Reviewer: tc015
Date: 06/22/08 16:53
Chapter: Whether We Wear Masks

This fic was so sad and so powerful. Genocide is such a horrible and inhumane crime; this did a great job of relating it to the world of Harry Potter.

I loved watching Blaise's changing character. He started off so arrogant and cocky. He irrationally hated Muggle-borns for no reason other than that he was told to. I love his reaction to pictures of African Americans in South; it made it very real to him, the idea that he could be victim. His change was so real, and it showed that with education, people can change and end the horrors of the world.

I love how you used fanfiction to get a message across. Blaise's growth shows how education can make people more aware of the world around them. Hermione's teaching Blaise shows someone not succumbing to hatred, but standing up against it. The message is very powerful, and reading it in fanfiction makes it more real sometimes; that even in a magical world, hate still exists. Seeing Blaise and Hermione working together to try and end the persecution of Muggle-borns is a great example of teamwork.

Thanks for writing such an amazing fic. I really enjoyed it.

~ Teresa

Reviewer: Kiryn
Date: 03/20/08 4:19
Chapter: Whether We Wear Masks

Very powerful story. Especially when she tells him that he would be persecuted for the color of his skin. Very, very nice job.

Reviewer: MaraudingMarauders
Date: 11/26/07 11:41
Chapter: Whether We Wear Masks

Two thumbs up for a great one shot!!! :)

Reviewer: tha_looney_one
Date: 09/15/07 18:03
Chapter: Whether We Wear Masks

you amaze me yet again, seren. that is all i can say

Reviewer: Hazil
Date: 07/29/07 8:32
Chapter: Whether We Wear Masks

That was one of the most beautiful and incredible fanfics i've ever read. What struck me most was the way that it wasn't completely related to magic, but more on the world, racism and terror in general. I wish everyone could read this. xx

Reviewer: hermy_loves_ron
Date: 02/18/07 21:42
Chapter: Whether We Wear Masks

That was very beautiful and wise. If only we could get everyone on earth to read this, we might have world peace.

Reviewer: TheHighMooster
Date: 01/09/07 21:39
Chapter: Whether We Wear Masks

A lesson the whole human race needs to learn. I laugh at the raceists that like Harry Potter. Wonderful Story. Keep em Coming!

The High Mooster

Reviewer: TheHighMooster
Date: 01/09/07 21:24
Chapter: Whether We Wear Masks

A lesson the whole human race needs to learn. I laugh at the raceists that like Harry Potter. Wonderful Story. Keep em Coming!

The High Mooster

Reviewer: Zoheb
Date: 01/06/07 9:35
Chapter: Whether We Wear Masks

Thats' the sort of thing I like. Well-written, thought-provoking, and deep. I'd like to know what their plan was, though.

Reviewer: Lily of the US
Date: 01/01/07 20:25
Chapter: Whether We Wear Masks

This was a wonderful story. I can really relate to how Blaise felt when he saw the pictures that Hermione showed him. I went to a Holocaust museum while I was in France this summer and I saw and learned things I would rather not have seen. But it opened my eyes and made me realize that there is more to life than what I see. It also made me sick and I completely understand why Blaise felt the same way.
The story was beautifully written and your word choice was very powerful. I think you are an amazing writer and this story is going on my favorites.

Reviewer: StaceyLC
Date: 10/23/06 8:12
Chapter: Whether We Wear Masks

I'm glad someone finally wrote a story showing everyone what hatred can do. I think that was Jo's point when she created the Death Eaters and made them hate Muggleborns. She wants us to think, just like you made Blaise think in this story.

The only critic I can give is that I don't think Hermione would say "dumbass", but that's it. Seriously.

Reviewer: pandafan81
Date: 10/06/06 12:38
Chapter: Whether We Wear Masks

To start off, I must applaud you Seren for this amazing fic. This is a really difficult subject to write, and I think you mastered the challenge wonderfully. We are reading this fic this week in the SBBC on the beta forums, and you are more than welcome to pop in and watch this discussion. I picked this fic in honor of Banned Books week (even if that was last week) because stories like this are often banned for their use of language or simply for discussing "a not nice topic". But I believe stories like this are crutial, because how are we supposed to learn from the past if we ignore it? Thank you for stepping out of the common fanfiction models of pairing and horcrux hunts (not that those aren't fun and great reads too) but touching on a subject with a little more substance.

I want to highlight some of my favorite aspects of this fic:

"When the moon turns green," she says blithely, as if she's not scared at all. And considering the stories Blaise has heard about Hermione Granger, she may very well not be.
I think this is really in character for Hermione. Long ago she lost her desire to please everyone. She stands up for her beliefs (i.e. SPEW) and won't allow herself to be bullied by short-sighted Slytherins anymore (i.e. punching Draco).

"Dirty-blooded, bushy-haired bitch," he responds in kind.

"Better dirty-blooded than empty-headed," she says without missing a beat.

Again, I love the candor in Hermione's banter, he's getting pissed, and really she doesn't care. It's made obvious that blood status means absolutely nothing to her, and what she really values is intelligence.

"Yet we're both still magical, still human, still mortal." She leans against the wall, flames flickering in her voice, her eyes, her very being. "We're both still very much alike, Blaise Zabini, and in the end, we build this world together. Whether you like it or not."
I cheered for Hermione at this point, she's only getting started, and you can already see that she's not going to take this lying down. I love the imagery of flames liking her voice, so much better than saying "she was angry". You have a great use of imagery and showing us Hermione's feelings rather than telling us.

I loved that she pointed out things that the magical community has adopted from the muggles, like toilets, radios and the train. All excellent arguments for her side.

"I'd be proud to be a Death Eater," he whispers in a low voice. "Proud to take up their cause, proud to cleanse the world of your filth and your kind, proud to eradicate anything remotely Muggle in our worl-"

"You know," she snaps interrupting him, "there's a group much like yours in the Muggle World, across the pond in the United States."

I think this is a real turning point in the story. Obviously Hermione wasn't going to convince him using logic and it becomes aparent at this point that Blaise wasn't going to shed his opinion no matter what Hermione said... but then she changes tatics on him flawlessly. And this is where I started to get excited, because knowlege and awareness of multiple cultures and histories is about to win!

"People with skin this colour," she growls, and his eyes widen, because he's never heard of that sort of hunting before. She lets his hand go, but he still feels the burn of her indignation.
HA! so he may be in the majority (or ruling class) in his particular community, but valueless in another based on something he had no control over. Just as Hermione had no control over her parentage.

She turns to go, but before she disappears back into the crowd, she says, "And the funny thing is, they wear masks too."
You know a lot of people complained about the Death Eaters in the GOF movie, because they resembled the KKK, but even back then I thought that was a good thing. The two groups are very similar, and tying a connection like that, not only for the viewers, is a great way to set the right ambience when it came to these hideous characters.

Hermione's numerous peices of proof in the library, and later at her house are the concrete of her argument. While Blaise has no proof of his side because it's based solely on opinion and inheritated biases. I think Hermione handled the situation perfectly, she didn't fight fire with fire, but chose to prove her point using history and images. But then followed with more proof that people can change, people can care and support one another, they can heal. I liked that she didn't put on the "I told you so, and I'm smarter than you" air that she had every right to wear, but forgave him. Forgiveness is a lot more powerful than spite.

I enjoyed this fic supremely. Thank you so much for writing it!

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 09/09/06 13:46
Chapter: Whether We Wear Masks

Wow. I love the idea of Hermione showing him all that in order to help him understand. It's such a natural thing, really, to show him how people he accepts to be
"his kind" are treated with the same terror people he used to think were "below him" are shown. A very powerful story about racism and acceptance.

When Hermione says "no black and white," though, I would add something like "no pure and unclean," to show that both of "their kinds" have been wronged, but that they still have the hope of reconciliation.

Reviewer: lilyevans91
Date: 09/03/06 14:54
Chapter: Whether We Wear Masks

oh goodness. that was excellent! it was very well written and eloquent and it addressed the problem of racism and hatred very bluntly but not roughly. very nice job, this is a wonderful piece.

Reviewer: Celestial Melody
Date: 08/27/06 19:13
Chapter: Whether We Wear Masks

Ohh... that was so very sad. I was really quite depressed after I read it. The dreadful things that happened to the Jews, gypsies, homosexuals, etc. during the Holocaust are one of the main reasons I have always avoided going to a local Holocaust museum with my history class.
However, your story has let me see this in a different light because it takes the world of HP and applies it to the "real world."
Thank you for such an insightful, though terribly sad, look into the frightful mindset of racism.
~Celestial Melody~

P.S. Your writing was beautiful!

Reviewer: Wolf By Night
Date: 07/23/06 20:55
Chapter: Whether We Wear Masks

This is absolutely amazing. I am in awe, especially that nobody has thought of it before. If they have, I've never come across it. You've captured the most heartrending side of the situation in our world, and I am in absolute wonderment of how well you wrote this story! Kudos!

- WBN

Reviewer: CrystalAngel
Date: 07/19/06 17:10
Chapter: Whether We Wear Masks

No one has ever written a piece like that before. That shows a true lesson on what racism truely is. Wonderful piece. I appreciate it very much.

Reviewer: Artemis
Date: 06/26/06 18:05
Chapter: Whether We Wear Masks

Wow! That was amazing! I really liked the line The only question that remains for us now is whether we wish to wear masks, or not. I mean...there's not much more I can say. It was just that awesome!

Reviewer: obsessedwithron
Date: 05/17/06 14:51
Chapter: Whether We Wear Masks

Is this a one-shot, or will there be more chapters to come? I would love at least an epilogue!!

Reviewer: obsessedwithron
Date: 05/14/06 20:00
Chapter: Whether We Wear Masks

This is beautiful. It is like poetry, but better. It flows, with a beutiful storyline, and I think that you chose a wonderful way to show this cause. If everyone in the world did this to one bigotist, the world would be so much better. Thank you for this, it was refreshing and I see how you earned your reputation.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES