Reviewer: RealmofShadows
Date: 08/02/08 16:08
Chapter: Chapter 12 The Mournful Sound Of The Train Whistle

So sad... they should have been together.

Reviewer: MorganRay
Date: 03/29/07 17:47
Chapter: Chapter 1 In Search Of The Shoreline

I loved the way this story began. Itís humorous, yet, you show how competitive Oliver is by having him admit that he liked to be first in line with petty things like bathroom lines. It was a really interesting way to get the reader into the story because EVERYONE knows what itís like to wait in line for a bathroom, but you also showed Oliverís character through this mundane experience.

Hmm, although I didnít read The Boy Next Door, I liked how you had Oliver talk about being hurt. Itís true that getting emotionally hurt can affect us in ways that are the exactly opposite to how we would response with physical injuries. I thought that was a very insightful point, and I think you have Oliver appear very isolated when heís talking about the people around him, but heís just observing. Heís thinking about other people meeting loved ones, but heís not, and he seems already very emotionally numb and distant.

He was a body without a heart. Burr. What a cold line, but your imagery throughout this entire section was beautiful! Heís swimming, but he canít find a distant shore or a new life, no matter how hard he runs. Also, the using Ďgraphicí to describe how Oliver views the other couple is a perfect way to show how upset he is.

Reviewer: rita_skeeter
Date: 02/15/07 20:25
Chapter: Chapter 12 The Mournful Sound Of The Train Whistle

Such a heart-wrenching chapter. The descriptions were absolutely beautiful, and the way you handled the meeting was incredible. The entire chapter had a strange, detatched magical feel, and it made the situation all the more saddening.

We saw things from Yuriko's point of view for the first time, and that was a powerful technique to use. The difficult emotions in the last section gave me such empathy for Yuriko that everything was that much ore upsetting: it was as if I was was giving up that huge part of my life too.

The end left me speechless. Fabulous job. There's one more chapter, right?

Reviewer: rita_skeeter
Date: 02/15/07 19:46
Chapter: Chapter 11 Thundersnow

WOW. That was an amazing end to the chapter. But, first things first.

I loved the interaction at the beginning between Ginny and the rest - Zoe's reaction seemed wonderfully in character and appropriate. I liked Dumbledore acting as a mediator and calming the situation - it seems like a natural thing for him to do!

The Winter/Summer contrast was excellent and made way for some beautiful imagery when we joined Oliver. The interspersed memories and flashbacks really conveyed the feeling of utter loss and almost madness that Oliver had been driven to.

The final part was so fantastically tense and well-written; I think I stopped blinking for a moment while I read! Then, I reached the final sentence and was amazed by the poetic beauty of the entire chapter, as well as the heart-stopping realisation that came in the last words.

I can't wait to read the last chapter!

Reviewer: hawaiianhulagal
Date: 07/30/06 3:35
Chapter: Chapter 12 The Mournful Sound Of The Train Whistle

OMG .... I'm like, speechless. Errr... so Yuriko conjured that image of the train station to say good bye to Oliver, then at the last minute she has regrets. *scratches head* Hmmm... can't figure it out for the life of me, but this update was very powerful emotionally.

Author's Response: It's what makes love mysterious, filled with the four flavors of sweetness, sourness, spiciness, and bitterness. Doing the right thing is extremely difficult. Loving someone does sometimes mean having to let him go, but Yuriko will keep trying to convince herself by saying she'll adapt... she'll adapt, like most of us do in the dark. Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: bubamara28
Date: 07/08/06 22:56
Chapter: Chapter 1 In Search Of The Shoreline

is Oliver Oliver wood ?

Author's Response: Yes. He was one of the main characters in my previous story, "The Boy Next Door."

Reviewer: hawaiianhulagal
Date: 07/01/06 2:15
Chapter: Chapter 11 Thundersnow

*gasp* OMG... Oliver went through with it, he joined Yuriko. Awww... poor Prudence, realizing the purpose of the Amore, only for it to happen too late. Her Mom was Witch?! Cool!

Author's Response: Like my other stories, things are not always what they seem to be. I believe there are two chapters remaining. The Mourning Sound of the Train Whistle is halfway done, and then the bittersweet conclusion. I hope you'll enjoy the ending of this story as much as my previous ones. Stay tuned.

Reviewer: rita_skeeter
Date: 06/02/06 2:45
Chapter: Chapter 10 Marionette

Another beautiful, emotional chapter. I really enjoyed the little exchange between Ginny and Oliver - it was refreshing and also a good way to get an indication of Oliver's feelings(particularly those he doesn't want to admit he has). I really loved all the vivid description of the snow in this chapter, but my favourite line was:

In a sea of white ashes, as witnesses were the barren tree planted next to them, and the gentle snowflakes, no longer abandoned, documenting everything like leaflets of information, that landed on their sobbing skin, slowly melting to water.

That was an amazing piece of imagery. And now I can't wait for the next chapter, because I can tell the climax is coming - he's finally going to find Yuriko! Keep writing - it's so fantastic.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. The exchange was added as you described - to portray Oliver's feelings and denials. The snow metaphors and nature witnesses are a bit depressing. I wondered now who those nature witnesses are for. I'm glad you liked it. The climax is definitely coming. The next chapter Thundersnow will be ready soon. Thanks for reading and reviewing.

Reviewer: hawaiianhulagal
Date: 06/01/06 22:14
Chapter: Chapter 10 Marionette

Wahoo!! First to review!! Finally!! Oliver let go, broke down & cried. Thank goodness Ginny was there to lend him a shoulder to cry on. Hm... Oliver's trying to follow in Zen's foot steps eh. I thought that was a one shot deal? Of course, if no one's there to stop him this time, I guess it could be a possiblity, or are just stirring up my emotions again gossip?!

Author's Response: Because of their past, Ginny is the only one Oliver can turn to comfortably. Following in Sen's footsteps... I guess why not? That way Oliver and Yuriko's love will be documented in a fairy tale too, or maybe as you say, I'm stirring up emotions again. Enjoy the rest of the story.

Reviewer: rita_skeeter
Date: 05/18/06 16:38
Chapter: Chapter 9 Snowflake

Brilliant chapter! Interesting, making him go to see Dumbledore. This story has developed such a deep, meaningful undercurrent that works beautifully with the plot. I'm really pleased that Ginny is back too! Can't wait until next chapter! Fantastic writing.

Author's Response: Thanks. The next chapters that lead to the climax will take place in the castle. I guess I use these stories to communicate my views and messages. I miss writing Ginny so I have to bring her back. Enjoy the story.

Reviewer: hawaiianhulagal
Date: 05/09/06 0:44
Chapter: Chapter 9 Snowflake

Wahoo! First to review again! Oh my head. I think I need a pensieve too. I can feel Oliver's confusion. Excellent description. And YAY! Ginny's back! Is she going to help Oliver sort through his feelings.

Author's Response: Absolutely. In this story I don't really describe Oliver's emotions directly. Instead I use the women around him to interpret his emotions, using them as mirrors of him. It's because at this juncture, even Oliver himself won't know how he's supposed to feel. Enjoy the story.

Reviewer: rita_skeeter
Date: 04/29/06 13:37
Chapter: Chapter 8 Across The Glassy Window

Very well written as usual, but I am completely torn! I can't work out whether I want Prudence and Oliver to get together or stay apart...you just manipulate my mind so beautifully. Brilliant chapter.

Author's Response: I guess it's one of the mysteries of love, to toy people in a game of numbers. How can one man possess two hearts, but three people is not a couple make. Sigh... Some familiar faces will return next chapter. Thanks for reading and reviewing.

Reviewer: hawaiianhulagal
Date: 04/29/06 3:08
Chapter: Chapter 8 Across The Glassy Window

Wahoo! First to review! *gasp* OMG I had a feeling about Pru's feelings, but dang! You just turned on my waterworks again. Hm... does that mean the Amore has changed for Oliver, now that he knows about Pru's feelings? The wind chimes fluttering for Oliver's attention, seems like Yuriko wanted to say something to him. Your description & imagery are still top notch gossip! Keep up with the excellent writing!

