MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: Spaced Out (Anonymous) · Date: 02/26/06 16:12 · For: Promises and Apologies
Aha! An unbreakable vow! I knew it!! I also love the reasoning behind Severus looking for hope, and how naturally his double agent role came about. My favorite line was about the two kinds of Death Eaters. Brilliant. Anything to save the Prince. ;)

Author's Response: Finding out that Severus had been a Death Eater in GoF puzzled me mightily -- he just never struck me as, well, obedient enough. It seemed rather a liability. The rest followed... Thanks for reviewing!

Name: Blackpenny (Signed) · Date: 02/26/06 10:33 · For: Promises and Apologies
Ah, thank goodness! It is a mark of how involving this story is that I was tremendously relieved to see Saint and Prince back together safe, and stuffed with food. I'm very curious to see how far you will take this story.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm partial to seeing the Prince well-treated myself, on those rare occasions it can be arranged. There's 7 more chapters left, and then I don't know quite what happens to the Severus/Vindictus collaboration. AU's maybe. We'll see.

Name: Blackpenny (Signed) · Date: 02/26/06 10:33 · For: Promises and Apologies
Ah, thank goodness! It is a mark of how involving this story is that I was tremendously relieved to see Saint and Prince back together safe, and stuffed with food. I'm very curious to see how far you will take this story.

Name: Kerian (Signed) · Date: 02/25/06 12:29 · For: Scrivenshafts
Oo yess that was awesome! I love that he didn't even hesitate before deciding to save Lily and now I cant wait to see the tension between a worried James and a Severus anxious to see Lily. I reallyy want someone to give him the offer to spy very soon! I feel awful for poor Severus and he's gunna be having one hard night when he considers how things could've gone wrong. Well done as always!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! More chapters are forthcoming, to answer all your hopes; they're just getting some polish and manners before they go out into the world. I'm not sure who's the biggest perfectionist: the biographer, the beta (thanks Slian!) or the biographed.

Name: JeWb (Anonymous) · Date: 02/25/06 11:17 · For: Eavesdropping
Good idea, post more chapters ^_^.

Author's Response: Done -- now that I've escaped the monsters of AIM. Thanks again!

Name: Gingerbread Man (Signed) · Date: 02/25/06 10:31 · For: Scrivenshafts
This was great--I'm SO glad that Severus managed to save Lily. That's one thing he can be happy about, though I don't know how much difference it will make after everything else. Like he said, "There's nothing for the dementors to take!"

Author's Response: Thanks, both for the review and the 'great'! And -- I'm happy about it too, as I rather like Lily.

Name: JeWb (Anonymous) · Date: 02/25/06 0:16 · For: Eavesdropping
Yea, I just looked at lexicon.... I think Rowling made an error... Because Snape was hired in 1980 it says, but Lilly/James died October 31 1980. And Snape wasn't hired till prior their deaths. 'Fresh out of his deatheater days' I might be looking into it too much, but I'm pretty sure she made an error, I'd like your input.

Author's Response: Well, two possibilities -- one is that Slughorn retired as soon as it was safe to do so, in Nov. 1980, and never mind the term. Does he seem the considerate sort? The other is that I should go post some more chapters and not spoil my own story...

Name: Slian Martreb (Signed) · Date: 02/24/06 12:35 · For: Marked
Oh, yeah, right. Hours of going at it while Severus is stiff beneath her. Terrible reconditioning. My heart bleeds for her. *not*

Author's Response: Well, there's a big difference between understanding evil and condoning it. I'm certainly not doing the latter.

Name: Kerian (Signed) · Date: 02/24/06 10:51 · For: Eavesdropping
Aww poor Severus really has given up on himself. I hope Lily can turn him to the Order veryy soon because the poor guy is not at his best in the slightest. I really agreed with your portrayal of his new life attitude, the kind of sense of sadness and life's uselessness. Well written as always, I'm interested to see how the story goes from here!

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing. I'd better go post some more chapters, hadn't I?

Name: JeWb (Anonymous) · Date: 02/24/06 10:50 · For: Eavesdropping
Sorry I didn't leave a review for the chapter before this, I didn't have time and I'm still somewhat crunched. So I'm going to put it all in here. Great past 2 chapters for one. I see Snape finally caved in. Sad really about killing his own son. I can imagine that helps him develop into the person he is in the books. They all are so young... Snape being 19, for some reason I didn't picture them being Death Eaters this early, though it makes sense. Snape got shot down by Dumbledore, and this makes me think there MAY be a plot hole, but I'm sure it can be fixed just as easily. Snape overheard the Prophecy and I imagine he'll report right to Voldemort. So either Lily has had Harry, and you haven't let us know just yet. And if thats the case, 18 is quite young to have a child... Or Voldemort will have to wait for the prophecy to happen, which is possible as well. But another thing is Dumbledore told snape to wait a couple of years, and Snape had the post as Potions Master when Voldemort fell... Cause I could see Dumbledore giving him the job AFTER Lily's death and him feeling great remorse, but that wouldn't follow Cannon. Though that doesn't really matter that much.... Well, keep updating ^_^,


Author's Response: I've tried to be pretty careful with the timeline -- they are all indeed young. As far as I can tell, Lily had Harry when she was 20. It also seems that Severus was hired the year after Trelawney was. I quibble with the Lexicon timeline occasionally, but mostly it seems good on the big stuff and I use it. For my own nefarious purposes...

Thanks for reviewing!

Name: jam3zx (Signed) · Date: 02/24/06 4:48 · For: Eavesdropping
i loved it ive been following the story for a while now and only just signed up to mugglenet so i could write a review of how much i like this story. "it's news of the marriage" - is that referring to james and lilys marriage ? i thought severus knew they were married from his letter to Mrs potter

Author's Response: Good to have you along, then, and welcome to Mugglenet Fan Fiction! Thank you for reviewing! He knew that they were married, but Lily has been kind about sparing him the gory details like the actual presence of James Potter, the joys of life as a couple, and little things like impending babies.

Name: GoddessOfSlytherin (Anonymous) · Date: 02/24/06 3:55 · For: Marked
I think my heart stopped right there--as soon as the baby was mentioned my mind was racing with implications but I never expected it to be Severus and Narcissa's OWN.

Hell of a way to break someone down--mulitfaceted and permanent. I'm just quaking with chills--glad my kids are peacefully asleep right now! :*(

Author's Response: This one keeps me awake nights, you know. The story has never felt like mine -- in some sense I feel more like a ghostwriter than an author -- and this is one of the chapters where that someone-else feeling is rather a relief.

Name: GoddessOfSlytherin (Anonymous) · Date: 02/24/06 3:28 · For: A Lesson In Deportment
A sausage and a cream soup...?? I'm nearly crying with laughter.

You are just too clever, V V :not worthy: I must review more....you deserve every 10 you've gotten.

Author's Response: Thank you. Tens and reviews appreciated as always, and I'm glad that particularly petty and surreal touch stuck with you. It seemed important somehow that this particular foursome was not only evil, but willing to be particularly immature about it, and come at the problem from every possible angle of annoyance as well as pain.

Name: Blackpenny (Signed) · Date: 02/23/06 21:22 · For: Eavesdropping
So sad, and so well-written. Snape seems to have given up on himself. I've always felt that canon Snape's only wish is to finish his appointed task and die. I don't think he's literally suicidal, - just played out and disgusted with himself and the world. Again, so sad. I'm very interested in seeing where you'll leave off.

Author's Response: Thank you, as always, for a thoughtful review. I had that feeling from him too, actually -- not actively suicidal, but fed up. And yes, especially after the glimpses of him as he once was in HBP, particularly sad.

Name: Slian Martreb (Signed) · Date: 02/23/06 17:10 · For: Marked
Here for a serious review (no padding needed for this chapter). This chapter was giving me chills even before I knew exactly what had happened; the simple possibility presented when He-Who-Does-Not-Deserved-To-Be-Named touches Severus had me nearly in tears and I wasn't able to think coherently the rest of the day. Granted, the end of the chapter would have hit me harder had I not read 'Finding the Bible' first, even if that didn't give away how it happened, but this is still an amazingly powerful chapter. It still does not cease to...amaze is the wrong word. The fact that Snape would rather be a Death Eater and serve Voldemort than be touched by HWDNDTBN (I'm fond of that one, by the way, VV) shocks and stuns. Chilling thought, actually. I would like, though, to add Narcissa to our drabble challenge, if we may. The wand down her dress and Petrificus business is a nasty trick and deserves to be punished. I would also like to *huggle* Severus. May I?

Author's Response: Now you know why that other awful chapter was absolutely necessary. Don't be too hard on Narcissa, though -- she really thought she had a chance of saving her child. It IS a nasty trick; I won't argue that at all. However, she thought she was justified at the time. Severus wasn't the only one being -- reconditioned.

Name: ProfPosky (Signed) · Date: 02/23/06 15:57 · For: Marked
I read this while I was holding my infant in my arms (Well, that's the only way I get to read much these days)... Thank God I know the difference between fiction and real life. (Not that things like this don't happen all the time in real life, but I do my best to avoid encountering them there...) To me is showed how one wrong decision leads to others, and how one wrong assumption can just keep the downward spiral going. Snape thinks it is too late to go over to the right side. He obviously rethinks that later. What would have happened if he had thought it right after this happened? There is the added irony - and of course, Snape does not know whose child it is -but the added irony that Lily dies for her child, having no way to know that he will survive her by more than seconds, and Snape kills his, because to him it will happen anyway, what would be the point... As for Lucius, I could not have a lower opinion of his as a human being, and I have no particular sympathy for Narcissa, either. Also, he never seemed younger to me than in this chapter...

Author's Response: *shudder* I cannot imagine a worse context for reading this chapter. There is, of course, another dose of foreshadowing on that will-die-anyway thought. This is one of those chapters that seemed deeply necessary to the story line and was perfectly awful to write (and rewrite, and apparently to beta, and...) Lucius is pretty much my definition of a truly evil human being; he has now even betrayed Narcissa and wiped her memory of it, after all. "Thank you" seems like an awkward thing to say in this context, but all the same -- thank you for responding.

Name: Spaced Out (Anonymous) · Date: 02/22/06 22:38 · For: Eavesdropping
Oh, frustratingly short! Excellent take on the scene... Snape heard rather a lot, didn't he. Although without the context of the scattered words, it wouldn't be a full knowledge, I suppose. You imply he told Voldemort all he heard; but then again, he had no reason to hold anything back, did he? Not yet. I love the way you depicted Dumbledore. Excellently in character. Perahps he had seen Snape's letter to Lily. Well done--please update again soon! I'm quite addicted to this story of yours.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked my Dumbledore, as I find him rather difficult to write. Lily neglected to tell her friend about the impending baby for two reasons: it's news of the marriage, and it's news of James. She's pretty sure Severus wants as little as possible of both.

Name: Kiwi_Chick (Signed) · Date: 02/22/06 5:57 · For: Marked
That was a very powerful chapter! It gives huge insight into how Snape can hide his feelings and seem so cold and impersonal in the future, Lily is the only person that he has not been betrayed by (so far...) and maybe thatís why he is so harsh on Harry coz he saw that her son would kill her and so he kinda blames Harry? Sorry if Iím going off on a tangent lol. Its funny how much your story has influenced the way I feel about Snapeís character, I was reading the HBP (for the millionth time lol) and its puts Snape in a much different light now, it changes the book completely for me. Anyway I can't wait to see your next chapter keep up the great work!!

Author's Response: I think I end up giving Severus about a dozen different and perfectly good reasons to hate Harry by the end of all this -- sometime I should make a list. That is indeed one of them, but he's a little more inclined to blame James than Harry. Your tangent is fine, as it's far more cheerful and easy to reply to than comments directly on this chapter. And yes, after writing Severus for a while, I realized that my rereading of JKR was utterly different (and that Harry was sometimes a real snot.)

Name: nursehealer81 (Signed) · Date: 02/21/06 20:54 · For: Marked
Took my breath away...I actually stopped breathing for a moment. I had wondered if Narcissa had conceived by Severus right after they started their affair, and I had wondered if the indiscretion proof was a baby, but I figured that kid might have been transfigured to look like Lucius' to become Draco...but then the dates wouldn't work out. I never thought Lucius capable of instigating infanticide even though he was already beyond evil....but you made even that plausible. This fic has truly phenomenal quality. I absolutely cannot wait for the next chapter to come up. My heart is absolutely aching and bleeding for Severus, even more than it did already.

Author's Response: Thank you for sharing your thought processes on the chapter -- that's really helpful feedback! I've been scribbling at some more Draco-and-Severus interactions with this chapter firmly in mind, and waiting to see what sort of fruit comes of it. And yes, I happen to think Lucius is capable of just about anything he decides is necessary -- my evidence is Ginny and the diary.

Name: jlpforpotter (Signed) · Date: 02/21/06 20:53 · For: Marked
Oh my, what a twist! This was a rather dark chapter, but the ending left me with a sliver of hope......

Author's Response: "Rather dark" indeed. Some of them just had to be, which probably explains my devotion to tossing off the occasional light one-shot or JL frivolity. Thanks for reviewing!

You must login (register) to review.