Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: Kyr (Signed) · Date: 06/24/06 6:01 · For: Afterward
Absolutely amazing. There was no way to stop and review every chapter. I'll never look at snape the same way again. Uggh James is such a ...vile...bleep bleep. i love the way it fits in so perfectlywith the HP books.I've recommended it as the 'adult' HP. Keep going.

Author's Response: Thanks! Wow, you know how to say the things that make an author's day. The longer I looked at Severus, the more I realized that everything he said could be taken at least two different ways, and that Harry was bound and determined to always take the worst. Taking ALL the interpretations as being at least partly true yielded a very interesting person, and I had to start writing.


Name: weasleybabe24 (Signed) · Date: 06/23/06 22:19 · For: Birthday O.W.L.s
WoWiE, WhAt A cHaPtEr!

Author's Response: I need to go start dinner soon, so you are getting a blanket response for several reviews. Thanks for all of them! I'm glad you're getting a good read out of this. And... "Snapie???" This is one of those times to show Severus the numbers but hide the nickname, I think. Otherwise he'll start muttering dark things about hip flasks and locator spells. *giggle*


Name: weasleybabe24 (Signed) · Date: 06/23/06 21:47 · For: What Is Deserved
James is such a JERK! AGHHHHH! Poor Snapie...


Name: weasleybabe24 (Signed) · Date: 06/23/06 20:08 · For: A Circle of Aquaintances
Poor Snape...


Name: weasleybabe24 (Signed) · Date: 06/23/06 19:57 · For: Recovery and Revision
Uh, oh. What's wrong with Snapie?


Name: weasleybabe24 (Signed) · Date: 06/23/06 19:46 · For: Levicorpus
Poor Snape...


Name: weasleybabe24 (Signed) · Date: 06/23/06 19:30 · For: Wands Away
Aw, nice Snapie...


Name: weasleybabe24 (Signed) · Date: 06/23/06 19:21 · For: Nonverbal Notes
Yay, Snape n' Lils are friends!


Name: weasleybabe24 (Signed) · Date: 06/23/06 19:17 · For: In Which Severus Redecorates, and Malfoy's Weakness Is Discovered
Lucius is a LOSER!! Haha.. Try to mess with Snape, and he messes you up, son! :D


Name: weasleybabe24 (Signed) · Date: 06/23/06 19:10 · For: Quidditch in the Rain
Hahahaha, stupid Lucius! Green... heh heh heh... :D


Name: weasleybabe24 (Signed) · Date: 06/23/06 18:56 · For: The Black Feather
Meanie Malfoy, ARGH!!!!! Poor Snapie. *sniff* :(


Name: weasleybabe24 (Signed) · Date: 06/23/06 18:50 · For: Getting Along
Snape can fly! YAY! :D


Name: weasleybabe24 (Signed) · Date: 06/23/06 18:40 · For: Sorting
I love my Snapie!!! Great chap! :D


Name: weasleybabe24 (Signed) · Date: 06/14/06 17:15 · For: The Letter
This was good so far. :D

Author's Response: Thanks!


Name: MaiaMadness (Signed) · Date: 06/11/06 17:44 · For: Afterward
My goodness, this was long!

I have read through the entire thing in the last few days, and now that I have had some time to process it, I must say that I am very impressed! Impressed to the point where I am a hair away from considering this canon. c(= Really great, great work. I'm rather stunned, really. It was very sad, and very touching, and also very funny at times (I laughed hard and the sinister/left-handed pun, partially because it was funny, and partially because I actually got it).

I think the way you portrayed Severus' personality was amazing. He is an infinitely complex character to fathom, but you somehow manage. I understand that you have studied him thoroughly and you really know your stuff. The only mistake is his birthday, which is January 9th, according to the Lexicon. Howeverm this is a trivial matter indeed, and not very important.

I love his wand! I assure you that it is a complete coincidence that your Severus and my OC in one of my fanfics both have rather long Ebony wands; I had not yet read your fic when I made that decision.

The Severus/Lily idea is intriguing, and something I'm sure many of us have concidered, though I have yet to come across anyone who writes it quite as well as you. You make it seem very realistic, and the bit about the Unbreakable Vow does make perfect sense in every way.

I did hear somebody suggest that it was Lily, and not Severus, who was the brains behind the Half-Blood Prince's notes, but I never really found the plausible. I have no problem imagining her to have helped, though.

Long review... It's one o-clock in the morning, so bedtime is in order. Really great fic, I loved and adored it, and the last paragraph took hold of my heart with a hook and pulled painfully, because I know that Harry did not show a talent for seeing as Lily would see. :'( Sad, sad, sad. But good!

Maia

Author's Response: The long review is indeed greatly appreciated! I couldn't find a single solitary word on his birthday when I was looking (last July) and made one up that worked with my plot. All I found was that Jan. 9 was St. Severinus' Day, which is not necessarily the same thing at all. Ah well.

He certainly does seem to have his own brains, and his complexity was part of the fun. I'm very flattered that you think I did them well, or that I took dictation well, or however it is that fiction really works...


Name: CandiceWutherspoon (Signed) · Date: 06/04/06 23:15 · For: Soap on the Hogwarts Express
Hello, Vindictus! I am new to mugglenet. I just thought I'd tell you I had a lot of ideas about Snape's past that are close to yours--don't you wish JKR would just tell us!!? I always imagined Lily as being nice to Snape in the early years too...look forward to reading more of your stuff. You write beautifully.

Author's Response: Welcome to MNFF! I do wish she'd just tell us, but she did drop a lot of hints. I could never write this sort of thing about, say, Flitwick. Happy reading, and thanks for the review!


Name: notabanana (Signed) · Date: 05/27/06 13:33 · For: Afterward
Wow, what an ending. I had been suspecting that "Afterward" would include Harry at Hogwarts, and am very pleased that it did. The begining bit with the snake was a bit odd, though. The last line was great. The story was great. Like Kerian said, this story is a masterpeice and like you said much earlier, look what I got into by reading a little one-shot. This deserves a kajillion thumbs up (if that wasn't a number it is now, and a really big one at that). So, what story of yours do you reccomend that I read next? I'm not a big slash fan...so I'm a little hesitant about the "Blue Eyes AnotherWord" series, but I still love your writing!

Author's Response: *tries to remember where you started* Ah, yes, the birthday story. To go back in time, you would want "Eileen Loves Toby" and "Broken Silence." "Amazing and Adaptable..." has a Severus moment you might enjoy, and it's one for all those people who wonder what Severus was thinking when Harry was around, according to me. So is "Flash of Scarlet." More Marauder-era, nonslash, would be "Curse of the Toad." For the relationship of Severus to Draco, "Discovering the Bible..." and "Bedtime." [/shameless storypimping]

I agree about the snake scene -- for one thing, it's the only time we're outside the main point of view -- but it was a quick way to show the man that Severus had grown into without Lily, and that he'd never dealt with losing her, without wallowing in his own thoughts on the matter. About three seconds before I submitted the chapter, I realized it HAD to be there, so I backed out, wrote it, proofread it, and put it up.

Thank you for all the lovely reviews, especially this last. Happy reading! There's plenty there that isn't slash at all. The AnotherWord series is purely optional.


Name: notabanana (Signed) · Date: 05/26/06 15:19 · For: Letters from New Moravia
I love Chicago! The letters are fun and funny (the host family certainly sounds quirky). I especially enjoyed how you only used Snape's letters but still managed to let on what was up with Lily. Thumbs up.

Author's Response: Thanks! As you may have noted from the other reviews, there was some resistance to the trip from the readership. Ah well. He had to pick up "dream team" somewhere, and if ever there was a Hogwarts student who would want to spend a little time somewhere else, as far away as possible... Happy reading!


Name: notabanana (Signed) · Date: 05/24/06 14:27 · For: Fear
Just for the record, I think that Hawk was a sort of talent scout for the bad guys. I suppose speculation on a completed story isn't worth much but...

Author's Response: I think you're probably speculating correctly, though didn't try to get into Hawk's head if I could avoid it. And of course he was trying to get whatever the Dark Lord has been trying to get. Speculate if you like; he's elsewhere now. Thanks for the review!


Name: notabanana (Signed) · Date: 05/23/06 18:36 · For: In the Tea Leaves
Petunia seems okay. Actually, she seems quite a bit like me. I hope I never become as bitter as she does. Haha. On a separate note, I loved the blatant foreshadowing here.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! I had fun trying to guess what Petunia might have been like pre-Vernon and pre-Dudley, dealing with witches and wizards popping in for tea at odd moments as they turned seventeen. That might be enough to make anyone a little neurotic. As for the blatant foreshadowing -- well, isn't that what tea leaves are for? It was the only thing Severus ever got out of the Divination class, though.


You must login (register) to review.