Author's Response: Oliver has his reasons for not wanting to find out about the Amorť. I guess in love, there are answers we don't want to face, or simply are not ready to face. If only they sell Amorťs in Walmart, wouldn't we all want one, just to clarify things more? I don't know. Some familiar characters will come back in the next chapter. Stay tuned. Thanks for reading and reviewing.

Reviewer: hawaiianhulagal
Date: 04/26/06 2:55
Chapter: Chapter 7 The Wrongs Of Time

Hey gossip!! *waves* Trouble?! Are you kidding me? Copy & Paste! Best invention ever!! Not as bestest as you stories though. Bye! *waves*

Author's Response: Copy and paste is a function I'm using often now, as I'm in the process of putting back the chapter summaries deleted during the upgrade for my stories. Thanks for your compliments. Stay tuned for more. Bye! *wave back*

Reviewer: hawaiianhulagal
Date: 04/23/06 19:23
Chapter: Chapter 7 The Wrongs Of Time

*picks jaw up from the floor* OH MY GOSH! Gossip, you still got it! I just... don't know what to say. Except that the moment was totally killed by Oliver walking into Prudence. I REALLY, Really, really wanted Oliver to be like Sen & join Yuriko. Wait... is Prudence going to scold Oliver for leaving her daughter unattended? That seems like a definate possibility. Can't wait for MORE!! *claps*

Author's Response: Hey hawaiianhulagal. Thanks for taking the trouble to bring your reviews over here. In many ways, Prudence represents reality for Oliver. That's why I put her there to wake him up. Since you've read the next chapters at hpfanfiction, I guess you know why she's at his doorstep. Speak to you soon.

Reviewer: rita_skeeter
Date: 04/23/06 14:41
Chapter: Chapter 7 The Wrongs Of Time

Oh my...wow, that was amazing. I can't believe how it ends though! Please tell me that's not what will happen to Oliver and Yuriko! I think I'll have to cry if it does. Very emotional and powerful. Excellent chapter. Keep writing!

Author's Response: Hi rita. I hope you got my email. Thank you for taking the time to leave me your kind words for "My Guardian Angel." For some reason the respond to reviews button does not appear all the time for me. Anyway, just like you said, I think I'll cry too if that happens to Oliver and Yuriko. There are a handful of chapters left so we'll see what happens. Thanks for reading and reviewing.

Reviewer: potteronpotluvhim
Date: 04/22/06 23:09
Chapter: Chapter 7 The Wrongs Of Time

really good update plz
-rt

Author's Response: Thanks. I'll update soon. Stay tuned and enjoy the story.

Reviewer: unknown_force
Date: 04/15/06 19:53
Chapter: Chapter 6 Fantasy's Mirror

So does this mean that Yuriko is the same girl as the one in the story? Update soon!

Author's Response: Oliver thinks so because of the similarities and parallels between them. The book was left behind by Yuriko when she was looking for him last summer. Can a fairy tale play itself out in real life? You'll find out soon. Enjoy the story.

Reviewer: potteronpotluvhim
Date: 04/12/06 22:57
Chapter: Chapter 6 Fantasy's Mirror

i read the boy next door and the one before it too and all i can say is wow ur a good author plz update! also shouldn't oliver be looking for yuriko or something noy just babysitting nyway u need to update -rt

Author's Response: Thanks for reading all my stories even though they are depressing. Earlier in the story, Oliver went to Osaka but failed in his search. Because that experience was too difficult to bear, he decides to give up and move on, at least physically, but can he really move on without finding out the truth? Stay tuned to find out.

Reviewer: hawaiianhulagal
Date: 03/18/06 3:28
Chapter: Chapter 6 Fantasy's Mirror

*gasp* OMG I'm just shocked! *squirms* Um... I wanna know how the story ends too. But the first thing I noticed was the white umbrella, hehehe, I remember it from the beginning. So... did Yuriko leave the book behind so Oliver would know why he wouldn't be able to find her?

Author's Response: Absolutely. Pieces of details will find their way back together soon. Stay tuned.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES