Reviews For Avenged Sevenfold
Reviewer: Boags
Date: 10/18/06 7:56
Chapter: And Embers Rise

I have just finished re-reading your story, which I found only a few days ago.....Congratulations for really knowing and understanding the characters. I love the tenderness between Harry and Hermoine and the depth of description of their emotions. I do hope you intend to follow the path of a writer and I would be very interested in reading other material that you have written about your very own characters. I look forward to the next chapter and have my fingers crossed for poor Harry!!!! Well done again.

Author's Response: *Throws self upon you in hugs* Thanks so much Boags! I'm so glad you found this story and that it's bringing you a bit of fan fic happiness. The emotions are definitely a major part of A.S. I try to make them as palpable as possible, and it's thrilling to know it's paying off. I've got my fingers crossed for poor Harry too! ;) And I appreciate the comment about being interested in reading other works. I'm actually in the process of writing my own, original story, so it's heartwarming that you support that effort. Thanks!

Reviewer: mspadfoot89
Date: 10/13/06 10:25
Chapter: And Embers Rise

*sits down and prepares self for long review*

*CRIES* I can't believe how amazingly you've written since I've last reviewed. God, I hate school. It's keeping me away from the real important things in life. *wink*

Your last few chapters have been ... wow. I mean ... wow. First let me tell you to never listen to flamers. I mean, really, I'm all for H/HR and all that, but a fic has got to be realistic. And I've told you, in my opinion, this was was the best way to go about this. Hermione's confusion was absolutely understandable and realistic. And well-written, I might add. You've done a wonderful job, and don't let anyone else tell you otherwise. And one more thing, your Hermione is spot on perfect!

Now this chapter here. Lovely. The descriptions, the emotions, the plot twists. I've mentioned it all before and I'm starting to sound repetitive, but hey, it's the truth. Hagrid's death was indeed sad, but I think you've prepared us for HBP. *tear* Truthfully, I love the bit with Snape at the end there, and I'm curious to see if you're going to take the good!Snape or evil!Snape approach. Hehe. Umm, yeahh...I think I've forgotten something major to praise, but it will come to me.

Keep writing and even if I don't review as often, know that I'm always here reading and supporting you!

*huggles*
Emma.



Author's Response: Hey Emma. :) Sorry it took me so long to respond to this one. Honestly... I'm not sure what to say besides a loud thank you. You're absolutely amazing, you know that? Everything you say is so comforting and encouraging, I don't know what I'd do without you as a reader. I'm having a lot of fun writing Snape at the moment... it's hard, but it'll be worth it, I think. I hope you do end up liking the approach I'm taking. Let me know! And I'm not bothered that you can't review every time-- especially since when you do review, I get comments like these. :)

Reviewer: livingbreathingdream
Date: 10/12/06 18:40
Chapter: And Embers Rise

Amazing as always, dear Sadie!

Sorry for not reviewing for the last few chapters, but since school started back, I've been... well, you know how it is. *hugs* Trust me, I've missed it!!! I'd read a chapter, sit there and revel in it for a while, realize that I *should* be doing the buttload of homework I got, pound on the keyboard in anger at time in general, and have to run off. Terribly sorry.

And as for your author's note- I'm proud of you, really. You're going about this very realisticly, given the crap- I mean, HBP 'canon'- you had to work with. Haha.

I love how you've... transitioned everything. "Her features were arranged in apprehensive fervor, but the warm familiarity of the determination in her eyes relaxed his shoulders." How something old and familiar is becoming something... newly familiar (for lack of a better description). And applause for updating so quickly!

All the stars in the sky,
LBD

Author's Response: LBD! *huggles* Thanks so much dear. :) I know how time constraints can get in the way of truly important things, like fan fiction. *sigh* It's the cause of my very own late updates, so I sympathize. It's good to know you're still dedicated to the story though. That's all that matters. The day I lose you is the day I know I've screwed up with the story. :)

Reviewer: HPAndHG4ever
Date: 10/11/06 23:50
Chapter: And Embers Rise

Wow that was so emotional!!! I cried during the first part of the story! Your writing really made me feel their pain and sorrow!!!! I got scared when they were in the house! And I got mad to see Snape there!!! I agree with you about the Hermione/Ron thing, but I hope that doesn't last to long!! ^_^ I think people are very used to seeing a OCC Hermione, that seems very in character, than a Hermione that is not perfect and doesn't love Harry right from the beginning. I Ioved this chapter!!! I can't wait to see the confrentation between Harry and Snape!!! PLEASE UPDATE SOON!!!!!!
HPAndHG4ever

Author's Response: Awwww *hugs* I'm sorry for the tears. But I am glad you liked it. : D! And don't worry, this is a HHr story, any R/Hr implications will quickly vanish. And the Snape/Harry scene is going to be very... intense. I hope you like it! <3

Reviewer: Darth Potter
Date: 10/11/06 23:23
Chapter: And Embers Rise

Wow, that was very emotional! If the whole death of Hagrid happens in the last book, I can believe that the characters would react just the way you wrote it. While I was reading the scene with Harry and Hermione on the roof, I can honestly say I got a little misty-eyed. This only happens when I actually feel for a character and they way you've written Harry and Hermione (especially) you make them seem real and I feel really sorry for them. The little surprise at end was definitely not what I was expecting. I kind of forgot about him and was surprised when he showed up. As always, awesome story!

Author's Response: *Grins broadly* Wow, thanks Darth! I'm glad you thought their reactions were realistic. You don't know how many times I wrote that scene with them reacting in slightly different ways before I finally settled on that. And... *chuckles* I think it's cool that Snape's appearance came as a surprise! Honestly, I almost forgot about him myself, until about three chapters ago I realized, "hmm, I'd better get his butt in this plot soon." And Ron will finally start to be a bit more prominent too. Most things are going to start coming full-circle now... including the romance. :) But "full-circle" doesn't mean less complicated. Actually, it might be even slightly more so. ...including the romance. :-X *hugs*

Reviewer: Spirited Celebration
Date: 10/11/06 14:18
Chapter: And Embers Rise

Wow, I love this story. It is amazing.

Author's Response: Thank you! : D

Reviewer: Bookworm Jen
Date: 10/11/06 10:37
Chapter: And Embers Rise

This is another wonderful chapter! I, personally, love the way you're portraying Hermione; her confusion and uncertainty is a large part of what makes this story work so well-- it is so much more realistic than some of the stories I've read. Besides, their stuggles will only make it that much more powerful when Harry and Hermione DO get together... as I have every confidence they will (in your story at least)! Keep doing what you're doing... you are an amazing writer, and I look forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: *Blushes* Thank you Jen!! Wow, I'm beyond grateful for your review. This means a lot to me. *Still blushing* I'm so happy you're liking the characterization and (intended) realism. :)! And... your confidence is well-placed. *Runs off giggling* ;)

Reviewer: valnea
Date: 10/11/06 3:44
Chapter: And Embers Rise

hey! snape....bloody bastard! i hate him:)
well, anyway, i am ot really confused about hermnione kising ron, it was bound to happen, although i still hope(and i always will) that she'll be with harry(she will, right?):) well, anyway, i hope you cont soon, and a word of advice: let them be together:P lol
well, bye - Lady Nienna

Author's Response: LOL, Snape, yes, he is a loathsome character, isn't he? He'll be an interesting one to watch in this story, however. And I appreciate your support of the Hermione/Ron kiss. It means a lot to know you understood where I was coming from in writing that. Of course, I can't give away the ending, but I will divulge that this IS a Harry/Hermione story, and so writing anything short of that would be a travesty.

Reviewer: Suz
Date: 10/11/06 2:43
Chapter: And Embers Rise

Sadie, you’re a marvel. I think when you wrote, “Courage is not a lack of fear. Courage is when fear takes hold with both, cold hands, and you feel it as surely as you feel the sun... and you do what is right anyway,” you said it all. I’ve got several stories sitting here ready to send to a publisher, and they’ll probably be sitting here forever because I lack the conviction and the guts to do anything with them. But you…you, Sadie, have courage. And insight into people and relationships. And an unbelievable amount of talent that makes your stories believable even when they’re not exactly true to cannon (read “Civility” everyone. It’s amazing!). Your stories are brilliant and I know you’ll be a published author some day. You’re that good. You don’t need to defend or explain your stance – this is creative writing. Fan fiction is an amazing forum for creativity and daring to take an idea and expound on it and develop one’s talents through constructive criticism, and putting it out there for the world to see…well, that’s courage in my book. And I applaud you.

Now hugs and chocolate all around while I “review” this latest installment…

I LOVED it! The present to past to present transition was really superb. I was so caught up in it that it was almost a shock when you reeled me back to the present on the rooftop. I read Harry’s reaction to Hagrid’s death with my hand over my heart. And, “I know” – how poignant was that?! I love how Harry didn’t argue with Hermione when she announced she was coming. Again, the ending is fantastic – Snape. I can’t wait to see how this all comes together!

Keep writing and we’ll keep reading! How could we possibly do otherwise?


Author's Response: SUZ! *huggles tightly* I am always thrilled beyond description when I see you've reviewed (which is every time!). I can't possibly thank you enough for your tireless support and confidence in my writing. It's simply overwhelming, and leaves me bubbling with happiness for days on end. I do hope you gets your stories published as well, and you be sure to let me know when you do so that I can read them. :) Anyway, I'm so happy you liked Harry's "I know" line. That was fun to write. And also, "I read Harry's reaction to Hagrid's death with my hand over my heart." Awww!! Wow. Thank you for that. And Snape! Yes yes, his role will certainly be worthy of the hype it is receiving. I am both nervous and excited about writing his character. Well, thanks again, Suz. You never fail to leave me inspired.

Reviewer: Natloy_Tee
Date: 10/11/06 2:30
Chapter: And Embers Rise

OMH HAGRIDS DEAD...... ITS ACTUALLY TRUE, THIS IS SOOOO NOT FAIR........ NEARLY EVERYONES GONE omg its unreal lol, amazing story keep it up..... wish i could write as good as you do like:P

Author's Response: *Blushes furiously* Thank you so much, dear. I'm sorry about killing Hagrid. :( But do you remember what JKR said in her interview with (I believe) Emerson and Melissa? Something along the lines of, "to be a hero means to be alone, so I've had the nasty responsibility of getting rid of those Harry's closest to." She was trying to justify Dumbledore's death, I think. Anyway, he's still alive in canon though. :) Thanks again for the review!

Reviewer: megmo85
Date: 10/11/06 1:50
Chapter: And Embers Rise

Great! Great! Great! I love this fanfic. It is fantastic. Hagrid dying is awful though, but I understand why you did it. Also, I can't wait to see what you do with Snape's character. Look foward to your update:)

Author's Response: Awww, thanks so much meg! *giggles girlishly* I'm so thrilled you like this so much. Hagrid's dying is definitely awful, yes. But I keep reminding myself I'm not writing canon so he's perfectly healthy in JKR's world. :) Snape's character next chapter... I'm excited about that too! I've written most of the scene already, and I'm quite nervous because I'm not accustomed to writing his character. But we'll see how it turns out, eh? Thanks again!!

Reviewer: blackhairedweasley
Date: 10/10/06 22:56
Chapter: And Embers Rise

Wow! Just... wow! What an amazing chapter! Ok.. review time..

In the 19th paragraph of the flashback, I did notice a missing quotation after Harry exclamation. That in combinaton with the italics/lack thereof made me pause before continuing. Other than that, the gramar was wonderful.

The flashback's descriptiveness was rather unnerving. I must tell you, that you described the physical feelings perfectly. (I don't know if you've had someone close to you die, but I have and it was very close.)

I really appreciated the final author's note, too. I've had three stories on MNFF that I've deleted because of flaming reviews. Once, I had someone angry because of a character wanting to commit suicide and she felt it was immoral for me to portray suicide in any positive light.

Lastly, I want to say thanks, Sadie. It makes me feel so appreciated as a reviewer for you to dedicate the chapter to me.

- Jacie the Cat

Author's Response: Hey! Wow, thanks so much for pointing out that error. I'll go fix it. :) And I really appreciate your comments about the flashback. I've been very fortunate to never have anyone too terribly close to me die, but I tried putting myself in that position so that I could describe it properly. I'm glad you think it worked, because it was a painful state of mind, trying to imagine my brother dead for the purposes of the story. And I understand your issues with the flames. I actually have a story up (Fifteen Minutes) that almost portrays suicide in a noble light as well. *sigh* I'm sorry the flames caused you to take down your stories, however. I'm sure they were great. And you're welcome for the dedication, love. You deserved it. *hug* Oh, by the way-- do you have a song of yours online? I seem to remember listening to a song by "blackhairedweasley" recently. Could that have been you?

Reviewer: Ginny Guerra
Date: 10/10/06 22:30
Chapter: And Embers Rise

I love the story. I just hope it's finished soon.

Author's Response: Thanks! :) You'll have to define "soon" for me, though. According to my plot map (which, mind you, has had to be altered more than once) we're just slightly over half-way through.

Reviewer: LunaRoxDaRadishes
Date: 10/06/06 19:38
Chapter: Inhale

NOOO!!! NOT HAGRID!!! WHY?!?!?! Great, if I feel this horrible about Hagrid dying in a FANFIC then imagine what it's going to feel lyk if it happens in CANON???
~J-Mo

Reviewer: Suz
Date: 10/03/06 1:48
Chapter: Inhale

Oh wow. Okay. WOW! I hardly know where to start, other than I cannot Even believe I missed this chapter on it's first hour of release -- let alone days later! Arrrrgh!

Well, Sadie, it's fabulous. And yes, everyone's agonizing over the death of Hagrid, but you had to, didn't you? I can't wait to see how this spurs Harry on, as I'm sure it will. And I'll say it again and again, I adore your Harry. He's so real to me through your pen.

I applaud your Daily Prophet article and the excerpt from "Dark Creatures." Very well done! :thumbup: And no flying fruit from this camp. That chapter was extremely detailed and vital and so worth the short wait!

Reviewer: crazyhpgirl
Date: 10/03/06 0:55
Chapter: Inhale

= O You can't kill Hagrid! He's a Giant! What could kill him?

Reviewer: Darth Potter
Date: 10/02/06 22:46
Chapter: Inhale

Ok, here's the third try for a review, don't know why the site won't take it. Anyways, there's never a dull moment in this story. The tension is so thick you could almost see it. I really like the inner conflict you porttray in each of the chracters, especially Hermione in this case. The ending was surprising, but it gets me thinking that the ending is going to be magnificent because of it. As always, stupendous story.

Reviewer: Natloy_Tee
Date: 10/02/06 6:40
Chapter: Inhale

omg you have to finish this story, i need to no wha happens, its all so cute and distrssing and now hagrids dead :') its not fair he didnt do any thing rong plz hurry and finish it

Reviewer: blackhairedweasley
Date: 10/02/06 1:32
Chapter: Inhale

I liked this chapter, as it focused mainly on the development of Harry and Hermione. Coming from a male perspective, I believe I know what Harry was trying to tell her, and you did an incredible job depicting it.

I was pleasantly surprised by the accuracy of the Alexander/Aristotle section in the dementors reference. I thought that was really clever, too. You did a great job.

No mistakes were noticed as I read this, and being as anal about gramatical errors as I am, that's a very good thing for ya!

Great job!
- Jacie the Cat

Reviewer: Bookworm Jen
Date: 10/01/06 11:36
Chapter: Inhale

WOW! Thanks to the Quicksilver Quills nominations, I have just discovered this story, and I cannot understand how I could have missed it before! I have just finished reading through the entire piece, and I waited until this final chapter to post a review for two reasons. First, I simply did not want to take the time out from reading to write a review, and second, I could not find the right words to tell you just how good this story truly is. I'm still not sure I have the right words, but I can tell you that this is unquestionably the best H/Hr fanfic I have read-- no, I will clarify that to say that it is the best fanfic, H/Hr or otherwise, that I have ever read. The wonderful parts of the story thus far are too numerous to list here, but I will say that my favorite part of this chapter was the moment when Hermione was massaging Harry's temples as he slept. It was such a sweet and tender gesture, and something like that really captures for me the essence of their relationship. I will be rooting for you to win the Quicksilver Quills Award; you certainly deserve it. I am so thrilled to have discovered this story, and now I am off to devour the rest of your pieces!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Research and Development by Northumbrian 3rd-5th Years
The Mirrorphone, the latest advance in Wizarding communications. Now, of course...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES