Reviews For Casualties of War
Reviewer: Eleanor_Prewett
Date: 08/31/06 12:40
Chapter: Hope

Well, it's that time of year and, once again, I'm dodging hurricanes. Thus, it's taken me a little while, but I think I've read almost all of your work. Besides Deceptive Appearances, this is my favorite story of yours. I always gawked at the non-canon pairings (the word, delusional comes to mind) but I read this because it is yours and it is one of the best stories I've ever read. The way you describe Hermione's captivity and the subtle changes in her relationship with Blaise is perfect. Her subconscious and conscious reactions to her captivity were equally insightful (I can see Hermione sitting in her nightgown on the bed, counting stones over and over again as if with my waking eyes). I too am desperate for a sequel and there is so much to work with! You've killed many of my favorite characters for this story and twisted the others into mere shells of their former selves but, under the circumstances you detailed, I cannot imagine things working out differently.

As fair as your plans to turn Deceptive Appearances into a novel, I cannot be gladder. You have my complete support and if there is any way I can help you with your research, please don't hesitate to email me. Whether you need photos, names, accounts of some of the plantations, reference book recommendations, or just a few local ghost stories and legends, just let me know. I would feel to honored to assist you in any way. Actually, I was incredibly surprised that you have never even been here, for your work reflects so much of the charm of this area so faithfully. I do hope that you will visit one day, and if you do, look me up!

You are extremely talented and you have created a wonderful collection of works. Excellent.

~Katie

Author's Response: Thank you so much and I'm sorry it has taken me this long to respond (computer issues had me away from the net for quite some time I'm afraid). Your review is wonderful and it warmed my heart, as did your offer for help with the research for DA. Trust me that I will contact you if and when I would need it, even if it might be some time before I actually have the time to go from idea to action.

Reviewer: Leahr
Date: 07/19/06 16:10
Chapter: Hope

This is a story worth reading. And I mean it. Please write a sequel! With Blaise's trial, and Ginny and Remus and Molly's reactions at finding out the truth- I was so disappointed that you left that out. This was probably the most believable scenario for Hermione/Blaise I have seen, and very well written. Vaguely Anne Frank reminiscient, although I never actually read that, but I've read the Upstaris Room, which is less like this, but never mind, I'm not expressing it clearly. Point is, great story, please do more! Does Blaise know about Dorian yet? How did he find out? Even a short one-or two chapters would be great. Not of Dorian when he's older though, that wouldn't be the same. Great name for him, by the way, I only just realized now why Hermione picked it. Good choice. Good story, too.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm so glad you like the story so much, and I have, many times about writing a sequel to it. If I do, however, it will be much more than a one-shot, so I'm waiting until I have the time and inspiration to do it properly.

Reviewer: Mrs C Felton
Date: 07/19/06 14:59
Chapter: Hope

wow that was brillant i reallyed enjoyed that
catherine

Author's Response: Thank you.

Reviewer: Mrs C Felton
Date: 07/19/06 14:54
Chapter: Hope

wow that was brillant i reallyed enjoyed that
catherine

Author's Response: Thanks :D

Reviewer: lilyevans91
Date: 07/19/06 11:22
Chapter: The End

oh my goodness. this was excellent! wow. it was very subtle and well written and exciting and wonderful! you really showed how war changes people so much, and even though it was sad that ginny didn't understand about hermione's baby, it was the truth. very surprising ending, i just hope everything works out alright for blaise and hermione! wonderful story, great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm so glad you liked the story and that you think I captured the way war changes you. Again, thank you.

Reviewer: cedriclover
Date: 06/26/06 23:13
Chapter: Hope

i just read this...
it was so excellent, i'm still reeling from the shock. x]
wow...jessica, you're amazing! the way it ended was a really good way, and not making it sound prolonged and all that.

this was nice. =]

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm so glad you like it - and me. *blushes a bit*

Reviewer: mock_turtle
Date: 05/16/06 21:11
Chapter: Hope

Omigod, this is GOOD!!!! Character depth, complex plot, more to the story than fluff and sex, intellectual challenges for the characters...what more can I ask for? a sequel. ha ha.
I really love stories where the characters' personalities are consistent with canon. I loved the way Blaise acted in the beginning--you could totally see his motives, and it was completely believable that he would have saved Hermione to call in favors later when the war was over. I love Hermione's reactions--to the books, the window, the debate opportunities--everything. (I identify a lot with Hermione).
Overall, this is a wonderful story and an absolute pleasure to read. Please write more!!
PS--I also like Draco in this fic. I read a lot of HG/DM, but it is great to read about a truly bad Draco for once, and not just a petty or emotionally misunderstood Draco.
*standing ovation with 3 cheers and a champagne toast*

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm delighted you found this, as it is one of the pieces I'm most proud of.

Ohhh, champagne!!! *bounces*

Reviewer: mspadfoot89
Date: 05/15/06 8:01
Chapter: The End

I feel so ashamed of not having reviewed this final chapter before. It's just that every time i read it, I became emotional and I just couldn't type anything. Today I forced myself to write the review without re-reading the last chapter. Wonderfully done! I applaud you! I loved the ending as you gave us much hope (that admittedly you'd given n end to a couple of sentences before--I nearly had a heart-attack) of it all working out. It's useless to go on about your writing style and all, since you very well know what I think about it!

This story won't be leaving my favorites for a long time. Good luck with other projects and I'll be on the lookout for more stories from you.Oh, and congrats on winning the challenge with this fic. I always knew you had potential. ;) Rating 12/10.

~mspadfoot89~

Author's Response: I'm so happy to hear you liked the story so much, and that I had you scared there for a while :D

And thank you for the congrats. It did feel great to win with this one. It is one of my favorites.

Reviewer: Harriet Evans
Date: 03/09/06 11:30
Chapter: Hope

Ali, Winky 123 recommended this story to me and I'm so grateful. It truly is one of the best stories I've read in ages.

Wonderful development of character for Blaise, with so little to work on, yet he seemed entirely plausible - and not another Slytherin clone - he was entirely his own person - your very clever creation. Well done!

The evolution of their relationship and their connection through books was very well done, also. Your portrayed the absolute tragedy of the war, with every one of Molly's son's taken so vividly. (I listened to a programme on the radio the other day, where a mother lost every one of her sons - I think there were 5 in WWI - it's terrible to think about isn't it?) And also the effect on those left behind :They weren’t who they were supposed to be. They had changed, as everyone had. So poignant!

And the ending, although of course we do ache for more and to see them together was actually quite perfect. This was a very brave and moving story. Thank you!



Author's Response: Thank you. I'm so glad you enjoyed the story so much, and that you took the time to tell me that. It means a lot to me. :D

Reviewer: winky123
Date: 03/07/06 20:27
Chapter: Hope

That was such an exellent way to end the story. I never would have thought Hermione would fall pregnant and her carrying his child added a whole new tension to the story. You did such a fantastic job. Especially in your explanation of how everyone must feel. It was horrible to think of Ginny acting the way she did..but also very understandable. The end was so cruel! I started crying when I thought he was dead.. All I could think of was 'how can Hermione live without him?'..and then it was if I felt a similar rush of relieve as Hermione when they said "He's in Azkaban" It was so wonderful.... This truly is one of the best fictions I have read on this site. :)

Author's Response: Wow, thank you. That was high praise indeed. I'm very flattered and happy that you liked the story so much. I'm so glad to read your reactions, because those are exactly the ones I wanted readers to have. Again thank you for your high praise, I'm blushing from head to toe here. :D

Reviewer: gonebutnotforgotten
Date: 03/05/06 15:51
Chapter: Hope

was good =) omg....i was so sad when she thought blaise died....but then i was so relieved i was laughing when he was said to be in azkaban, and lupin and ginny didnt understand.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm so happy to hear you liked it so much. That was exactly the reactions I wanted.

Reviewer: woodwoman
Date: 03/02/06 12:55
Chapter: Hope

The end? The end? No, no, no... it can't possibly be the end! I mean, it's a fantastic, complex, morally challenging story! There are at least three more chapters there. No, no, no... I refuse to believe it's the end! Update soon, please!

Author's Response: Sorry, but that is the end. Anything you imagine from there is your own. And yes, there are more stories to be told - but what happens is up to you to decide. I've given you the tools, now it's up to you. :D

Reviewer: mageheart
Date: 02/24/06 15:54
Chapter: Love

Very nice.... intriguing.... I love Blaise's character, and the way he acts selfish for her (being selfish but at the same time being selfless, in a way)

Author's Response: Thanks. I'm glad you enjoyed it. :D

Reviewer: mspadfoot89
Date: 02/14/06 5:54
Chapter: Love

When I was reading this last chapter, I realized that Ihadn't read the one before! Aaah! I don't know if I can say more than I have in my other reviews, just know that instead of losing your touch, like so many authors do when they actually get to the romance part, your story got even better. All the subtle clues without worked their magic and this seemed completely natural. Nice! I just hope this fic has a happy ending--I don't know why I have a feeling it won't. Keep writing! Rating-10.

Author's Response: Thanks :D

I'm so glad you liked the chapters and the way their romance started. As for the ending...only one more chapter to go now :D

Reviewer: Soap
Date: 02/13/06 21:23
Chapter: Love

It's gripping! I adore it. I've hardly ever considered Hermione/Blaise, but this is good stuff! Keep writing!!

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm so glad you feel that way.

Reviewer: woodwoman
Date: 02/12/06 2:40
Chapter: Love

!!!! EEeeek! Never have I wanted two characters to get together more than this... and they are the two most unlikely for me to want to get together... but now they are and I'm so happy! Good job!

Author's Response: I'm so glad to hear that. And I know what you mean, when I first started writing this I never thought I would be so happy with the results :D

Reviewer: gonebutnotforgotten
Date: 02/06/06 18:40
Chapter: Courage

I love this story soo much. I love how Hermione is slowly starting to realise that her relationship is a bit mor than just a captor/prisoner relationship. P.S. How many chapters will there be or are you planning to write? Just wondering.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad to see you're enjoying the story. And as answer to your question, it will be seven chapter all in all.

Reviewer: SexY_LydZ
Date: 02/03/06 19:52
Chapter: Courage

Fantastic. When r they gunna get together?

Author's Response: It wouldn't be any fun if I told you that, now would it? :D

Reviewer: woodwoman
Date: 02/03/06 12:03
Chapter: Courage

Yay! An update! I really love this story. Love that the Quibbler is using codes to get information across to the resistence, and that there is a "Hermione-sighting" page. It's kind of weird to read a story solely about Hermione and not involving Ron and Harry (who are sadly deceased -- tear!) but I like the quiet relationship you're building between Hermione and Blaise, a couple I could never begin to imagine existing. Thanks so much for writing a great story, I'll be looking for the next update! 10/10.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm so happy you like the story and that you find the pairing believable. I promise I will update as soon as Mugglenet let me.

Reviewer: woodwoman
Date: 01/25/06 20:35
Chapter: Trust

This is a great story. You have a gift for writing. Your pace is excellent -- it would be completely unbelievable if they were attracted to each other at this point in the story. I can't wait to read more. This one is definitely going on my favorites list, along with your other story!

Author's Response: Thanks. I'm so glad you like the story and that you think I'm a good writer. :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
A Christmas in Azkaban by shadowkat678 3rd-5th Years
Hope is like a flickering candle. It can be snuffed out, but it can also be...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES