Reviews For The Hunt Begins
Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 07/02/08 21:22
Chapter: One-Shot

That was excellent! And it makes a nice change that they took Ginny along too, I think she'd have been very helpful in DH at times. Will you be writing any more about the horcrux hunt? And if your fics all fit together in some way, will you write one to explain how Harry ended up with Luna in Rest In Peace, what happened to Ginny? Anyway, I loved this, one of the best oneshots I've read.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I wrote this in response to a MNFF challenge. They're sometimes really good tools for inspiration. Hopefully, I'll be able to write for another soon. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: butter_beer_drinker
Date: 08/20/07 20:29
Chapter: One-Shot

So todays date 8/20/07 and the final book has been released. I cannot beleive that you guessed something that JK actually used in her final book, camping out and the snake as a horcrux. This story is very well written and was easy to follow. You very well could have made it a chaptered fic but you managed to get everything in and make it beleivable with just a one shot. The tension between them and working together to figure out what they were going to do was just brilliant. I know in the final book Ginny didn't go with them but your version of destroying this horcrux could easily have been slipped into the actual book. Good Job.

Author's Response: Wow!! Thanks so much for your awesome review! I'm glad you liked my story.

Reviewer: las_vegasgrl666
Date: 08/06/07 21:00
Chapter: One-Shot

i like this story! Some of the other stories have ron and hermione just go at it, but the real ron and hermione arent like that, they need time and that is what you gave them!

Author's Response: Yeah - I don't think I could write "going at it" (not well anyway). I'm glad you liked my version. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review!

Reviewer: susa_hp
Date: 02/19/07 18:19
Chapter: One-Shot

Lovely and ingenioussotry, very smart, too! Sorry I had no more adjectives :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much!! I appreciate you taking the time to review!

Reviewer: susa_hp
Date: 02/19/07 18:18
Chapter: One-Shot

Lovely and ingenioussotry, very smart, too! Sorry I had no more adjectives :D

Author's Response: : )

Reviewer: SupremeMugwump
Date: 11/07/06 16:51
Chapter: One-Shot

Ahhh.. very sweet oneshot =D! I loved it and I think you should write more.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I hope to get back to writing after Prophecy. I appreciate you taking the time to review!

Reviewer: ronrocksmyworld
Date: 09/03/06 23:13
Chapter: One-Shot

Excellent story! I only wish there was more to it :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I wish I had time to extend it to other horcrux hunts. Maybe I'll be able to fit in a couple before the 7th book comes out.

Reviewer: HPgurl4eva
Date: 08/01/06 6:41
Chapter: One-Shot

I liked how you only focused on one horcrux, and I thought the story was excellent. However, I don't think there was quite enough Ron/Hermione for me!

Author's Response: Thank you! I didn't have much room for the smooshy stuff since it was a one-shot. I'll try to fit in more for you next story I write. I appreciate you taking the time to review!!

Reviewer: chaibabachai
Date: 07/22/06 2:19
Chapter: One-Shot

that was extremely well written. the way you did the whole Ron and Hermione coming together thing was great. It wasn't drawn out a lot(like it being the whole plot of the story) and how you put it just before a horcrux mission seems just like what JK will probably do. nice job :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I think the comparison to JK is the best compliment I could get. Thanks for taking the time to review!!!

Reviewer: lumos_aeternum
Date: 06/09/06 21:33
Chapter: One-Shot

Interesting premise. I enjoyed your attention to plot continuity and keeping the characters real. Their interactions were great. If I were Harry, I'd kill Nagini last, so Voldemort wouldn't have a clue his horcruxes were getting the axe, but that doesn't mean that's how she'll do it. Thanks for showing me a different possibility!

You did have me worried about Ginny (not that I haven't killed her in fics before...lol). Thanks!

Author's Response: Ooo - that's true about Nagini. I didn't think of that. Good observation. Thank you so much for the kind review! I appreciate it!

Reviewer: Jane Bilus
Date: 05/06/06 14:43
Chapter: One-Shot

brilliant! i loved it

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

Reviewer: Ravenclaw 24
Date: 01/08/06 4:34
Chapter: One-Shot

Ah very nice! The shattered glass was worked in well, and Ginny's boots- fantastic! Nice well written story. Well done :-)

Author's Response: Thanks for another review! I really appreciate the time you take to leave such nice comments.

Reviewer: HanilarLion
Date: 12/15/05 16:13
Chapter: One-Shot

I loved this story, and how you fit the shattered glass description into the romantic scene with Ron and Hermione. I love how you saved Ginny with those boots, and the description of Nagini's death. Three Horcruxes down, three to go...

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This was a fun story to write. I like how the challenges help us come up with new ideas.

Reviewer: redvelvetcanopy
Date: 11/10/05 10:52
Chapter: One-Shot

I liked this very much! I love the idea of the four of them going out there and searching for the Horcruxes together! Forget leaving poor Ginny behind! Yeah, as though she'd stand for that! I liked that they were very deliberate, very careful in tracking the Death Eater activity in and out of the Riddle house before they decided to attack. It does seem like the best approach. I nearly fainted when I thought poor Ginny got bitten. Thank goodness for that Weasley resolve! Excellent story! I am glad I've discovered your writing and will work my way around to reading the rest of it eventually!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! You have perfect timing. I was having a very bad day and you have helped cheer me up. I've got a new story outlined for the Term Challenge so I should have the first chapter of that up soon. Thank you for your interest in my stories!!

Reviewer: pandafan81
Date: 11/05/05 1:56
Chapter: One-Shot

I always love finding new stories from my favorite authors. I really liked the imagery of Ron seeing his "whole" self in Hermione's eyes, and realizing she love all of him. Very touching. You really are an amazing writer and hope you won lots of points for this contest entry!

Author's Response: Awwww - thanks!!! I'm glad you liked it. I didn't win anything with this but I did get some points for submitting it. Thank you for your encouragement!!

Reviewer: Sycco
Date: 10/21/05 18:22
Chapter: One-Shot

Wow nice story and all that in 1 chapter please continue and updat soon 10/10

Author's Response: Well, thanks! But this was a one-shot for the monthly contest. I'd love for you to read my other two stories - Distraction and Charlie's Angel. Thank you so much for reviewing!!

Reviewer: Elphie
Date: 10/21/05 17:27
Chapter: One-Shot

Hey, good story! It was nicely written and the I liked your idea for their "mission" thing (ie, how they were going to find the horcruxes, etc.). I do have some suggestions, though, that I think would make it even more enjoyable. First, I think it would do really well as a multi-chaptered fic, rather than a one-shot. This way, you could go into greater detail about setting, dialogue, etc. It seemed (to me) rather rushed, even though you wrote all the scenes out rather smoothly. (I hope that makes sense!) Also, though there was Ron/Hermione tension and romance in there, it might be better placed in "General Fics", as it's more about all four of them findin the horcruxes. (This is totally my personal taste, and I'm sure different people would feel differently.) That's all -- other than that, I thought it was very good. And all those things are just my opinion on how this fic could be improved. Again, great job!

Author's Response: This had to be one-shot for the contest, but I can see how expanding it out could add quality to the story. Maybe I'll go back to it one day. I know it's not as fluffy as most R/H stuff. I might move it one of these days. Thank you for reviewing. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: JadesFire
Date: 10/19/05 18:46
Chapter: One-Shot

Great story, although not so much H/G romance. Anyways, good job and good luck with the rest of your fics!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! Watch for your name in my next story (I'll let you know when it's coming out).

Reviewer: Harriet Evans
Date: 10/16/05 3:02
Chapter: One-Shot

This story was great fun - really enjoyable! It had great pace and you kept it interesting the whole way through. You had some nice descriptions, although these were quite brief - I would have been happy for you to carry them a little further.

The opening image was very nice with Ron and Harry walking through the farm yard. I was interested to know how they had got there. On the Knight Bus? Also, had they come straight from school. The same question occured to me when they went back to Hogwarts. (I'm only mentioning this as these pernickety questions actually interupted the flow for me a little bit.) The same thing happened when Harry kissed Ginny - are you following canon, or are they still together - or have they got back together? (Sorry - I have an enquiring mind!)

As another reviewer mentioned, you do have quite a few Americanisms dotted throughout the text. If you did want to sort these out, a Brit picker could help you! (I'd be happy to, if you wanted.) Things like 'figured out', 'good job, guys' etc. They don't detract from the quality of the story, but altering them would perhaps give a slightly more 'Potterish' feel to it.

On to the plot. This was great and thoroughly entertaining. It was light and humorous, but also well thought out. I liked the way that you played to each of the characters' strengths, for example having Hermione doing the bookish research.

I enjoyed the Ron/Hermione interlude (they are my OTP!!). Very sweet - and I also thought you worked in the concept of shattered glass very well. this was quite an original idea - I loved the idea of him seeing little reflections of himself in her eyes. AAaah! This scene also took my mind of the machete (thankfully) as I was beginning to feel a little queasy at that point.

And Ginny's boots! I howled. Fantastic - that is all I can say.

Sorry to go on at such length, but a good story deserves a good long review, that's what I say! So well done, thank you for a very entertaining read and good luck with the contest.



Author's Response: Thank you so much for a wonderfully long review! I would love hear your ideas of how to make it less American. I'll also go back and see if I can expand some of those descriptions. I'm about to move it out of the contest submissions since it's over. It'll be a good time to make some edits. I'm glad you liked the boots. With the H/G thing, I'm just going to assume that Ginny will win in not letting Harry break up with her. He needs her! Anyway, thanks again for your review!!!

Reviewer: miss padfoot
Date: 10/07/05 6:55
Chapter: One-Shot

I loved your story, especially the likening of shattered glass to Hermione's eyes. It was humorous as well as romantic. Just a few things, though. :) "The waitress returned to the table with the check." Shouldn't it be cheque? There were also many Americanisms in it, like “Geez! What are you guys doing?” Britishers don't say, Geez, do they? I'm not too sure... But still, I loved their little adventure, especially the simile :) Thanks!

Author's Response: Thank you! I always like your reviews. I thought about the "Geez" thing when I wrote it. But none of the Brittish explecitves that I know sounded right coming out of her mouth. Anyway, thanks for taking the time to read and review. I really appreciate it!!!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES