I think it has a lot to do with the way Ginny is so defensive:

"Oh...you...just because I fell for your stupid prank first year doesn't mean I'm going to do it again so...so...don't even try!”

You do have Draco saying that Ginny has a thing for him, and she denies it so furiously we know that it must be true :-p

The way you have structured this chapter gives the reader so many different view points on the same story. Most authors choose one main character to focus on, and stick to that the whole story through. But you show us several sub-plots through the eyes of nearly every character mentioned!

All in all, a fantastic chapter, but I will stop waffling now as I imagine your feet are getting rather tired from the “review dance” XD

~Russia xxxxx

Author's Response:

Are you kidding? You have a song from The King and I playing in my head!

Shall we dance?
On a bright cloud of music shall we fly?
Shall we dance?

Followed by a song from My Fair Lady

I could have danced all night!
I could have danced all night!
And still have begged for more.

Tired of someone who notices details and has an amazing insight into characterization and dialogue? To quote a dead sexy pirate who won't be seen for a few chapters yet: INCONCEIVABLE! 

*glomp*

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/19/10 19:54
Chapter: The Long Goodbye Part Three: Draco and Ginny

That was wonderful and now it's over. I think my favorite part was when Draco took Lucius' advice and used it to his own advantage. I loved that he could turn into a ferret and get past the wards and protect Ginny. I also loved the concept of shadow walking. I was going "Thank you Lucius." Finally, I loved the part where Draco, as a ferret, led Marisol into the dragon's lair. I could see Ginny picking him up and him biting and scratching, not knowing who had him. This was a long and very enjoyable journey. You could say it was epic. I don't know how you wrote all that but thank you. I loved every second of it. I'll see you somewhere close by soon.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading an epic length story! A lot of people stick to one shots these days, so I appreciate you diving into a fic with 52 chapters. Earlier in the story Ginny called Draco the amazing fighting ferret. Little did she know how right she was. :D I hope you'll get a chance to read the one shots that follow the story. The romance never ends. ;)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/18/10 19:19
Chapter: The Long Goodbye Part Two: Blaise and Terry

The ending was all worth it. I'm teary-eyed. How wonderful of Enrique to find Blaise and for them to talk. I was also touched by Enrique striking a deal with the Romanian jewelry maker. Blaise just doesn't give up on matchmaking does she--she and Ginny will have Charlie married off in no time. I'm struck by Blaise's happy spirit. It's been there all along but it's really showing up now. Great chapter.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you feel that way! Whoever is happy will make others happy too definitely fits Blaise! Thank you for liking her spirit and that she and Enrique reconciled. It'll take longer for Terry with his parents, because they care a little too much about what other people think!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/15/10 10:56
Chapter: The Long Goodbye Part One: The Scooby Gang

I'm sad--this is the first of the good byes. I think I've been reading this story since Christmas Eve. The biggest surprise in this chapter was Trelawney and Hook. They are such a strange couple but I guess opposites attract. It's kind of like the space cadet with the intellectual overanalyzer:D I still can't get over how they talk to each other. It's almost like they don't like each other or know each other that well. I sat here shaking my head when Gilderoy became involved in catching the ferret. I was going "No, leave it alone--don't screw things up." I had a faint hope that somehow the gum was causing Neville's parents to stay in their catatonic state and once that was removed they might get better. At the same time that would've been unbelieveable and too easy. If every story had a happy ending that just wouldn't be realistic. Again, I hate to say good bye to these characters but I look forward to your reunion story. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Are you saying you have James Hook for an ex? ;) They're insecure and defensive, and some counseling with Healer Wells would do them good. :D You're right about endings, but I think this one's happy, it's just not in the "all's right with the world" sort of way--although when they're snogging, Luna and Wesley might disagree!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/13/10 19:28
Chapter: Love is the Sweetest Thing

The wedding ceremony was beautiful. I felt kind of bad that it had to be so private--I'm sure their friends would've loved to be there but I guess that's the way it had to be. Besides, they can always renew their vows in the future and have a huge blow-out party. Draco sounds so handsome with longer hair, although I bet he looks like Lucius. I laughed at Luna when she burst in on Wesley trying to give a romance novel to another witch. I went "Aww" when Larry basically said Luna should've just asked him if she could go to Spain-he probably would've said yes. It's so good to see the twins on Ginny's side. The Weasleys have been so understanding. This was once again a very full chapter. I loved it. Your vision of me hiding from the art teacher is pretty close:D I just waved at her and then started an intense discussion with one of the principals--giving the impression I couldn't be disturbed:P I'm so bad.

Author's Response:

You are bad, :D, but it's not as if you owe her money . . . unless you count her share of future royalties that she won't begin to earn until you finish the book and give her the chance to illustrate.

Maybe I'm the one that's bad--which is one of the reasons I like you so much. ;)

Draco with ANY length hair is dead sexy. Long hair does heighten his resemblance to Lucius, which is probably why he keeps it short in the epilogue. 

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/12/10 21:27
Chapter: Love and Madness

You are truly evil bringing up poor little Fynn's book:D I forgot to take my own advice--I think I was explaining that to Demelza earlier today. I stand here, chagrined. Anyway, I always thought that the gum wrappers were from someone giving the Longbottoms gum--but who was giving them gum? It's not like they had daily visitors. Then, I took it as a symbol that Neville's parents were giving him something--it was meant to be a sad, pathetic gesture--all his mother had to give him was a gum wrapper. I've actually seen things like this happen. Yet, it was odd. You know what else was weird and I was left going "What the hell?" was in book 7 when Ron got basilisk poison out of the Chamber of Secrets. I have to go back and read but for some reason he had to speak parselmouth so he just did???? What was that about? I'm still embarrassed about the Fynn issue and he's sitting here looking at me, accusingly. Heck, he can't tell his story. It's up to me and I dropped the damn ball. You know, I avoided the art teacher at parent conferences the other day. I didn't want to discuss illustrations. I'm a sad, sad person:D

Author's Response:

Avoiding the art teacher. Why am I imagining you skulking through corridors and ducking behind library stacks? I have a twisted sense of humor. :D

I think you're waiting for summer to have the time to focus on Fynn's book. You're Type A. Damn the torpedoes. You don't want to write a page here, a page there, you want to go all out and right now that's not possible with work and Bellatrix's story pulling at your gray matter.  The art teacher would understand. :)

Hmmm, I'll have to go reread about Ron to see if he out-of-the-blue spoke parselmouth/tongue/whatever, heh. 

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/12/10 18:50
Chapter: Love and Madness

Gosh, I'm curious about all of the cliff hangers. I did not expect Marisol to be the raven. You'd think Auntie Bella would've taught Draco to Crucio and mean it. That just shows how nice he really is. Too bad they have to go all the way to Romania to escape. Although, i think volunteer work is good for people. What does Luna's dad know? I felt so bad for Blaise but what else could she do. I don't think she did anything wrong in taking charge of her own money and property. Are you really going to solve the mystery of the gum wrappers at St. Mungo's? I've always wondered about those and now I'm getting obsessed:D Great chapter and as always, jam packed with wonderful stuff. You are my writing hero. When are you going to get yourself published in real life. You're too talented to not be making money on this.

Author's Response:

I'm going to solve them...sort of. :D Those gum wrappers were one of the many loose strings of plot that never went anywhere...like the werewolves, sigh.

I could ask you the same thing! I'm hoping to hear you've finished the rough draft of Fynn's book one day soon so envy can motivate me to finish my novel. ^_~. 

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/10/10 20:28
Chapter: Circle of Friends

This was such a fun chapter, although everyone was so busy I got tired reading about it. You had to wait until the end to tell us the raven escaped. Actually, I was having so much fun that I forgot about the raven. Blaise was acting like mamacita again taking care of everybody. The boys seemed to have a great bonding experience. I was so excited to see Terry let out of house arrest to go to the dance with Blaise. That made my evening. I actually said "OHH" out loud. Again, it's so wonderful to see Draco and Ginny out together in public. Another cute surprise was to see Crabbe and Goyle with dates and to see them acting like gentlemen. As always in this story, you've got so many outstanding scenes that it's hard to comment on them all. Excellent chapter. I feel all happy and romantic after reading it.

Author's Response:

Yay for being happy and romantic! I've been working math problems, which is NOT conducive to romance, even if someone near and dear thinks it's sexy when I express a problem in algebraic equation. :P

In the last book, I was sad to see "Mr. C and Mr. G" go from bumbling henchmen to bad guys. I liked the idea that they were sweet in their own way. 

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/09/10 18:18
Chapter: Sitting, Waiting, Wishing

Yay--another ball. Very smart of Draco to capture the raven after realizing it might be an animagus. I'm glad he went to Arthur for help. I laughed when Blaise suggested that Draco take the three other boys out to do "manly things." I could not believe that Milty was stupid enough to threaten Ginny. Draco's just not going to stand for that. At least Milty got detention. As always, this chapter was full of wonderful scenes. I'm getting closer to the end. I hate that thought but all good things must come to an end I guess. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Never underestimate Milty's stupidity, heh. Thank you for hating that it's getting close to the end, but with this story, there are a couple of one shots that follow, so the end isn't really the end. :)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/08/10 19:51
Chapter: Something Wicked This Way Comes

I absolutely loved the descriptions of the parties, although you made Gryffindor's sound kind of boring. You didn't describe Hufflepuff's so maybe they had the most boring one:D I loved the Slytherin party. That sounded like my kind of party. Loud music and wild dancing. I feel so bad for Blaise. She's always doing something nice for others and then she can't be with her boyfriend. Lucius is such an old party pooper. I thought for a brief moment that Draco got a gusher. Aren't those black? I really enjoyed seeing the fairies again. It was cool that Luna had "been there, done that." I think I breathed a sigh of relief when Puck used fairy dust to take away memories of Lorelei's silver. Aside from the letter from Lucius (which we knew had to come) and Blaise's unhappiness, this was a really fun chapter.

Author's Response:

The parties in the films aren't exactly wild, heh. I think it's mostly a case of who you're with, not what you do, although I sincerely believe Slytherins have more fun (on the dance floor, at least).:D

 

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/07/10 19:55
Chapter: Actions and Reactions

Hoggie?? Oh, why not:D Professor Hook seemed kind of rude to Sybil--or is that how they talk. Wesley was so cute coming to the girls' rescue. I cannot tell you how wonderful it makes me feel to see Draco and Ginny openly dating. You've really convinced me that they are a good couple. It's like I'm going "Harry who? Who's Harry?" It was also heartening to see Ron come to Draco's rescue. Now, would it have killed JKR to write something pleasant like this? Great chapter.

Author's Response: Yes, it would have killed her. Despite the Sorting Hat singing about unity, Jo could never get over her bias against Slytherins. She even gave Draco a receding hairline in the Epilogue! Me-ow! :D

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/06/10 16:59
Chapter: Wonderwall

I loved the end the best--when Ginny came back to Hogwarts and didn't realize they'd have such a large audience to their very public kiss. I also liked when Draco came upon the students greeting the sun. When it gets warmer I may have to do that again, as well as watching the full moon rise. I am just giddy because the Weasleys are OK with Ginny and Draco. I was happy Ginny got to spend some time with Molly looking at a photo album. This was a wonderful feel good chapter and I loved all of the music references. Whatever happened to REM?

Author's Response:

I wrote this kiss before Jo wrote Harry kissing Ginny in HBP. I did the public scene first. :D

R.E.M. has a Helping Haiti Everybody Hurts charity cd and download coming out on the 7th, but I don't think they have a recent album. I think they're all doing solo projects, photography and whatever else rock stars do to be creative when they're not making music. :)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/05/10 20:30
Chapter: When Dreams Do Show Me Thee

Oh man, things went from bad to worse. I think the twins were kind of sympathetic but Bill clearly wasn't. Bill isn't going to be too pleased either when he wakes up. The oldest brother, the curse breaker--and he was overpowered by the tricksters:) Draco is so mannerly. I love good manners. It would be so easy for him to just run off and say it's all not worth it but he stayed the night and is going to face Ginny's family. Molly does live to talk about this doesn't she? Blaise's dream was kind of funny, especially when she finds out that Tarzanman is a wizard and knew what she was saying all along:) I can't wait to find out what's up with Professor Hook. I'm ready to like him:) I still think the muggle born witches and wizards have the biggest advantages. They just have a more global range of experiences that helps them understand all sorts of things. Great chapter.

Author's Response:

Molly does tend to overreact in the books. I made Bill a little like her when it comes to his baby sister, but he's too cool to be a hot head forever, :D

Yay for MNFF not sending your review to limboland! (I'm going to copy this reply before I submit, though, because I'm not trusting anymore, heh)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/04/10 16:47
Chapter: Turn, Turn, Turn

I loved Luna's dream. I hope her Dad doesn't marry that Ivanna. You hinted that Professor Hook's lover was Sybill. I still think he acted kind of gay:D (I'm just giving you a hard time.) I was surprised that Draco approached Ron and that Ron actually helped him. I could see the portrait trying to guess who Draco was. I still think someone should write a story that's mostly about the portraits:P Fred and George are too much with their looking in the window and waving. You know, I sympathize with Molly but I hope she comes around. Arthur seems more like the voice of reason here--reminding her of things from her past. I already like the Blaise character but I'm gaining a new respect for her Slytheriness. Great chapter.

Author's Response:

Poor Hook, he can't wear velvet without having his sexual preferences questioned. :D Have you seen the version of Peter Pan with Isaacs? He's ruthless, yet sympathetic...and a lot sexier than Dustin Hoffman in Hook, LOL.

If Molly didn't go into angry/hysteric mother mode first, it wouldn't have been 'real' to me. A mother can get used to just about anyone her children love, but it won't always be instant acceptance (as I'm sure you know, heh). 

Ever seen Gigi with Leslie Caron? I think of a song from that with a HP twist: Thank heaven, for little Slytherin girls. How would they do without her? ;)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/03/10 18:37
Chapter: Backlash

I had hope for a brief moment that something else had gone wrong and that was why Ginny was called home. But Ginny did it to herself and blamed poor Ron all the time. I actually feel somewhat relieved that Arthur and Molly now know about Draco. I haven't read what will happen but I think it's better for things to be out in the open. I'm hopeful that Draco and Ginny will be able to be together in public. I hope Luna figures out what's going on with Professor Hook. I still say he's a very suspicious character--all the more so if he looks like Lucius Malfoy with black hair:D Great chapter.

Author's Response:

I think it's human nature to blame others, and there will be drama ahead, but I agree about being out in the open. Sneaking around is only exciting in the beginning, when people are caught up in the thrill and the ramifications haven't sunk in.

You'll like Hook in the end. Pirates grow on you like barnacles. :D

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/02/10 18:22
Chapter: Things Revealed

Professor Hook is kind of creepy. Are you sure he didn't have the hots for Stuart? I like Gushers almost as much as I like Howlers:) I can just hear Eddy's voice gushing--and I've never really heard her voice, but I can imagine. The invisibility cloaks are a great idea. I chuckled at Blaise's antics as she snuck up on people and Luna's comment that she really didn't mind appearing to be talking to herself. Oh why did Hermione have to look in the wrong drawer? I hope things work out when Ginny tells her parents about Draco. I loved her dream when Draco came to the Burrow. Lots of fun stuff in this chapter. Loved it:)

Author's Response: Professor Hook is the spitting image of Jason Isaacs in Peter Pan so he isn't creepy, he's piratical, :D, and his lover's name starts with an 'S', but her name isn't Stuart, lol.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/01/10 19:26
Chapter: Good Intentions

Yay for Ginny doing something about the gossips. How fun to serenade Terry. I don't know how those two are coping when they can't be together. I remember the original "All I Have to Do is Dream." Keep in mind that my mother's youngest sister was a teenager in the 50s and I adored her and spent a lot of time with her. I remember a lot of songs from when I was about 3 years old on:) As a tiny girl I could sing along with the Everly Brothers (Don and Phil, right?)--vinyl of course. I liked Tonks' class activity. Draco was trying so hard to behave himself. I loved his journal of "good deeds." What's up with Captain Hook? Maybe he was Professor Smalley's (sp?) gay lover. Snape's not gonna go for him bothering Lorelei. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Hook was somebody's lover, all right, but it wasn't Stuart. Think about who at Hogwarts could be a Tinkerbell. :D

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/31/10 17:52
Chapter: Captain! My Captain!

I can imagine what a horrible gossip mill exists at Hogwarts. It's probably worse than the school I work at since it's a confined space. At my school, the students are the worst--or maybe I should say know the most:) I hope Wesley doesn't get into too much trouble since he decided to be honest with his parents. Again, I'm charmed with Draco's knowledge of and interest of history. Great chapter.

Author's Response:

You're right, they're stuck there, they don't have outside interests to focus on as much as the students at "normal" schools. Sometimes I think it's the teachers who want to be friends with students and forget anything they say can and will be used against them, heh, that suffer from the gossip grapevine. :D

 

Reviewer: Russia Snow
Date: 01/31/10 11:18
Chapter: Matchmaker, Matchmaker

Kerichii! Yes, that's right, Russia is baack! I only came here to get the link so I could reccomend it, but then BAM I got sucked back into it. *resigns self to another 3 months of pure heaven* how am I EVER going to get any of my own FFs finished if I keep re-reading this one?! Anyway,

It was even better than I remembered! I contemplated starting afew chapters in, because I was like "The first few chapters will be boring, and just about getting into the story." But this chaoter ws SO good! I adore Draco's characterisation, and Blaise is amazing. I am quite surprised how you managed to have Luna and Draco's characterisations both so perfect! Luna's thoughts at the beginning about Dust Motes and Faeries and her whistling at the end, were so perfect!

I am always surprised when i read Harry or Hermione saying anything, because I don't remember them being much of a part in this fic, but them AS WELL are so well characterised!

I think I should stop fangirling now?

Expect LOTS more reviews from me as I work through each chapter =D

Lots of huggles!

~Russia xxxxx

Author's Response: I heart you, woman! You have a gift of encouragement and positive critique. Have you ever considered joining SPEW? The requirements have gone down to 2 reviews a month (if one of your reviews is of a SPEW buddy or author of the month, since that counts as both an activity and a review).

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
A Christmas in Azkaban by shadowkat678 3rd-5th Years
Hope is like a flickering candle. It can be snuffed out, but it can also be...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES