Reviews For Broken
Reviewer: Harriet Evans
Date: 11/14/05 15:00
Chapter: June 2019

I'm late, so it's all been said, really. I don't think Hermione's anger would have worked so well in this context, had you not included the part where she held Harry. It was that part that made it seem believable. One nit-pick, though:- I always feel uncomfortable when Hermione calls Ginny, 'Ginevra' -- it just doesn't seem natural, somehow, no matter how long they have been apart. But I'm very, very glad that Harry has made an honest woman of Ginny and that he stuck up for her against Hermione's wrath. No matter how much Harry was wronged in this story, it's somehow Ginny that has my complete sympathy! Well done, I enjoyed it.

Author's Response: There had to be reasons for Hermione's anger, and she had them. Ginny had promised her she would tell Harry if he ever woke, and Ginny broke that promise. That left it to Hermione to tell Harry and then she was left to pick up the pieces. I can't think of too many things that would cause a woman to hold a grudge that are worse than what Ginny did to Hermione. I suppose having your sister sleep with your husband would be worse. But for this story, not only is that not possible, it is beyond wrong.

Harry also had to stand by Ginny when telling Hermione. He knew this would occur, and for all three of them it needed to happen for them to heal. I also agree with you as to where my sympathy lies the most. I feel for Ginny the most. I think she suffered more than Harry did, and a moments weakness caused her suffering to be a hundred times worse. I can't really even imagine the punishment she has given herself becasue of it.

Reviewer: Narwen3
Date: 11/14/05 13:58
Chapter: July 2020

“Stupid wanker, last time I checked, we were identical,” Fred shot back. “If she says I’m ugly, she certainly isn’t complementing you.” Haha! Priceless! I loved that whole opening scene, it felt to be leading to somewhere else. I mean, I kind of got a shock when I realized how serious the situation was. I love the windows concept. I liked actually being able to see and hear Geoffrey and also, Ginny and Lily were great. At first I thought that Lily was being too harsh, but it turned out to be exactly what Ginny needed. And finally, the ending of the chapter with the naming of the baby and everything. . . absolutely beautiful! By the way, I've finally gotten chapter forty up if you want to check it out. Once more, great job!

Author's Response: Every one paints Lily as being wonderfully sweet all the time. I wanted to show that she could be much the opposite. Though much of the scene with her and Ginny is an act on Lily's part, her anger with her is not all for show. She is angry with her, but uses it to help Ginny. At least that's what I wanted people to get a sense of. And I will check out your next chapter.

Reviewer: Neli P
Date: 11/14/05 13:43
Chapter: July 2020

Amazing! I have always loved the way you pictured Lily and Ginny's relationship (they only met in "minds" but their feelings and their bond are so real and strong). The "windows" concept is excellent, and I am glad Ginny finally chose the right one. Last but not least, I loved the Ron-Fred-George-Harry fighting scene, you did a great job with reminding we're still in HP world. Hey, when you mentionned "Susan", is it Susan Bones? :)

Author's Response: Thanks. I'm glad you mentioned the Ron-Fred-George-Harry fight at the begining. There is so much that happens in this chapter, that things get lost. It is one of the reasons I tried to write shorter chapters for this story than in my other works. Unfortunately, this chapter kept growing on me. And yes, it was Susan Bones.

Reviewer: Polaris Dakota
Date: 11/14/05 8:39
Chapter: July 2020

A ten as always! MY only regret is that I can not comment on every chapter. I would If I had the time, But I have finally made time to review instead of just reading and running. I loved the imagery in this chapter! It was absolutely superb. If only I had your talent, I'de have more reviewers too! You're awesome, Please do not stop this story. I, honestly, think you would make an awesome story out of the kids in their years at Hogwarts buuuuut thats entirely up to you. Ta!

Author's Response: Thanks, for stopping by when you do. As to a story about Harry and Ginny's kids when they are at Hogwarts, all I can say is, "Sorry, not gonna happen."

Reviewer: sultryme88
Date: 11/14/05 6:25
Chapter: July 2020

Wow, another excellent chapter, I’d say this is one of my fave chapters (the other one is the “forgiveness” chapter 10). I could just feel the frustrations of Harry, knowing that there’s something wrong but can’t do anything about it (at first), Hermione, thinking Ginny’s dying & she wasn’t able to tell Ginny that she forgave her, & Ginny feeling the insurmountable task of choosing the right tableau of her life, or else forever losing the ones she loved. I didn’t get it at first on how she’ll be able get back, so I love your concept of going back to basics (thanks to Lily), that Harry & Ginny’s bond is felt through their hearts and not mentally or physical sensations. This is what I’ve especially like about this chapter, also Lily being proud of Ginny & Hermione’s forgiveness. And though you’d given me the scares of Ginny dying, I thank you for giving her & Harry another angel & source of happiness, another reason to be thankful for all the graces now abundantly bestowed on their family. I’m sure the angel, Hermione Grace, will live up to her name. Is she another redhead or with raven hair & vivid green eyes?

Author's Response: Thank you for your thoughts, and I'm glad you liked the chapter.

I like breaking the red hair tradition of the Weasley line, but think that Ginny's daughter needs something of her mother. So, I see Hermoione Grace Potter as having Harry's black hair and Ginny's brown eyes.

Reviewer: Czarina
Date: 11/13/05 18:37
Chapter: July 2020

Great chapter. I really liked how Ginny was faced with so many choices about which window to pick and how each represented what could have been in her life - althought I was a bit surprised at the " image of herself in the window seductively undress and climb into bed with a naked…'Angelina Johnson'”. Different, but hey, why not? My only issue was Harry not being at Ginny's bedside. It reminded me of how fathers were kept out of the delivery room ages ago. I realize that obviously it had to be that way because of your story, so it's no big deal really, and maybe that's just how it's done in the wizarding world. I really liked Ginny meeting Lily and how Lily had to be almost scary to get Ginny to make the right choice. Finally, I love the baby's name! It just seems to be right. Great job once more.

Author's Response: The thing with the windows, is based off of a real world theory, I don't remember what it is called. But basically, the theory says that for every possible outcome to a situation that can occur, does occur. This leads to the idea that there are an infinete number of 'yous' out there all in different realities timelines and dimesions. In one of them, the only difference might be that you wore a red shirt instead of a green one today. In another, you could be gay instead of heterosexual. The window scene was designed to try and show just how similar, yet different each of those 'Ginnys' could be.

As to Harry being at Ginny's side while she is in labor. In most things, it seems that the Wizarding World is more old fashioned than the Muggle world. At least thats how I see it as JKR has written it. In keeping with that perception, I thought it would extend to the concept of the father not being in the birthing room.

Reviewer: Hermione82manypickles
Date: 11/13/05 14:16
Chapter: July 2020

I LOVE IT! Im still crying, but they are tears of joy! Excellent chapter, it was sooooooooooooooooooooooooo good!!!! Please update soooooooooon!!!!!!!

Reviewer: JimboCOUS
Date: 11/13/05 0:58
Chapter: July 2020

I really like what you've done with this. Thanks for a great read!

Author's Response: Thank you

Reviewer: Hormiga
Date: 11/12/05 17:18
Chapter: July 2020

Such a powerful chapter, filled with energy... Thanks

Author's Response: thanks

Reviewer: Hermione_Rocks
Date: 11/12/05 15:13
Chapter: July 2020

Oh my God...that was brilliant. I started to cry. You are really talented at writing. I'm giving you a ten, which I hardly ever do. Great great job!

Author's Response: Thank you.

Reviewer: elissamay
Date: 11/12/05 13:17
Chapter: June 2008

srry i submitted my review for the wrong chapter! this chapter was really quite different from anything i've ever read. i liked the whole thing with the windows while ginny was unconscience. and how she was really put to the test when she got a chance to change everything. very well wrtten if i do say so. at one point, i really started to panic, and thought ginny might die! you sure got me =)

Author's Response: and again

Reviewer: elissamay
Date: 11/12/05 13:16
Chapter: June 2008

srry i submitted my review for the wrong chapter! this chapter was really quite different from anything i've ever read. i liked the whole thing with the windows while ginny was unconscience. and how she was really put to the test when she got a chance to change everything. very well wrtten if i do say so. at one point, i really started to panic, and thought ginny might die! you sure got me =)

Author's Response: ditto.

Reviewer: elissamay
Date: 11/12/05 13:15
Chapter: June 2008

this chapter was really quite different from anything i've ever read. i liked the whole thing with the windows while ginny was unconscience. and how she was really put to the test when she got a chance to change everything. very well wrtten if i do say so. at one point, i really started to panic, and thought ginny might die! you sure got me =)

Author's Response: Honestly, I really tried to kill her, Ginny, but just couldn't do it. Thanks fo the review

Reviewer: phoenix_trills
Date: 11/12/05 0:46
Chapter: July 2020

Woah... That was intense. Really intense. But in a good way, you know? Oh, but it was fantastic! I read a story rather like this, where the character had to choose how her life would go. Only instead of windows, it was roses. Anyway, this was a simply marvelous chapter, and it was very well written, so kudos to the author! 10/10. By the way, how many more chapters will there be?

Author's Response: Thanks. Roses?? Where is that story, I would like to check it out. There will be one more chapter to this story.

Reviewer: RavenKath
Date: 11/11/05 20:46
Chapter: July 2020

Oh that was marvelous, simply marvelous. I don't know where you come up with these ideas, but I really wish I did! I just love this story so much. How much is left? I feel almost like I want it to go on forever...

Author's Response: Glad you like it, and there is one chapter left, so I'm afraid that the story will not be going forever. Thank God! At least that is the author's opinion.

Reviewer: Hot48cricket
Date: 11/11/05 12:01
Chapter: July 2020

WOW - these chapters just get more and more amazing! You are doing a fantastic job! This was just so intense...and I liked that Ginny was true to her word and not change a thing about her life. It was right that Hermione realized that she could forgive Ginny and that it would hurt her too much not to forgive. I can't wait to see where the next chapter goes! :)

Author's Response: Thank you, glad you like it and I hope the next chapter lives up to your expectations.

Reviewer: KenF
Date: 11/11/05 7:28
Chapter: July 2020

That was rather intense. Maybe too intense for 8:30 in the morning when I haven't had my coffee. I liked Stephanie's comment about "that's impressive even for you"

Author's Response: Yeah, maybe a little much for 'Before coffee reading'. It is a telling comment, understated yet saying quite a lot at the same time.

Reviewer: pandafan81
Date: 11/11/05 0:00
Chapter: July 2020

Oh! I second those thoughts! Another amazingly beautiful and poinent chapter. The fact that Ginny was given the choice of where her life could have led. She could have picked to never have left his side, and yet she stayed true to her word. Going through it all again just to return to Harry as she knows him. I love it! And I LOVE the name Hermione Grace Potter. Nice choice!

Author's Response: Ginny told Hermione that she wouldn't change a thing if she had the chance to do it all over again. Well, she was given the chance, she was tempted, and she was true to her word, and most importantly, her heart. Which in the end is what saved her.

Interesting how some names just roll off the tongue and they're 'right'. Hermione Grace Potter does that for me. And it fits the story really well. Stephanie is an amazing girl, always handleing things just right and coming up with the perfect name for her baby sister. Really, she's maybe just a little too perfect. No flaws that we've seen, which has been a failing of mine with this story.

Anyways, thanks for telling me what you think, I appreciate it.

Reviewer: Her My Own EE
Date: 11/10/05 23:55
Chapter: July 2020

Oh please let this be the 1st review dance! Lily & lives not lived & how the pain brought the goodness.(gushing sorry) Everything I hoped for a baby Potter & Hermione forgiving Ginny. I have tears in my eyes from Hermione's realization that just as much as she didn't want Harry to hurt from losing Ginny she didn't want to lose her either. Beautiful.

Author's Response: It is the first review dance. Congratulations! You did get everything you hoped for, and we see that Hermione's reluctance to accept Ginny was as much for her own sake as it was for Harrys. Thanks for your reviews, they have helped me keep this story going long after it had bogged me down.

Reviewer: EJAUS
Date: 11/10/05 10:24
Chapter: June 2019

While this story is primarily about Harry and Ginny and their relationship. The image of Hermione holding Harry is very powerful and will stick with me. I have heard that when dealing with tragedy (such as the death of a parent), older sisters sometimes do become surrogate mothers. I like this explanation of Harry & Hermione's adult relationship (more than friends but not lovers and not exactly siblings either). It is unique, very deep and very tender. In this story (or series) you leave a great deal to the imagination. It was hard to follow at first but now the gaps keep me thinking about the story.

Author's Response: Thank you. Your take on the story is really dead on. I like how you put into words Harry and Hermione's relationship. I think that describes it perfectly, and gives me answers of my own. I really do leave a lot to the imagination. As the summary says, it is more a series of one shots than an ongoing story. Each chapter is meant to represent a turning point in the lives of Harry and Ginny. The space inbetween chapters is left to the reader to fill in, in the manner they choose to within the context of the information they're given. I'm glad you like this, and I really appreciate how you were able to put Harry and Hermione's relationship into words like you did. Thanks.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
MIT: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
Through the Mines by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Tom Riddle remarks on the power he held while at the orphanage and at school.Written...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES